We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely and quiet, a bit remote though.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Balaia-Sol Holiday Club
Ranked #67 of 154 Hotels in Albufeira
Reviewed 18 September 2013

When we first arrived we thought we had hit the jackpot, the place looks amazing, the apartment we had was lovely cool and spacious, trust me you did not need air conditioning, the kitchen though was a big let down, tiny doesn't do it justice, there was a two ring electric hob, a microwave , fridge, small kettle and antique toaster that health and safety would have had a field day with the cooking pans looked like Mrs Beeton had used them, the pool area is lovely, you have no problem getting a sunbed no matter what time of day, although the pool is freezing I swear I saw a walrus shivering in it, the most annoying thing though was the hidden charges, I asked them to phone a taxi to take us to the strip and was charged 2 euros for the call, what we where led to believe was a free minibus into town came at a cost of 4 euros each return, when you consider that you can go anywhere in town on the local buses for 1.40 euros each I thought this was a bit steep, as stated by other posters as well it is a bit remote, but I suppose with that you get the peace and quiet although a little evenings entertainment laid on for those who didn't want to go out would have been nice.

Room Tip: You catch the local bus at the roundabout just up the road, 1.40 euros is the price of a ticket, you...
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Darkhorse57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (439)
There are newer reviews for Balaia-Sol Holiday Club
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

212 - 218 of 439 reviews

Reviewed 15 September 2013

I booked here hoping for air condtion as it said there was. It was only a fan.wow
The beds are very small and the pillows broke ur neck.
It's about a 20-30 minute walk to the stripe.
It would of been nice if the hotel give you a wee map.
There no cooker so you have to buy food from bar.
Took about a hour to wal to the crap rocky beach.
The best part is the old town which is the other end .u can walk to strip then get a bus train thing it was nice and beach was nice and much more buster.
One good thing is there is a ginger pussy cat very friendly .
I felt things place was to fair away from every thing.
No evening entireament at the resort .

Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank Diane O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 September 2013

Just returned from 14 nights at these apartments, they are spotlessly clean and set in beautiful gardens but are just too far away from shops/bars etc. The first few days didn't seem too bad walking the 15-20min walk to the strip but by day 10/11 is was starting to take its toll. You can take taxi or bus but adds up over the holiday. If you don't want an early night you need to stay out as the bar closes at 12. There was a family there at the same time as we were there and they were asked to keep their children quiet when playing in the pool. There are notices all round the complex stating all the rules, CCTV cameras are everywhere too. If you want somewhere to just sunbathe and chill then its ok but if you want a more fun filled lively time give this place a miss. The beds in our room were brick hard

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anne W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 September 2013

We booked two twin bed rooms due to availability. The rooms were lovely very clean with room service twice a week, the beds were comfy.
The place itself is beautiful a very typical portuguese building. The staff are great and very helpful.
The strip is a bout 15 mins away and the old town ( gorgeous ) is a taxi ride ( 7 euros each way).
The nearest beach Santa Eulalia is a bout 15mins walk if you take the direct route ie not through the neighbouring conplex and is gorgeous ! The bar is lovely to chill at when there are other families around.
If you are looking for an activity packed complex this isn;t for you, but relaxing and chilled it is !
I loved this place and would gladly return !

Room Tip: Room 11 is a twin bed room, facing the pool up a set of steps, so gorgeous to sit on the patio , eat...
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kate t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 August 2013

Relaxing and beautiful holiday! We have a beautifuul apartment with balcony, a sitting-room with a kitchen, a bedroom and a bathroom. The cleaning is every 2 days and it's ok! The residence is very beautiful, a little bit hard to find if you don't know anything, but there are another place with a similar name that is very close, so if you follow that sign, you can find it!
The crew is kind, they helped us taking care of our bagagges that arrived 2 days after us.. TAP is not so reccomandable :(
It's not so close to the centre and the beaches, but however in Algarve you need a car, there are so many palces to visit!
I'd like to come back for sure and I recommend it!

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GaiaZ_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2013

Found the apartments on the outskirts of Albufera, nice quiet area as we wanted but a little bit far to walk into town and back on an evening.
We were a bit disappointed to have to leave a $20 euro deposit for the tv remote and a £50 Euro deposit for the air con remote, (which also costs an extra $10 euro's per day)!
The apartment itself was compact but reasonable for 2 adults, We stayed for 4 nights and did not get a towel change within this time, the cleaner did come twice but seemed only to make the beds, the floor was still gritty and un mopped afterwards.
We also had an ant problem, they were all over the kitchen and in the built in wardrobes, (found them in my pants on getting dressed!) When I went to reception I was given ant powder, however not happy about putting insecticide on food preparation surfaces.

These were all minor gripes as overall the staff were very friendly, the place is nice and in a good quiet area, value for money ? yes.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2013

Having just got back from a stay at the Balaia Sol I found it to be a nice, relaxing place and just what my boyfriend and I were looking for. It was a relatively small complex of apartments meaning there wasn't too much noise or need to fight for sun loungers at the pool. We always found a good spot despite going down quite late at times and there is a good mix of spots in the sun or shade. The pool was a bit chilly when you first get in but aren't all pools like this generally? It was quite refreshing after sitting in the sun for so long. There was also some seating by the bar and a pool table in you needed a little break in the shade.

The bar has a good range of drinks on offer with cocktails only €4. There wasn't quite a much variety in terms of food (pizza, hot dogs, pie and chips, sandwiches etc) and so we didn't eat here on an evening but it was quite reasonable for lunch. More often however we did use the local mini-market which was a 5 minute walk away and ate lunch in our room. Here you could buy fresh bread and croissants and the big bottles of water were significantly cheaper than at the bar.

The staff were extremely helpful and friendly and seemed to want to do anything they could to make your stay the best it could be. We booked a day at one of the local water parks and they sorted this out for us including bus transport, which was really helpful. We found the old town to be our favourite place to go on an evening (big range of nice bars and restaurants) but it was too far to walk to and so the hotel booked taxis for us. This was €2 and the taxis could be quite busy at times but you weren't normally waiting too long. One night the hotel even sorted their own minibus for us as it was busy which was nice. They also pointed out where the strip was which was just a 10-15minute walk for us (might be longer with children) this had a lot of bars for any big drinkers and a few restaurants that we saw but it was very loud and busy here which is why we preferred going that bit further to the old town.

The rooms were very clean and had pretty much everything you could need. The beds were comfortable and there was a nice balcony to sit out on. The only thing I really would have liked was some air conditioning as it did get a little stuffy, however we left the shutters open most of the time to let some air through and this worked quite well as it wasn't noisy on a night and there weren't any bugs to be wary of as far as we experienced.

All in all I would be happy to recommend this hotel to others, although probably more so to couples or families with older children.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TinkLW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Albufeira hotels
2.4 mi away
Vale de Carros
Vale de Carros
#48 of 154 in Albufeira
596 reviews
1.1 mi away
Novochoro Apartamentos Turisticos
5.6 mi away
Bayside Salgados
Bayside Salgados
#52 of 154 in Albufeira
456 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Hotel Topazio
Hotel Topazio
#51 of 154 in Albufeira
784 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Mirachoro Albufeira
Hotel Mirachoro Albufeira
#94 of 154 in Albufeira
204 reviews
1.4 mi away
Aparthotel Oceanus
Aparthotel Oceanus
#18 of 154 in Albufeira
697 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Balaia-Sol Holiday Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Balaia-Sol Holiday Club

Address: Rua do Alfaiate, Albufeira 8200-315, Portugal
Phone Number:
Region: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Albufeira
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #67 of 154 Hotels in Albufeira
Price Range: £29 - £101 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Balaia-Sol Holiday Club 3*
Number of rooms: 31
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Balaia-Sol Holiday Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Balaia Sol Apartments Albufeira
Balaia-Sol Holiday Club Albufeira, Algarve, Portugal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing