We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“"Nice spacious apartments"”
Review of Aparthotel Oceanus

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Aparthotel Oceanus
Ranked #24 of 152 Hotels in Albufeira
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 23 October 2013

The one bedroom apartment facing the pool with balcony, was clean,with good kitchenette and nice walk-in shower!

Reason, i don,t give higher rating:

No choice of double beds, plus the the twin beds are very narrow and mattress not comfortable.
Bedding not changed for 1 week ( you got to ask) and clean towels every 3 days! But, if you put them on the floor, they will change them.
Air con does not work properly - even in October, apartment was terribly hot!

Location good, but bit far from the beach. Overall good value for the price, but the above problems need to be improved!

Room Tip: Ask higher floor room, facing the pool!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank goldma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (721)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

431 - 437 of 721 reviews

Reviewed 21 October 2013

Stayed here at the start of the month for 5 nights and found it well situated for restaurants, supermarkets, cafes, bakery and beach. We stayed in a one bedroom apartment on the third floor overlooking the pool. Apartment was clean and had plenty of space. Wardrobe had loads of hangers and we had a huge balcony which could be accessed from living room and bedroom. Great walk-in shower and water was always hot. Only real complaint would be the air con which was very poor - as it was really hot some of the days. Also I didn't like the twin beds which weren't that comfortable! We were self catering so didn't use the snack bar or A Cantina restaurant which is part of the complex. Would certainly return if the air con and beds were sorted as it was very good value and so handy for every where.

Room Tip: Rooms overlooking pool get the sun most of the day and are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sweens063
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 October 2013

Just back from a week at the Oceanus....our first visit. Great location, short walk to the beach and near to some good restaurants. Our studio apartment was perfectly adequate - decent shower, well equipped kitchen, tv, seating area and dining table and chairs. Furnished balcony that had the sun almost all day. Unfortunately it's impossible to overlook the awful beds. Shallow mattress on hardboard base - more of a camp/put up bed than a permanent sleeping option. So uncomfortable it was impossible to have a decent nights sleep.

The hotel facilities are pretty good - two decent sized pools (although freezing in October we still braved them for a swim every day). Disappointed that the indoor pool is not heated this time of the year - we were told that they don't heat it in October as they close at the end of the month anyway. We specifically booked somewhere that had an indoor pool in case the outdoor pools were too cold so were a bit disappointed.

Plenty of good places to eat nearby. All in all for what you're paying it's very good. We'd certainly consider another visit.

Room Tip: 2nd building, upper floor facing pool for all day sun and peach and quiet!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DandA349
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 October 2013

Annual visit duly completed leaving us refreshed for the coming months of UK gloom.The hotel is clean , well appointed for the money and close to all the amenities of this quiet and beuatiful resort. Indooor and outdoor pools with lovely sun terrace around the outside pool. Staff are reliable, well informed and eager to please. Book with confidence.

Room Tip: Ask for room facing pool. Quieter basically as other side close to busy road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank daddyjock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 October 2013

We've been here on a few occasions over the past few years and always choose to stay in the Oceanus. Spotlessly clean, great facilities and well run. Pool is a great place for soaking up the sun and Armundo does a fine job of running the restaurant - we'll be back next year!

Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
1  Thank Rikki S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 October 2013

We stayed here for a week at the end of September, we had room 11 on the ground floor, which is a self contained apartment. It has a bedroom with 2 single beds, there is also a sofa bed, small kitchen and dining area that eaily met our needs, there was a balcony but it faced the main road, we didn't use it but there was a drying rack attached to the wall. The hotel has a childerens and a main pool (not heated) opposite the hotel entrance, my only comment would be that the cafe's prices are higher than they need to be and they charge for the use of sun lounger cushions, which is something I have never seen before. There is also an indoor pool which we did not use. The staff were friendly, but just be aware they charge for everything they possibly can. An airport transfer is 35 euro, which is the most expensive around, take my advice, if you have not booked your transport, book a return trip at the airport minibus services it's much cheaper.

The hotel is in a good location, there is a supermarket just round the corner, which has a bakery, meat and deli counter as well as all the other usual produce. There are many cafe's, restaurants and bars around, so there is plenty to suit your taste's and price ranges. There is a lovely little beach just a short walk down the hill, and a few different options for getting back up the hill.

When we were there is was between 28 - 30 degrees and only had a light shower once, down in Olhos beer was around 1.70 euro a pint and wine 2.20 during the day until 6pm, then the price risies but not by much, there was a very good selection of places to eat, I would recommend the Acqua restaurant both if you are a sports fan as they have lots of screens showing different games and events or if you like live music as they have someone performing every night, the staff are friendly and the menu is varied and resonably priced.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MNJDIABATE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 October 2013

Stayed here for a week ( my second visit ). Great location not far from the beach and surrounded by good local facilities and restuarants. Apartment very clean, and all the staff were friendly and helpful. Highly recommended. Cabana bar is worth a visit, and you must definitely try the fish soup and other great meals at Calheiros which is next door to Oceanus.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank clive h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Albufeira hotels
1.6 mi away
Natura Algarve Club
Natura Algarve Club
#30 of 152 in Albufeira
812 reviews
0.3 mi away
Velamar Boutique Hotel
Velamar Boutique Hotel
#7 of 152 in Albufeira
1,420 reviews
5.5 mi away
Baia Grande
Baia Grande
#2 of 3 in Sesmarias
1,058 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Alfagar II Aparthotel
Alfagar II Aparthotel
#10 of 152 in Albufeira
1,023 reviews
1.9 mi away
Golden Beach by 3HB
Golden Beach by 3HB
#1 of 152 in Albufeira
257 reviews
3.3 mi away
Cerro Malpique Aparthotel
Cerro Malpique Aparthotel
#49 of 152 in Albufeira
415 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aparthotel Oceanus? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aparthotel Oceanus

Address: Olhos d'Agua, Albufeira 8200-650, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Albufeira
Amenities:
Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#14 Romantic Hotel in Albufeira
#15 Best Value Hotel in Albufeira
Price Range: £21 - £132 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Aparthotel Oceanus 3*
Number of rooms: 61
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Oceanus Aparthotel ***The newly expanded Oceanus Aparthotel is located in the centre of the charming summer resort of Olhos d'Agua on the Algarve. Recently enlarged through the acquisition of the Aparthotel Olhos d'Agua, this 3 Star vacation retreat makes an affordable base for couples and families with a wide range of shops and restaurants nearby and 102 attractive studios and one bedroom apartments resting in 2 buildings surrounded by lovely gardens with a sparkling swimming pool. Guests of the Oceanus Aparthotel can discover the marvellous beaches of Olhos d'Aqua (500 m) and Maria Luísa (800 m), explore delightful little villages with narrow cobbled streets, and tackle the challenging golf course in nearby Acoteias. For a bargain holiday in the Algarve, Oceanus Aparthotel makes the grade! Faro International Airport is 30 km from the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Aparthotel Oceanus reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aparthotel Oceanus Albufeira, Algarve, Portugal
Aparthotel Oceanus Hotel Albufeira
Oceanus Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing