We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Yep, all reviews spot on.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Cerro da Marina Hotel
Ranked #38 of 154 Hotels in Albufeira
Certificate of Excellence
ESSEX
Level 5 Contributor
36 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Yep, all reviews spot on.”
Reviewed 12 October 2011

No different words to use I'm afraid. Excellent all round hotel. Great breakfasts, nice pool, clean & spacious rooms blah blah blah. I have graded it as excellent for the type of hotel it is, but of course it is not competing with the Rui's etc. Book with confidence.
A couple of suggestions to the hotel which in now way detract from the all round quality;
Disappointed no reception open on our (and others) arrival. Rep had to ring quite a few times to get a maid, who didn't speak a word of English, to open the door. If I'm gonna spend best part of £1000, I thought it would be polite for our host to be there to greet us.
Great Plasma tv with satellite, but can we not have an English radio station? Nice to have the radio on when you're getting ready to go out.
If the management read these reviews, would be nice if they replied to our comments.
A previous review said the lift wasn't working. It still isn't!! Why?
Albufeira on the other hand, is NOT the quaint, charming little town the holiday companies would lead you to believe. See my post on Albufeira forum.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank boydel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

294 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    169
    84
    28
    10
    3
See reviews for
29
213
4
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (77)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 2 October 2011

From the minute we arrived we loved this hotel. We were greeted by the lovely receptionist Carol who was incredibly helpful throughout our entire stay. The hotel is lovely, very peaceful and close to great beach. The hotel has an outside area which has different parts to relax in and has really nice touches like the jacuzzi and shaded seating areas. The breakfast was fantastic- everything you good imagine was available and all the staff, including the hotel owner, were very friendly and went out of their way to make sure we had a great holiday. Can't speak highly enough about this hotel and would definitely recommend it.

Room Tip: It's a small hotel which is great as it is peaceful. We were on the ground floor which was quie...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank natalie w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gloucestershire
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 September 2011

Me and my partner have just returned from a 2 week stay in this hotel. The hotel and room were lovely and cleaned on a daily basis and the beds were made every day. The room had all facilities including mini bar, bath, balcony and hair dryer. The only down side was that no kettle was provided in the room. For someone who loves tea this was a little disappointing but we did prepare for this and take a travel kettle with us. On arrival we had complementary drinks in our room.

As the reception times are limited, on arrival we were greeted by a portugese lady who did not understand English. We were showed to our room but were informed we needed to return to reception to check in at 17.00 when Carol arrives. Our arrival time was 14.00 which was not an unsociable time and as we were a young couple we felt a but unsettled as we wanted to ask questions regarding the breakfast times etc. However, we had to remain in close proximity to return to check in at 17.00.

The honesty bar was fantastic and was stocked regulary and contained a varierty of drinks, ice, straws and snacks such as toasties and crisps. We used this daily and billed and the end of our stay problem free. There were plenty of sun loungers on the garden and around the pool, although many guests placed towels on these early in the morning.

The breakfast was great and there was a wide selection of food to choose from including cheese, meats, fruits, yoghurts, cooked breakfasts, breads and cereals. There were tea and coffee facilities at this set time and a wide selection of fruit juices available. Although, the breakfasts were buffet style the food was always warm and topped up even if you decided to go for breakfast last minute.

The hotel is situated at the top of a hill which was problematic in the hot weather and when carrying shopping back to the hotel. However, it was quiet and contained adults only which is just what we wanted. I would certainly recommend this hotel as we had a fantastic holiday there. Thank you Cerro Da Marina.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank tsstraw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 September 2011

This was our third stay at the hotel. We stayed for 7 nights at the begining of September. So lovely to see the same staff. They have added an outdoor jacuzzi and spa area which was very well finished. Rooms spotless and cleaned everyday. Great selection for breakfast. Looking forward to returning next year.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank adrianne61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Telford, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 September 2011

What a super hotel! Really relaxing week, from start to finish. Lovely rooms, always clean and tidy, and nice lounge area etc too. The pool and spa area was great - even if the water is a little cold! Carole on reception is fantastic, and runs the place well - not to mention being really friendly too, and looking after all of the guests. George is a great waiter, always taking the time to check that everything was fine - we ate half board, and the food was superb, and drinks not too expensive either. Honesty bar policy works well, as do the mini bars in the rooms, and tea and coffee served at 4pm. Being able to eat/drink as you please contributes to the lovely relaxed atmosphere - all the other guests appeared to be enjoying their holiday as much as we were! This hotel is indeed on a hill - however if you pick your route to the old town carefully, you can avoid coming up the steep hill on the way back - we didn't find the walking a problem, even in very hot weather. Overall, a lovely holiday, and would definitely stay here again! :)

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Louise240809
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Llandrindod Wells, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 August 2011

We chose this hotel in pursuit of a small, intimate hotel for our honeymoon - and it could not have been more perfect! On arrival we thought the exterior looked quite plain and although immaculate, it did nothing to raise our expectations. However, we were warmly greeted by Carole, the English receptionist, who brought us a complimentary bottle of champagne chilling in ice to start our honeymoon; and from there it just got better and better. Our room was spacious, comfortable and immaculately clean and had a large, marbled ensuite with the best 'over-the-bath' shower we've ever encountered.The bedroom's air conditioning was perfect- easy to control, with boosters if needed. The real piece de resistance though, was the pool area. Simplicity itself, set in a courtyard shape, you couldn't ask for more - tranquil, private and quietly sophisticated. The pool loungers surrounding the pool itself have pivoting shades so that you can tan just the bits you want to - ideal for shading your face when reading or simply protecting overburnt areas! There are also loungers dotted on the lawns under thatched canopies. A new addition this year and a great boon was a very swish and comfortable lounge area with spa salon and outdoor jacuzzi and tres comfy hanging swing-chairs (this unfortunately doesn't appear on the dated photos on many tour operators' websites). Despite the hotel being full, we never saw more than 20 people at a time either in the restaurant area or at the poolside. It really was like sharing a luxury villa with quiet but lovely couples that you weren't obliged to talk to if you didn't want to, but could chat to if the whim took you :-) The rooms have minibars which are restocked daily; just like the 'honesty bar' in the lounge leading onto the poolside, you are trusted to let the owners know what you've taken and they bill you at the end of your stay. No overcharging here, so you felt really at ease helping yourself to as much or as little as you wanted. In fact the trust invested in the guests paid dividends, as everyone commented on how refreshing it was to be treated in such a civilised, respected manner from the outset. Some people may want waiting on hand and foot - this holiday had more of the feel of being welcomed into a rich friend's villa for the week! One previous review I read said that the doors to the pool area were locked at 9pm and then you were shut in all night - RUBBISH! We regularly went out and sat with a bottle of wine in the gazebo chill-zone until midnight, reading and chatting.
My husband and I couldn't find fault with Cerro Da Marina ... but don't come here if you want noise, excitement or a child-friendly hotel.This is definitely for pure unwinding :-)
I would also recommend the dinners - 3 courses for 11Euros and they were excellent. If you go B&B as we did, you have to book in at reception by midday) Location-wise we thought it excellent: 5minutes' walk right to the marina with its bars, restaurants and water-based activities (fishing, parasailing, yachting etc); 5 minutes left to Old Albufeira for shopping, nightlife and yet more bars and restaurants. The climb up the hill was tiring in the heat of the afternoon (mid to high 30s during our week), but if you walk early morning or late evening it's a great stroll. Alternatively, the taxis are cheap -we paid less than 5 euros from the shopping malls miles away at the far end of Albufeira.
If you want peaceful, private relaxation, we can't recommend the Cerro da Marina highly enough. We just hope not too many people discover it so it's just as perfect when we go back!

Room Tip: Spacious, clean, laundry and towels changed daily. Excellent air-con. Flatscreen TV with BBC and Sky...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Sian316016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 July 2011

One of the best holidays Ive had really chilled out, Hotel room was spacious and very clean with lovely views over the pool and sea. Food was excellent and although we were only booked in for B & B we ate there 5 out of the 7 nights 3 course meal for 11 Euros. The staff were all so friendly and very helpful. Bit of a trek down to the town but if you go down the lift at the beach and then walk along the flat to the far end of the town this was easier. Definately be going back again in the not to distant future. Only one negative would have been good to have a kettle in the room to make a cuppa.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank luscombesd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Albufeira hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel do Cerro
Hotel do Cerro
#47 of 154 in Albufeira
789 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hotel Alisios
Hotel Alisios
#29 of 154 in Albufeira
306 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Sol e Mar
Hotel Sol e Mar
#37 of 154 in Albufeira
1,262 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Frentomar
Hotel Frentomar
#66 of 154 in Albufeira
79 reviews
0.3 mi away
Rocamar Exclusive Hotel & Spa
0.6 mi away
Hotel Baltum
Hotel Baltum
#42 of 154 in Albufeira
368 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cerro da Marina Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cerro da Marina Hotel

Property: Cerro da Marina Hotel
Address: Rua do Cerro Grande, Albufeira 8200-108, Portugal
Phone Number:
Region: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Albufeira
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#16 Romantic Hotel in Albufeira
#18 Spa Hotel in Albufeira
#27 On the Beach Hotel in Albufeira
#31 Luxury Hotel in Albufeira
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Cerro da Marina Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in a landscaped garden, this hotel overlooks Albufeira’s new marina and offers elegantly decorated rooms with balconies. Only 700 metres from the beach, it features an outdoor pool and free Wi-Fi.Cerro Da Marina Hotel’s air-conditioned rooms are decorated in neutral colours. Each room overlooks the garden or the pool, and has a flat-screen satellite TV and a minibar.Guests can start their day with a breakfast buffet. The hotel’s restaurant opens to the pool area and serves international cuisine and Mediterranean dishes. Special diet menus are also available.The nearest golf course is 4 km away, and close to the hotel there are water parks and zoo parks. The Main Church of Albufeira and the Fisherman's Beach Albufeira are only 700 metres away.Faro Airport is 27 km away, and the hotel offers free public parking on site. A car rental service is also available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Odigeo, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Travel Republic (UK) and Cancelon so you can book your Cerro da Marina Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cerro Da Marina Hotel Albufeira, Algarve, Portugal
Cerro Da Marina Albufeira

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing