We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“BRILLIANT LOCATION”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Cerro Malpique Aparthotel
Ranked #54 of 162 Hotels in Albufeira
Limerick, Ireland
Level Contributor
181 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
“BRILLIANT LOCATION”
Reviewed 7 May 2014

we have just returned from a five night break at the Cerro Malpiique Apartments. When we arrived we were greeted by a very pleasent man who showed us to our apartment. It was a studio apartment. It was a large room with the two beds, two balconies (one big one small) a seperate kitchen and seperate bathroom. Although the studio was quite spacious it was very simple and basic, it definitly looked like it needed to be done up a bit. There werent even headboards. It didnt have air conditioning but luckily the room never got too warm. There was a set of steps. a steep hill and another set of steps to the town. We didnt mind this too much as we were very central. Before you take the steps if you turn left you end up by mcdonalds and loads more cafes, shopping centres and bars plus its the direction to the new town which is lovely also. I would most definitly stay here again and found it a very pleasent stay. The only downfall is the pool isnt great, no music, no snack bar, no pool bar, it was a bit lifeless there, we spent most of our time at the beach

Room Tip: spend that extra few euro and get an apartment, the studios are very basic
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank whatwaytothebeach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

358 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    101
    175
    52
    18
    12
See reviews for
86
160
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (93)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
westmeath
Level Contributor
91 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 May 2014

just home form staying at cerro malpique.but the 2 bed superiior apts are up the rd .not part of hotel you see on tripadvisor. .we stayed in block 2 room 207.excellent apartments with everyting you need.we had a problem with the patio door. the handel fell off completly .the blind in the kitchen was broken.wouldn t go up..rang reception told he would contact services .following day cleaner arrived she checked it out..rang reception.never came back.like faulty towers.nxt day my husband rang reception. told by receptionist that the repair man was in the other apts on the other side of town..so 2 days of not being able to lock the door i had enough.came back from beach.couldn t get in the apt door.had to leave block 2 walk down the hill into block one like a hill with loads of steps up.i was so annoyed.but alex was on reception i explained my story.he came back down with me.turns out the guy who eventually came to fix patio door .locked our apt door.as u use a swipe card not a key.alex luckly brought the keys.he gave me new cards.he was very nice guy.but kitchen blind was never sorted.during holiday.they tried.but gave up.it ...apart from the above the apts are spotless and massive.there was 6 in my family, ..plenty of room.we had a problem as clothes were damp. my hubby went to reception.the lady there gave him the air con remote as the first 2 days were very cold.this sorted the problem.block 2 had no bar etc.there are alot of cats around so noisy and smelly pong and poo in grass heading down to the pool.also alot of dogs barking at the cats.but the view is fab from the room .pool area was very clean.pool freezing .kids used it .but not alot of beds if it was busy.awful quiet in block 2.like having a villa.kids hated it as they wanted to make friends.great for adults.it is very central once you find the steps down and up are a killer.were a fit family and it was a struggle in the heat carrying shopping..there are no shops or bars near block 2. there was a pastry shop. aldi ,lidl were close once found. mc donalds and shopping centre were just a walk away also.really loved our holiday .the steps were a . killer on the knees. depending which steps you use.but we found 3 ways to get back.a taxi back is e4 for 4 people.so as a family of 6 needed 2 taxi.

Room Tip: i would stay in block one as its closer to the steps down to town ,it has a bar and where the recept...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank blondiechanel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 28 April 2014

Have just returned from Cerro Malpique, Albufeira and can say it was a fabulous holiday. We had room 607 which has an absolutely massive roof terrace which gets the sun all day and has a wonderful view out over the old town and the bay. You can also see the viewing platform / escalator area down to Fisherman's Beach area. Although there are only two of us, we always book a one bedroom apartment for a bit of space and, while the decor in the room is a bit tired and could use an update, it was comfortable and spacious with a lovely kitchen which even included a dish washer! Externally, the apartments are beautifully fresh and attractive with a lovely pool and sun terrace, the pool is lit at night and changes colour which was pretty cool.

There is a safe deposit box in room at a cost which we didn't bother with, there's a 30 Euro deposit for the TV remote (TV was ancient but we didn't go on holiday to watch TV !).

As already mentioned, there are a lot of stairs and hills to get around but then, that's Albufeira for you. It's all hills and valleys There's not much can be done although those who may find it really difficult can always catch the Giro buses which gets you pretty well everywhere. The Cerro is handy for both the green and blue circular routes, costs 1.40 euro but you can get on and off buses within an hour for that price. Buses run from around 7 / 7.30 in the morning every half hour-ish.

There is an Aldi and Lidl very close by, with a huge Continente supermarket in the mall past the Town Hall which is a bit further but on a mainly flat route.

Can't really give an opinion of staff as we didn't have much interaction beyond checking in and out but they all seemed friendly and helpful on the few occasions we met.

Overall, the apartments are basic but clean and comfortable. It doesn't pretend to be anything but what it is, 3* accommodation with a pool and no "entertainment" facilities which suited us fine. Would recommend to friends looking for same.

Room Tip: Room 607 has a massive private sun terrace with fabulous views out over the bay and Old Town. As th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dundeesan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Skelmersdale, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 April 2014

The apartment was absolutely spotless. Very spacios but the balcony was small. Who cares! You can still sit out and have aglass of vino with a lovely seaview. The keep fit bit is the issue of the stairs. There are three routes up to th apartments but all a bit of ahike. May i add that during the six months before uor stay i had both knees replaced. The hike up whichever way was no problem and is a small price to pay for a great stay.Places to eat are casa do ze around the corner and the lovely little coffe and patisserie shop across the road. Pity we never got to eat at the restaurant across the road.It was on our wish list but so much to do never got there. O Veleros in the town is a must but there are so many great value places to eat and the food is,well yum.

Room Tip: Ask for malpique 2
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tom W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ipswich, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 April 2014

I stayed here with my partner in october 2012, we arrived @1am due to flight, the receptionist could not speak much english, but allocated our apartment after seeing our paperwork. We had to pay 25 euros for the air conditioning and 10 euros for the safe in the apartment.
The plus points - Roomy clean apartment with living room, seperate bedroom and kitchen with appliances. Good roomy bathroom with bath/shower. Lovely big balcony with a side sea view.

The minus points: We were allocated the wrong apartment we asked for a top floor sea view, we got ground floor, the neighbours upstairs, 2 late middle aged women came home drunk in early hours most nights & moved furniture etc (?) also threw ciggerette butts over balcony. We were in the more modern block of apartments, but to get to the town, we had to go down/come up 97 steps, so not ideal if you are infirm. That said we got gorgeous weather (average 28 degrees) the locals were friendly, also recommend the sailing cruise for 17 euros which included taxi to and from apartment. Note: lots of wild cats in area if you dont like cats, fortunately we loved them! Also garden sprinklers outside apartment came on at odd times!

Room Tip: Ask for top floor for best view and privacy.....
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Darryl T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Exeter, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
43 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 April 2014

We had a self catering apartment with a sea view. The first thing that struck us was that it was larger than we expected. It was clean and well equipped. Our garden balcony came with a friendly cat and there was plenty of outside room to sit and watch the sun go down over the sea. The thing that makes these apartments stand out is the location. 5 minuets, all be it down quite a step set of steps, and you are in the centre of the old town. The beach is another few minutes walk away. This is a large town and we realised how lucky we were to be so close to the beach etc. the modern part of town looked horrid. But the old town was much more charming and the beach with it's long golden sands, bars and restaurants is the place we spent all of our time.

Room Tip: Book a transfer in advance from the airport
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nigelsabout
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 November 2013

Enjoyable and comfortable apartment, great place to relax.

Street portrait artist in Albufeira http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Gyd-iyfRW_0&feature=c4-overview&list=UUfF1G3tMVyUmfRXvsghiP0Q

Albufeira in video http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=7-qU9ux5KEo&feature=c4-overview&list=UUfF1G3tMVyUmfRXvsghiP0Q

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gaidars S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Albufeira hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel Almar
Hotel Almar
#68 of 162 in Albufeira
4.0 of 5 bubbles 232 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Baltum
Hotel Baltum
#42 of 162 in Albufeira
4.0 of 5 bubbles 343 reviews
0.2 mi away
Silmar Apartamentos
Silmar Apartamentos
#87 of 162 in Albufeira
4.0 of 5 bubbles 37 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hotel Frentomar
Hotel Frentomar
#64 of 162 in Albufeira
4.5 of 5 bubbles 74 reviews
1.7 mi away
Natura Algarve Club
Natura Algarve Club
#28 of 162 in Albufeira
4.0 of 5 bubbles 725 reviews
0.2 mi away
Colina do Mar Hotel
Colina do Mar Hotel
#83 of 162 in Albufeira
3.5 of 5 bubbles 300 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cerro Malpique Aparthotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cerro Malpique Aparthotel

Property: Cerro Malpique Aparthotel
Address: Rua do Malpique, Albufeira 8200-153, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Albufeira
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#15 Best Value Hotel in Albufeira
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Cerro Malpique Aparthotel 3*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cerro Malpique is a modern high standard complex of self-catering apartments situated at the heart of Albufeira in the center of the Algarve, with fabulous views over the sea and the old town of Albufeira. Cerro Malpique provides guests a relaxing and comfortable setting in a well-equipped accommodation. Composed of 63 apartments separated in two buildings, Malpique I and Malpique II. Old town of Albufeira and Oura are within easy reach from the apartments, while the beach is 1.2 km away. A small selection of shops are within the immediate vivacity, including a supermarket. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Jet2Holidays , Hotels.com, Odigeo, LoveHolidays, TravelUp, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Cerro Malpique Aparthotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cerro Malpique Aparthotel Albufeira, Algarve, Portugal
Cerro Malpique Aparthotel Hotel Albufeira

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing