We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Upgrading needed in all areas!”
Review of Aparthotel Oceanus

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Aparthotel Oceanus
Ranked #20 of 154 Hotels in Albufeira
Certificate of Excellence
Singapore, Singapore
Level 5 Contributor
85 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
“Upgrading needed in all areas!”
Reviewed 12 November 2009

We booked the Olhos D'Agua aparthotel but were moved to the Oceanus because the other one was under renovation. We had booked a studio apartment but upon checking in, were upgraded to a 1-bedroom apartment (Room 116). This was a corner apartment and so had two balconies, one of which (the side one) faced the main road. As mentioned by other reviewers, the main road was very noisy so I can just imagine how bad it must be for those apartments facing the main road completely. When booking, ask for the even number apartments except for the 116 because of that side balcony.

The apartment overall was spacious but in urgent need of upgrading. As mentioned in the other reviews, there were cracked tiles on the wall and the bathtub, grout on the tiles and walls, decaying wooden doors, taps that were in need of change, toilet bowl that was stained, shower curtain that was torn at the bottom, window curtains that were not properly mounted, a sofa that was stained and faded, etc. In this age and technology, I can't understand why hotels still persist in upholstering sofas in fabric which prove difficult to maintain. In my opinion, if you can't wash it regularly, don't use it. Nobody likes sitting or lying on a sofa and wondering about the origin of that red or yellow stain! At least 2 essential lamps were not working in our apartment and when brought to the attention of the staff, was given the assurance that a technician would be notified. Never saw the technician for the 4 days that we were there. As such, we were left groping our way to the living area in the dark whenever we came back at night because the hall lamp wasn't working. In-room safe was available for rent at €1.50/day with a €10 deposit.

No couple beds throughout the whole hotel, only single ones. Worse still, they didn't have double bedsheets either to make up 2 single beds as a double bed so the best that could be done was to push 2 single beds together, each with its own set of sheets. Neither comfortable nor romantic.

The kitchen was fairly well-equipped. No microwave, though, and only one cutting knife to use. You are also expected to buy your own dishwashing liquid and sponge to wash the cooking utensils as housekeeping doesn't provide them. In the living area we could hear a lot of noise from the apartment above e.g. flushing of the toilet (very clearly), footsteps and furniture being moved around. If someone needs to sleep in the living room, it is advisable to bring earplugs.

The hotel had an outdoor pool and a lovely indoor one which, although advertised as 'heated', was only heated in winter. As such, the pool was empty most of the time because the water was very cold. Swimming caps were compulsory and you could rent them from the reception at €2.50 per person. The Nautilus bar adjoining this indoor pool had reasonably good prices for the drinks and also had a karaoke session every night for guests.

Location wise, the hotel was situated in a good area - safe and quiet (except for the facade facing the main road), near 2 supermarkets (Intermarché and Echomarché), pharmacies, banks, post office, bus stops (buses to Albufeira and nearby towns), restaurants, church and 2 beaches (Olhos D'Agua beach and Maria Luiza beach). All were within 5-8 minutes' walking distance. A taxi ride to Albufeira cost us €4.35.

To sum it all up, this hotel needs to undergo a major renovation both physically and philosophically. Friendly but inefficient staff do nothing to add to the already low appeal of staying at this hotel. There are better hotels in the vicinity and for the price you pay for this hotel, it is worth staying elsewhere.

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Fairtrav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

686 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    293
    292
    69
    20
    12
See reviews for
209
310
26
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (224)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
UK
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 October 2009

I went here with my husband and two teenage children. The room was out of the 'dark ages.' It really needed an upgrade. The balcony overlooked the main road so it was very noisy when the door was open. The balcony was so tiny only two of us could sit on it at any one time. The location of the hotel was good and the pool area was ok. The staff on reception I felt were miserable and not the friendliest. The only good side to the holiday and which actually made it for us was that we went with a gang of people (23 in total) who were all staying in and around the resort and we had a great time but the hotel was rather lacking.

  • Stayed August 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank brassyUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
leicester
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 October 2009

Nice clean, spacious room on first floor, shame about the noise! Right on busy main road with constant traffic night and day, impossible to sleep, hold a conversation or sit on the balcony. After asking for a room on the other side of the hotel told no other rooms available. Loved the resort and area, just ensure you get a room with an even number!

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank meggieLeicester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coatbridge, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 October 2009

Having been to Olhos D'Agua before, my wife and I knew the excellent location of the apartments and the proximity to all the local amenities. The late deal we got with Thomas Cook Style was heavily discounted (60%), and worked out at just about the right price for very disappointing accommodation. The apartments have clearly been built some years ago, and are in need of a substantial renovation. Decor is tired and our bathroom and shower both had lots of broken and cracked tiles on the walls. The shower heads were flimsy and the windows and ledges in both were dirty. Cleanliness overall was adequate, though sofa covers were questionable. Our prime complaint was being allocated room 013, ground floor front. Granted, the one bedroom apartment was large and there was no offending noise from the road, but both of our balconies were tiny and, worst of all, had no view other than the hedge surrounding the premises. We did request a change of room but were given a curt "full up" response by reception. The Thomas Cook rep., was similarly unhelpful. The pool area is smallish, but adequate and contains the best aspect of the establishment, namely the snack bar where excellent value and quality food is served. The pool area does, however, seem to be able to be used by people other than Oceana residents. Having explored the village more this visit, I now know of many more appealing apartments which I will be pursuing for future visits.
Regarding restaurants and bars, in several visits we have yet to be disappointed though in our opinion, Fratelli's, Tavertino's and Ambrosia Nectar are overrated and overpriced.
Conclusion: if you do visit the Oceana, do NOT accept a room on the ground floor facing the main road!

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank MatureTravellers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amsterdam
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 October 2009

My girlfrined and I have just returned form 10 days at Oceanus, and we booked it after reading positive reviews on Tripadvisor. As such, I thought only right to share my feedback... bascially, we thought the place was excellent! The rooms were very large, and were kept really clean. We had requested a room overlooking the pool (no sea views) after suggestions on here, and are glad we did so, as I can imagine that the rooms on the other side are affected by the busy road that runs by. However, poolside, there were no probs at all!

The staff at the hotel were really really friendly, and other visitors were quiet and mainly families or older holidaymakers - great for us as a couple wanting a quiet break. Not sure if this changes in main season, but great while we were there at end of September.

The village itself is also very nice - great beach 5mins walk from hotel, quite quiet, but close to Albufeira (10 mins / 6 euros) if wanting some full-on nightlife. However, there were more than enough restaurants and bars in village itself that meant that my girlfriend and (30 and 21 years old) only felt desire to go into Albufeira twice. Particlularly recommend the Oasis bar (great staff) and also the Italian restaurant "I Fratelli" - some of the best Italian food I've had. There's also another very nice local food restuarant whose name I forget near the beach almost opposite the Pickwick (don't worry, this is the ONLY english pub by the sea, and not noisy).

Anyway, a great holiday, and very highly recommended - particularly the Oceanus Apartment itself for the room, cleanliness, nice pool, and very friendly/helpful staff.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mattexeter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tynemouth
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 September 2009

my partner and I arrived at ten in the morning and expected a long wait to get in the room however this was not the case, following advice given on other reviews I asked for an apartment overlooking the pool. The receptionist replied politely that she would see what she could do, we were given apartment 108 which had two balcanies both overlooking the pool and next doors pool. The apartment although tired and dated was kept nice and clean and was the biggest apartment I have stayed, more than enough room for two and could easily accomodate four. The staff were very helpful and friendly although we booked an early morning call on the day of our departure which we did not get and nearly resulted in us missing our pickup, when I asked the receptionist what happened to our call he just shrugged and said maybe the computer was'nt working but this was just one tiny blip in the ten days we stopped there. The place itself is ideal just to sit back and chill, no rowdy teenagers, no noisy drunks, no screaming kids wanting stuff. There was plenty of holiday makers young and old but the place never seemed crowded, plenty of good bars ( cabana cocktail bar ) was our favourite and a plethera of good resteraunts. Nearly everyone we spoke to were return visitors which I think speaks volumes for the hotel and the resort, we shall definitely be returning one of our best holidays

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank duncan c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hampshire
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 July 2009

We've just arrived home from a weeks stay in the Oceanus Aparthotel. We don't usually write reviews but felt in this instance a review is justified as the Oceanus met all our requirements and lived up to our expectations (pictures are spot on). We would like to commend the hotel on its albeit basic facillities but satisfactory. Would totally recommend getting a room with the pool view. Although the town was quiet the beach was always full so would recommend an early start. The waiters of every bar and restaurant we consumed at were friendly and welcoming. The only downside is that there is a steep hill you have to walk down to get to the beach and restaurants which was not very pleasant to walk back up at the end of the day or after a big meal.
We will most definatley be visiting this town again and most probably stay at Oceanus Aparthotel.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank holiday_girls_3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Albufeira hotels
2.2 mi away
Hotel Topazio
Hotel Topazio
#47 of 154 in Albufeira
771 reviews
2.5 mi away
Luna Clube Oceano
Luna Clube Oceano
#12 of 154 in Albufeira
457 reviews
0.3 mi away
Velamar Budget Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.5 mi away
Baia Grande
Baia Grande
#2 of 3 in Sesmarias
983 reviews
1.6 mi away
Natura Algarve Club
Natura Algarve Club
#33 of 154 in Albufeira
744 reviews
1.1 mi away
Vale de Carros
Vale de Carros
#54 of 154 in Albufeira
591 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aparthotel Oceanus? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aparthotel Oceanus

Property: Aparthotel Oceanus
Address: Olhos d'Agua, Albufeira 8200-650, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Albufeira
Amenities:
Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#14 Romantic Hotel in Albufeira
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Aparthotel Oceanus 3*
Number of rooms: 61
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Oceanus Aparthotel ***The newly expanded Oceanus Aparthotel is located in the centre of the charming summer resort of Olhos d'Agua on the Algarve. Recently enlarged through the acquisition of the Aparthotel Olhos d'Agua, this 3 Star vacation retreat makes an affordable base for couples and families with a wide range of shops and restaurants nearby and 102 attractive studios and one bedroom apartments resting in 2 buildings surrounded by lovely gardens with a sparkling swimming pool. Guests of the Oceanus Aparthotel can discover the marvellous beaches of Olhos d'Aqua (500 m) and Maria Luísa (800 m), explore delightful little villages with narrow cobbled streets, and tackle the challenging golf course in nearby Acoteias. For a bargain holiday in the Algarve, Oceanus Aparthotel makes the grade! Faro International Airport is 30 km from the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, TravelUp, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Aparthotel Oceanus reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aparthotel Oceanus Albufeira, Algarve, Portugal
Aparthotel Oceanus Hotel Albufeira
Oceanus Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing