We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just got back”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Cerro Malpique Aparthotel
Ranked #55 of 154 Hotels in Albufeira
Birmingham, United Kingdom
1 review
“Just got back”
Reviewed 7 September 2013

Just got back from staying here and was allocated a superior room at cerro malpique 2. I read poor reviews on here so was quite wary, but felt the need to write this as I was pleasantly surprised. The staff were very helpful and friendly. The apartment we stayed in was amazing and the photos on the website do NOT do it justice. They are very clean & modern (i cannot speak for cm1). We could sunbathe on the loungers on our balcony, or eat at the table it was that spacious, bbc1 &2 on the tv and all cooking facilities you could want are there. We has issue with air con but staff resolved quite quickly on request. Be prepared to pay 10 Euro for safe with 30 Euro deposit, but i'd advise it for safe keeping and insurance purposes (cheaper than a lot of places i've visited). Do not be put off by the reviews about the steps on here if you are fit, under 65 and healthy and have not children to consider as I am 38 and felt the uphill walk back from the town was quite good to walk off dinner. Ideal location as all restaurants & bars 10 mins away and lidl & aldi 5 mins away. Perfect location & faultless accomodation excellent value for money. If i returned to Albuferia I would book here again

Room Tip: Choose superior rather than studio
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Caroline U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

380 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    106
    186
    56
    18
    14
See reviews for
91
170
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (100)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Belfast
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 September 2013

this review is based on our experience at Malpique 2. Firstly, yes this is in a quiet area with steps leading down to the old town, very hilly, the steps going down are not a problem and we got a 3.50 euro taxi back up in the evening. The apartments themselves where quite large, very clean and perfect for our break, the pool was small but as there are only around 15 units actually round the pool it is never packed and on several occasions our two teenagers had the pool to themselves. It does not have any pool bar or entertainment which I hadn't read previously to going. Wasn't a big problem and although my husband and I would go back in a heartbeat, probably bit too quiet for our teenagers. I would recommend this mainly for couples who would like a quiet break or families with very small kids who go to bed early. ideal. also, big thank you to Irene on reception. went above and beyond the call of duty!! very very nice, pleasant and helpful.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Martsi70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 September 2013

We had originally booked a studio apartment for 5 nights over August bank holiday. Thankfully we were upgraded to a one bed apartment in Cerro Malpique 2, the rooms were well equipped for our needs with a very spacious patio over looking the pool. Good location of the apartments being close to shops and the old town but be prepared for some serious hill climbing! We would return to Cerro but will DEFINATELY pay the extra for the upgraded rooms. Only real downfall was the shared stairwell in the building, any guests leaving or arriving during early hours of the morning can be heard very clearly, especially as I am a light sleeper.

Room Tip: Choose room 2104 in Cerro Malpique 2. Excellent patio with sun all day.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WayneCurtis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scunthorpe, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 August 2013

stayed here for 8 days in the deluxe apartment which has a large patio area had room 2 which had full air con and full kitchen amenity although it has no oven has a microwave and is ok for making snacks etc. lidl and aldi 5 mins away lidl being the best for cheap booze and general provisions. old town not to far out made worse by the famous steps however did not stop us going into the town you can always get a taxi back which are fairly cheap. would certainly stop again in the future

Room Tip: had deluxe room 102 with good pool view and large patio
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gary047
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle upon Tyne, England, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 25 August 2013

just back from cerro malpique apartments,had a great time, loved the apartments ,very spacious nice and clean,we were upgraded to room 204 as the rooms we booked were full which i was happy about..nice views and a large terrace area outside our front door to relax and have drinks etc before our night out. a nice relaxing place with plenty of sunbeds,we went with family and friends so there was 11 of us and we were left to enjoy our holiday with no complaints about noise from staff,would definately stay here again if it wasnt for the steps to square, ok going down but a killer coming back up, check out the geordie viking a nice friendly little pub on the way to the square,had some great laughs in there

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Julie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
Reviewed 22 August 2013 via mobile

Just home from Portugal on tues, stayed at cerro malpique appts, never again. We asked for a pool view, our view was bushes, we were on -1 floor, the balcony had bushes growing in2 it, we couldn't open doors much because of wasps & ants, there was NO air conditioning and the temperature was 40+ , we had ants in our bed, only a couple but still, ants in bathroom. No bar in apps, no entertainment, to get to the square although easily found u had to climb down 95 steps, going down was ok but coming up, oooft oxygen needed. Really disappointed with holiday this time, can't say I would recommend it

Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Mandy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 August 2013

Stayed at Cerro 1. The man on reception was grumpy and not very friendly but other staff were happy to help. Very clean apts but not much to do as there was no entertainment, music or snack bars available. Easy access to sun loungers each morning though which was very stress free. Lots to do in the old town 'square', plenty of bars & restaurants........ but be warned the exhausting steps to and from are a daily workout and will definately leave you breathless, not ideal for youngsters in trolleys or for the elderley. The Beach is about 10-15 min walk but worth it when you arrive!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Caroline M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Albufeira hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Baltum
Hotel Baltum
#42 of 154 in Albufeira
368 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Almar
Hotel Almar
#72 of 154 in Albufeira
241 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Frentomar
Hotel Frentomar
#66 of 154 in Albufeira
79 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Colina do Mar Hotel
Colina do Mar Hotel
#93 of 154 in Albufeira
311 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Sol e Mar
Hotel Sol e Mar
#37 of 154 in Albufeira
1,262 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Vila Recife
Hotel Vila Recife
#99 of 154 in Albufeira
684 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cerro Malpique Aparthotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cerro Malpique Aparthotel

Property: Cerro Malpique Aparthotel
Address: Rua do Malpique, Albufeira 8200-153, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Albufeira
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#15 Best Value Hotel in Albufeira
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Cerro Malpique Aparthotel 3*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cerro Malpique is a modern high standard complex of self-catering apartments situated at the heart of Albufeira in the center of the Algarve, with fabulous views over the sea and the old town of Albufeira. Cerro Malpique provides guests a relaxing and comfortable setting in a well-equipped accommodation. Composed of 63 apartments separated in two buildings, Malpique I and Malpique II. Old town of Albufeira and Oura are within easy reach from the apartments, while the beach is 1.2 km away. A small selection of shops are within the immediate vivacity, including a supermarket. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Jet2Holidays , LoveHolidays, Expedia, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Cerro Malpique Aparthotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cerro Malpique Aparthotel Albufeira, Algarve, Portugal
Cerro Malpique Aparthotel Hotel Albufeira

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing