We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“ok but noisy”
Review of Hotel Topazio

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Topazio
Ranked #47 of 154 Hotels in Albufeira
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“ok but noisy”
Reviewed 27 April 2014

Stayed here Easter week . Room fine apart from large palm tree outside balcony avoid room 32 not much sun .Walls in room very thin you can here everything ! .The hotel is opposite kiss nightclub so be prepared to be kept awake until 6am at weekends.Reception staff never spoke until the day we left only to ask if we had drank the bottle of water in the room and charged us 1.60 euros for it.Bar staff not much better, they didnt know how to make Sangria !!!!.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jaynewithay_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

770 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    257
    328
    125
    33
    27
See reviews for
101
396
57
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (189)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 April 2014

hi just back from the tapazio hotel nice little hotel lovely rooms clean ,tidy just off the strip,and within walking distance to the old town would stay again any time brill !!!!! loved sitting by the pool in the morning with a nice coffee

Room Tip: choose a room at the back of the hotel as there is a night club oppisite (kiss) nice and quite
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pauldolan75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wigtown, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 April 2014 via mobile

Great hotel, nice modern decor, pretty pool area and lovely staff!

We stayed in a one bed apartment, which had everything you could need. Decent enough shower and towels etc changed daily. Lovely sunny balcony with a few chairs, but no table.

Only thing that might be an issue was the noise, the walls are very thin- we could hear a couple upstairs having a domestic every morning. Luckily this didnt bother us too much- however might effect your sleep in the height of summer when its busier! On the whole- im hoping to find another bargain to visit this hotel again in june as it is a great find!

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank hclark_21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 March 2014 via mobile

Just booked up to take my girl friend to this hotel after going last year with a friend. Had a lovely holiday, room clean and tidy. Far enough away from the main strip and close enough to the old town. Requested a room facing away from night club.

Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
3 Thank Geordie19811981
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Doncaster, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 March 2014 via mobile

Stayed here from 16th-23rd March and can't understand some of the reviews had no problems at all its off season but a lot of places were open the beds are firm but not uncomfortable soft pillows are kept in wardrobe tv as 2 English speaking channels. BBC and sky news but eh we we're on holiday not here to watch tv agree with nightclub across road probably could be noisy when opened but it was closed and being refurbished for start of new season maids in every day to make beds and change towels these rooms are self catering apartments after all bar staff are available at all times at the ring of a bell and very friendly would have no problem returning but only downfall is nightclub across road so would go again in low season it's 3 star if you want 5 star go 5 star and pay 5 star prices

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank tinyandsu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 March 2014

I stayed at the Topazio in early February and had a great time. The location is excellent. 10 min walk to the beach. 30 minute walk to the Old town or you can take the GIRO bus at the end of the road €1.40 each way.The strip is quite close but not intrusive.There are plenty of local restaurants serving traditional food at very reasonable prices.Try the House wines, they compliment the food and are very cheap.

I was given a lovely apartment at the rear, very clean,spacious plenty of hot water and good A/C.I did mention to Anna on reception on arrival about about the Kiss club opposite which she took on board, but since it was shut until the summer I could not tell you if is loud or not. There is plenty of live music in the old town Harrys Bar etc.

Wi Fi is limited in the rooms but you get a much stronger signal in the main hotel if required.

overall the Hotel is very good value and found the staff very obliging. I suspect the people who have written whinging reports are the type who are never satisfied,

Room Tip: The Apartments are far far bigger than the Hotel rooms, pay a little extra and get a lot more. Ther...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gareth D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 March 2014

We stayed in apartment 29, 18-25th March. We arrived at 11.30pm and just needed to sleep. First impressions were good - the fella on reception was friendly and pointed us in the direction of our apartment, which looked great at first glance. Then the problems started. The beds are hard, the 1 pillow you get is huge and very firm.. too uncomfortable to sleep on properly. We booked a double room and got 2 single beds. We woke up every morning with a sore neck and shoulders due to the awful pillows. In the morning we inspected the apartment properly and found that a lot of areas were not clean at all and..

- There was water and greasy marks all over the walls and dust in the kitchen.
- The shower wasn't attached and the water kept running hot and cold
- We had a MAJOR problem with ants in the bedroom
- There was a light switch in the doorway, but they'd taken the light out!
- None of the cutlery matched, we had different sized/shaped everything
- The freezer door was broken and wouldn't close
- The plate in the microwave didn't spin
- It stank under the sink, and there was a smell of smoke for the first few days
- There was no sink drainer - where do they want us to put wet plates?!
- And as expected.. nothing to wash up with, and no tea towel

We told the lady on reception about the shower problem when we left in the morning and somebody came to fix it before tea, however it wouldn't point anywhere but the floor, so we had to get out onto a wet floor.

Day 2 - We wanted toast for breakfast so we went to ask at reception for a toaster before heading outside again. When we returned for tea we still hadn't got one, so we asked a second time before heading out at night. The fella on reception checked to see if they had any spare, and said he'd take one across now. When we returned, there was still no toaster!

Day 3 - 3rd time lucky, we asked for a toaster.. and finally got one by tea time! We also had to ask for a remote for the TV.. which had a very bad signal, we could only get Sky News

During our stay we noticed the hotel used to be a 4 star.. we wondered why it was nicely decorated. The pool was reasonably clean, but wasn't cleaned once while we were there. The towels in the bathroom were changed everyday, but they'd seen better days. The cleaners didn't mop the floor at all.

Day 6 - After putting up with hundreds of ants we'd had enough. We told the receptionist about the problem at 11am and nobody came to sort it until 4pm, when a cleaner put powder down. My boyfriend struggled to get them to understand what "ants" were.. seems like their English isn't great.

There was only about 5 other rooms occupied at this time so it's not as if they were too busy. As there was so many rooms free, we wondered why they'd put us all together. We had neighbours above us and at the side, and the walls were paper thin so we could hear everything!! If they didn't go to sleep until 12, then neither did we! The apartment is on the ground floor, so we had no sun to the balcony whatsoever, which we were a bit disappointed about. We didn't order any drinks or food here, but there was no staff in the bar area to order anything anyway.

The old town is a good 25 mins walk and the nearest beach about 10 mins. There is a little supermarket just up the road. It's a good job we went at this time of year as the nightclub "Kiss" is right outside the door (and was closed until April). I'm not surprised so many people are kept awake.

I will also mention that the cleaner walked in on us naked at 9.40am check-out day! There was no need for them to come in until we'd left!!

Don't bother staying here. There are plenty of other hotels and apartments around, many 3 and 4 star and look much nicer, and probably cleaner! We wouldn't stay again.

Room Tip: I wouldn't bother, but if you have to.. choose an apartment facing the pool, not on the ground f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Steviejay27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Albufeira hotels
0.3 mi away
Luna Clube Oceano
Luna Clube Oceano
#16 of 154 in Albufeira
456 reviews
0.4 mi away
Muthu Clube Praia da Oura
Muthu Clube Praia da Oura
#78 of 154 in Albufeira
3,284 reviews
3.3 mi away
Baia Grande
Baia Grande
#2 of 3 in Sesmarias
982 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Aqua Pedra dos Bicos Design Beach Hotel
0.6 mi away
Natura Algarve Club
Natura Algarve Club
#33 of 154 in Albufeira
743 reviews
2.2 mi away
Aparthotel Oceanus
Aparthotel Oceanus
#21 of 154 in Albufeira
682 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Topazio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Topazio

Property: Hotel Topazio
Address: Rua Vasco da Gama | Areias de São João, Albufeira 8200-294, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Albufeira
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#17 Romantic Hotel in Albufeira
#21 Family Hotel in Albufeira
#29 On the Beach Hotel in Albufeira
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Topazio 3*
Number of rooms: 46
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Topazio is situated in Areias de S. Joao, 200 metres from Aveiros Beach. Its modern rooms and apartments have private balconies and there is an outdoor swimming pool. The rooms and apartments of the Topazio Hotel each include a satellite TV, minibar and air conditioning. The apartments also have a kitchenette with a microwave. Guests can enjoy breakfast with a swimming pool or garden view. The snack-bar serves a variety of snacks as well as refreshing drinks and cocktails. Sun loungers and parasols provide a relaxing setting to spend the afternoon by the pool. Children can play around in the pool's paddling section, have fun in the kid's park and play mini golf. Hotel Topazio is situated 300 metres from bars, restaurants, shops and supermarkets. Albufeira is 2.5. km away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Odigeo, Expedia, Booking.com, TravelUp, Hotels.com, LoveHolidays, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Topazio reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Topazio Hotel Albufeira
Hotel Topazio Albufeira, Algarve, Portugal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing