We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointing and over priced!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Cerro Branco Apartments
Ranked #76 of 154 Hotels in Albufeira
Bristol, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Disappointing and over priced!!”
Reviewed 21 October 2010

Arrived in the eve all seemed ok,the bar seemed shut down for good, no cabs available,in our first appartment 322 the beds were low and very hard, it then rained and the floods began the gutter over flowed apparently they had been mended! this followed bye a damp smell in the wardrobe in the bedroom clothes and room began to smell, followed the next morning by a Kango drilling in the boiler house dirrectly behind the bedroom wall, this was to start again the next morning, contacted owner they offered us a older appartment up on the top level 450,it had clean bedding and towels, but when we moved in it was scary electrics, smelly drains in the dated bathroom,Meldew under the bathmatt covering a discoloured bath ,grey grotty tiles,and a discoloured shower curtain,
The Kitchen was old and dangerous with dripping tap very high cupboards smelly drains.
These appartments are in a grotty area but close to the beach, good views but very over priced , and need updating not suitable if you are not fully fit ,hilly and full of steps!!

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cassrun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

70 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    29
    24
    9
    6
    2
See reviews for
19
35
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
cavan
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 October 2010

Apartments are spacious but at night it is very noisy and as no air con it is necessary to leave balcony door open. But pool area was filthy, very few sunbeds and usually found the few there with towels draped over them all day long but no owners. The snack bar opened whenever they felt like it. Only seen it open on one occasion over the whole week, about 5pm one day it was opened up but only drinks available then. This was a drag as to keep getting drinks etc had to walk out of complex to the 4 flights of stairs to our apartment. Also the barmen treated the bar as their own bachelor pad, a ratty couch, guitars, gaming on the telly, very bizarre area. Oh there is NO gym. Only a ping pong table, there has not been a gym for a long time.
While the location and views are great it is not enough to warrant a return visit.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank mdolly1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brighton, sussex
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 September 2010

In august I stayed in 118 Cerro Branco Apartments with 3 other friends all of the age of 18. The apartment was perfect for four people and was veryg ood value for money. Where our apartment was situated was very near to the pool snack bar and although this meant we couldn't really sunbathe on our terrace without being watched by man it did mean we could pick up free wi fi and buy an ice cream!

I wouldn't really recommend these apartments to young adults/teens that wanted to make friends at their accomodation as we were basically only the young ones there. However, this wasn't really a problem because in the day we just wanted to relax by the pool and in the evening is when we were with people of our own age.

Although we enjoyed staying in the apartment a great deal the night times could be unbearable because of the lack of air conditioning or a fan. This is one of the only negative parts of the holiday although I believe that the owners are sorting this out. One other thing that I noticed was the the firdge was very small. With four girls for 12 days we struggled to fit all our food (and drink) in the fridge.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank livlew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Flipfit, Owner at Cerro Branco Apartments, responded to this review, 19 April 2013
Hello Olivia
Thank you for your honest review.
I'm pleased that you enjoyed your holiday despite their not being many people of your age around.
As you say the apartment is well located, close to the pool and pool bar and I'm pleased you managed to pick up wifi and stay in touch with friends during your holiday.
We at apartment 118 have indeed purchased air conditioning units which will now be available to our guests as well as a larger, brand new fridge.
We would love to hear back from you in the future and welcome you back to our "cooler" apartment.
Phillipa and Keith
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
england
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 July 2009

Amazing location - literally over the old town, about 5 mins to the elevator down to the beach and town, 15 min walk to the montechorro strip. Apartment we stayed in we found privately via the owners and it was lovely. Characterisic portuguese but really nicely (and newly) furnished. Really easy to deal with the english owners and cleaner people. Pool was practically empty most days but so close to the beach we had could choose either/or every day. First floor apartment so felt really safe but noticed there is 24 hour security anyway when we came back late at night. Have already made enquiries to stay next year!

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lovingthesunuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harrogate, UK
Level 6 Contributor
37 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 October 2008

I normally stay at the Brisa Sol, but they were booked solid at this time. So, I got a cheap deal and stayed at the Cerro Branco. I can only say pretty much the same as the other reviewers - the apartments are large (bigger than you'd get at Brisa Sol) - small kitchen, dining area, living room (with settee beds), bathroom, bedroom and balcony. But it is extremely tatty, the bathroom had black mould above the bath and the shaving light was rusty. The kitchen was smelly and the crockery/cutlery looked about 20 years old, the whole place needed refurbishment ideally. BUT it was clean and the cleaners came in every day but one during our 10 day stay. Towels changed every other day - but again these had seen better days and were frayed/had holes in them.

The pool area is small - this wasn't a problem at this time of year because there weren't many other guests, but in Summer I would expect a "towels at dawn" approach from some in order to get a sun bed. The sun bed sitting/lying positions were fixed - a bit uncomfortable if you were trying to read, although we got round this (and so did other guests !) by putting a couple of folded mattresses at the head end to bolster you up - obviously, they would all be in use in Summer, the sun bed mattresses were also very tatty and well-used.

Be warned: there is no air conditioning so I would imagine summer nights could be pretty uncomfortable.

The view was fantastic - overlooking the Old Town and the sea, stunning. There is also an escalator down to the Old Town if you turn right out of the road and head towards the sea, although you can also turn left and walk down the hill if you want the exercise !

Overall, whilst it was tatty and I wouldn't necessarily rush back there, it wasn't too bad if you consider that it was about half the price of staying at the Brisa Sol. The location, views and the size of the apartment were great and it was cleaned almost daily. But I most certainly wouldn't want to go in Summer with no air conditioning !

  • Liked — The location and views
  • Disliked — It is extremely tatty and in need of refurbishment
  • Stayed September 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rachelemma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EAST SUSSEX
1 review
Reviewed 20 September 2008

We enjoyed a good holiday at the Cerro Branco apartments. position overlooking Albefeira is brilliant but be prepared for some hill climbing on most trips out. We were allocated a ground floor flat., which was rather shabby and musty smelling ,with poor security, as the balcony is open to the general walkway. On complaining we were given a 1st floor apartment (2 days later ) which was fine - cleaner , less delapidated and more secure with a totally private balcony. Staff were courteous and obliging and rooms were cleaned daily. Pool was great but pool bar lacked finesse and we prefered to eat and drink out at the many lovely bars and restaurants nearby - the beach ( gorgeous ) and Old Town Square only a 15 minute stroll.Altogether a complex in a favourable elevated position which only lacked slightly in dated decor and poor state of repair in certain areas.Would definately return to the same area but perhaps not to these apartments - Portugal is perfect !!

  • Liked — Panoramic views
  • Disliked — Hill climbs a few times a day
  • Stayed September 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank COLUMBUS53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 August 2008

I organized out trip to Albufeira for 12 people to stay at Cerro Branco apartments. We've stayed at a few places in Europe in large groups and this was up there as the best.

The views were amazing! We requested sea view rooms by email before we traveled and were pleased that all rooms had excellent pool and sea views.

On arrival we got there pretty early (Thomson flight from Coventry got us in to Portugal 09:00) and we arrived at the hotel about 09:45 but could not check in straight away which we were aware of, but we were able to freshen up and wait at the pool which was fine.

The accommodation was clean, fairly modern and with brilliant views of the resort and sea. It's set on a hill so you can see far out. The rooms were quite basic but had everything we needed. 4 stayed in each room but I would only recommend this for a group of lads. There was one double bed and 2 fold out beds in the lounge area. For the price we paid we were very happy with it.

The beach is about a 15 min walk down hill, the shops are about the same. The beach is very clean and nice although the water is really cold!

The main strip where all the nightclubs are is about a 10 min taxi ride away and the taxi's are very cheap!

Overall a brilliant stay, great friendly and chilled out people, would really recommend especially to big groups.

  • Liked — Sea Views
  • Disliked — Up-hill walk back from the beach!
  • Stayed July 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank 1crew_hss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Albufeira hotels
0.2 mi away
Silmar Apartamentos
Silmar Apartamentos
#80 of 154 in Albufeira
40 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Almar
Hotel Almar
#72 of 154 in Albufeira
241 reviews
0.0 mi away
Cerro Malpique Aparthotel
Cerro Malpique Aparthotel
#51 of 154 in Albufeira
375 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Baltum
Hotel Baltum
#41 of 154 in Albufeira
365 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Mansao Bertolina
Hotel Mansao Bertolina
#139 of 154 in Albufeira
75 reviews
0.2 mi away
Polana Residence Hotel
Polana Residence Hotel
#141 of 154 in Albufeira
134 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cerro Branco Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cerro Branco Apartments

Property: Cerro Branco Apartments
Address: Cerro da Alagoa, Lotes 11-12 | Rua Fernão Magalhães, Albufeira 8200, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Albufeira
Amenities:
Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #76 of 154 Hotels in Albufeira
Hotel Class:3 star — Cerro Branco Apartments 3*
Number of rooms: 66
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and Travel Republic (UK) so you can book your Cerro Branco Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cerro Branco Apartments Albufeira, Algarve, Portugal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing