We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointing - you get what you pay for!”
Review of Aparthotel Oceanus

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Aparthotel Oceanus
Ranked #24 of 154 Hotels in Albufeira
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 6 October 2009

Having been to Olhos D'Agua before, my wife and I knew the excellent location of the apartments and the proximity to all the local amenities. The late deal we got with Thomas Cook Style was heavily discounted (60%), and worked out at just about the right price for very disappointing accommodation. The apartments have clearly been built some years ago, and are in need of a substantial renovation. Decor is tired and our bathroom and shower both had lots of broken and cracked tiles on the walls. The shower heads were flimsy and the windows and ledges in both were dirty. Cleanliness overall was adequate, though sofa covers were questionable. Our prime complaint was being allocated room 013, ground floor front. Granted, the one bedroom apartment was large and there was no offending noise from the road, but both of our balconies were tiny and, worst of all, had no view other than the hedge surrounding the premises. We did request a change of room but were given a curt "full up" response by reception. The Thomas Cook rep., was similarly unhelpful. The pool area is smallish, but adequate and contains the best aspect of the establishment, namely the snack bar where excellent value and quality food is served. The pool area does, however, seem to be able to be used by people other than Oceana residents. Having explored the village more this visit, I now know of many more appealing apartments which I will be pursuing for future visits.
Regarding restaurants and bars, in several visits we have yet to be disappointed though in our opinion, Fratelli's, Tavertino's and Ambrosia Nectar are overrated and overpriced.
Conclusion: if you do visit the Oceana, do NOT accept a room on the ground floor facing the main road!

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank MatureTravellers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (716)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

585 - 591 of 716 reviews

Reviewed 5 October 2009

My girlfrined and I have just returned form 10 days at Oceanus, and we booked it after reading positive reviews on Tripadvisor. As such, I thought only right to share my feedback... bascially, we thought the place was excellent! The rooms were very large, and were kept really clean. We had requested a room overlooking the pool (no sea views) after suggestions on here, and are glad we did so, as I can imagine that the rooms on the other side are affected by the busy road that runs by. However, poolside, there were no probs at all!

The staff at the hotel were really really friendly, and other visitors were quiet and mainly families or older holidaymakers - great for us as a couple wanting a quiet break. Not sure if this changes in main season, but great while we were there at end of September.

The village itself is also very nice - great beach 5mins walk from hotel, quite quiet, but close to Albufeira (10 mins / 6 euros) if wanting some full-on nightlife. However, there were more than enough restaurants and bars in village itself that meant that my girlfriend and (30 and 21 years old) only felt desire to go into Albufeira twice. Particlularly recommend the Oasis bar (great staff) and also the Italian restaurant "I Fratelli" - some of the best Italian food I've had. There's also another very nice local food restuarant whose name I forget near the beach almost opposite the Pickwick (don't worry, this is the ONLY english pub by the sea, and not noisy).

Anyway, a great holiday, and very highly recommended - particularly the Oceanus Apartment itself for the room, cleanliness, nice pool, and very friendly/helpful staff.

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank mattexeter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 September 2009

my partner and I arrived at ten in the morning and expected a long wait to get in the room however this was not the case, following advice given on other reviews I asked for an apartment overlooking the pool. The receptionist replied politely that she would see what she could do, we were given apartment 108 which had two balcanies both overlooking the pool and next doors pool. The apartment although tired and dated was kept nice and clean and was the biggest apartment I have stayed, more than enough room for two and could easily accomodate four. The staff were very helpful and friendly although we booked an early morning call on the day of our departure which we did not get and nearly resulted in us missing our pickup, when I asked the receptionist what happened to our call he just shrugged and said maybe the computer was'nt working but this was just one tiny blip in the ten days we stopped there. The place itself is ideal just to sit back and chill, no rowdy teenagers, no noisy drunks, no screaming kids wanting stuff. There was plenty of holiday makers young and old but the place never seemed crowded, plenty of good bars ( cabana cocktail bar ) was our favourite and a plethera of good resteraunts. Nearly everyone we spoke to were return visitors which I think speaks volumes for the hotel and the resort, we shall definitely be returning one of our best holidays

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank duncan c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2009

We've just arrived home from a weeks stay in the Oceanus Aparthotel. We don't usually write reviews but felt in this instance a review is justified as the Oceanus met all our requirements and lived up to our expectations (pictures are spot on). We would like to commend the hotel on its albeit basic facillities but satisfactory. Would totally recommend getting a room with the pool view. Although the town was quiet the beach was always full so would recommend an early start. The waiters of every bar and restaurant we consumed at were friendly and welcoming. The only downside is that there is a steep hill you have to walk down to get to the beach and restaurants which was not very pleasant to walk back up at the end of the day or after a big meal.
We will most definatley be visiting this town again and most probably stay at Oceanus Aparthotel.

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank holiday_girls_3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2009

Brilliant service for the price and conveniently located from local super market and villamoura. Rocha beach was undergoing some works so it was not as pleasant as the other beaches. Hotel was in good nick and the indoor heather pool was great as well. Room was spacious but as others have mentioned, choose a pool facing room as the other side faces a main road.

  • Stayed: March 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank nimmat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2009

We travelled to the Oceanus for a long weekend to celebrate our wedding anniversary. The greeting by reception staff made us feel utterly welcome and the room, pool and position of the apartments were great. The only complaint I would have was the noise in the front rooms from the main road but would ask for a room at the back next time. Little beach nearby was fabulous and although up a steep hill to the apartment, it was just enough of a walk in the evenings. Worst meal was the little blue and white restaurant on the right just at the bottom of the hill but everywhere else seemed great. Everyone seemed to queue for Fratelli's (thinks thats what it was called!) but we wanted Portuguese not Italian! Good location especially for a long weekend and Oceanus' staff were so helpful and friendly and the room clean tidy, I would go back there without hesitation.

  • Stayed: May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank MichelleALuton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 May 2009

Just returned from a fantastic holiday at the Oceanus. The apartments are excellent, they are one of the best three star apartments we have stayed in. Very spacious, well equipped and spotlessly clean . We had a top floor apartment overlooking the pool, room 308. The rooms at the back of the hotel were on a fairly busy road which must be noisy. The staff are very friendly an helpful. The pool area is lovely with plenty of sunbeds. The small beach is about 500 metres walk which we preffered to the bigger beach. Lovely sandy beach with some little coves. Plenty of restuarants and bars located around the resort of OLhos D Agua. Cabrita, Ambrose and Nector and Fratellis were our favourite restaurants. Great holiday , great weather, we hope to return to the Oceanus next May.

  • Stayed: May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Couple046
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Albufeira hotels
1.6 mi away
Natura Algarve Club
Natura Algarve Club
#28 of 154 in Albufeira
812 reviews
0.3 mi away
Velamar Boutique Hotel
Velamar Boutique Hotel
#7 of 154 in Albufeira
1,416 reviews
0.9 mi away
Alfagar II Aparthotel
Alfagar II Aparthotel
#10 of 154 in Albufeira
1,014 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Golden Beach by 3HB
Golden Beach by 3HB
#1 of 154 in Albufeira
257 reviews
2.6 mi away
Paladim Aparthotel
Paladim Aparthotel
#20 of 154 in Albufeira
705 reviews
1.7 mi away
Quinta Pedra dos Bicos
Quinta Pedra dos Bicos
#36 of 154 in Albufeira
817 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aparthotel Oceanus? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aparthotel Oceanus

Address: Olhos d'Agua, Albufeira 8200-650, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Albufeira
Amenities:
Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#14 Romantic Hotel in Albufeira
Price Range: £20 - £136 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Aparthotel Oceanus 3*
Number of rooms: 61
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Oceanus Aparthotel ***The newly expanded Oceanus Aparthotel is located in the centre of the charming summer resort of Olhos d'Agua on the Algarve. Recently enlarged through the acquisition of the Aparthotel Olhos d'Agua, this 3 Star vacation retreat makes an affordable base for couples and families with a wide range of shops and restaurants nearby and 102 attractive studios and one bedroom apartments resting in 2 buildings surrounded by lovely gardens with a sparkling swimming pool. Guests of the Oceanus Aparthotel can discover the marvellous beaches of Olhos d'Aqua (500 m) and Maria Luísa (800 m), explore delightful little villages with narrow cobbled streets, and tackle the challenging golf course in nearby Acoteias. For a bargain holiday in the Algarve, Oceanus Aparthotel makes the grade! Faro International Airport is 30 km from the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , LoveHolidays, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, Ebookers, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Aparthotel Oceanus reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aparthotel Oceanus Albufeira, Algarve, Portugal
Aparthotel Oceanus Hotel Albufeira
Oceanus Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing