We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value Accommodation.”
Review of Hotel Topazio

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Topazio
Ranked #49 of 152 Hotels in Albufeira
Reviewed 30 May 2013

Stayed in the Villa Accommodation for one week from 23rd May until 30th May 2013. Villa cleaned every day with change of towels etc., bed linen changed 3 times over the one weeks stay. Accommodation clean and comfortable with a real double bed, air conditioning throughout. Hotel amenities excellent with staff very accommodating and helpful, hotel bar very reasonable for drinks, unable to comment on food as did not eat there. Ideal central location, accommodation straight over from nightclub (Kiss) this did not disturb us once even though club open until 6am. Streets very clean with no evidence of any mess from revellers or signs of trouble.

Room Tip: Villas are better designed as the bedrooms are on the front with backs facing towards nightclub.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ross_A458
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (801)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

458 - 464 of 801 reviews

Reviewed 25 May 2013

Were to start well we read the reviews and didn't know what to expect but Im so glad we chose this place welcoming,clean,great location and great value didn't eat at the hotel apart from snacks and they were fine for what you paid,we found a little family run place called Donaldo,s about 2 minutes walk from the hotel and was very happy with the food the service and the welcome we received every time we went I suggest if your eating out you should give it a try we had a great holiday and we will be going back ,the strip just round the corner is lively but if you like a nice steady pace you can get a taxi on the corner of the hotspot cafe which is also great value for breakfast and light snacks thanks to all the staff at the topazio and donaldo,s for making our holiday what it was .Michael and Polly 18,5,2013 to 25,5,2013 o and tell George not to forget the commentary port wine at Donaldo,s lol

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ralphy196
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 May 2013

Perfect price / performance ratio. Beautiful, modern studio in a separate building behind the hotel with nice kitchen. Very friendly reception. Ideal location for beach / nightlife.

Sometimes awake due to the partypeople from the Kiss Club located across the street. Limited number of sun loungers and because everybody puts his towel on it for breakfast, you have to get there early.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dwight1987
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 May 2013

I booked a 1 bed apartment at the 3.5 star rated Topazio ahead of many 4* cheaper alternatives due to Topazios high trip advisor ranking (18/167) at time of booking. 6 night stay, 3 adults, may 2012

Pros:
Good location (5 mins from strip, 25 mins from old town, 10 mins from large beach), good sized apartment, modern interior, allowed a late checkout of 1pm for free due to off peak season, staff generally helpful when I asked questions about where to go, what to see etc, free wifi - although not the quickest, is nice to have

Cons:
- incredibly thin walls - i could here people moving about upstairs every night/early morning so didn't get a single nights good sleep - the sound of tables scraping along floors isn't nice
- we booked an apartment for 3 people. Only 2 beds were made up so i had to sleep on the sofa (we arrived late so no staff were around), no bed was made up the next day either despite me asking. When a bed was made up, it was rock hard so I stuck with the sofa
- the hotel lacks atmosphere - little things such as no music around pool, no entertainment mean that it feels pretty dead
- rooms were not properly cleaned daily - the cleaning involved making the bed and changing towels. Bathroom and floors were left uncleaned, no new soap or shower gels put out for 6 days. However the rooms were clean upon arrival.
- little things lacking for self catering such as a toaster, washing up liquid. Its just annoying having to buy scourers and liquid. I've stayed in SC apartments 3 times and such things are usually provided (note a toaster can be requested from reception)

I probably wouldn't book again

Room Tip: ...ask for pool view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank csachdev7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 May 2013

not sure what i was expecting after reading the reviews on here....
Was not really disappointed but then not exactly overwhelmed either,
The staff, as many have already said were lovely and friendly and whenever we asked for something or advice say about a restaurant for a special occassion, they were all too happy to help. Maybe Im a bit out of date with the price of hotels as for the past 10 years or so I have done self catering but I would say this hotel is quite well priced. The breakfast came as a suprise with it not being buffet style but order at the bar, but in saying that the food was very nice and freshly squeezed orange juice was bliss! We had requested a particularly nice room as it was our anniversary while away, and top floor looking over to the sea, (408) I would say we got it.
The only negative I think was as mentioned by others, the walls are very thin... we could hear the people next door talking and so felt the need to have the telly on very low as not to disturb anyone. Cleaning of the bathroom could maybe have been a tad better but I am picky that way!Bed was amazing - really firm but very comfortable... and the air-con was spot on - nice and chiily for sleeping (more like the scottish weather Im used to!) Location was okay, Im not into the neon and noise of the strip, but far enough away for it not to be an issue.... a good brisk walk to the old town, to walk off breakfast! but be warned the hill is harder on the way back!! If stayig here I would highly recommend the cafe/bar/restaurant just across the road... great food at the same prices as everywhere else and on Thursday evening they have live traditional music which was really quite nice.
All in all, out of season when the nightclub across the road is closed - not a bad place to stay, but not sure I will make an effort to go back.

Room Tip: side or back incase the nightclub is open....
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank katieduk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 May 2013 via mobile

Just back from a week holiday here. The hotel itself was nice, daily maid service and good pool. The bar and room service can be put on your bill which came in very handy. The area where the hotel is situated isn't great, and has a Hen & Stag vibe to it. For couples id recommend looking at a hotel that is closer to Old Town, which is a 10 minute walk away, the Topazio hotel is situated just off what could be best described as a cheap version of the Vegas Strip. The hotel itself was great though and if your heading out with a few friends for the sun you'll love it

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jamie F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 May 2013

just returned from another great holiday to portugal,the forth time in the last two years
this time we stopped at the topazio hotel and must admit we were not dissapointed with the hotel
great location,great staff and a fantastic room
unbe known to us on our departure i inquired about reserving the same room for next year (room numb 412) and on arrivel we had been upgraded to a top floor suite ,no wonder the room was a propper bargin for what we paid.the balcony was massive with views over a small bay,even a fridge stocked with beer,water,juice ,crisp's and choccy bars,30 inch flat tv but we could only receive three english news channels but who go's on there hols to watch tv anyway.
cleaners in everyday,king size bed with aircon in every room,all in all a very classy apartment on the top floor.
the old town was a 20 mins walk along the beach and the strip just 5 mis away up a small incline
if you go left from the hotel there is a quite beach just 10 mins away this was a great find nice and private plenty of locals use it on a weekend away from the more commercial beaches
a small super market just accros from the hotel ,i would recomend using the one just 5 mins away towards the strip for better prices.nice cafe/bar accros the road 5 euros for full english with a drink included or try the hot spot bar just up the road a great little place just to call in and have a beer for 2 euros a pint.
we will be back to the topazio again next year and many thanks to travel republic for a great weeks holiday at a great bargin price.

Room Tip: try room numb 412 which is a top floor suite
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pete h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Albufeira hotels
0.3 mi away
Luna Clube Oceano
Luna Clube Oceano
#31 of 152 in Albufeira
486 reviews
0.6 mi away
Natura Algarve Club
Natura Algarve Club
#30 of 152 in Albufeira
812 reviews
1.9 mi away
Velamar Boutique Hotel
Velamar Boutique Hotel
#7 of 152 in Albufeira
1,420 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Golden Beach by 3HB
Golden Beach by 3HB
#1 of 152 in Albufeira
257 reviews
2.2 mi away
Aparthotel Oceanus
Aparthotel Oceanus
#24 of 152 in Albufeira
720 reviews
4.9 mi away
Bayside Salgados
Bayside Salgados
#46 of 152 in Albufeira
470 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Topazio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Topazio

Address: Rua Vasco da Gama | Areias de São João, Albufeira 8200-294, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Albufeira
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#17 Romantic Hotel in Albufeira
#18 Family Hotel in Albufeira
#30 On the Beach Hotel in Albufeira
Price Range: £31 - £171 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Topazio 3*
Number of rooms: 46
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Topazio is situated in Areias de S. Joao, 200 metres from Aveiros Beach. Its modern rooms and apartments have private balconies and there is an outdoor swimming pool. The rooms and apartments of the Topazio Hotel each include a satellite TV, minibar and air conditioning. The apartments also have a kitchenette with a microwave. Guests can enjoy breakfast with a swimming pool or garden view. The snack-bar serves a variety of snacks as well as refreshing drinks and cocktails. Sun loungers and parasols provide a relaxing setting to spend the afternoon by the pool. Children can play around in the pool's paddling section, have fun in the kid's park and play mini golf. Hotel Topazio is situated 300 metres from bars, restaurants, shops and supermarkets. Albufeira is 2.5. km away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, Expedia, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel Topazio reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Topazio Hotel Albufeira
Hotel Topazio Albufeira, Algarve, Portugal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing