We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“excellent hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Choromar Apartments
Ranked #64 of 154 Hotels in Albufeira
Martock, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“excellent hotel”
Reviewed 23 May 2014

we stayed here in for our honeymoon and it was perfect i had seen many bad reviews of this place and i was expecting them to be true but they were not
we had a self catering apartment which had its own swimming pool that was cleaned every day
we stayed for 8 nights and we had fresh towels 3 times in our stay and they changed our sheets twice.
the bar area was clean and comfortable with an English menu and wasn't over priced nor were the drinks considering that they don't have measurements they just pour the alcohol in!
the service was always friendly as soon as we got there they were welcoming and very helpful as we had never been to the area before
the beds were a little hard but nothing would be as good as your own bed!
the hotel room itself was clean and had everything you would expect for a self catering apartment
whilst we were there there were also two hen party's and a stag party that were very loud and noisy but there was always someone there trying to stop the noise we mentioned it to the staff in the morning and they were very apologetic but there is not much you can do about drunk people making alot of noise luckily they were only there for the weekend !
they had an on site shop which was a little pricey but it had the essentials milk, bread, bacon ect.
the location was about 5 miles from town but they had a free buss everyday at 11 am and it came back at 3 pm but a taxi back was only 5 euro
all in all we had a fantastic holiday all made better by this hotel.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Sophie P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

713 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    240
    211
    139
    49
    74
See reviews for
253
213
10
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (182)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 May 2014 via mobile

Terrible hotel what can I say. Checked in thursday 8th with my fiancee and our son, room dirty hairs all over floor and this was a "superior" room, beds rock solid with a couple of unknown hairs chucked in for good measure. Kitchen flooded when we drained the sink came up through the vent/plug on the kitchen floor was fixed quickly to their credit. Fri afternoon stag and hen night groups checked in so not a family hotel as described which led to Rowdy behavior around the cramped pool area, swearing, loud shouting, one bloke exposing himself to his mates. Now I have been on stag weekends myself so im no bore but this was not appropriate for this hotel with children around inc my one yr old. After two nights we had enough and checked out and got a refund for our remaining 5 nights. And headed off temporarily homeless but found a lovely hotel called the ondamar near the old town (see review) which was like a sandals resort compared to the and i shudder when i say it the Choromar!!! Avoid like the plague unless your on a lads weekend in which case you will love it.

Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
3 Thank norwich1975
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Albufeira hotels

Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Moyard, Galway, Ireland
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 May 2014

We've just returned from 10 nights stay at Choro Mar Apartments, Albufeira. We booked the holiday as an affordable family vacation (2 adults, 2 children and 1 infant) through www.lowcostholidays.ie, and were slightly turned-off by some negative reviews here on Tripadvisor. Upon arrival, we discovered that our requested apartment with pool view had been arranged as a ground floor with garden, which we were a bit concerned about due to having personal security and the safety of 2 small children to consider. However, the apartment we were provided with was very comfortable, clean and well equipped, and the housekeeping staff attended most days to change towels, mop the floors and empty the garbage. It took about a minute to walk to the bar/reception.
The hotel's location is a bit away from the main commerical district of Albufeira itself in a mostly residential area, although taxis were easily arranged and cheap enough. Cost about €5.00 to get to the closest supermarket at Albufeira Shopping - receommeded, or to Lidl.
The hotel does attract a lot of Stag/Hen parties, particularly as we were there on the weekend of the May Bank Holiday, and the atmosphere around the main "bar" pool was a bit intimidating at times, and we had no access to another. It was also quite loud, even though we were some distance from the bar area, at night. With some form of live music, or Pedro's Karaoke, continuing until about 1 a.m. most nights.
Overall, we were all very pleased with the holiday. As has previously been mentioned, the friendliness of the staff is outstanding and helped make our experience as good as it was.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AcadMedic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ennis, Ireland
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 April 2014 via mobile

Just back, for the first 5 night we were in a crappy studio,(if booking a studio, don't!.)Then for 2 nights we were given a 1 bedroom apt., as we were broken into in the studio. The Manager was contacted,but,he didn't even bother to check if we were ok,just his room,to see what damage was done.(that really annoyed the hell out of me). One of the 5 pools was just behind us.. The hotel was not ready for a lot of customers, they were painting the outside of the hotel,and the pool area had no life buoy if we needed it!.. They have a mini market at the hotel,but, if you what to grow old waiting to pay for your grocery's,they are very expensive. There is a shop about 2 min's down the road and much cheaper. Also, you are not near anything,you are in the middle of residential area. Most of staff are very friendly.

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
4 Thank fifi197142
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nr Manchester
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 April 2014

I will be totally honest here along with a few recommends:

Good points: The two bedroom apartment (108) was massive, separate living room area and separate kitchen along with two balconies. The staff were very friendly. Pedro is a really fun guy and karaoke was good too, he'd sing the songs by request for those who wanted to hear but not sing. We also had some lovely meals at the bar. The bar showed footy for all you fans and had a few screens. You could also get a weeks internet access for 4E (note this only works inside the bar though and not the apartment)

Bad points: I expected off the photo that the swimming pool was bigger than it was so a little disappointed with the size, although it was clean. We didnt have problems getting sunbeds but I imagine it would get really busy in August. The 'strip' is a ten min walk (where all the restaurants are), fine for us but maybe not so good for people who want to be 'in the thick of it'. The courtesy bus wasnt running from the hotel to the beach (a walk would take I reckon 25 mins). Drink beer :), vodka and coke at the hotel bar was E5. It was advertised as having satellite tv but no English channels in the apartment.

Recommends:

1) Google Choromar, click on maps and print off the map which shows the route to the top of the strip (the strip is called Av sa Carneiro to the left and down of the hotel) as you have to go down a few side streets to get to it.

2) The nearest supermarket is five mins away. Go out of the hotel main entrance,with back to entrance,turn right, then first right again and walk along that road until you hit main road, its across the main road. The hotel also has a small shop but a little pricey.

3) A local bus runs to the beach and does a circular. Again out of hotel entrance, right, right again walk along that road and to your left you will see a yellow school building. The bus stop is across the road. The bus stop doesnt have a timetable (although it looked like about every twenty mins). If you find the supermarket and walk down the busy main road from the supermarket downhill, on the same side a few mins away is another bus stop that shows the circular route. If you look at site algarvebus.info/albufeira.htm there is a bus route map there, you are at Montechoro. (Across from this bus stop is where Zoomarine picked us up - see below)

4) Zoomarine well worth a visit, dolphin show and bird of prey shows are fab..oh and remember your swimming stuff as there is a wave pool too - book tickets at the hotel reception and ask to include transport. The bus stop for this IS NOT the beach bus stop, its a special zoomarine bus and is on the same main road as the supermarket. E30 per head plus E5 transport per head.

We really enjoyed our stay and I think it depends which apartment you get hence mixed reviews. Ours def one of the nicer ones.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
11 Thank Kerry1972
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 April 2014 via mobile

We got back last night writing this is the first thing I had to do! Mainly because we only paid £80 for the apartment for a week, so weren't expecting much. We have been on expensive holidays and cheap holidays. Yes you do get what you pay for, but these apartments were perfect for us. They were clean, comfortable and very spacious. They had everything we needed for a week of self catering. The staff were lovely too. There is a minimarket on site but a small decent supermarket a few mins walk away. We walked down into Albufeira most days and walked to the old town too.
We would definitely stop again.

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
6 Thank Kay S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 April 2014 via mobile

Having never been to Portugal before I must say we will NEVER come again- it's for adults over 18+ not v suitable for families. The apartments were freezing we had the oven on and we all slept in the living room on pull out bed. I can't wait to get back to our beds yay
The weather started heating up 3rd day in having been here since March 31st, the apartment got cleaned 4th day in & again 5th not sure why not the 3rd anyway we won't b attending again.
Pedro, Management Grace n her family were great people

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Leanne O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Albufeira hotels
0.5 mi away
Balaia-Sol Holiday Club
Balaia-Sol Holiday Club
#65 of 154 in Albufeira
426 reviews
0.2 mi away
Silchoro Apartments
Silchoro Apartments
#86 of 154 in Albufeira
461 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hotel Topazio
Hotel Topazio
#43 of 154 in Albufeira
763 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Vale de Carros
Vale de Carros
#49 of 154 in Albufeira
583 reviews
0.8 mi away
Natura Algarve Club
Natura Algarve Club
#28 of 154 in Albufeira
750 reviews
0.6 mi away
Novochoro Apartamentos Turisticos
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Choromar Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Choromar Apartments

Property: Choromar Apartments
Address: Lote 22 23 Rua Candido Guerreiro | Montechoro, Albufeira 8200-347, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Albufeira
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#14 Best Value Hotel in Albufeira
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Choromar Apartments 3*
Number of rooms: 65
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Onthebeach, Expedia, HostelWorld, Booking.com, LoveHolidays, TripOnline SA, Agoda, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Choromar Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Choromar Apartments Hotel Albufeira
Choromar Aparthotel Albufeira
Choromar Aparthotel Hotel Albufeira
Choro Mar
Choromar Apartments Albufeira, Algarve, Portugal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing