We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful couples resort”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Cerro da Marina Hotel
Ranked #40 of 154 Hotels in Albufeira
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 7 September 2013 via mobile

We stayed for 7 nights at the end of august/early september, and found it a beautiful and relaxing hotel. Bedrooms were of good size with big bathroom to suit.
The pool area is something of an escapism. It allows you to relax and not be pestered by, well anyone!! The honesty bar is something which me and my partener espeacilly liked, gave a unique personalised feel. As if it was your own back yard swimming pool!
Myself and my partner are in our mid to late 20's, so the location did not hinder us. But be warned that your in for a very hilly walk if you want to get into town. A taxi service is available but we did not use this as we enjoyed the walking!!
All in all a very homely, inviting hotel with a fantastic pool. A couples resort for sure!!

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Pete_Owen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (312)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

153 - 159 of 312 reviews

Reviewed 6 September 2013

We had a fantastic time at this hotel, our room was lovely and tastefully decorated, when we had breakfast in the morning, we had plenty of choice and sat on the tables overlooking the pool. In the evenings, we had the option for the meal, which we would order at the reception, the food was second to none, and we always left satisfied, the only downside was that we had to pay for the drinks, but the bill came to less than 30 euros after our week long break between the two of us. The service was also excellent, we felt thoroughly catered for during our stay. The hotel itself is on a hill, but it's only a 10-15 minute walk from the shops in the old town, and at the end of the road overlooks the colourful and picturesque marina in Albufeira. Can't wait to return here eventually, definitely grabbed a bargain.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Matt_Phillips1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 September 2013

We stayed here for 3 nights at end of August. We could not fault anything about the service, staff and cleanliness all were great. However I would just stay really consider its location, if you want to be close to shops, restaurants, old town etc this def ain't the place to stay. Despite the fact that we are fond walkers this is a good 20 min walk to the old town and not a very interesting walk at that, all down very steep hills (and practically unlit at night)... so yes all uphill on way back!!! (€7 cab ride back) Wifi connection was also very poor for us.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AceyNi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 August 2013

I stayed there in late April for a week and it was such a relaxing and thoroughly enjoyable experience. The spacious room, with a small terrace overlooking the swimming pool and garden was spotlessly clean, well serviced and very comfortable.. Room had satellite TV and WIFI computer connection without extra charge.
Breakfast buffet was very enjoyable. Especially enjoyed the fresh orange juice, coffee and tasty breads. Did a lot of local touring so only once back for dinner. It was very enjoyable.
Reception staff especially were so friendly and helpful. For them the client certainly came first.
I had a very early flight on my last day and a terrific packed breakfast was delivered to my room the night before. Most hotels would say sorry but the restaurant is not open!
I highly recommend this hotel.
The hotel has a very well kept private garden and swimming pool area. A great place to relax at all times of day.
I hope to return in the autumn.
There is public bus service stop located a few hundred metres from the hotel which can bring you into the centre of town. Being fairly fit I did not mind the short extra walk uphill to the hotel.

Room Tip: Rooms with views to the gardens and swimming pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ericp14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2013

We were here from 1-8 August 2013.
This is a good hotel but could improve.
Breakfast started at 8 a.m. and the music started at the same time. Remember Butlins? The bottled water cost around 2 Euros while 500 metres down the road at the Supermarket, the same bottled water cost 23 cents!
My biggest concern was that on 7/8/13,at 09:40, the Gardeners arrived to cut the grass. No notification was given of this and guests were already on the Loungers on the lawned area's. One Gardener was using an industrial Stimmer within a Foot from my wife;s face! He didn't ask her to move and grass and soil just missed her face as she used her magazine to protect herself. The other Gardener with a Lawnmower, cut the grass around us. We took the hint and moved away. I complained to the Receptionist (Paul?) who said he would have a word with them. He did come out and had a "word" with them and after a little bicker, the Gardeners carried on! The Strimmer man carried on disturbing others around the pool!
Thompson's Rep was informed but nothing more came of it.
Also, depending where your room was, you could hear the staff come in around 7a.m.
The hotel has positives, the staff were very friendly, your privacy was respected.
Now, the hill! Don't attempt this midday as the heat is so intense! Always have a bottle of water with you.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank George L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2013

We stayed at this hotel for 11 nights from 30th June 2013 and didn't want to leave. We read the reviews before booking and were fairly confident that we had booked a good hotel but Cerroe da Marina way exceeded our expectations. All the staff were great and couldn't do enough to ensure your stay was excellent, Carol on reception was always a pleasure to talk to. Even the hotel owner regularly visited the hotel and spoke with the guests. The walk back from the marina or the old town was up hill and the weather during our stay was very hot, so at times it was a bit exhausting, but worth it. Our bedroom was well equiped and spotless, cleaned every day and towels replaced regularly. We were suprised by the little extras provided daily in the room, sometimes miniture bottles of port, sometimes sweets. For guests at the hotel in the afternoon, the staff came round with little freebies such as small fruit pots or sangria and at 16.00 there was free tea/coffee with cake or biscuits, the sort of thing that you would only expect when all inclusive. We onle dined once at the hotel but the food was very good. Breakfasts were more than adequate and we enjoyed the pleasant dining area. We never had a problem getting a sunbed arround the pool and the pool area was well maintained. The honesty bar was a great idea. We found some fabulous restaurants which are reviewed separately.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Adrian_Te4lford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2013

My partner and I have just returned from a week in the Cerro Da Marina hotel, and have to agree with most of the comments made of this hotel. Yes it's on a hill, as detailed by many previous guests, so wouldn't recommend to anyone that doesn't like the challenge of bit of a trek, the elderly or persons reliant on walking aids etc.
As a veggie, I have to say that the food for both my partner (meat eater) and I was outstanding, with choice of meals that catered for both our needs and changed daily, and it was no bother to chop and change the menu to suit !! Brilliant food, well presented, and staff extremely friendly too.
The hotel is located in a very quiet suburb, about a kilometre away from the main town of Albufiera, so about a 15/20 minute stroll, the hotel really doesn't feel like a hotel at all, there's no fighting for sunbeds, you don't have to get up at 5.00 a.m to beat off the Germans, there's plenty for all, the hotel is predominately adults only, so no children running around with parents screaming after them to behave themselves, a nice relaxing atmosphere !!!!!!
On this basis I would recommend this hotel to anyone !!
There are a few negatives though: On arrival, our room was allocated to us, so tired and hungry, we just wanted to get changed and get down to the pool, have a snack and relax for the duration, our room had supposedly been cleaned, prior to our arrival, as one would expect, but the toilet area was not clean by any means, and did smell quite badly, whether this was from the previous guest, I don't know, so we approached the receptionist Carol, and asked if the toilet area could be given another swill, this was done almost immediately, on our return to the room, the smell was still there, so we trotted off to the local shop to buy some bleach, and disinfected the complete area ourselves. The air conditioning unit in the room decide it didn't want to work properly, and dripped all over the floor for five days of our stay, eventually the engineer arrived to fix the blocked drainage outlet.
The beds are a little on the hard side for those who have may have back problems, I missed my memory foam mattress !!
On a more serious note (and is in no way any fault of the Cerro hotel) as we know Portugal is suffering probably more than many other countries due to the global recession, and their governments austerity measures, and locally it shows in the fact that down the road from the hotel, there were to be built other hotels, now all fenced off, which sadly are in various stages of development, from near completion, to basic structures, to undeveloped building plots, along with many places desperately looking to sell. Sad to see, as someone had really big ideas for this area, which have amounted to very little !!

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Russell H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Albufeira hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel do Cerro
Hotel do Cerro
#49 of 154 in Albufeira
826 reviews
0.3 mi away
Rocamar Exclusive Hotel & Spa
1.1 mi away
Hotel Alisios
Hotel Alisios
#26 of 154 in Albufeira
341 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Aqua Pedra dos Bicos Design Beach Hotel
2.9 mi away
Vila Gale Collection Praia
Vila Gale Collection Praia
#3 of 154 in Albufeira
706 reviews
2.9 mi away
Vila Gale Atlantico
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cerro da Marina Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cerro da Marina Hotel

Address: Rua do Cerro Grande, Albufeira 8200-108, Portugal
Phone Number:
Region: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Albufeira
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#16 Romantic Hotel in Albufeira
#19 Spa Hotel in Albufeira
#27 On the Beach Hotel in Albufeira
#31 Luxury Hotel in Albufeira
Price Range: £46 - £127 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Cerro da Marina Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in a landscaped garden, this hotel overlooks Albufeira’s new marina and offers elegantly decorated rooms with balconies. Only 700 metres from the beach, it features an outdoor pool and free Wi-Fi.Cerro Da Marina Hotel’s air-conditioned rooms are decorated in neutral colours. Each room overlooks the garden or the pool, and has a flat-screen satellite TV and a minibar.Guests can start their day with a breakfast buffet. The hotel’s restaurant opens to the pool area and serves international cuisine and Mediterranean dishes. Special diet menus are also available.The nearest golf course is 4 km away, and close to the hotel there are water parks and zoo parks. The Main Church of Albufeira and the Fisherman's Beach Albufeira are only 700 metres away.Faro Airport is 27 km away, and the hotel offers free public parking on site. A car rental service is also available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Alpha Holidays Limited, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, Agoda and Travel Republic (UK) so you can book your Cerro da Marina Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cerro Da Marina Hotel Albufeira, Algarve, Portugal
Cerro Da Marina Albufeira

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing