We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“fantastic highly recommended, definitely would stay again”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Aparthotel Oceanus

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Aparthotel Oceanus
Ranked #21 of 163 Hotels in Albufeira
Certificate of Excellence
Darlington, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“fantastic highly recommended, definitely would stay again”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 August 2014

My partner and I stayed here for 10 nights in july and found this hotel perfect, staff very helpful and friendly, room service excellence, the whole hotel area was immaculate, food at pool bar was lovely, there is 2 pools, 1 small one mostly adults and quiet and other bigger for families with children, can't think of anything to complain about and would definitely stay again, if looking for a lively hotel then better off staying somewhere near the strip or old town, which are about 5 mins in taxi about 5 euros or bus stop right outside hotel 2 euros or 45 min walk, the bars near the beach are perfect which is 5 min ( or less) walk, beach lovely

Room Tip: Our room was on road front and no noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank lisa s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

629 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    266
    266
    69
    20
    8
See reviews for
183
290
25
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (206)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Gloucester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 August 2014

Quite surprised by some of the negative comments about this place.
Yes, it is near a main road & the bar is underground & the swimming pool is across the road, but the apartments are very clean air conditioned and the room we were in had double balcony access.
A good base for some stunning walks, beach only a short walk down the hill with plenty of bars on the way.

Room Tip: Try and book a room that does not face the road. An end room also has extra balcony space.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tim M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
county durham
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 July 2014

I have returned from a weeks hoidays in this hotel and had a brilliant time. I was travelling with my boyfriend and his family. We all had an apartment for 2 people and were very spacious. Some of us were located in the annex section and the rooms were spacious with a separate kitchen and a seating area with arm chairs, table and tv. The bedroom isn't in a separate room although their is a screen to pull across if needed. If in the annex request a room overlooking the pool as the suns shines on your balcony until gone 7.

The rooms in the main building were smaller but we were still more than happy. The was no separate seating area in these rooms but if you lucky enough to get an end room there is a fantastic corner baconly with a table chairs and 2 sun loungers.

There are 2 pools are smaller one were the annex is. This is a lot quieter and more relaxing if you prefer quiet. The larger pool is just across from the main entrance and is a good size with loungers and lots of space. However, as previously mentioned I wouldn't really class it as being 'across the road'. Its not exactly a main road, more like a car park belonging to the hotel and is perfectly safe.

The snack bar is very good prices. We only had a couple of snacks there but no complaints.

Overall, a great stay and if we were ever looking at going back to this resort we stayed in this hotel again.

Room Tip: Annex- over looking pool Main block- a corner room
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank emz610
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belfast
Level Contributor
24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 July 2014

Just returned from a glorious week in Olhos de Agua. We stayed at the Oceanus Aparthotel and I would highly recommend it as a base for your holiday. We arrived around 11.30 and our apartment wasn't ready - check in is around 4 normally but we were told to check again at 1pm and it was ready. We were able to leave our luggage in a secured room and pop over to the pool snack bar and grab a bite to eat. Staff on reception were helpful and assisted at all times. Our apartment (1 bedroom) was great. Beds were the most comfortable I've slept in at a holiday location and plenty of pillows. We had a fantastic balcony overlooking the pool area with 2 sun loungers and table/chairs. We were able to sit out and chill in the evenings. Room had all necessary items - kettle, toaster, microwave, tv with dvd player included. My only gripe is that the towels were not changed daily - 2 days the used towels were hung up again and were wet from the previous usage. In particular the last day before we travelled home. Bit disappointing. Detracts from the overall experience & hardly see how it impacts on their costs. Anyhow, apart from this would have no problem recommending to anyone. A safe is available for E20.50 for the week (E10 returned on departure), wifi is available for E10 for the week. Worth it - best signal in hotel reception area where you can sit and catch up. Air/con included in our holiday. The pool was great. Our daughter (12) used the main pool and loved it. There was a smaller children's pool which seemed grand as well. There were plenty of sun loungers and the cushions for them are only 1 euro per day. The toilets were clean and well maintained. We ate most days at the snack bar beside the pool - food was spot on. Freshly made pizzas, range of sandwiches/toasties, salads, burgers etc. Definitely try the chicken breast with piri piri sauce - yummy! Range of drinks, ice-creams, slushies available. Location - it 100%. Walk down to the beach is around 10 mins. All downhill so wouldn't be advisable if you need assistance walking. There are also a number of nice little restaurants down by the beach and tourist shops where you can purchase souvenirs etc. We also found a great little restaurant/cafe called Kilograma on the main road behind the hotel. You basically pay for the weight of your food. We ate there a few times and it came to under E30 for 2 adults and a child, including a bottle of wine, water and soft drinks. Great variety to choose from - definitely try it out if you are there. There is also a nice cafe beside it (Cafe Creme) and a bakery where we bought fresh rolls / croissants each morning. The cafe also has free wifi. Would also recommend the restaurant down by the beach, Tamarillo. Great value, pizza was amazing. We tried Acqua restaurant as well by the beach - food was just ok. They had decent live music after the meal which was cool. We only went into Albuferia one evening. Taxi cost around 8 or 9 euro. Meal was not great and cost over 80 euro for main meal & bottle of wine. Taxis are a pain to get back at night so we decided to stay in Olhos thereafter. There are 2 supermarkets nearby - 5 minute walk to both. Totally relaxing holiday and will definitely return

Room Tip: Ask for a room in the main building with a pool view - they are quieter and you get to watch the sun...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Catcorrigan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durham
Level Contributor
60 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2014

This is a clean and tidy apartment block with all you need for a great holiday. Olhos d'Agua is a small town, with a scattering of good bars and restaurants at good prices. The larger pool is mainly for families, there is also a smaller and very quiet pool more suited to adult travellers. The apartments were clean and well equipped. They are quite basic, but if you want 5 star you won't get it for 3 star prices. Reception and bar staff pleasant and helpful. I would definitely recommend the breakfast at the snack bar, 3.5 euros for a full English. Lots of shops nearby, with a large supermarket a five minute walk away, beach around 10 mins. Nice bar downstairs with entertainment most evenings. Galleon Bar down at the beach area very nice. A couple of minor niggles which would be really easy to sort out and would have made me score the hotel even higher. On our final day we had no maid service and no clean towels left. The following day we had a late evening airport transfer, and were told to use our dirty beach towels to shower in the courtesy shower room (indoor pool changing area). I think it would be very little trouble to give guests a clean towel to shower with on their last day. I used our room towels and got a ticking off from the receptionist. Come on, this is a hotel, at least look after your guests until they leave. The towel we used had been given to us clean two days ago anyway, and used twice so damp, so still not great for getting dry with. So if this hotel had a maid service 7 days a week like most hotels, and the petty towel situation could be sorted, I would have given it 5/5 without a doubt. Useful tips, there is an amazing Indian Restaurant called O Licorne nearby, you would never find it if you didn't know about it, back of hotel turn right and walk for about 10 minutes. It is across the road set back slightly but signposted. Local Chinese restaurant was ok but nothing special, Holidays Bar (English) situated below the hotel snack bar at the back is friendly and cheap, Taverntino at the back of the hotel is good, and drinks prices are extremely cheap. Sun Travel are good for transfers to and from Faro, and cheaper than most.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Melissajane8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 July 2014 via mobile

Great hotel. Staff at reception were very helpful and pleasant. About 10 euro taxi to centre and regular buses to Quertiera and Villamora. Apartment style with open plan sitting rooms and kitchen -very spacious,very clean. Would recommend.

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank Lauren C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Middlesbrough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
110 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 July 2014

Pleasantly surprised with this place. Very spacious rooms with a separate well equipped kitchen. Very clean, nice staff. There are two blocks of apartments and two pools and good facilities. Had no trouble getting a sunbed and it was all very relaxing.

Contrary to the previous post on here............the bar is downstairs and nicely decorated and I didn't find it dark at all. The cocktail waitress Veira was great and the cocktails she made were wonderful and very reasonable pricewise.

Thoroughly enjoyed my stay here and would come back anytime!!!!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 19caz59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Albufeira hotels
1.6 mi away
Natura Algarve Club
Natura Algarve Club
#26 of 163 in Albufeira
4.0 of 5 bubbles 714 reviews
0.4 mi away
Velamar Boutique Hotel
Velamar Boutique Hotel
#11 of 163 in Albufeira
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,175 reviews
2.5 mi away
Luna Clube Oceano
Luna Clube Oceano
#9 of 163 in Albufeira
4.0 of 5 bubbles 419 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Paladim Aparthotel
Paladim Aparthotel
#18 of 163 in Albufeira
4.0 of 5 bubbles 606 reviews
1.6 mi away
Aqua Pedra dos Bicos Design Beach Hotel
0.9 mi away
Falesia Hotel
Falesia Hotel
#4 of 163 in Albufeira
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,811 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aparthotel Oceanus? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aparthotel Oceanus

Property: Aparthotel Oceanus
Address: Olhos d'Agua, Albufeira 8200-650, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Albufeira
Amenities:
Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#14 Romantic Hotel in Albufeira
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Aparthotel Oceanus 3*
Number of rooms: 61
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Oceanus Aparthotel ***The newly expanded Oceanus Aparthotel is located in the centre of the charming summer resort of Olhos d'Agua on the Algarve. Recently enlarged through the acquisition of the Aparthotel Olhos d'Agua, this 3 Star vacation retreat makes an affordable base for couples and families with a wide range of shops and restaurants nearby and 102 attractive studios and one bedroom apartments resting in 2 buildings surrounded by lovely gardens with a sparkling swimming pool. Guests of the Oceanus Aparthotel can discover the marvellous beaches of Olhos d'Aqua (500 m) and Maria Luísa (800 m), explore delightful little villages with narrow cobbled streets, and tackle the challenging golf course in nearby Acoteias. For a bargain holiday in the Algarve, Oceanus Aparthotel makes the grade! Faro International Airport is 30 km from the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Jet2Holidays , Hotels.com, Odigeo, TravelUp, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Aparthotel Oceanus reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aparthotel Oceanus Albufeira, Algarve, Portugal
Aparthotel Oceanus Hotel Albufeira
Oceanus Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing