We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Easter Break” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Cerro Mar Atlantico Touristic Apartments

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Cerro Mar Atlantico Touristic Apartments
Certificate of Excellence
Stafford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Easter Break”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2014

We arrived at the hotel 9.30pm quick check in,straight to our apartment over the road, same level and perfect location by the pool. Apartments are very roomy, fab view of the sea what more could you ask for. We then went for our evening meal which they kept for us. Self serve lovely food all week with a full breakfast every morning. Food could do with being kept a bit warmer. The downfall to the location is you need to go down to the town for any nightlife which is accessed by over 90 steps we didn't mind but our friends mom is in her early 70's. You can get a free courtesy bus in the day but you would need to pay a taxi other times. The beach is lovely with bars to sit in along the front. People and staff are all friendly and make you welcome. Weather hit and miss in April but we had a lovely break. Oh! forgot to mention the outdoor pools are very cold this time of year but the indoor pool is lovely you need to wear a swim cap so take one with you, steam room and sauna are lovely. Would recommend to all aged families......

Room Tip: We stayed in room 205 no steps or lifts to use.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank tracey p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

889 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    424
    334
    86
    33
    12
See reviews for
336
322
7
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (242)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Middlesbrough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2014

We stayed at the Cero Mar for a week from 1st May. We found our apartment to be spotlessly clean, bright and airy. There was every cooking utensil and equipnent necessary for self catering. The cleaners were in every day and were very thourough and friendly. Although we didn't use the restaurant, it was always busy which is a good sign. Our apartment was oj the 4th floor and gave us a beautiful view of the ocean. The only drawback was the hundred steps down to the town. Great going down but a killer going up after a few drinks and some wonderful food. (a small price to pay). Will definitely be returning to Albufeira and the delightful Cero Mar apartments.

Room Tip: Try for a 4th floor or higher for spectacular views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank David S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 May 2014

We arrived at this hotel only to find that only Thompson holidays stay in the main hotel we had to get our bags and go up a very step hill with our bags we were offered no help.The apartment was nice and you had a pool everything else was in the main hotel if you wanted anything that's where you had to go.There are a lot of steps down to the town if you are not fit forget it.The Apartment had a lot of ants in the kitchen they were small but not nice to see.

Room Tip: Don't expect to stay in the main hotel .You need to be fit.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 850Angela
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin
Level Contributor
177 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 128 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 May 2014

We have just returned from a weeks holiday at Cerro Mar Atlantico. These apartments should be rated 5 star. On arrival we where pleasantly greeted by the reception staff and quickly checked in.

Our 1 bedroom apartment was very spacious, very clean with all mod cons with plenty of utensils if you wish to cook in. Furniture in the apartment including beds are all relatively new and very clean. Our apartment in block 1 overlooked the pool and the balcony was big enough to have breakfast and lunch every day. Apartment is cleaned everyday including fresh towels.

A lot of reviewers recommend if shopping for groceries, using the nearby Aldi or Lidl. We would suggest walking an extra 8-10 minutes to nearby supermarkets called Pingo Doce or Continenta, both located beside McDonalds and KFC. Both these supermarkets sell brand names from home and are relatively cheap. They are also very good for fruit. The local mini market at the apartments is very good for basics such as bottled water 5 litre bottle €1.40 and fresh bread delivered every morning at 9am.

The steps !!!! that everybody mention, yes there are 100 steps from near the apartment to the old town. They are not as bad as people make out. However we do recommend walking down to the old town and getting a taxi back for only €3.50.

Having stayed in many tourist apartment we found Cerro Mar Atlantico to be the best to date. We will return again. Our advise is to book them you won't regret.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank thedublinrambler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 May 2014

Just returned from our second visit to these apartments via jet2.com - first all the good points,-
clean, great customer service especially in restaurant, great location despite the 97 steps down to the square - a breeze after a couple of days in training. Well equipped apartment and very good food on the buffet half board choice - now the only two things that marred it being ab perfect - no free wifi even in communal areas which these days is just plain mean and a money spinner and what can I say about the beds - very hard and more like prison cots - back ache after a couple of days - forgotten about this from last year until after the first evening - CHANGE THESE and it is a perfect stay!!

Room Tip: ask for a high floor to take in the wonderful views
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jonndouth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Coast, N Ireland
Level Contributor
87 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 140 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 May 2014

We were there on a very quiet hen weekend (yes, they do exist!) where we wanted to chill and relax. This was perfect. We had asked for a sea view and got it. The apartment was very good - a bit chilly on our first night and beds slightly hard as others have mentioned but once we got the hang of the air con and opening the curtains to let the sun in during the day it was fine. The apartment was clean and fine for our needs. The big selling point for us was the lovely pool, sauna, steam room, Jacuzzi. Staff even opened the outdoor pool for us (it was colder than the sea but refreshing to swim in).

Although there are areas for improvement - the light in one bathroom kept going out which left the room in total darkness so we had to bath/shower with the door open and the shower in the shower room flooded and we did need the blankets at night but for the money, it really could not be faulted. Superb value, friendly staff and close to the old town.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank ponaire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Morpeth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 May 2014

Hi, thanks for reading. Arrived back yesterday thought would give my (as usual) totally honest views of the Apartment (Atlantico) and the resort. Arrived checked in and a nice suprise that we were upgraded from a Studio Apartment (which I had booked) to a 1 bedroom apartment.

Booking in was quick and a short briefing from the receptionist then out the main door over the road to the apartments on the Atlantico side. What a cracking apartment as well separate kitchen from lounge and dining area with plenty of room, large shower/bath/toilet area.

Bedroom again large twin beds but matresses slighty hard as mentioned a few times already, but did not detract from the high standard of this apartment. (Room 309) balcony overlooked the road but no problems and had breakfast out there most mornings, on opening front door the pool was below and it was a really nice little pool area. Also had a decent view from the balcony and could see the sea. Apartment was serviced everyday and towels changed daily

Lots of pools around and no need to go into details they were fine and you can use any pool you fancy........ bar prices reasonable no more expensive than down town (where they seem to charge whatever they fancy in some places). Had a meal in the Hotel first night and used the complimentary voucher for a bottle of wine. Food was very nice and the service was very good so no complaints there either.

As for the old town that was fine lots of places to eat but would advise to go off from the main square (my opinion only) as there a lots of little places that are cheaper and the the food would be as good and in some cases better. A few places seem to have different prices in the evenings as from the daytime..... One place charged 2.50 euros for a (very small coke which was half full with ice (not good) one of those places, you just don't get another drink and you dont go back simple, their loss.

Personal choice O Zuca at the bottom of the steps, doesn't look much but the beer/sangria was possibly the cheapest around (as was the whisky) Beer 2 euros/Bottle of wine 5 euros whisky Chivas Regal 2.75 euros. Food was excellent and a lunchtime stop for olives/bread/cheese with a beer was always nice. There are plenty of others like this where you will find the local people eating (usually they are there because the food is good and prices are as well). Just go off the square and main tourist area there are plenty of small bars around. Yes you will get hassle from the the guys outside the bars etc..... again no problem a smile and "no thanks" is easy enough.

The beach, well ok for me and partner but not so sure about very young children as it does drop away quite steeply.......... am sure you will know if you feel its safe and have a young family (just my personal thought). Cost to hire sun beds and shade (10 euros half day/15 euros for the day). Maybe cheaper to buy an Umbrella and some mats if frequent visits are planned.

Few stag/hen parties around but they were enjoying life and were no bother in fact some were very funny..... (depends on your sense humour but if your partner is approached to sign the backside of the groom............ :-) make sure she has her lipstick with her.... mind did :-).

Overall for us excellent time..... Albufeira was a great place for our break away. Would we go back........ possibly but with so many other places to see maybe not for awhile anyway.

Age of travellers 61 & 57.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank ExiledDragon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Albufeira hotels
0.5 mi away
Hotel Apartamento Brisa Sol
Hotel Apartamento Brisa Sol
#16 of 162 in Albufeira
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,641 reviews
1.7 mi away
Aqua Pedra dos Bicos Design Beach Hotel
0.3 mi away
Hotel Sol e Mar
Hotel Sol e Mar
#34 of 162 in Albufeira
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,189 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Luna Clube Oceano
Luna Clube Oceano
#9 of 162 in Albufeira
4.0 of 5 bubbles 413 reviews
0.5 mi away
Vila Gale Cerro Alagoa
Vila Gale Cerro Alagoa
#27 of 162 in Albufeira
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,428 reviews
4.7 mi away
EPIC SANA Algarve Hotel
EPIC SANA Algarve Hotel
#1 of 162 in Albufeira
4.5 of 5 bubbles 940 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cerro Mar Atlantico Touristic Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cerro Mar Atlantico Touristic Apartments

Property: Cerro Mar Atlantico Touristic Apartments
Address: Cerro do Malpique, Albufeira 8200, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Albufeira
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 119 Speciality Lodging in Albufeira
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Cerro Mar Atlantico Touristic Apartments 4*
Number of rooms: 154
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, Hotels.com, LoveHolidays and TravelUp so you can book your Cerro Mar Atlantico Touristic Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cerro Mar Atlantico Touristic Apartments Hotel Albufeira
Cerro Mar Albufeira
Cerro Mar Algarve
Cerro Mar Apartments Albufeira
Cerro Mar Hotel Albufeira
Cerro Mar Atlantico Touristic Apartments Albufeira, Algarve, Portugal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing