We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good, but not for everyone”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Balaia-Sol Holiday Club
Ranked #68 of 154 Hotels in Albufeira
Reviewed 26 June 2014

As most have said this is a pleasant, small property, nicely maintained. The apartments are basic, but have what you need. I stayed in a studio (08), which was nicely situated, set back in the corner. 08 & 07 (I think the '0' indicates a studio, as there was an apartment 8 as well) were a single storey pair, which was nice as you didn't get the noise from the tiled floors above. The studio contained 2 comfy single beds (think if you want a double you have to just push them together), the kitchen was a fridge, kettle, microwave and a freestanding, 2 ring hot plate. Loads of space. The pool area was very nice. The staff were always very pleasant. You pay 5 Euros for wifi, which covers your stay, although it only worked by the pool.

Couple of issues for me, were really both locational.

1. The property is out of the resort. This made it very peaceful, but felt a long way out. It was a 20 minute slow walk to the Strip/shops/restaurants and a 50/60 minute slow walk to the Old Town. The nearest decent supermarket was nearly 30 mins away. Cabs are easy to get. There is a bus stop at the roundabout, although not all the buses make a right at the previous roundabout some go left so don't go up to Bolaia. Fine again, you can hop off, but then you need to walk 15mins to get back. They were all Lina Azul, so I couldn't work out why some did/didn't come up to Bolaia. The buses are dirt cheap. Walk is along a busy road, but on a nice even pavement.

2. The trek to the beach. Come out of the property and turn right. You follow a dirt track down to the beach. There are wooden steps towards the end, followed by a mud hill and a wall to hop over. Once you had made it, the beach was lovely. Not sure I would want to do it with a buggy, a wheel chair would be impossible and anyone dodgy on their feet would be advised to give it a miss.

On my return trek up the dirt track, I noticed the couple about 50 yards in front of me had stopped. She was taking a photo of something on the ground. When I arrived behind them, I saw it was a 4/5 long snake, lying across the width of the path. Me and the bloke were far from happy, but were very brave once she had chased it away by stamping on the ground. Funnily enough, I didn't go down the dirt track again.

I think virtually everyone there when I was there was 30s-50s, hardly any children and no groups of youngsters while I was there.

So I think in summary, if you are active, don't mind walking and want a nice basic studio or apartment in a peaceful location this place is ideal. If you aren't up for a lot of walking, want to be in the heart of things, want to be close to the beach maybe not.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank johnru
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (455)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

199 - 205 of 455 reviews

Reviewed 23 June 2014 via mobile

Stayed in Balaia Sol for 10 nights. Initial impression was it looked lovely with a nice little court yard giving it a real feel of being in a Portugese apartment and not a typical holiday resort.
The room I stayed in was basic but contained all the self catering essentials. The rooms were also very clean. The staff are helpful and pleasant.
There is a small pool bar with food and drinks sold at a reasonable price.
The pool and pool side area are very well maintained and very very clean.
The apartments are a little out of the way from the beach, old town and supermarket. There is a little super market approx. 5 mins walk but only has bare essentials. Its approx 20mins walk to nearest beach but this is over so waste ground and woulldnt be recommend for families pushing prams. Other beaches are approx. 30mins walk and so is the main supermarket restraunts and bars. Taxis can be called by apartment staff and are reasonable €5-8 will get you to these places.
Had a great time at Balaia Sol. Recommended a visit.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
3  Thank Mark O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2014

Well what can i say, are first holiday as a couple in 5 years, and sure will not be are last, great hotel, great staff and great location, as all, we did have are reservations, but we were highly delighted, clean rooms, clean pool, good food, need more choices of beer, but overall very nice stay, and we will return, the staff can not do enough for you, a real nice and friendly place, suited us to a T.

Room Tip: go for the apartment on the ground floor over looking the pool, 20 or 21
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank abelaEssex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 May 2014

I stayed here with my boyfriend and his family in August for a week. The rooms were perfect, spacious and always cleaned perfectly! It was decorated lovely and the staff were really friendly and would help you with anything. The pool is the perfect size for the amount of people staying there, and it is lovely and quiet of a night so you can get to sleep easily :) The location is okay, it is about a 15/20 minute walk from the main strip but we had a 6 year old with us who never complained! It was a lovely stay, would visit again!

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank kirst_uk94
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2014

Just back from here after 3 nights stay. The apartments are lovely and we had a large apartment overlooking the pool. The room was spotless and so was the outside space. The room was a good size with small kitchen and small bathroom. If I had any criticism of the apartments it would be the beds as they are really small singles and not the most comfortable.
The complex is a bit out of the main town but only costs about €5 to get into town or there is a mini bus leaves from the complex but you have to pay for it as well and only goes at set times. There is a beach about 10-15 mins walk from the complex but I would say that it really not the best track to it and would not be suitable for older guests or even parents with kids in prams as it is very uneven and has very steep steps etc..
The apts are really well kept with lovely gardens and it all looks very pretty and has a lovely pool.

Room Tip: The rooms looking over the pool area seem to be the brightest as there are also apts overlooking the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank murzo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2014 via mobile

This is a gorgeous little hotel. Clean and neat. Staff very friendly and helpful. Very clean rooms. Situated at the top of the hill but only a 10-15 to the strip. Shuttle service available or a taxi is 3-4 euros.
Definitely go back

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Karen J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 May 2014

A brilliant wee hotel. The rooms were immaculate as was the pool and the area around the pool. The on site cafe did basic grub that was perfectly adequate.
Just outside resort right of the roundabout was a great Italian, IL Vesuvio, 2 minutes walk. Great food. Its a 15 min walk to the strip and the old town was €2.80 by bus for two or €7 in a taxi. The hotel was just far enough from the hustle and bustle but close enough to get to if you wanted. The staff at the hotel were brilliant and helpful. Also next hotel just off roundabout had a well stocked shop for all the essentials. Definitely going back again.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Low Cost Holidays
3  Thank Roy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Albufeira hotels
2.4 mi away
Vale de Carros
Vale de Carros
#55 of 154 in Albufeira
606 reviews
5.6 mi away
Bayside Salgados
Bayside Salgados
#49 of 154 in Albufeira
467 reviews
5.1 mi away
Jardins Vale de Parra
Jardins Vale de Parra
#80 of 154 in Albufeira
142 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Natura Algarve Club
Natura Algarve Club
#27 of 154 in Albufeira
809 reviews
1.1 mi away
Novochoro Apartamentos Turisticos
1.4 mi away
Aparthotel Oceanus
Aparthotel Oceanus
#24 of 154 in Albufeira
712 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Balaia-Sol Holiday Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Balaia-Sol Holiday Club

Address: Rua do Alfaiate, Albufeira 8200-315, Portugal
Phone Number:
Region: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Albufeira
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #68 of 154 Hotels in Albufeira
Price Range: £33 - £159 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Balaia-Sol Holiday Club 3*
Number of rooms: 31
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Alpha Holidays Limited, LoveHolidays, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Balaia-Sol Holiday Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Balaia Sol Apartments Albufeira
Balaia-Sol Holiday Club Albufeira, Algarve, Portugal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing