We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great for relaxing!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Cerro da Marina Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Cerro da Marina Hotel
Ranked #35 of 162 Hotels in Albufeira
Certificate of Excellence
Hertfordshire
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great for relaxing!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 June 2014 via mobile

Lets start with the bad (and there isnt really much to say!)

The walk to town centre is quite far....and the food in the hotel restaurant is limited so if you want variety in the evenings be prepared you have a little walk. Down the hill to the town centre is fine however back up is another story. Although I do hate walking so it might be ok if you like a stroll.

For a young couple we found the square a bit much...too much hustle and bustle and noise. However lots of restaurants on the outskirts you can visit that are alot quieter.

So, having visited alot of hotels this was by far the most quiet and relaxing I have ever been too. I couldnt believe it! There was always a sunlounger if you wanted one. Not a peep in the day everyone is reading quietly. Blissful!

On arrival Carol was bubbly and helpful. She evan walked up to meet us as we got dropped at the wrong hotel and didnt want us to get lost.

Breakfast is fab...hot and cold options which is unusual. They have thought of everything. Evan bubbles if you want them.

For drinks and snacks in the day they have the honesty bar....it basically help yourself and you write what you've had and they will charge it to your room. A great mixture of drinks and snacks.

Lunch is served between 12.30 and 1.30 with a small but ample menu. Loved the ham and cheese toasties!

Each day at 3.30 ladies come round with a little snack we had cherry aid and mini cheese kievs one day and kiwi and banana the next.

4.30 is tea time so complimentary tea and cake is served and then in the evening they have a small selection of evening meals to pick from which have to be selected earlier in the day.

For 35 euros you can book a massage and for someone that has a massage once a week she was the best I had ever had.

The room was nice, clean and not too small. Lovely view from balcony of the marina.

Free wifi for the whole of your stay. My recommendation is bring lots of books and a pack of cards as its likely you won't leave the hotel.

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Gina L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

280 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    161
    80
    27
    9
    3
See reviews for
28
201
4
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (76)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bromborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 June 2014

Just home from an 11 night break at this hotel. Small quiet and friendly hotel, clean spacious and lovely staff and never a problem finding a sunbed either by the pool or garden area around the pool.
The hotel is situated on the hill above the old town of Albufeira and might be a problem for the less mobile as it is a bit of a hike after visiting the town but for a quiet break it is well worth it as it is so quiet and relaxing.
The hotel doesn't have any bar staff but relies on the honesty of it's guests as you put what drinks you have in the honesty book and settle up at your convenience.
We stayed on a b&b basis and the breakfast was of full cooked and continental with plenty of both but couldn't comment on quality of main meals as I never dined for the evening meal.
It is probably the quietest hotel I have stayed at and thoroughly enjoyed my stay there.

Room Tip: There are only two levels and there is a lift so both levels are easily accessible
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 702Barry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sherborne, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 June 2014

We have just returned after a week at the Cerro da Marina and it ticked
all the boxes for us. Although the hotel is small its quiet and peaceful in a
residential area. The bedroom was lovely and spacious with a sea view.
Staff are very helpful and friendly and breakfast was plentiful and very well
organised. A 10 minute walk to the beach and the old town where you will find
plenty of restaurants bars and live music.
Would also recommend the Thompsons Mountain and Sunset trip it was a very
enjoyable evening. Certainly be back next year.

Room Tip: Rooms 101 - 104
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Susan T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 June 2014

The first thing that should be clear about this hotel is that, essentially, it is an annexe to its larger sister establishment down the road. This is a lovely hotel which has large, well appointed, clean rooms; a lovely garden with a small but pleasant pool and overall it is quiet and peaceful. However, as it is a smallish hotel, as I said earlier, it isn't staffed for much of the day. It doesn't have a proper bar and this detracts from the ambience. Drinks and a few snacks are available relying on an honesty box which is a refreshing change where guests are trusted. However, the choice is limited.
When reception is open, the staff are very helpful (Carole in particular) and help is a phone call away from the main hotel out of hours, if necessary..
We didn't sample the dinners but these are brought up from down the road. Courses need to be ordered ahead. Not ideal. Breakfasts were fairly standard but lacked variety of cooked food.
The position of the hotel is very good, being in a very attractive residential suburb at the top of a hill, behind the old town and marina. We enjoyed the walks to and from the town but it wouldn't suit less active individuals. Albufeira itself has something for everyone and, if you don't like the more brash attractions, there are lovely bars and restaurants in quieter spots. It is centrally placed in the Algarve and we used local buses which are frequent and cheap for travelling further afield.
If the hotel had a staffed bar and a little more going on then it might have attracted another star. We didn't use the available amenities down the road but they are an added facility for guests.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Ja2xarnie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warwick, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 June 2014

We have just returned after 1 week at the Cerro da Marina which exceeded our expectations. The rooms and bathrooms were spacious and spotlessly clean. The pool & garden areas were beautiful and there was never a problem finding a sunbed. The staff were friendly and helpful and the extra little touches added to our experience - tea and coffee with either cake or biscuits were served every day at 4 o' clock free of charge and strawberries were served one afternoon to everyone sat around the pool. The hotel is located about a 15 minute walk from the old town and in the other direction there is a lovely marina - again about a 15 minute walk - with bars and cafes. We both felt completed rested and relaxed after our week at this lovely hotel and will definitely be returning

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cherrylw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lincoln
Level Contributor
79 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 May 2014

This is a lovely small hotel reportedly once owned by cliff richard(but never lived in) it is approx 20 mins walk downhill to the old town of albuferia and it's beach. The room we had 107 was very big with an equally big bathroom and was very clean and comfortable, though our room sometimes had a fusty smell when coming in which soon cleared when we opened the patio doors. The pool area and garden is well maintained, and very quiet, hardly anyone around the pool all day!, there is even a 'hot tub' with cold water! The breakfast was ample with a good selection of all the things usually found in buffet continental style. The staff were very friendly and helpful.the walk to the town was pleasant as down hill, coming back was good exercise, but a taxi is approx € 5 depending where you get the taxi. The town has a wealth of restaurants and bars, you can catch the mini train to the main strip of albuferia to watch the nightlife that is the hen and stag parties/clubs etc! Beach beds/parasols cost € 15 per set!

Room Tip: All rooms good, I think all overlook the pool and are quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tmid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 May 2014

We have just returned from Cerro da Marina hotel, it is everything we hoped it would be after reading the reviews on this page. The hotel itself was lovely, the pool area & gardens were beautiful, well looked after & exceptionally clean. The food was very good, breakfast was a choice of so many different things from cereals & fruit to a full cooked breakfast, you can certainly put weight on here. The 3 course evening meals were excellent, we only booked B&B but had a meal in the hotel on the second night, we enjoyed it so much we ate there every night, we would book half board next time as it was value for money. The staff were wonderful, nothing was too much trouble, Carol went out of her way to make sure you had everything you needed. Having recently had my foot cast removed I found the cobbled pavements a little uncomfortable for walking down to the town, we got a taxi back so as I didn't overdo it, €5 was average. We will definitely return here.

Room Tip: All of the rooms have pool or garden view, all equally good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank stealex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Albufeira hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel do Cerro
Hotel do Cerro
#45 of 162 in Albufeira
4.0 of 5 bubbles 751 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hotel Alisios
Hotel Alisios
#32 of 162 in Albufeira
4.5 of 5 bubbles 284 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Frentomar
Hotel Frentomar
#60 of 162 in Albufeira
4.5 of 5 bubbles 69 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Rocamar Exclusive Hotel & Spa
0.3 mi away
Apartamentos Turisticos da Orada
0.3 mi away
Casa Mitchell Apartments
Casa Mitchell Apartments
#55 of 162 in Albufeira
4.5 of 5 bubbles 168 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cerro da Marina Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cerro da Marina Hotel

Property: Cerro da Marina Hotel
Address: Rua do Cerro Grande, Albufeira 8200-108, Portugal
Phone Number:
Region: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Albufeira
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Best Value Hotel in Albufeira
#16 Romantic Hotel in Albufeira
#18 Spa Hotel in Albufeira
#26 On the Beach Hotel in Albufeira
#28 Luxury Hotel in Albufeira
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Cerro da Marina Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in a landscaped garden, this hotel overlooks Albufeira’s new marina and offers elegantly decorated rooms with balconies. Only 700 metres from the beach, it features an outdoor pool and free Wi-Fi.Cerro Da Marina Hotel’s air-conditioned rooms are decorated in neutral colours. Each room overlooks the garden or the pool, and has a flat-screen satellite TV and a minibar.Guests can start their day with a breakfast buffet. The hotel’s restaurant opens to the pool area and serves international cuisine and Mediterranean dishes. Special diet menus are also available.The nearest golf course is 4 km away, and close to the hotel there are water parks and zoo parks. The Main Church of Albufeira and the Fisherman's Beach Albufeira are only 700 metres away.Faro Airport is 27 km away, and the hotel offers free public parking on site. A car rental service is also available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK) and Priceline so you can book your Cerro da Marina Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cerro Da Marina Hotel Albufeira, Algarve, Portugal
Cerro Da Marina Albufeira

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing