We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good stay overall - disappointing breakfast”
Review of Aparthotel Oceanus

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Aparthotel Oceanus
Ranked #20 of 154 Hotels in Albufeira
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 4 July 2014

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at this hotel, we had a corner apartment facing the front which was very spacious and fully equipped for our needs. The location was great as it was close to lots of lovely restaurants, shops and the beach. The pool area was fine, although the pool could have been heated. The snack bar lowered the tone of the hotel and could do with being updated.

We opted for bed and breakfast which we would not recommended. The only options were full English breakfast or continental which consisted of rolls with pre-sliced cheese/ham and croissants with packet jam/butter. We were also given a plate of something which we assumed were scrambled eggs and these were disgusting. Breakfast was served in the snack bar, however we would have preferred it in the restaurant or the hotel bar.

We dined at the A' Cantina restaurant one night and both had the salmon and a dessert which were lovely. The staff were friendly however, the staff member hovering outside the restaurant put us off coming sooner as we could not look at the menu board without feeling pressurized.

We visited the hotel bar several times which had a nice atmosphere as it looked on to the indoor pool, drinks were fine and reasonably priced and staff were lovely.

Overall the hotel staff were friendly and helpful and we would return to this hotel on a self-catering basis.

Stayed here June 2014 for 1 week.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Maryanne158
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (699)
There are newer reviews for Aparthotel Oceanus
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

370 - 376 of 699 reviews

Reviewed 3 July 2014

Lovely clean spacious apartment with all faciltiies, amazing bathroom with huge walk in shower, twin beds, extra blankets, a kettle (usual!) in the kitchen, flatscreen tv with English channels (great for cartoons for 3 year old while getting ready to go out!). Really helpful friendly staff at Reception and cleaning staff who cleaned everyday and changed the towels. Lovely bar downstairs with indoor swimming pool (viewabel from bar). 2 pools and kids pools and snack bar right opposite the entrance on quiet street. Didnt feel like the usual complexes, really close to beach (down a steep hill) so perfect for a quite relaxing single, couple of family holiday without the usual madness and tackiness of larger resorts. Would definitely recommend the Oeanus!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Alpharooms
2  Thank Ross32WesportIreland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2014

These apartments are great for a couple or a family,Everything you could need is just a short walk away,Restaurants. supermarkets 2 ..Decent wine prices very cheap compared to the uk.and a very well stocked kitchen so you could self cater very easily.cleaning was every day but sunday,no complaints.there are 2 pools and a small childs pool.Staff in hotel very helpful,This place would be a great place for a cheap family holiday.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank c63d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2014

Brilliant 10 night stay in June, room 210 quiet poolside apt. My sister had 209 on roadside but not too bad for noise. There's a lovely bakery across the road and up a bit bread is made fresh daily. Bars and restaurants all pretty good Pinoquios for San Miguel for a change from the local Sagres or Super Bock was our favourite. Aquamarine is a fantastic day out, we got a taxi back as the bus ride to collect & drop off everywhere is a bit long.
Pool area lovely and pool bar staff fantastic. Prices very reasonable.
Evening hotel entertainment on Mondays & Fridays is a singer from UK and they also have karaoke on Wednesdays.
Weather was brilliant, ranging from 22-30 degrees.
Would thoroughly recommend both these apartments and the resort, also very handy for Albufeira, Cost us around 12 EUROS for a taxi to the old town.
Go!!

Room Tip: Check out the roof terrrace! Floor 3 end apartments have huge balconies with loungers
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank carol h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 June 2014

We stayed in this hotel in June. Mostly happy with our stay. The hotel is between 5 and 10 minutes from the beach depending on how fit you are and which route you take. There are plenty of shops and restaurants within 2 minutes walk. We also found it really convenient to be really close to 2 large supermarkets for stocking up on drinks. We were less than 5 minutes walk to a big intermarche.

We found the reception staff really helpful and friendly.The room was ok. We found it pretty small for a 1 bed with a small balcony but there seems to be a really big variation in room size as other members of our party had rooms that were substantially larger with balconies double the size of ours. The bigger rooms seem to face the main road whereas ours faced the snackbar/pool area which we had requested so that was our mistake. The kitchen area was very modern with a coffee maker and microwave which was a nice plus. The TV also had a built in DVD which would be handy for kids. The shower was also modern and powerful.

The main pool area was lovely though some days there was a shortage of loungers and it seemed that a lot of people at the pool were not actually hotel guests which seemed a little unfair. The food at the snackbar was nice though and the staff there were lovely.The indoor pool was nice though not heated in June. We swam there a few times but never saw any other hotel guests using it.

I think its a pity that the snack bar area isnt open at night for drinks as the indoor downstairs bar is a bit depressing and its so much nicer to sit outside on holidays. Also, there was really loud music that wasnt great (sorry) most nights and if you just wanted a drink and a chat there was no where to go.If the snack bar area was open we would have happily gone there before or after dinner each evening.

Overall a nice family hotel and if I got a good rate I would return. All the hotel staff that we encountered during our stay were lovely, welcoming and helpful.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
7  Thank star1984
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 June 2014

I stayed here for a week in June. I had a four person corner room by the roadside, not particularly what I would choose. Bedroom was a little basic but the bed was fine for me and I didn't really notice the traffic noise at night, it is loud if you have the balcony door open. Shower was very good, clean towels every day although maids do come around late in the day. Kitchenette was well equipped and I could use the TV to play music CDs. Bar was ok although it is downstairs with no outside area for warm nights, we enjoyed the live singer and karaoke in the bar too. We had breakfast included although I was disappointed as it was not true buffet style as in the hotel leaflet and our travel provider, it was a set menu which you were not allowed to mix and match, there was no fruit or yoghurt options and limited cereal option, if I travelled independently I would not commit to breakfast. Pool area was very nice, quiet, spacious and relaxing one of the best I've experienced as I like peace and quiet to read. I dined in the Oceanus restaurant 'A Cantina' once to the set 3 course menu of 11 euros, I found this perfectly acceptable and good friendly service, would eat here again. After checkout the only 'shower & change' option is the indoor swimming pool changing rooms which I felt was not sufficient, luckily I was able to use another guest's room.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Amaisie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 June 2014

Can't fault this hotel,kitchen really well equipped, always kept clean and daily maid service. Staff really helpful and snack bar and pool opposite are just what we needed.
Would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank David W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Albufeira hotels
1.8 mi away
Muthu Clube Praia da Oura
Muthu Clube Praia da Oura
#80 of 154 in Albufeira
3,350 reviews
5.5 mi away
Baia Grande
Baia Grande
#2 of 3 in Sesmarias
1,026 reviews
1.4 mi away
EPIC SANA Algarve Hotel
EPIC SANA Algarve Hotel
#2 of 154 in Albufeira
1,119 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Hotel Topazio
Hotel Topazio
#49 of 154 in Albufeira
786 reviews
0.3 mi away
Velamar Budget Boutique Hotel
2.5 mi away
Luna Clube Oceano
Luna Clube Oceano
#23 of 154 in Albufeira
470 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aparthotel Oceanus? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aparthotel Oceanus

Address: Olhos d'Agua, Albufeira 8200-650, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Albufeira
Amenities:
Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#14 Best Value Hotel in Albufeira
#14 Romantic Hotel in Albufeira
Price Range: £24 - £107 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Aparthotel Oceanus 3*
Number of rooms: 61
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Oceanus Aparthotel ***The newly expanded Oceanus Aparthotel is located in the centre of the charming summer resort of Olhos d'Agua on the Algarve. Recently enlarged through the acquisition of the Aparthotel Olhos d'Agua, this 3 Star vacation retreat makes an affordable base for couples and families with a wide range of shops and restaurants nearby and 102 attractive studios and one bedroom apartments resting in 2 buildings surrounded by lovely gardens with a sparkling swimming pool. Guests of the Oceanus Aparthotel can discover the marvellous beaches of Olhos d'Aqua (500 m) and Maria Luísa (800 m), explore delightful little villages with narrow cobbled streets, and tackle the challenging golf course in nearby Acoteias. For a bargain holiday in the Algarve, Oceanus Aparthotel makes the grade! Faro International Airport is 30 km from the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Expedia, TravelUp, Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Aparthotel Oceanus reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aparthotel Oceanus Albufeira, Algarve, Portugal
Aparthotel Oceanus Hotel Albufeira
Oceanus Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing