We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely place to stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Albufeira Sol Suite Hotel & Spa
Certificate of Excellence
Glasgow
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Lovely place to stay”
Reviewed 13 September 2010

Had 2 week stay in Dom Pancho, studio apartment, pool view. We were very pleased with the room, was clean, modern and very comfortable. Good location too, only a short walk to the strip, also very near the Bullring. The pool was very clean with a nice shaded/grassy area for when it gets too hot. Only downside was some people got up early to reserve loungers so these were limited. Pool snack bar was nice, staff very friendly and the food was always nice, reasonably priced too. Reccomend the freshly squeezed OJ, sorts out a hangover! Also try the Mexican restaurant around the corner from Dom Pancho, not much to look at outside but the food was tasty. Overall a great hotel and would reccomend to anyone.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fernando_Mutley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,483 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    517
    534
    255
    114
    63
See reviews for
528
609
9
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (333)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 9 September 2010

Just returned from a 10 day stay at Dom Pancho, my fourth stay in Albufeira. The hotel had its good points but also its bad points. First impressions were not very good, we arrived at the hotel and the outside of the building didnt look very inviting but the hotel reception staff greeted us warmly enough. We were given our room keys for an apartment on the second floor the only problem was that it was the farthest away block and the room was the last on the right side with a pool view. By the time we reached the rooms we were exhausted, there were no lifts near to our room so it meant each time we left the room we had to go through this maze. As both of us have walking difficulties we asked to be changed to a room nearer the lift, the hotel couldnt accomodate us however they offered us a front facing room but considering we paid £140 more for a pool view we felt this was unnacceptable especially as in comparison to others we had paid a particulary high price for this accomodation.
Perhaps the most negative aspect of this was that to get to our room it meant walking through a maze of four very poorly lit corridors. In addition the tiles on the floor were extremely precarious and slippy. One scary addition to this is the timing of the light sensors in the corridors. They are situated approximately 20 - 25 feet apart which meant the corridors were almost constantly in darkness, the lights going off before you reached the next one, this was dangerous enough during the day but at night it felt very oppressive and intimidating, I certainly wouldnt have walked through these corridors at night without my partner. The room however was spotless and had new furnishings and plenty of cupboard space. The main negative about the room was the lack of an extractor fan in the bathroom, having a shower or bath meant you had to leave the door wide open or it was impossible to breathe. The room had the standard utensils but had no electric kettle or hairdryer. Still there was always plenty of hot water although it took an age to flow away from the bath or sink. The domestic staff were very pleasant but in ten days we had a change of towels and sheets once, I think this is a pretty poor standard considering the heat, I ended up washing the towels myself. The positives were that the pool area was pleasant, having shady areas for those not wanting too much sun although the sunbeds were the older variety which didnt allow you to have the back rest moved to a sitting position, there were also very few umberellas. The poolside snackbar was reasonable and the food was usually ok. The indoor pool was closed as was the fitness centre although looking through the door it looked as if they have been closed for sometime and have seen better days. Good points were that the staff were pleasant and the location was ok a ten minute walk to the strip and no noise at night and the reception staff always managed to get us a taxi with only a few minutes to wait. On the whole an average hotel but certainly not worth £1,200 for self catering for two people.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Duffy135
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blackburn
Level Contributor
41 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 September 2010

We have just got back from a 5 day break at the Dom Pancho. We had a studio apartment overlooing the pool. This was very large with a separate sleeping area. Everything you want in studio. Microwave, toaster, kettle, all kitchen accessories. it is only 5 mins walk from the strip and 15 mins to the beach. Only downside towels are only changed every 4 days so we had to use dirty towels but not too much of a problem just hung them to dry on balcony. you have to pay 15 Euros for air con and 15 for TV but you get it back. Dont bother with TV as nothing on anyway. large pool but only used for part of day as sunbeds not comfy and boring nothing to do. Rather go for a walk or to the beach. will stay again next year.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tyroneBlackburn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 September 2010

Stayed at the Dom Pancho in August 2010. Chose it mainly due to the reviews on TripAdvisor and wasn't disappointed. We had two rooms. The rooms were spacious, comfortable and reasonably well appointed: good sized comfortable beds, TV, air con, cooker, fridge/freezer, microwave, kettle, toaster, 2 towels each, decent sized balcony, etc.
The rooms were cleaned every other day and this was good enough for us.
Local area was quiet enough for us to sleep well at night but hotel is within 10 mins walk of "The Strip". Plenty of places to get food nearby. Beach was 20 mins walk. Bus to town was 5 mins walk (cheaper and better than the tourist train).
Pool area was good - grassed with wooden walkways. Pool was clean, big and deep enough to dive in to at one end. Wireless internet but chargeable.
Bar prices reasonable. Staff friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mikemuskoka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
York, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 5 September 2010

came back from the dom pancho last saturday had an excellent stay room very clean& spacious no sign of any ants i am a bad sleeper never heard any noise staff were helpful&friendly...its about a 10min walk to the strip theres plenty to do& see it was our first vist to portugal will be going back again

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ash088
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tipperary
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 4 September 2010

My partner and I stayed in the Dom Pancho hotel for 10 days. I was disappointed to find when we arrived that our balcony only saw the sun at 17:00 in the evening, so we decided to stay out all day every day! Also our balcony was overlooking other Villa's and the main road. The towels in our apartment were only changed on the fourth day and our bed was only changed three times whilst we were there which I thought was really unhygienic. The staff were quiet helpful but when it came to booking a taxi at night there were no gaurantees we would get one. When your feet are sore from walking around all day it's nice to be able to get a taxi from the hotel! The food at the hotel was fairly average,it was convieniant for lunch some days. There were tennis courts at the back of the pool area which we availed of but make sure to bring your rackets because its 7euro to play for an hour and thats without renting rackets. We would definatly go back to Albufeira,its beautiful, but we would'nt stay here again because considering the amount we paid, it was very basic.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tiesto_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belfast, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 3 September 2010

stayed in this hotel by chance our booked hotel was in fact overbooked. Lovely hotel, good pool close to the strip and very friendly staff. Impressed by the cleanliness, but a very quiet hotel, I thnk due to the fact it is close to the strip so everyone goes there for entertainment. Would recommend to anyone thank you for a lovely stay

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ewok1961
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Albufeira hotels
1.8 mi away
Clube Humbria by 3HB
Clube Humbria by 3HB
#1 of 8 in Olhos de Agua
861 reviews
1.0 mi away
Real Bellavista Hotel & Spa
Real Bellavista Hotel & Spa
#43 of 154 in Albufeira
2,026 reviews
0.4 mi away
Muthu Clube Praia da Oura
Muthu Clube Praia da Oura
#65 of 154 in Albufeira
3,160 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
EPIC SANA Algarve Hotel
EPIC SANA Algarve Hotel
#2 of 154 in Albufeira
1,009 reviews
1.2 mi away
Vila Gale Cerro Alagoa
Vila Gale Cerro Alagoa
#28 of 154 in Albufeira
1,525 reviews
0.4 mi away
Aqua Pedra dos Bicos Design Beach Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Albufeira Sol Suite Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Albufeira Sol Suite Hotel & Spa

Property: Albufeira Sol Suite Hotel & Spa
Address: Corcovada, Areias de Sao Joao, Albufeira 8200-664, Portugal (Formerly Dom Pancho Aparthotel)
Region: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Albufeira
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 127 Speciality Lodging in Albufeira
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Albufeira Sol Suite Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 220
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The ALBUFEIRA SOL HOTEL APARTAMENTO & SPA **** after a full renovation and redecoration asserts itself as a modern luxurious 4 ****, which provides guests with all the comfort and service of the highest quality in all inclusive. Its location, range of services, wellness and hospitality is the ideal choice for your stay. In vacation or working we bring you together all the conditions to offer "a relaxing and enjoyable stay". Share your holiday with us and enjoy excellent access to the best beaches in the Algarve! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, LoveHolidays, TravelUp, Odigeo, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Albufeira Sol Suite Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dom Pancho Aparthotel Albufeira
Dom Pancho Portugal
Dom Pancho Algarve
Dom Pancho Albufeira
Dom Pancho Aparthotel Hotel Albufeira
Albufeira Dom Pancho
Albufeira Sol Suite Hotel & Spa Algarve, Portugal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing