We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“clean but tired”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Cerro Malpique Aparthotel
Ranked #55 of 154 Hotels in Albufeira
Sheffield
Level Contributor
38 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“clean but tired”
Reviewed 21 October 2013

Just returned from this aparthotel last week. We travelled with Jet2 Holidays which were excellent. The apartment was a one bedroom one which was very spacious and clean. The general condition of the living room and bedroom was a little tired looking, but the bathroom was in serious need of attention with cracked tiles and poor shower. There is no hairdryer so be sure to take your own. We had a problem with the toilet cistern which was sorted within a couple hours of our reporting to their excellent receptionist who speaks English and is a mine of information.For shopping give Aldi a miss as it's very poor and go to Continente which is on the ring road and not much further,we could see it from our apartment as it's next to Brisa Sol. The kitchen is well equipt with a full size electric cooker, microwave and dishwasher. The 97 steps are a bit of a trail as they are followed by two hills, but are managable even by two 60plus year olds. If you can't face it a taxi from the area at the end of "walking street" costs 3.90euros. If we were to stay here again we would opt for Malpique 2 which is newer and has air conditioning which 1 hasn't.

Room Tip: high floor overlooking town and pool has sun all morning
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank normskySheffield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

368 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    102
    180
    55
    18
    13
See reviews for
86
166
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (95)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 October 2013 via mobile

The directions to our apartment which was in a different block to the main reception were vague and we spent half an hour looking for it, very hilly, loads of steps so be prepared to exercise, nice clean and spacious apartment but make sure everything is secure, unfortunately on our fourth night we were burgled while we slept, took my wallet with all my cash and cards, my new tablet pc and my tag watch, local police were very good, they turned up quickly and fingerprinted the apartment but we still had to spend a couple of hours in the police station in order to get the report for the insurance and it also costs 13 euros for the privilege.
The old town is full of bars and restaurants and certain parts are lively if you are looking for a rowdy night out but there are also some nice quiet eateries available. Be sure to shop around as food & drink varies in price and good value food at a reasonable price can be had.
Try a boat trip out of the marina but again shop around, we had a fantastic 2.5 hour trip for 17 euros each on a sailing boat.
Overall a great holiday marred by thoughtless scum who think they have a right to try and ruin peoples holidays, we still had a great time!

Stayed October 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank David A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
64 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 October 2013

Stayed here for 5 nights in October, great locaion. Very good size apartment, clean all the necessary kitchen gagets. The staff are very nice when we checked in the receptionist told us how to get to the supermarkets, beach and bars. This is a first for me to be given a local map and pointed in the right direction without having to ask - well done.
The steps are not as bad as I thought they would be it would certainly not put me off unless I had walking difficulties. The roof top pool area gave great views over the old town.

Room Tip: Rooms 201 - 205 are in a very good position.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lynnchester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 October 2013

Thoroughly enjoyed our stay at the Cerro Malpique. Stayed there for ten days in October. First off we never went down the dreaded 96 steps once the whole holiday. If you come out the hotel and turn left, right then left again you will come to a far smaller set of steps on the far right which take you down to the Old Town square. Lovely room with two balconys and everything you need plus a cracking view. Can only imagine what the superior is like as the basic is perfect. We were left to our own devices which suited us down to the ground after two years of all inclusive.
Great location right next to the old town, and 5 minutes from Aldis which we preffered going to after we were nearly maimed in the liddles carpark by a rogue driver.
If you want to go somewhere nearby one night other than the old town, check out Casa Do Ze just up the road which youll see signposted. Lovely wee authentic restauraunt where youll find the locals sitting with there coffee and brandy. Bit of a wait for food but its fresh and very reasonably priced.
All in all great holiday, great facilities and great location. If you want entertainment go all inclusive, if you want to be left to your own devices go here...

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Stephen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
64 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 October 2013

Stayed in the apartments for 5 nights in October 13, much nicer than expected. First thing after being told room number was without asking we were given a map and were shown where the supermarket was. The receptionist then went on to explain how to get to the town and the beach, this was general information that helped on your first day. The studio was big,clean and had everything that you needed, the only thing was that the water was not as hot as it could have been. The accommodation is up 100 steps but they are not too steep, it is only a ten minute walk to beach, 5 minutes to old town and 20 to the strip. Would definitely stay here again, the rooftop pool is small but you get wonderful views. The staff were extremely pleasant.

Room Tip: Room 203 was in a very good position and nice balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lynnchester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swansea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
68 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 October 2013

Stayed here for a week in September, just my wife and I after spending a week with 20 friends on the strip in the new part of town. After that endurance test it was great to move down to the old town and spend a relaxing week here at a great complex. Don't let the steps down to the square put you off these apartments as they are well worth the walk.
The rooms are quite big with a great kitchen and lounge area with a balcony which had a fantastic sea view (see photos). Also a decent size bedroom, beds not the best I've slept in but it's usually the same abroad. More cupboard space than you can use.
Check in was smooth, had my room at 1pm. The staff at reception are very pleasant and helpful and if you just want a chat or information, nothing is too much work for them. The cleaning staff keep the place absolutely spotless.
The pool area is not huge but no rush to get your beds in the morning as they were always available. Small pool but never a crowd in there. Nice and quiet as well. Only little criticism, no toilets in the pool area.
The location of the apartments are great in my view, my wife and I are both 50 and we walked the steps twice a day up and down and only used a taxi twice (heels and rain). It is only about a 10 minute walk down to the main square and another 10 to the beach. Loved stopping at O'Paulos little Portugese bar before walking up the steps, lovely welcome. There is a Lidl supermarket about 10 minutes walk away. The view from the pool area is stunning and if you are lucky as we were to get a second floor room then you will not want to eat your breakfast out. A great view from the balcony. Spoke to people who had lower floor rooms and they were not as big and no view.
Too many places to mention around the square for great food, find the ones that you'll enjoy, great fun.
When we return again to Albufeira, I won't bother looking for anywhere else to stay as we loved this place. Thanks Cerro Malpique for a lovely relaxing week.

Room Tip: Ask for a high floor as they all have fantastic sea views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cwrcyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birkenhead, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 October 2013

went here last year for my 50th birthday,, just had to go back this year 29.9 2013. my husband Ray and i think the algarve is beautiful. the cerro malpique is so freindly. the staff are very good. and as for the cleaners they where very good. we stayed in appartment 601 it huge. loads of space and your own sunbeds on the balcony. go you will love it.

Room Tip: corner top apartment 601. very big and own sunbeds
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Vivian C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Albufeira hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel Almar
Hotel Almar
#67 of 154 in Albufeira
237 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Baltum
Hotel Baltum
#40 of 154 in Albufeira
351 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Frentomar
Hotel Frentomar
#62 of 154 in Albufeira
77 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Vila Recife
Hotel Vila Recife
#95 of 154 in Albufeira
668 reviews
0.2 mi away
Colina do Mar Hotel
Colina do Mar Hotel
#90 of 154 in Albufeira
309 reviews
0.2 mi away
Silmar Apartamentos
Silmar Apartamentos
#85 of 154 in Albufeira
38 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cerro Malpique Aparthotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cerro Malpique Aparthotel

Property: Cerro Malpique Aparthotel
Address: Rua do Malpique, Albufeira 8200-153, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Albufeira
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#13 Best Value Hotel in Albufeira
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Cerro Malpique Aparthotel 3*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cerro Malpique is a modern high standard complex of self-catering apartments situated at the heart of Albufeira in the center of the Algarve, with fabulous views over the sea and the old town of Albufeira. Cerro Malpique provides guests a relaxing and comfortable setting in a well-equipped accommodation. Composed of 63 apartments separated in two buildings, Malpique I and Malpique II. Old town of Albufeira and Oura are within easy reach from the apartments, while the beach is 1.2 km away. A small selection of shops are within the immediate vivacity, including a supermarket. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, LoveHolidays, Priceline, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Cerro Malpique Aparthotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cerro Malpique Aparthotel Albufeira, Algarve, Portugal
Cerro Malpique Aparthotel Hotel Albufeira

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing