We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Needs some (a lot) improvement”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Ourahotel Aparthotel
Ranked #107 of 154 Hotels in Albufeira
Reviewed 3 October 2011

Got off the coach and wanted to get straight back on - to "tunnel" upto reception was dark and dirty - in reception greeting was very rude and not helpful. Rooms not ready (we were early) but attitude of staff was bad.
When we got into room - was more that adequate for our needs - except the beds - never tried to sleep on one as narrow. Otherwise clean and ok.

Room Tip: go to another hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Keith S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (37)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

22 - 28 of 37 reviews

Reviewed 10 September 2011

Just back from a week at OuraHotel in Albufeira. Have to strongly agree with two reviewers below, we found the hotel to be extremely tired and dated and in desperate need of renovation. It's like walking into a 1970s film set! Reception staff incredibly miserable. Hotel is with no soul or indeed life, giving a very weird atmosphere. Bar area was open but empty for whole week we were there, again with rude staff. Would possibly be a good choice if you want to party at The Strip at night as close location and is cleaned each day so no complaints there but if you're looking for a hotel with a relaxing happy holiday atmosphere, erm ... choose an alternative.

Cons : Old, Tired, Miserable Staff, Lifeless Bar Area
Pros: Clean, Good Location for The Strip

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank shelle1977
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2011

When arriving at the Ourahotel we had endure a 30 minute queue at reception. Normally when arriving at a hotel you expect to be greeted with at least a smile. However staff were not only very slow but also very miserable and unhelpful.
The room was very basic and couldn't quite grasp as to why we had two twin beds (that even when you tried to push together would push away as you rolled over - Ok if you have an arguement not if you have come away for a couples holiday). The kitchen area does not have an oven so unfortunately our frozen food went uneaten.
The layout of the room could be utilised better. The twin beds were directly opposite the kitchen area.
The bar area was lifeless, infact in the whole seven days we were there the light was never switched on.
The pool area was a fair size but overall the whole hotel is desperately in need of a refurbishment.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Arfa5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2011

The apartment with 2 bathrooms, sleeping 4, was clean and functional and we were lucky to be one of the few with a good view. We had two balconies, but only 2 chairs and a table. The pool was large and deep so good for serious swimming. The diving boards have been turned into plant holders. There were ample sunloungers around the pool and options for sun or shade. It is noisy as it is on a main road, but convenient for a large supermarket opposite. There is building work going on next door so this may have had an impact on the public areas which are tired, dirty and unsafe with loose paving. The many water features around the complex have all been switched off, exposing dirty troughs and giving an ugly outlook to many rooms. The reception - with the most surly and unhelpful staff - is poorly lit. The bar, indoor pool and squash courts were all locked throughout our stay. There was no facility for showering before our late departure. This is a place that has seen better days and now needs a complete renovation. There are much nicer places to stay than this. I have not taken any photos as I am embarrassed to say we had stayed there!

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 504167Joanna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Merseyside, England
14
Reviewed 6 December 2005

Been visiting this hotel for last 12 years. Given a lovely big room overlooking the pool. The staff in all departments are as friendly as ever. Room was very clean and maid service, towel change etc 6 days out of the seven. Pool and jacuzzi area very clean. Pity sauna/turkish bath closed. Gym wasn't open as it was being re-furbished, but these things have to be done at sometime of year. Would recommend hotel without any question.

  • Stayed: November 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
barnsley u.k.
19
Reviewed 26 January 2005

visited sept 04, weather fantastic, hotel in fantastic location, lovely reception area with a really nice water fall, given room on third floor over looking the most ugly waste land that was being bulldozed all day , the rooms were also in darkness all day, gaining no sunlight, the room its self was basic but clean, when we complained of view we were given option of paying 50 euros to move , which we did to a room over pool, this was much better, with sunlight till mid afternoon, once again room very clean, reception staff looked as if they would sooner be anywere other than behind desk, never saw anyone eating in resturant, 2-3 star about right.

9  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
London, England
116
Reviewed 4 August 2003

We arrived at the hotel with big expectations. At first we we weren't disappointed!! Being in such a central location to the shops, bars etc and not looking too bad from the outside we thought we'd have a wicked time in the hotel...:-/!! The reception area didnt disappoint either!! there was a waterfall thingy and it was quite obvious that a lot of money had been spent on this area. When we later checked out our own apartment, it was quite clear that MOST of the money had been spent on this reception area!!We had the 4th floor apartments..which ARE MEANT to be the biggest with an upper floor as well!! howver they werent exactly what you'd call spacious!! the facilities in the apartments arent exactly great either...satellite tv if you can call it that and uthe air conditioning...well what air conditioning!! The one thing that probably redeemed the apartment was the view from the lower and upper balcony....we had a view of the outdoor swimming pool as well as part of the sea and the rest of albufeira!!The rest of the facilities the hotel had to offer did also help to redeem the hotel. It had both an outdoor and inner pool as well as jacuzzi, steam room and sauna. The indoor health club also included a gym, hairdressers and squash club!!All in all, my stay at the Oura Aparthotel wasnt too bad but it is DEFINITELY not deserving of its 4star rating. In fact it probably barely qualifies as 3 star!!Oh yeah, i also forget to mention that most of the staff at the hotel are probably some of the most unhappy people you will ever meet!!

16  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Albufeira hotels
10.0 mi away
Luna Hotel da Oura
Luna Hotel da Oura
#45 of 154 in Albufeira
151 reviews
10.6 mi away
Muthu Oura Praia Hotel
Muthu Oura Praia Hotel
#80 of 154 in Albufeira
702 reviews
10.4 mi away
Solar de Sao Joao
Solar de Sao Joao
#100 of 154 in Albufeira
259 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.6 mi away
Muthu Forte da Oura
Muthu Forte da Oura
#87 of 154 in Albufeira
667 reviews
10.0 mi away
Ondamar Aparthotel
Ondamar Aparthotel
#41 of 154 in Albufeira
490 reviews
10.0 mi away
Cheerfulway Valmangude Jardim
Cheerfulway Valmangude Jardim
#143 of 154 in Albufeira
278 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ourahotel Aparthotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ourahotel Aparthotel

Address: Apartado 509 | Areias de Sao Joao, Albufeira 8201-908, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Albufeira
Hotel Style:
Ranked #107 of 154 Hotels in Albufeira
Price Range: £30 - £139 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 214
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays so you can book your Ourahotel Aparthotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ourahotel Aparthotel Albufeira, Algarve, Portugal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing