We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pure relaxation”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Cerro da Marina Hotel
Ranked #39 of 154 Hotels in Albufeira
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 1 June 2009

Have just returned from a wonderful week at Cerro da Marina. It is an absolute gem of a hotel. If you want lots to do, entertainment etc then it isn't for you. If however, you want to relax in peaceful surroundings then it is perfect. The hotel itself is pretty, it's well cared for, spotlessly clean and the rooms are a large size. We went on a bed & breakfast basis and the choices available were more than adequate, hot & cold options every day. It is a self service set up but this is fine as the hotel is very small so there are no queues as never that many people at any one time. There is no bar staff running the bar it is an honesty bar, you serve yourself with whatever you want and then write what you have in a book with your room number & signature and pay at the end of the week. The drinks and snacks were much cheaper than i was expecting. During the summer months, May to Sept they offer lunch time snacks, sandwiches/toasties/salads/burgers etc which are all very good quality, freshly made to order and reasonably priced. The pool area is pretty with plenty of sunloungers for the number of guests that the hotel holds. The hotel is situated in a residential area of large expensive villas/houses. It is about a 15 minute walk into the main old part of Albufeira town, the walk to town is all downhill so it's fine but it can be hard work returning uphill. However a taxi is only 5 euros. I would highly recommend a stay at this hotel if you want a week or two of sheer relaxation, peace and quiet.

  • Stayed: May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank PriceyCardiff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (312)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

233 - 239 of 312 reviews

Reviewed 21 May 2009

I had read the reviews on trip advisor,so I had high expectaions, and was not dissapointed.Lovely quiet, clean relaxing hotel. breakfast is basic but fresh and tasty.
Every thing said about the walk up he hill is true. don't do it in the heat of the day, the evening was fine.
The only small complaint about the hotel was a charge of 10 euros to hire two pool towels for the week, some thing I hadn't had to do before in other hotels.other than that, it was perfection.

  • Stayed: May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank davewsom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 April 2009

We looked at trip advisor before we booked this hotel , the reviews were excellent and after visiting i understand why. Excellent location in a quiet residential area with several two million pound villas next door.There is soothing music being played and the whole place is so relaxing . It took about 20 stroll from the hotel to the old town , uphill coming back after a couple of days you get used to it. The hotel food was buffet breakfast and buffet evening meal all of this was very fresh and a good selection , the staff were very helpful and friendly .The reception in only manned afew hours a day but you can call 777 if you need them.The pool was cold and unheated but would be fine in the summer .The hotel had a mix of Danish , Spanish , English and Portugese guests , who all spoke to each other . The rooms were spacious and very clean there was a payable mini bar and in the lounge area there was a bar where you helped yourself and recorded it in a book the bill was then settled at the time you checked out. I would recommend this hotel to all , except people not too good on their legs! The old town is great to visit the Calle da fonte is fabulous for food , don,t drink at the bar in the square where the sax player is as we were charged 9 euros for two beers .The weather was very good and we got a really good tan .Don't be taken in by English people asking you to answer questions about the resort , they will then say you can have a prize ticket and they take you to an office nearby , i was told that i may have won a car , they were about to call a colleague to take us to somewhere to check this , at this stage i refused and walked out .Since coming back i have checked and they are time share touts, so please beware of PLETCHLY......To sum this holiday up it was a special holiday as it was my wife and I silver Wedding anniversay , the hotel was fabulous and i will be returning .My advice if you have the chance to go then go!

  • Stayed: April 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank jonnythejohn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 April 2009

My fiance and I booked a short break away to 'get away' from it all (and the wedding plans!) Believe me 4 days wasn't long enough at all. The Cerro da Marina, Albufeira is heaven - quiet and blissful. Going during April, the weather was glorious. The hotel itself was very, very lovely. The rooms were spacious and beautifully decorated - really unique. The staff were funny and very friendly and welcoming! The 'honesty bar' was a classic, not busy enough to honour having a full-time bar man so you help yourself and then put down in a book - just brillant!
The hotel is at the top of Albufeira, a nice walk to the Old Town and local beach. There are many bars and resturants to choose from where the locals are welcoming and very nice.
All around Cerro da Marina is a perfect hotel to 'get away' from it all - a real relaxed and serene place. We are hoping to go back next year!

  • Stayed: April 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank mrsdean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 April 2009

Second visit to this little gem. Not so much a hotel as a stay in a large villa. For those that want peace & quiet & don't mind serving themselves at the honesty bar this is a great choice. Recommend you do B&B & eat out at night in town as range of evening meals is not great. Limited staff availability (although Jana on reception is v helpful & pleasant) & no 24 hour services but once you get used to sorting things out for yourself it's very relaxing indeed. Not a good choice for children & teenagers as there is little to keep them amused here, but that works out great for adults wanting a peaceful break! Located on a v steep hill so those with mobility or fitness problems would need taxis back from the town. Will no doubt venture there again in the future.

  • Stayed: March 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Gapples_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 March 2009

My fiancee and I had a brilliant week at this hotel. It was low season but the weather was fantastic. It was quiet, just what we wanted. Apart from the steep hill to get to the hotel (my fiancee says it was only steep for me. I must be getting old) everything was perfect. The staff were brilliant. There's an honesty bar downstairs in the lounge area, prices are very reasonable too. There was also a mini bar in our room, great for that night cap before you retire to bed. We can't fault this hotel one bit. Will definately book to go again another year.

  • Stayed: March 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank herandi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 March 2009

After endless searching for some cosy and quaiet place to stay I found this hotel in Tripadvisor and after reading reviews I booked it for my holiday.
I was pleased that the hotel is what I was looking for and for me even more than that. I loved the location and the fact it was very quaiet.
I would advice this hotel for young couples who looking for quaiet & relaxing time and who dont mind that hotel has a lot of old people but they all where so friendly.
We liked honesty bar but breakfast was simple and we never ate dinner in hotel as Albufeira Old Town is near by and provides many good restaurants.
Yes, the hotel is up the hill and not easy to walk, especially after good dinner in city...but you can always take taxi back to the hotel and it was very cheap, we paid around 4-5 euros.
Hotel staff was friendly and helpful.
The hotel outdoor pool was cold but we used indoor pool in sister hotel called Estalagem Do Cerro. It was 5 minits walk away from our hotel and you need wear swimming cap in indoor pool, if u dont have yours you can buy it for 5 euro.
We used there Spa and it was nice and relaxing...would advice 20 min hydromassage & turkysh sauna..total price was 10 euro for those. Also..if you use Spa after 17:00 the indoor pool is open for private use..and no swimming cap is needed, strange rules but I guess hotel tries to make money by selling those swimming caps...
My friend room, what had sea views, was very large and the views where really beautiful from her terrace.
Overall very pleased and would stay in this hotel again as for the budget hotel it was all what we where looking for.

  • Stayed: March 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Travelguy28London
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Albufeira hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel do Cerro
Hotel do Cerro
#51 of 154 in Albufeira
826 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hotel Alisios
Hotel Alisios
#26 of 154 in Albufeira
341 reviews
0.3 mi away
Rocamar Exclusive Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Vila Gale Atlantico
2.2 mi away
Aqua Pedra dos Bicos Design Beach Hotel
2.9 mi away
Vila Gale Collection Praia
Vila Gale Collection Praia
#3 of 154 in Albufeira
703 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cerro da Marina Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cerro da Marina Hotel

Address: Rua do Cerro Grande, Albufeira 8200-108, Portugal
Phone Number:
Region: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Albufeira
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#16 Romantic Hotel in Albufeira
#19 Spa Hotel in Albufeira
#26 On the Beach Hotel in Albufeira
#30 Luxury Hotel in Albufeira
Price Range: £46 - £142 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Cerro da Marina Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in a landscaped garden, this hotel overlooks Albufeira’s new marina and offers elegantly decorated rooms with balconies. Only 700 metres from the beach, it features an outdoor pool and free Wi-Fi.Cerro Da Marina Hotel’s air-conditioned rooms are decorated in neutral colours. Each room overlooks the garden or the pool, and has a flat-screen satellite TV and a minibar.Guests can start their day with a breakfast buffet. The hotel’s restaurant opens to the pool area and serves international cuisine and Mediterranean dishes. Special diet menus are also available.The nearest golf course is 4 km away, and close to the hotel there are water parks and zoo parks. The Main Church of Albufeira and the Fisherman's Beach Albufeira are only 700 metres away.Faro Airport is 27 km away, and the hotel offers free public parking on site. A car rental service is also available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Travel Republic (UK) and Cancelon so you can book your Cerro da Marina Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cerro Da Marina Hotel Albufeira, Algarve, Portugal
Cerro Da Marina Albufeira

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing