We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Let down by the awful approach and its tired frontage - but give it a chance”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Ourahotel Aparthotel
Ranked #102 of 152 Hotels in Albufeira
Reviewed 19 September 2012

Our transfer from Faro by Resorthoppa Shuttle bus was pleasant, efficient and comfortable but our arrival was a bit of a shock and we wanted to get straight back on the bus. The building in front of us in the darkeness was clad in scaffolding and we were shown down a dark and dingy tunnel wondering where on earth we were going. However the tunnel was only a few metres long and actually just goes underneath the terrace of the scaffold-clad hotel next door to our actual accommodation on the other side. The frontage of Ourahotel is rather tired and in need of a facelift, but nowhere nearly as bad as we first thought. The Reception and lobby were clean and acceptable but somewhat outdated and the staff couldnt have been more friendly and helpful. Our 1-bed apartment was huge, clean, bright and comfortable. It was most definitely 3-star and not what should be expected of an RCI "Resort" but we had everything we needed, including clean white towels every day of our fortnight except Thursdays and 2 large balconies! The Hotel is far enough away from "The Strip" for it not to suffer any related noise or any signs of passing revellers but the traffic noise from the nearby busy main road into town was constant and inevitable although the building work next door is not of any consequence as they are not allowed to make noise during the holiday season. It was also quite far from the beach, a good 20 minutes walk for the young and fit - quite a challenge for us being neither. The Hotel Shuttle bus runs to the beach at 9.30am and 12.30 only and returns 5 minutes later each time so there is little hope of getting a return trip and the hill climb back up from Oura Beach to the bus stop at the bottom of the Strip was also not for the faint hearted. However another bus trip returned us to the Hotel in about 20 minutes. The City buses "Giro" operate a circular route into and back out of town. Blue (Azure) and Green (Verde) lines service the "New" side of Albufeira and the Red and Orange the "Old Town". They run on a circular loop in opposite directions, thereby covering all the appartment areas so you really do need a bus map to discover the quickest and most direct bus to hop on, however they will all get you there eventually. We discovered that the Blue Line from outside Pingo Doce (supermarket opposite hotel) was the most direct into town and the Green Route back out got us home in 10 minutes rather than 45 minutes when we got on the wrong bus. The snack bar by the pool serves wonderful grilled Sardines and makes good coffee, Francisco and Martha serve everything with a big smile and Francisco is happy to sit and chat in his extremely good English. Beware the Reptile Show though, advertised by the Hotel in the grounds, a tiny tortoise, small Iguana and very small snake are all that are offered and the resultant photos are 10 Euros each! All in all Oura Hotel Aparthotel is clean and comfortable but heartless, nothing going on and no life, is in dire need of a facelift and not very well placed for Beach or Town walks. I will return to Portugal, probably to Albufeira which I loved, but not I think to Oura Hotel Aparthotel - not up to scratch but certainly worth a visit, and certainly not as bad as some of its reviews would have you believe.

Room Tip: Rooms overlooking the pool are sunny and bright, we had two large balconies with ours - those at the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bellydancer09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (38)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

21 - 27 of 38 reviews

Reviewed 10 July 2012

I had booked a stay here before reading the reviews so was a bit anxious as there seemed to be a lot of negatives. However, i found the hotel and our apartment very clean and the staff were absolutely fine, maybe not effusive but pleasant and polite and helpful with the few queries we had whilst there. It is true that the furniture/furnishings were rather dated but all the paint on the walls was very clean and the bathrooms were fine as well. The beds were a tad on the hard side for me but you can't please everyone with things like that! The air conditioning units seemed new and were very good, nice and quiet and operated with a remote control. There was a dishwasher in the kitchen but no electric kettle which seemed odd?! But we used the old school kettle and soon got used to it. We were in a one bedroom apartment and had 2 bathrooms. The downstairs one had a bath and a shower with a removable head but the one upstairs had a shower unit with a fixed head and the unit was very awkward to get in and out of - the doors slid open at the corner and you had to get in sideways which was awkward- it was also a bit of a step up/down and too close to the vanity unit the basin was set into. But still handy to have the extra loo! There was supposed to be a gym but it seemed to be locked and out of use. The turkish bath was out of order and looked like it had been for some time. The indoor pool and jacussi looked nice but there was no need to use them. The outdoor pool is lovely. The snack bar by the pool was quite nice ad not too dear - nice bar man. There didn't seem to be any other English families there, mainly Portuguese families who all seemed very nice. Lastly, very well located for supermarkets and some nice places to eat and a 10-15 walk from the more lively parts of the resort if wanted. Quiet at nights mostly though did sometimes get woken in the morning by noist seagulls!

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank nickyhslade
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 October 2011

Got off the coach and wanted to get straight back on - to "tunnel" upto reception was dark and dirty - in reception greeting was very rude and not helpful. Rooms not ready (we were early) but attitude of staff was bad.
When we got into room - was more that adequate for our needs - except the beds - never tried to sleep on one as narrow. Otherwise clean and ok.

Room Tip: go to another hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Keith S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 September 2011

Just back from a week at OuraHotel in Albufeira. Have to strongly agree with two reviewers below, we found the hotel to be extremely tired and dated and in desperate need of renovation. It's like walking into a 1970s film set! Reception staff incredibly miserable. Hotel is with no soul or indeed life, giving a very weird atmosphere. Bar area was open but empty for whole week we were there, again with rude staff. Would possibly be a good choice if you want to party at The Strip at night as close location and is cleaned each day so no complaints there but if you're looking for a hotel with a relaxing happy holiday atmosphere, erm ... choose an alternative.

Cons : Old, Tired, Miserable Staff, Lifeless Bar Area
Pros: Clean, Good Location for The Strip

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank shelle1977
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2011

When arriving at the Ourahotel we had endure a 30 minute queue at reception. Normally when arriving at a hotel you expect to be greeted with at least a smile. However staff were not only very slow but also very miserable and unhelpful.
The room was very basic and couldn't quite grasp as to why we had two twin beds (that even when you tried to push together would push away as you rolled over - Ok if you have an arguement not if you have come away for a couples holiday). The kitchen area does not have an oven so unfortunately our frozen food went uneaten.
The layout of the room could be utilised better. The twin beds were directly opposite the kitchen area.
The bar area was lifeless, infact in the whole seven days we were there the light was never switched on.
The pool area was a fair size but overall the whole hotel is desperately in need of a refurbishment.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Arfa5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2011

The apartment with 2 bathrooms, sleeping 4, was clean and functional and we were lucky to be one of the few with a good view. We had two balconies, but only 2 chairs and a table. The pool was large and deep so good for serious swimming. The diving boards have been turned into plant holders. There were ample sunloungers around the pool and options for sun or shade. It is noisy as it is on a main road, but convenient for a large supermarket opposite. There is building work going on next door so this may have had an impact on the public areas which are tired, dirty and unsafe with loose paving. The many water features around the complex have all been switched off, exposing dirty troughs and giving an ugly outlook to many rooms. The reception - with the most surly and unhelpful staff - is poorly lit. The bar, indoor pool and squash courts were all locked throughout our stay. There was no facility for showering before our late departure. This is a place that has seen better days and now needs a complete renovation. There are much nicer places to stay than this. I have not taken any photos as I am embarrassed to say we had stayed there!

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 504167Joanna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Merseyside, England
14
Reviewed 6 December 2005

Been visiting this hotel for last 12 years. Given a lovely big room overlooking the pool. The staff in all departments are as friendly as ever. Room was very clean and maid service, towel change etc 6 days out of the seven. Pool and jacuzzi area very clean. Pity sauna/turkish bath closed. Gym wasn't open as it was being re-furbished, but these things have to be done at sometime of year. Would recommend hotel without any question.

  • Stayed: November 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Albufeira hotels
1.5 mi away
Ondamar Aparthotel
Ondamar Aparthotel
#41 of 152 in Albufeira
501 reviews
1.8 mi away
Cerro Malpique Aparthotel
Cerro Malpique Aparthotel
#48 of 152 in Albufeira
415 reviews
2.1 mi away
Da Balaia Apartments
Da Balaia Apartments
#92 of 152 in Albufeira
104 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Luna Hotel da Oura
Luna Hotel da Oura
#43 of 152 in Albufeira
160 reviews
1.7 mi away
Muthu Oura Praia Hotel
Muthu Oura Praia Hotel
#77 of 152 in Albufeira
719 reviews
2.3 mi away
Hotel do Cerro
Hotel do Cerro
#47 of 152 in Albufeira
829 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ourahotel Aparthotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ourahotel Aparthotel

Address: Apartado 509 | Areias de Sao Joao, Albufeira 8201-908, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Albufeira
Hotel Style:
Ranked #102 of 152 Hotels in Albufeira
Price Range: £33 - £182 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 214
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Ourahotel Aparthotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ourahotel Aparthotel Albufeira, Algarve, Portugal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing