We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not For Family With Young Children,Worst Holiday.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Choromar Apartments
Ranked #64 of 154 Hotels in Albufeira
tipperary
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Not For Family With Young Children,Worst Holiday.”
Reviewed 4 August 2010

Just back from the Choromar,stayed in block 2.The pool for block 2 is small and in the
evening the young people who have being revelling all night gather to drink their
alcohol bought in the supermarket.They make a nuisance of themselves.
There is no Air-Conditioning and you can hear every movement from adjoining rooms.
The hotel reception is old and small.This hotel suits young people content on having
just a basic room to stay in.Could not wait to leave and most definitly the worst
accommadation i and my family have stayed in.Took a chance on previous good reviews
a mistake not to be repeated.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank hamsomeman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

697 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    234
    205
    136
    49
    73
See reviews for
244
210
10
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (177)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Liverpool, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 July 2010

As we knew this was 3* SC accommodation, our expectations were not high but thought the cleanliness and staff courtesy would be somewhat more than what we received. On arrival, things started out promising and we checked in with a lady who was quite friendly and helpful. When our room was ready we walked up the road and down another to our rooms. On first look, the accommodation looked promising with a separate bedroom and a through kitchen/diner and lounge which led onto the balcony. All a great size. The kitchen has a microwave, fridge, (dirty) oven and kettle.

As we unpacked our bags, it became apparent that the room was absolutely filthy with handfuls of black hair on the floor and under the bed which was also thick with sticky dirt. The wooden bed headboard was covered in dirt and dust, however the bed linen seemed clean. The bathroom was the same with dirt on the floors and on the floor towel rail and bin. The kitchen surfaces were clean, however the floor under the dining table hadn't been cleaned in perhaps months, as it was thick with this black sticky dirt. Cockroaches are also rife both on the balcony and in the apartment. My friends apartment also had terrible drains and became blocked and gave the most rancid smell.

The staff were consistently rude, especially on reception. On the first morning at 8.15am, we approached the lady on reception and asked if there was a cafe near by for a coffee and breakfast (as the bar didn't open til 9am). She looked at her watch and said it was only 8.15am and that she was busy and flicked her out hand with the words 'go, I am busy and am not open until 9am!' We walked away in sheer disbelief!! Another occasion was when we opened our fridge door and the faulty shelf gave way and made a bottle of beer fall and smash on the floor. As it was 11.30pm, our initial reaction was to quickly grab a towel and mop up the beer. In the morning, we asked for 2 clean towels and explained the problem. We were charged 3 Euros for the towels and the lady was extremely angry and said we should have come out of the apartment and gone to the bar for assistance! She also charged us 2 Euros for using the phone for 1 minute to a local Portugese number to arrange our shuttle transfer back to the airport. They will also not call cabs between 7pm and 9pm as this is a busy time for taxis and plus all calls for a taxi is 50 cents. Overall the staff do not have a minute for their customers and I have never been spoken too as rudely as I have by the staff in the Choremar. The accommodation is mixed with apartments that are lived in by locals, so this is not an aparthotel just for tourists.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Claire1979_08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Albufeira hotels

Show Prices
Show Prices
Belfast, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 24 July 2010

Lovely hotel...perhaps dodgy decor but thats personal preference
Don't be tricked by the website saying it has 5 pools, depending on where you're staying you can only use 1 pool.
Staff were very friendly and overall we had a great stay here, would definitely reccommend it!

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ToshibaWindows
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northern Ireland
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 July 2010

We have been staying at the Choromar now for quite a number of years. After finding it on an "allocation on arrival" 11 years ago we have not stayed anywhere else. The staff are more like family and will always go out of their way to help with anything. Things have been constantly upgraded since our 1st visit, the bar and pool areas have been completely re-done. Great job on the main pool but not sure about the armless ladies. You get what you pay for but the genuine friendliness of the staff will cost you nothing. See you all again in July.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank The_Armstrongs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southport
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 June 2010

My friend and I had a fantastic time at the choromar, the staff and Pedro the karaoke guy was fantastic. Room lovely and spacious and other holiday-makers were fantastic company.Would highly recommend and cant wait to go back, weather was fantastic.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jansouthport
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Galway, Ireland
1 review
Reviewed 4 June 2010

We have just returned from a wonderful holiday in Choromar. We would highly recommend this hotel to anyone looking for a relaxed holiday. The staff in this hotel were very helpful and made our stay a most enjoyable one. The nightly entertainment with Pedro was wonderful, and he always made us feel so welcome. Had alot of fun in the Choromar and shall be returning next year if Pedro is still entertaining the guests with his karaoke. Keep up the good work.

Tom and Pauline
Ireland

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank paulinedevanney2008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
D
Level Contributor
35 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 June 2010

Just back from 4 days in Choromar..we had a lovely large apartment in Block 2, two steps to the pool...had the pool to ourselves most of the time, the main pool in the complex was literally taken over by large groups of english lads, didn't seem to care about other guests..don't think I couldn't have tolerated that type of behaviour day & night..we did have the high jinks from english lads in early hours!! but at least we had mostly peace & quiet in our little corner of Choromar complex.. but would not stay here again..apartment was certainly up to standard, but location in our view was not safe...sorry to say but felt it was the ghetto area of Montochoro..didn't feel safe walking in area at night..weather was perfect..too hot at times..35c at 8pm on Tuesday

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank riakane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Albufeira hotels
0.5 mi away
Balaia-Sol Holiday Club
Balaia-Sol Holiday Club
#63 of 154 in Albufeira
421 reviews
0.2 mi away
Silchoro Apartments
Silchoro Apartments
#80 of 154 in Albufeira
453 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hotel Topazio
Hotel Topazio
#42 of 154 in Albufeira
756 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Vale de Carros
Vale de Carros
#49 of 154 in Albufeira
575 reviews
5.4 mi away
Bayside Salgados
Bayside Salgados
#51 of 154 in Albufeira
444 reviews
0.8 mi away
Natura Algarve Club
Natura Algarve Club
#27 of 154 in Albufeira
738 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Choromar Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Choromar Apartments

Property: Choromar Apartments
Address: Lote 22 23 Rua Candido Guerreiro | Montechoro, Albufeira 8200-347, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Albufeira
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#15 Best Value Hotel in Albufeira
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Choromar Apartments 3*
Number of rooms: 65
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline, TravelUp, LoveHolidays, HostelWorld, TripOnline SA, Hotel.de, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Choromar Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Choromar Apartments Hotel Albufeira
Choromar Aparthotel Albufeira
Choromar Aparthotel Hotel Albufeira
Choro Mar
Choromar Apartments Albufeira, Algarve, Portugal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing