We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Relaxing and friendly hotel- fantastic!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Cerro da Marina Hotel
Ranked #37 of 162 Hotels in Albufeira
Certificate of Excellence
Nottingham, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Relaxing and friendly hotel- fantastic!”
Reviewed 5 August 2012

This was our first visit to Portugal and after much debate about which hotel to stay at we finally decided on the Cerro Da Marina and how pleased we were that we chose this quiet and relaxed hotel.
When we arrived it was early afternoon and out of hotel reception hours. We expected to have to leave our luggage and go out and explore while we waited tor our room to be ready, however a very friendly cleaner welcomed us in and gave us our room key, a great surprise! Our room was extremely clean and very comfortable including everything you needed. We were on the ground floor and had a very big patio area- it got the late afternoon sun so was lovely!
All of the hotel was very clean and had a really lovely relaxed and welcoming feel to it. The pool area was gorgeous with more than enough sunbeds (we never had a problem getting a sunbed and we went during school holidays) the outdoor jacuzzi was also very nice!

The hotel has an honesty bar which is a great idea, it has a very good selection of drinks and snacks which you just help yourself to at any time and write in the honesty book the items you have had- this was really convenient! Food in the hotel was also very good. We stayed B&B and thought the breakfast on the whole was ok. There was a good variety of things to choose from. We decided to eat at the hotel one evening and it was the best meal of the whole holiday. It was very nicely presented and tasted gorgeous (very good value for money too).

The hotel is about a 10 minute walk into the old town. It is a little hilly however if you turn left out of the hotel rather than right you avoid the particularly steep hill that everyone mentioned in previous reviews! The old town has lots to do, loads of bars and street entertainers and there was a festival there during our stay with different live music each night.

On the whole this was a fantastic hotel.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank Hgarner186356
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

285 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    165
    81
    27
    9
    3
See reviews for
29
205
4
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (76)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Alexandria,U.K.
Level Contributor
25 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 July 2012

My wife and I are just recently back from this hotel,this being our second visit.If you are looking for a great hotel in a quiet area but only 15 mins from the old town of Albuferia this is the place for you (if you want a quiet chill out week ) at the hotel.Ample sunbeds,clean rooms and friendly staff,Don't tell everyone about this Hotel,it is so nice and my wife and I want to go back !

Room Tip: Any room will be lovely.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Cammie8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
37 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 July 2012

We stayed here for 2 nights. The hotel can be a little difficult to find if you are driving there, but the hotel offers great value for the cost. It is a smaller hotel, so very peaceful and quiet. The rooms are clean and quiet but a bit out-dated and quite dark (replacing the lights with new shades/lamp covers would be a big improvement). And, unfortunately, the beds are extremely hard (another upgrade for more comfort would be nice). Our room was on the second floor over-looking the pool - quite a large pool with beautiful grounds providing lots of different options for seating areas. Our breakfast was included and offered a nice variety of hot & cold choices. I would definitely recommend this hotel for value, cleanliness, great pool and friendly staff.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Reflections
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Plymstock, null, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 July 2012

Our first visit to Portugal and stay at Cerro Da Marina,will certainly be returning in the very near future.The hospitality of manageress Carole and all the staff cannot be faulted,felt very comfortable,safe and welcomed.Rooms very spacious and clean with views of the well looked after pool area,food was lovely too,good varied choices for breakfast,lunch and evening meals if required.The location suited us as a couple,was quite hilly surrounding the hotel,but taxis and buses were available,not too far from the shops and beach.The sister hotel was nice but didnt that homely feel as this.Many thanks again Carole for your smiles,see you again soon.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Tracy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sandhurst
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 July 2012

My husband and I stayed here the first week in July. Our room was clean and spacious, yes the furniture was not modern but we liked the room, even had ITV and BBC shown on the TV, so we could see how rotten the weather was in the UK. The breakfast was sufficient, we were happy with the choice. The pool area is clean and well kept and we always managed to have a sun lounger. I agree that if you want a lively hotel this is not for you. Every night we walked down to the centre, which took a maximum of 15 minutes, we enjoyed the Albuferia night life, sitting in Bar Street with our Tequilla sunrises watching the crowds go past and the live music was great. On our return to the hotel we did walk back each evening, we enjoyed the walk, however some parts of the walk can be steep and hard work. Carol was very helpful she sorted out our car hire for us and she is an asset. We would return again, as we had a great holiday at Cerro da Marina.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank FionaandNick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 July 2012

Another fantastic holiday at Cerro da Marina went last year and returned again this July and took our neighbours. Got greeted again by the friendly Carole and our rooms already for us. Food was delicous as normal especially the cakes!! Only down side this year there was a couple of children which we didnt have last year didnt cause us any problems though. Have looked already at next years prices!!

Room Tip: All room lovely but second floor best over looking pool and sea
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank luscombesd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lancashire
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 June 2012

My second stay at the Cerro Da Marina,last visited a few years ago.Pleased with the pool area refurbishment & glad to see they kept honesty bar.The staff are very welcoming & overall I could not fault the hotel. A great location for exploring the surrounding area (on foot or by car)

I would stay here again in the future & would recommend to anybody.

Room Tip: Pool veiws are always good , but room 110 is very large & has a great vista to the hills and ou...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jumpinjax58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Albufeira hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel do Cerro
Hotel do Cerro
#44 of 162 in Albufeira
4.0 of 5 bubbles 766 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Frentomar
Hotel Frentomar
#64 of 162 in Albufeira
4.5 of 5 bubbles 74 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hotel Alisios
Hotel Alisios
#34 of 162 in Albufeira
4.5 of 5 bubbles 290 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Rocamar Exclusive Hotel & Spa
0.2 mi away
Casa Mitchell Apartments
Casa Mitchell Apartments
#56 of 162 in Albufeira
4.5 of 5 bubbles 174 reviews
0.3 mi away
Apartamentos Turisticos da Orada
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cerro da Marina Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cerro da Marina Hotel

Property: Cerro da Marina Hotel
Address: Rua do Cerro Grande, Albufeira 8200-108, Portugal
Phone Number:
Region: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Albufeira
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#11 Best Value Hotel in Albufeira
#16 Romantic Hotel in Albufeira
#18 Spa Hotel in Albufeira
#27 On the Beach Hotel in Albufeira
#29 Luxury Hotel in Albufeira
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Cerro da Marina Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in a landscaped garden, this hotel overlooks Albufeira’s new marina and offers elegantly decorated rooms with balconies. Only 700 metres from the beach, it features an outdoor pool and free Wi-Fi.Cerro Da Marina Hotel’s air-conditioned rooms are decorated in neutral colours. Each room overlooks the garden or the pool, and has a flat-screen satellite TV and a minibar.Guests can start their day with a breakfast buffet. The hotel’s restaurant opens to the pool area and serves international cuisine and Mediterranean dishes. Special diet menus are also available.The nearest golf course is 4 km away, and close to the hotel there are water parks and zoo parks. The Main Church of Albufeira and the Fisherman's Beach Albufeira are only 700 metres away.Faro Airport is 27 km away, and the hotel offers free public parking on site. A car rental service is also available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, Evoline ltd, Priceline, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Cerro da Marina Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cerro Da Marina Hotel Albufeira, Algarve, Portugal
Cerro Da Marina Albufeira

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing