We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Portugal Peace”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Balaia-Sol Holiday Club
Ranked #65 of 154 Hotels in Albufeira
Reviewed 30 July 2014

If you want peace n quiet this is the place to go. We were in room 8 beside the pool it was lovely lots of hedges and trees for privacy. All the staff were friendly and helpful. A 20/25 min walk to the strip we also walked to the old town but this took a while. The bus was 1-40 Euro if u don't want to walk and 4 Euro for a taxi back. It was 15/20 mins walk to the beach through rough ground but worth it when you got there it was lovely and the beach bar very reasonable for food/ drink. The strip is full of shops bars and restaurants to suit all tastes we enjoyed our Sunday Roast Dinner for 7-95 Euro in The Cottage. We liked being away from the strip as the bars did not close before 4am then the clean up brigade started at 6 am. Our towels were changed 3 times and beds twice and our cleaner was very pleasant. We were in a studio that had a ceiling fan which was great. The swimming pool is lovely plenty of beds for everyone. They serve burgers pizza chips it is a bit more expensive than the strip but for the size of the place it was alright. They have a small shop for bread milk tea bags but we used the shop in the complex next door a lot of people used to bring in from the bigger supermarkets in a taxi if they were out. There is a no noise rule after 10 pm. The pool bar stays opened to midnight which is handy. We will definitely return to these apts we had the best of both worlds. X

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Low Cost Holidays
2  Thank Sue J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (456)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

195 - 201 of 456 reviews

Reviewed 26 July 2014 via mobile

I thoroughly enjoyed my stay at the hotel although found the bathroom in the apartment small i removed the toilet paper as i found it awkward to pull the paper with the roll holder hitting my leg and my boyfriend found the shower a little small and the price for the use of the safe seemed expensive but i think that may of been my naiievety as i just thought you would need to put a deposit which you would get back at the end of the stay but you have to pay a deposit and to use it which works out at 30 euros other than those two little things its ideally located and i would definately return

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Libby242014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2014 via mobile

Just been here we partner the place is great nice quite well looked after staff all exellant n work hard it's a little walk 2 strip but I did it twice a day n I'm lazy haha so not that far there's a bus just across road n only 140 euro anywhere so not bad and there's an exellant itallian just right at roundabout exellant food nice people who run it chef gino then baby gino haha and then the boss the wife best food by far .plus met some great people at hotel (I'm so misserable now ) haha

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank pedro840
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2014

Just back from Week at the balaia sol.travelled with 2kids aged 7&13.we landed at 00.10
Even at that time of night nothing was a problem for them,we were made very welcome as the gentleman showed us around.The complex is lovely it could be doing with some entertainment at night.we went into old town and the strip at night so spent quite a bit on taxis as youngest doesn't like walking to far.the apartments are beautiful and kept so clean,the whole complex in general is very well kept,and gorgeous.the courtyard is so quaint with the mosaics.the staff were great especially Ana who was always smiling and very helpful.would defiantly return to the Balaia sol.

Room Tip: We had room 5 overlooking the pool,and got the sun in evening.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank tyr0nemum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 July 2014

The staff are really friendly here. Nice quiet place, always sunbeds available. We travelled in May, it was perfect, the weather was beautiful in the daytime, but chilly at night, but that didn't spoil anything, no mosquitos to bother you in the night! went to Albufeira Old Town which was lovely, and the Hotel have a minibus to take you for a couple of Euros, they come back to pick you up a couple of hours later which is plenty of time to browse the shops and get something to eat.

We went on a day trip to Seville for 18 Euros, really good day but the travelling was a killer! Had to meet the coach at 6.45am just at the roundabout near the hotel and we didn't get back until 8pm!

Would go to this hotel again no problem!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Bedders64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2014

As most have said this is a pleasant, small property, nicely maintained. The apartments are basic, but have what you need. I stayed in a studio (08), which was nicely situated, set back in the corner. 08 & 07 (I think the '0' indicates a studio, as there was an apartment 8 as well) were a single storey pair, which was nice as you didn't get the noise from the tiled floors above. The studio contained 2 comfy single beds (think if you want a double you have to just push them together), the kitchen was a fridge, kettle, microwave and a freestanding, 2 ring hot plate. Loads of space. The pool area was very nice. The staff were always very pleasant. You pay 5 Euros for wifi, which covers your stay, although it only worked by the pool.

Couple of issues for me, were really both locational.

1. The property is out of the resort. This made it very peaceful, but felt a long way out. It was a 20 minute slow walk to the Strip/shops/restaurants and a 50/60 minute slow walk to the Old Town. The nearest decent supermarket was nearly 30 mins away. Cabs are easy to get. There is a bus stop at the roundabout, although not all the buses make a right at the previous roundabout some go left so don't go up to Bolaia. Fine again, you can hop off, but then you need to walk 15mins to get back. They were all Lina Azul, so I couldn't work out why some did/didn't come up to Bolaia. The buses are dirt cheap. Walk is along a busy road, but on a nice even pavement.

2. The trek to the beach. Come out of the property and turn right. You follow a dirt track down to the beach. There are wooden steps towards the end, followed by a mud hill and a wall to hop over. Once you had made it, the beach was lovely. Not sure I would want to do it with a buggy, a wheel chair would be impossible and anyone dodgy on their feet would be advised to give it a miss.

On my return trek up the dirt track, I noticed the couple about 50 yards in front of me had stopped. She was taking a photo of something on the ground. When I arrived behind them, I saw it was a 4/5 long snake, lying across the width of the path. Me and the bloke were far from happy, but were very brave once she had chased it away by stamping on the ground. Funnily enough, I didn't go down the dirt track again.

I think virtually everyone there when I was there was 30s-50s, hardly any children and no groups of youngsters while I was there.

So I think in summary, if you are active, don't mind walking and want a nice basic studio or apartment in a peaceful location this place is ideal. If you aren't up for a lot of walking, want to be in the heart of things, want to be close to the beach maybe not.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank johnru
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2014 via mobile

Stayed in Balaia Sol for 10 nights. Initial impression was it looked lovely with a nice little court yard giving it a real feel of being in a Portugese apartment and not a typical holiday resort.
The room I stayed in was basic but contained all the self catering essentials. The rooms were also very clean. The staff are helpful and pleasant.
There is a small pool bar with food and drinks sold at a reasonable price.
The pool and pool side area are very well maintained and very very clean.
The apartments are a little out of the way from the beach, old town and supermarket. There is a little super market approx. 5 mins walk but only has bare essentials. Its approx 20mins walk to nearest beach but this is over so waste ground and woulldnt be recommend for families pushing prams. Other beaches are approx. 30mins walk and so is the main supermarket restraunts and bars. Taxis can be called by apartment staff and are reasonable €5-8 will get you to these places.
Had a great time at Balaia Sol. Recommended a visit.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
3  Thank Mark O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Albufeira hotels
0.4 mi away
Natura Algarve Club
Natura Algarve Club
#28 of 154 in Albufeira
812 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Mirachoro Albufeira
Hotel Mirachoro Albufeira
#96 of 154 in Albufeira
210 reviews
5.1 mi away
Jardins Vale de Parra
Jardins Vale de Parra
#80 of 154 in Albufeira
142 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Solar de Sao Joao
Solar de Sao Joao
#100 of 154 in Albufeira
261 reviews
1.4 mi away
Aparthotel Oceanus
Aparthotel Oceanus
#24 of 154 in Albufeira
717 reviews
1.9 mi away
Cerro Malpique Aparthotel
Cerro Malpique Aparthotel
#49 of 154 in Albufeira
415 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Balaia-Sol Holiday Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Balaia-Sol Holiday Club

Address: Rua do Alfaiate, Albufeira 8200-315, Portugal
Phone Number:
Region: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Albufeira
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #65 of 154 Hotels in Albufeira
Price Range: £30 - £154 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Balaia-Sol Holiday Club 3*
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This small holiday complex consists of holiday apartments and is located near the northern entrance to the Quinta da Balaia, in a privileged location, just 1.2 KM from Santa Eulália beach, 700m from the lively area of Praia da Oura, 4 KM from the city center of Albufeira and 15 KM away from Vilamoura. Thus, the Balaia-Sol Holiday Club is the ideal place for a pleasant and relaxing holiday in Algarve, alone or accompanied by family or friends. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, LoveHolidays, Booking.com, Alpha Holidays Limited, Odigeo, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Balaia-Sol Holiday Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Balaia Sol Apartments Albufeira
Balaia-Sol Holiday Club Albufeira, Algarve, Portugal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing