We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quiet, clean and friendly !!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Balaia-Sol Holiday Club
Ranked #66 of 154 Hotels in Albufeira
Reviewed 23 August 2014

Just returned from 10 days, and had a fantastic time. We went with our 2 girls and had a lovely one bed apartment, twin beds in the bedroom and two sofabeds in the main living area, with patio doors opening in both rooms onto a double balcony. We overlooked the shrubland at the side of the complex which benefitted from the shade most of the day, sun went down directly opposite so was lovely in the evenings. Also opposite side of the pool and bar area so lovely and peaceful at night! Not overlooked by anyone and although on pool level, there was a level below us at the back which meant, not being on ground level, we could leave our patio doors open at night eliminating the need for air con - there was a unit but this was 10 euro a night to book, unless you booked the superior room where it came free! Pool area was fitting for the size of the apartments, sunbeds usually available early pm for those not early enough to bag one in the morning! Got busy mid to late afternoon with kids playing after a day out or on the beach, which was great for our youngest! Lovely and clean, but pool was freezing! I cannot fault the staff here at all, Ana and Adelaide did a fantastic job of running the bar, kitchen, reception and end of day pool and sunbed clearing and we were always greeted with smiley faces, nothing was too much trouble. The owners run a minibus service to and from the strip and the old town, but I have to say, I think the times could do with a little tweaking - the last bus to the old town left at 4.45 and you then relied on a taxi to get you back, I wouldn't even have tried to walk it - at 10pm, we waited 45 minutes for a taxi back. The walk to the strip took a good 20 mins but its quite steep in places and by the end of the holiday, it got a bit wearing! We did the shortcut to the beach down the dirt track, it was ok - wear closed in shoes and watch the steps as they are very steep down and then back up - we did walk back up on the last day, and am so glad we didn't attempt it before - not for the faint hearted! Eating out most evenings, we did find a few gems, but there were a few we'd rather forget! Disaster on the first night, our food took over an hour to come from ordering, which when you've been on the go all day with 2 kids, was a bit of a joke! This was at Raina's on what we called the small strip but that's reviewed elsewhere. I would recommend Balaia Sol if you want to be a little bit away from the noise and nightlife, quite hard work if you have smaller children or limited mobility. The wifi code is available from the bar at 5 euros for your entire stay, but its range is limited to the bar and pool area, not available in the rooms. Pool table, internet access and a couple of arcade games available in the pool bar, great range of snack foods reasonably priced and always served very quickly! The 4 out of 5 is purely for the location.

Room Tip: Talking to others, we had a great room, room 16, away from the noise and glare of the pool, and catc...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank butterflymum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (452)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

183 - 189 of 452 reviews

Reviewed 8 August 2014

Very clean and quiet complex, nice pool area with snack bar and pool table,no loud music so nice and relaxing. the beach is a good 20-25 mins walk down a track with some steep stairs so if you are a bit unsteady on your feet don't go that way. 15 min walk to the strip with lots of places to eat and drink, you can get a bus to the old town but its only 8 euros in a taxi. we had 2 balconies in our App no 44 so sun morning and afternoon. would recomend to anyone for a good holiday

Room Tip: room 44 only 1 with east and west facing balconies i think.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank jtabiner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2014

Stayed at the Balaia Sol in Albufeira end of July 2014 , the apartment was lovely although basic, pool area was lovely and the staff friendly. The whole place was clean and well kept. Far enough away from the strip to be away from the noise but close enough to walk only 20 mins max.
Lovely little mini market in the Quinta balaia over from the Balaia Sol who bake their own bread and pastries, it's a must for breakfast. Only 15 mins from the beach which is lovely.

Room Tip: All rooms appear to be good we had one facing the pool .
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank 40trudi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2014

Lovely complex in a traditional Portuguese style. Apartments are arranged around a central courtyard where the pool, snack bar and games room are. It's lively but not overcrowded and attracts a mix of people coming and going by the day. It has a great, laid back atmosphere whether you are sitting around the pool or lounging on your individual balcony or terrace. We stayed in a 1 bed apartment which was great for 3 of us. It was clean, spacious and the kitchen was well-equipped. There's a fridge and a couple of rings on the hob as well as kettle, microwave and toaster. The rooms and indeed the whole place was cleaned regularly by hard-working staff. There is a small games room with a library of books which you can read while you're there and a pool table. The pool bar is open until fairly late but it's not noisy later on so fine for kids. The snack bar offers basic food - nothing special but nice cool drinks and coffees etc. We loved the location, up on the hill away from 'the strip' and the noise of the old town. It's not that far away from anywhere however-there's a small shop on the neighbouring complex for essentials, 20 minutes takes you to a bigger supermarket and there's an occasional bus to the strip and the old town if you need to. The pool isn't huge but it's good enough for the average swimmer. The beach is also only a 15 minute walk through woodland and it's worth it as it's a lovely spot. It's not the easiest route with babies or buggies however. My only gripe was the Wi-Fi which we had to pay 5 euros for hardly worked - I'm not sure if this is a regular occurrence but you might want to give it a miss and use the free Wi-Fi elsewhere. At night it's quiet and cool enough to sleep without air con although the bedrooms have fans which work well enough. Prices are very competitive and I think you would be hard-pushed to find anywhere as nice for the money. It's one of those places that you know you'll go back to.

Room Tip: Worth asking for a 1 bed apt for more space.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
4  Thank 22malone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2014 via mobile

Would highly recommend this complex. Very clean apartments but the shower area is way to small. Staff we're very helpful & friendly. Taxis are very cheap. The new strip is only a 10minute walk. The old strip is a taxi ride €10 only. Will be back. Loved the super bock

Stayed: August 2014
1  Thank Barryorego
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2014

Spend a week here with 3 college friends last week, What a great setting, location etc. It has everything from the mini mercado, pool, bar and restaraunt as well as lovely staff who are so obliging. The apartments themselves are ideal as they are clean and spacious. We were extra lucky as there seemed to be lovely people staying also and we met lovely people. Very safe area with necessities for sale on site up to midnight (milk, water, bread etc). Cant fault it. Very near (4euro in a taxi) the main social area and shopping locations. only 30mins from FARO.

Room Tip: Corner suites are more spacious. All rooms have built in AC fan thank god!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank DenyseJulie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2014 via mobile

Spent five days here recently with large family group. Found the apts basic but very clean. Complex is quaint but querky. It feels more like your private villa with a small intimate pool & fully stocked pool bar. Staff were very friendly and helpful. Tv in room only had sky news in english. If you want to use tv refundable deposit of €20 required for remote at reception.There is a small supermarket in the complex next door and if you tirn right and follow the dirt track through the woods it leads you directly to the beach. Only downfall is its an uphill treck to the new town strip. Not for people with disabilities or bad on the feet. The old town is approx ten mins taxi ride away (cost €10). But its a nightmare to get a taxi back from the old town. Expect queues of half hour in high season. Otherwise I would highly recommend this complex for your holiday. I would definitely return

Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
2  Thank daveyath
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Albufeira hotels
2.4 mi away
Vale de Carros
Vale de Carros
#55 of 154 in Albufeira
604 reviews
1.1 mi away
Novochoro Apartamentos Turisticos
5.6 mi away
Bayside Salgados
Bayside Salgados
#48 of 154 in Albufeira
466 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Natura Algarve Club
Natura Algarve Club
#32 of 154 in Albufeira
794 reviews
5.1 mi away
Jardins Vale de Parra
Jardins Vale de Parra
#79 of 154 in Albufeira
141 reviews
4.7 mi away
Parque Monte Verde Apartments
Parque Monte Verde Apartments
#68 of 154 in Albufeira
90 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Balaia-Sol Holiday Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Balaia-Sol Holiday Club

Address: Rua do Alfaiate, Albufeira 8200-315, Portugal
Phone Number:
Region: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Albufeira
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #66 of 154 Hotels in Albufeira
Price Range: £24 - £147 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Balaia-Sol Holiday Club 3*
Number of rooms: 31
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, LoveHolidays, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Balaia-Sol Holiday Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Balaia Sol Apartments Albufeira
Balaia-Sol Holiday Club Albufeira, Algarve, Portugal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing