We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Birthday Trip 18/05/2014”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Albufeira Sol Suite Hotel & Spa
Certificate of Excellence
Mytchett, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Birthday Trip 18/05/2014”
Reviewed 20 May 2014

27 of us wen there this weekend for a 40th Birthday celebration. When we arrived the Manager came and spoke to us about the rules of the hotel which we we thought was a good thing as you get some idiots that try and spoil it for others. We had a fantastic time and there were some loud people about but he seemed to put a stop to it very quickly. I do think they should decide if it is to be a family hotel or a place for stag and hen do's as we would like to return next year if possible as we found it perfect for what we needed. It was clean and tidy and the food was ok and the the staff were friendly and couldn't do enough to help.

Thanks Brian.

Room Tip: Ask for one of the Villa;s as it had a nice big balony
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brian_Feehily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gonçalo Campos S, Gerente geral at Albufeira Sol Suite Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 4 June 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your honest review. Without any doubt, we are a Familly hotel, NOT a Hen & Stag parties property.

Unfortunately, mainly because of our location, we suffer with these situations, but we have taken the proper actions to prevent these groups to be with us for the next seasons.

Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,487 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    519
    535
    256
    114
    63
See reviews for
529
611
9
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (333)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 20 May 2014

I stayed here the 10th -14th APRIL 2014
This hotel is classed as 4 star, I disagree. Food was ok, location is good for the strip, rooms are clean and modern.
However when we arrived our room was not ready and we were told to return at 4pm, on our return we were told it still was not ready, so again at 5pm we returned and still not ready. Informed there was an issue and they could swap our room from Pool view to street view. Not happy that we got a poor room, but we had children and needed the room we had no other choice. I complained and asked for the manager and never heard from the manager the whole time I stay or got anything to compensate our inconvienance.
The hotel was full of hens and stags, who were allowed to leave the place an absolute mess each day and were drunk and loud all day long, with kids around.
The kids club I never saw any kids reps at the meeting point and no activities at all for them.
The staff where not friendly and could barely take the time to talk to you.

Room Tip: Pool view only request
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank J0anne57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gonçalo Campos S, Gerente geral at Albufeira Sol Suite Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 4 June 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review.

I am the Hotel Manager. I find hard to believe that you have asked for the manager, because i am allways around and wiling to speak to all our guests and help on resolving any type of situation.

Indeed we have had this problem in April and May. We hope that from now on, we will not have it anymore. Proper actions have been taken to prevent these type of reservations.

Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 May 2014

I have just returned from a week at the Albufeira Sol with a friend and her five year old grandson. We arrived on a Saturday and went down to the pool, there were at least three stag party s and three hens staying the weekend. The language and nature of the conversations around the pool was appalling. Even though we stuck to the Kiddies pool for obvious reasons, you couldn't fail to hear or see the behavior. It was like being stuck in a club 18-30, I am not averse to people having a good time, and I appreciate that young people are, and should be, more exuberant but the hotel should discourage families from staying if this is the type of customers the hotel wants to cater for.
The food was horrendous, the breakfast was OK and we filled up daily on this as the choices for lunch and evening meal were bland and predictable, dried up chicken or pork and a fish dish. There was very little choice for the grandson and we spent considerably more money than anticipated on eating out. All in all it was a very dissapointing holiday and unless you are planning a stag or hen do, stay away from the Albufeira sol suite and hotel, oh and by the way, the pool and grounds are too small for the hotel capacity and the al a carte restaurants have not yet been completed.
Gillian Heaton

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gillian H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 May 2014

We have just returned from a 5 day break (Mon to Fri). We arrived around 12noon and our room was available straight away. Don't be put off by dark corridors as the rooms are lovely and bright with new furniture. The dining room is also bright and newly furnished. The food is good with a good variety over the week. The hotel is very clean, rooms cleaned every day, and the staff were very polite and helpful.
The first 4 days were very relaxing with a good mix of couples both young and old, young families and different nationalities, there were plenty of sunbeds available around the pool. However, on Friday the hotel was invaded by several large stag and hen parties, some of whom were very loud and seemed unable to speak without swearing. In fairness to the management we did see them speaking to one group and they did quieten down. The close proximity to the strip, about 10 mins walk, makes it ideal for the stags and hens and younger people. The old town is about half an hours walk and this has a wider variety of lovely bars and restaurants set around the square and pretty streets. It may be a good idea if the hotel were to think about providing a courtesy bus to the old town several times a day.
We found the evening entertainment poor as apart from a flamenco dancer one night the only other entertainment just seemed to be very loud music being played. This is another area that needs to be addressed.
We appreciate that it is still early days for the hotel and we note from the management replies to other reviews that they are trying to improve the holiday experience for their guests. We would not rate the hotel as a 4 star yet but for the price paid it does offer good value for money.

Room Tip: Rooms with pool view on upper floors are very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mike64HB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gonçalo Campos S, Gerente geral at Albufeira Sol Suite Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 19 May 2014
Dear Guest,

We thank you very much for your kind words.

All the compliments given to all the departments, Staff and food standards are highly apreciated.

Unfortunately we understand that you have not enjoyed the animation, mainly in the evenings. we are adressing this issue by opening the new Multi purposes / animation room.
It is going to be ready in a week. It should have been at use by now, but we had some delays whith its conclusion, as it is a brand new facility for all kinds of events, animation events and all types of organizations.

We also thank you for your kind word towards the management because of the Hen & Stagg parties. We were also caugh by surprise with these, but these groups are ending now in May, and we have already took some measures with our partners for they not to come in the next year.

Many thanks,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Preston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 May 2014

we arrived in the early hours after a delay in flight departure, greeted pleasantly by night receptionist. went to our room (junior suite) very very nice. Fully equipped kitchen (although all inc) separate living room and bedroom which could be cordoned off if more than a couple staying in suite. we were overlooking side of hotel very quiet and no noise from either road or other residents. Food very good always something to eat, bit hit and miss as too how hot, found if you go in as soon as it opens or leave about 3/4 hour food tended to be hotter. Downside to hotel are Stag and Hen parties who obviously do not how to behave. 4 people excluded the week before we arrived and 4 whilst we were there. lots of arguing and disagreements between groups. One girl taken to hospital mid afternoon very drunk. Management need to address amount of drinks one person allowed at a time. Would go back to this area again but not sure about hotel unless management change some rules. My husband complained and we filled in complaints book lets see if they act upon it. When he spoke to the manager (who seemed very upset) advised that they need to make the choice family hotel or stag and hen parties.

Room Tip: we stayed in 415 as said no noise although no sun on balcony either
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CATHERINE W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gonçalo Campos S, Gerente geral at Albufeira Sol Suite Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 14 May 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your comments in Tripadvisor. Your opinion is very important to the Albufeira Sol Hotel & SPA and to other guests that consider a trip to Albufeira.

We thank you for your carefull words about the events that occured during the weekend with the Hen & Stag parties. Indeed i read about the comments made on the comments book and we have made changes already into next season, preventing these groups coming to the Hotel.
Antecipating these reservations it is not as easy as it seems, because they come with no reference at all, of the fact that they are Hen & Stag Parties. We only know upon check-in and from then on, we act.
Now as for the future, we are going to establish a minimum stay of four nights to prevent these groups to continue coming.

Sunny regards from the Albufeira Sol
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 11 May 2014

Stayed at the Albufeira Sol last week and it was an okay experience.

Given it was a cheap getaway I wasn't expecting much, and upon arrival it looks much better than expected but I would classify this as a 3 star not a 4 star hotel. The grounds are okay, pool is a decent size, and the is restaurant decent - but the choice in food is fairly limited and flavourless.

The rooms are clean and much more modern in comparison to the rest of the hotel - however towards the end of our stay we encountered a lot of ants and bugs in the room which was quite unpleasant - be sure to keep you balcony door closed. Also there is no iron available in the entire hotel - so do carry a travel iron.

A small selection of the staff are helpful - the others act as if you are a burden and are not very helpful.

The wi-fi connection is terrible and rarely works in the bedrooms nor the pool area to be honest.

Location is good for the beach which is a 15 mim walk from the hotel. For a good night life you are better off staying nearer to the old town which is a 15 min taxi ride from the hotel and is more lively with lovely views.

Given the overall experience I wouldn't stay here again.

Room Tip: Keep your balcony door closed to avoid ants in the room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Roza_Guianna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gonçalo Campos S, Gerente geral at Albufeira Sol Suite Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 14 May 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your feedback on Trip Advisor following your recent stay at Albufeira Sol Hotel & Spa. We value each and every Guests review and appreciate the time you take out to write them.

Please accept our sincere apologies for your dissatisfaction with your recent experience during your stay, mainly with the flavourless food - We cannot agree with your judgement. We might agree on the diversity because we are working into constant improvement, but not on quality of the food served. Also the bugs that have entered are indeed related to the window opened and by that fact it gets more dificult to be controled.

Kindest regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 May 2014 via mobile

Very nice hotel overall. There is a nice selection of food to choose from, the entertainers in the day do games. At night time there is good entertainment.
Sometimes can be noisy from the hen and stag do's
Overall I would go again to this hotel

Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Katarina J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gonçalo Campos S, Gerente geral at Albufeira Sol Suite Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 14 May 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write such a nice review on your stay at Albufeira Sol Hotel & SPA.
we have passed on your comments to our Hotel staff and we look forward to welcoming you back again very soon.

Sunny regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Albufeira hotels
1.8 mi away
Clube Humbria by 3HB
Clube Humbria by 3HB
#1 of 8 in Olhos de Agua
865 reviews
1.0 mi away
Real Bellavista Hotel & Spa
Real Bellavista Hotel & Spa
#43 of 154 in Albufeira
2,033 reviews
0.4 mi away
Muthu Clube Praia da Oura
Muthu Clube Praia da Oura
#66 of 154 in Albufeira
3,165 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
EPIC SANA Algarve Hotel
EPIC SANA Algarve Hotel
#2 of 154 in Albufeira
1,010 reviews
1.2 mi away
Vila Gale Cerro Alagoa
Vila Gale Cerro Alagoa
#28 of 154 in Albufeira
1,526 reviews
0.4 mi away
Aqua Pedra dos Bicos Design Beach Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Albufeira Sol Suite Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Albufeira Sol Suite Hotel & Spa

Property: Albufeira Sol Suite Hotel & Spa
Address: Corcovada, Areias de Sao Joao, Albufeira 8200-664, Portugal (Formerly Dom Pancho Aparthotel)
Region: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Albufeira
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 127 Speciality Lodging in Albufeira
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Albufeira Sol Suite Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 220
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The ALBUFEIRA SOL HOTEL APARTAMENTO & SPA **** after a full renovation and redecoration asserts itself as a modern luxurious 4 ****, which provides guests with all the comfort and service of the highest quality in all inclusive. Its location, range of services, wellness and hospitality is the ideal choice for your stay. In vacation or working we bring you together all the conditions to offer "a relaxing and enjoyable stay". Share your holiday with us and enjoy excellent access to the best beaches in the Algarve! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, Ebookers, Hotels.com, TravelUp, LoveHolidays, Odigeo, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., HotelQuickly, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Albufeira Sol Suite Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dom Pancho Aparthotel Albufeira
Dom Pancho Portugal
Dom Pancho Algarve
Dom Pancho Albufeira
Dom Pancho Aparthotel Hotel Albufeira
Albufeira Dom Pancho
Albufeira Sol Suite Hotel & Spa Algarve, Portugal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing