We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“JUST GETS BETTER......”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Cerro da Marina Hotel
Ranked #41 of 154 Hotels in Albufeira
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 11 September 2011

This was our third stay at the hotel. We stayed for 7 nights at the begining of September. So lovely to see the same staff. They have added an outdoor jacuzzi and spa area which was very well finished. Rooms spotless and cleaned everyday. Great selection for breakfast. Looking forward to returning next year.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank adrianne61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (312)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

200 - 206 of 312 reviews

Reviewed 4 September 2011

What a super hotel! Really relaxing week, from start to finish. Lovely rooms, always clean and tidy, and nice lounge area etc too. The pool and spa area was great - even if the water is a little cold! Carole on reception is fantastic, and runs the place well - not to mention being really friendly too, and looking after all of the guests. George is a great waiter, always taking the time to check that everything was fine - we ate half board, and the food was superb, and drinks not too expensive either. Honesty bar policy works well, as do the mini bars in the rooms, and tea and coffee served at 4pm. Being able to eat/drink as you please contributes to the lovely relaxed atmosphere - all the other guests appeared to be enjoying their holiday as much as we were! This hotel is indeed on a hill - however if you pick your route to the old town carefully, you can avoid coming up the steep hill on the way back - we didn't find the walking a problem, even in very hot weather. Overall, a lovely holiday, and would definitely stay here again! :)

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Louise240809
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2011

We chose this hotel in pursuit of a small, intimate hotel for our honeymoon - and it could not have been more perfect! On arrival we thought the exterior looked quite plain and although immaculate, it did nothing to raise our expectations. However, we were warmly greeted by Carole, the English receptionist, who brought us a complimentary bottle of champagne chilling in ice to start our honeymoon; and from there it just got better and better. Our room was spacious, comfortable and immaculately clean and had a large, marbled ensuite with the best 'over-the-bath' shower we've ever encountered.The bedroom's air conditioning was perfect- easy to control, with boosters if needed. The real piece de resistance though, was the pool area. Simplicity itself, set in a courtyard shape, you couldn't ask for more - tranquil, private and quietly sophisticated. The pool loungers surrounding the pool itself have pivoting shades so that you can tan just the bits you want to - ideal for shading your face when reading or simply protecting overburnt areas! There are also loungers dotted on the lawns under thatched canopies. A new addition this year and a great boon was a very swish and comfortable lounge area with spa salon and outdoor jacuzzi and tres comfy hanging swing-chairs (this unfortunately doesn't appear on the dated photos on many tour operators' websites). Despite the hotel being full, we never saw more than 20 people at a time either in the restaurant area or at the poolside. It really was like sharing a luxury villa with quiet but lovely couples that you weren't obliged to talk to if you didn't want to, but could chat to if the whim took you :-) The rooms have minibars which are restocked daily; just like the 'honesty bar' in the lounge leading onto the poolside, you are trusted to let the owners know what you've taken and they bill you at the end of your stay. No overcharging here, so you felt really at ease helping yourself to as much or as little as you wanted. In fact the trust invested in the guests paid dividends, as everyone commented on how refreshing it was to be treated in such a civilised, respected manner from the outset. Some people may want waiting on hand and foot - this holiday had more of the feel of being welcomed into a rich friend's villa for the week! One previous review I read said that the doors to the pool area were locked at 9pm and then you were shut in all night - RUBBISH! We regularly went out and sat with a bottle of wine in the gazebo chill-zone until midnight, reading and chatting.
My husband and I couldn't find fault with Cerro Da Marina ... but don't come here if you want noise, excitement or a child-friendly hotel.This is definitely for pure unwinding :-)
I would also recommend the dinners - 3 courses for 11Euros and they were excellent. If you go B&B as we did, you have to book in at reception by midday) Location-wise we thought it excellent: 5minutes' walk right to the marina with its bars, restaurants and water-based activities (fishing, parasailing, yachting etc); 5 minutes left to Old Albufeira for shopping, nightlife and yet more bars and restaurants. The climb up the hill was tiring in the heat of the afternoon (mid to high 30s during our week), but if you walk early morning or late evening it's a great stroll. Alternatively, the taxis are cheap -we paid less than 5 euros from the shopping malls miles away at the far end of Albufeira.
If you want peaceful, private relaxation, we can't recommend the Cerro da Marina highly enough. We just hope not too many people discover it so it's just as perfect when we go back!

Room Tip: Spacious, clean, laundry and towels changed daily. Excellent air-con. Flatscreen TV with BBC and Sky...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Sian316016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2011

One of the best holidays Ive had really chilled out, Hotel room was spacious and very clean with lovely views over the pool and sea. Food was excellent and although we were only booked in for B & B we ate there 5 out of the 7 nights 3 course meal for 11 Euros. The staff were all so friendly and very helpful. Bit of a trek down to the town but if you go down the lift at the beach and then walk along the flat to the far end of the town this was easier. Definately be going back again in the not to distant future. Only one negative would have been good to have a kettle in the room to make a cuppa.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank luscombesd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2011

We've just come back from a two week stay at the Cerro da Marina and I can honestly say that we will be staying there again if we go back to the Algarve. The room itself was clean and spacious with comfortable beds and balcony. The towels and sheets were changed regularly. This was one of the few places I've ever stayed with a dressing table complete with lights above the mirror and electric sockets close by for my straighteners. The only slight negative was a lack of drawer storage, so make up and straighteners had to live on top of the table. Carole on reception, and Paulo on her day off, were both so helpful, as were the chambermaids and waiting staff. My husband wasn't well for a few days and Carole helped me to organise a doctor - everyone was also very understanding of me taking meals up to our room as he was unable to get out and about. The breakfasts were reasonable, with a good choice of cereals, cold meats and cheese, fruits and breads, as well as basic 'English' cooked options. Unlike the previous reviewer, I thought the bacon was cooked just fine! The lunch menu was good and, although we had booked B&B, we ate in the hotel for a few evenings, until we were able to get out. I suspect the food was cooked at the sister hotel and brought up for reheating, and the menu was quite limited, but acceptable for 11 Euros for a 3 course meal. The chocolate cake was the best I had all holiday. The entertainment on the Friday nights was hilarious - a local singer/guitarist covering a range of pop and portuguese songs with a completely unique style - I would definitely recommend eating in the hotel one Friday, just to see him. The pool area was clean and we never had a problem getting a sunbed. Parasols are provided, although they don't cover you all day. Finally, the walk up the hill - this was hard work during the heat of the day and we occasionally resorted to taxis (around 4-5 Euros), but it made for a nice stroll after a meal and drinks in the old town. If you want a quiet, relaxing holiday, away from the noise of the resort, but close to all the amenities, this is the place for you. There are no facilities for children, so tends to be adults only, and it could present difficulties if you have mobility problems, but the staff are excellent and the hotel itself is clean and has all the amenities that you need for a comfortable stay.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank LizzygirlUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2011

My wife and I thoroughly enjoyed our stay at this hotel, and would certainly like to return in the near future. However, It would not suit everyone, so here are a few facts, please read and make up your own mind.
On arrival, we were greeted and made welcome by Carole, an english lady on reception. She showed us to our room which was quite spacious, very clean & tidy, with a mini bar and our own terrace with sunbeds. The area could have done with a bit of weeding - but no real complaints here. The maid service during our stay was excellent - the room was cleaned every day, beds made - and towels changed every day.
The pool area is very nice - also very clean. Breakfast was also quite good, with a mixture of continental and English style food available.
All in all, we really enjoyed our stay, but please note...The reception is only open between 9am & 1pm - then later between 5pm & 7pm. That's it!
All other times you are on your own. If you need any help, or have a problem out of these hours - you need to call the sister hotel down the road and someone will hopefully appear within 10 minutes or so.
There is also no bar service whatsoever at any time. If you require a drink, help yourself to beer, soft drinks, wine etc and sign the 'honesty' book. You will be charged at the end of your stay - so make sure you keep a record of what you've had to prevent a shock at the end of your stay.
Because of this lack of service - no-one used the indoor lounge of the hotel, because of lack of atmosphere. At 9pm - after evening meals have finished, the doors to the patio & pool area are closed and locked up. You cannot go out after that. You are left in the 'dark' lounge or in your hotel room. I would suggest B & B - so that you can go out for the evening. Restaurant prices in the old town are quite reasonable, with many tourist menus available. A three course meal for two (without drinks) is less than 20 euros.
The area out of the hotel into the town is about a 15 minute walk - down hill..so that means uphill on the way back - and some of the hills are quite steep. Not for anyone with walking difficulties.
We enjoyed it - but these are the facts for you to make up your own mind..!

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank woodward2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 May 2011

Have just returned from a long awaited stay at the Cerro da Marina and had a fantastic time, the rooms are spacious and very clean. The bathroom large and very clean. A previous review commented that the bedding was only changed once in 10 days have to say this wasn't the case with us, ours was changed twice in the 7 days we were there. The staff are all very friendly and helpful. There was a good choice for breakfast, the new lunch menu (recently introduced) was very good with a lot of choice, the evening meal tended to be a bit repetitive and the main dishes tended to be fish but you have the option to eat at the sister hotel whenever you want. We ate at one of the local resturants 'Adega dom Pippas' and the meal was fantastic but be warned avoid eating on the strip or in the square. On arrival we had a bottle of wine waiting for us and on my birthday was presented with a bottle of champange from the staff, we will definetley be going back as soon as possible

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank harveyjulez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Albufeira hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel do Cerro
Hotel do Cerro
#50 of 154 in Albufeira
826 reviews
0.3 mi away
Rocamar Exclusive Hotel & Spa
1.1 mi away
Hotel Alisios
Hotel Alisios
#25 of 154 in Albufeira
341 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Aqua Pedra dos Bicos Design Beach Hotel
2.9 mi away
Vila Gale Collection Praia
Vila Gale Collection Praia
#3 of 154 in Albufeira
706 reviews
2.9 mi away
Vila Gale Atlantico
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cerro da Marina Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cerro da Marina Hotel

Address: Rua do Cerro Grande, Albufeira 8200-108, Portugal
Phone Number:
Region: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Albufeira
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#16 Romantic Hotel in Albufeira
#19 Spa Hotel in Albufeira
#27 On the Beach Hotel in Albufeira
#31 Luxury Hotel in Albufeira
Price Range: £46 - £135 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Cerro da Marina Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in a landscaped garden, this hotel overlooks Albufeira’s new marina and offers elegantly decorated rooms with balconies. Only 700 metres from the beach, it features an outdoor pool and free Wi-Fi.Cerro Da Marina Hotel’s air-conditioned rooms are decorated in neutral colours. Each room overlooks the garden or the pool, and has a flat-screen satellite TV and a minibar.Guests can start their day with a breakfast buffet. The hotel’s restaurant opens to the pool area and serves international cuisine and Mediterranean dishes. Special diet menus are also available.The nearest golf course is 4 km away, and close to the hotel there are water parks and zoo parks. The Main Church of Albufeira and the Fisherman's Beach Albufeira are only 700 metres away.Faro Airport is 27 km away, and the hotel offers free public parking on site. A car rental service is also available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Alpha Holidays Limited, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, Agoda and Travel Republic (UK) so you can book your Cerro da Marina Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cerro Da Marina Hotel Albufeira, Algarve, Portugal
Cerro Da Marina Albufeira

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing