We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Will definately go back :-)”
Review of Flor da Laranja

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Flor da Laranja
Ranked #72 of 154 Hotels in Albufeira
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 22 August 2013

Stayed for a week here and from minute 1 you were made to feel part of the family by the owner Gentile and her hubby even running you short distances to save you taxis. All they ask is respect for others and their property. The whole place exudes peace and quiet with beautiful grounds and 2 well kept pools with free BBQ facilities, sunbeds, parasols and washing facilities. If you are looking for an Ibiza experience then this place isnt for you although the nearest clubs are 10 mins away in a taxi for a reasonable 7 euros. If however you are looking for an idylic, peaceful spot to recharge the batteries then you wont find a better place or nicer owners 5/5 from us.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank DelightedfromAyrshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (84)
There are newer reviews for Flor da Laranja
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

32 - 38 of 84 reviews

Reviewed 11 August 2013

Have just returned from a two week stay at Flor da Laranja. What a lovely family run place. I'd say that if you need everything laid out for you, with people on tap to cater to you? Then no. It's not for you. But as a Self catering apartment, in a convenient location if you're willing to drive, then it's just ideal. We found our apartment to be spacious, and clean. And the communal areas ( including barbecues, two pools, pool table and games area) were well kept. Even in the height of summer there was something to choose from. We found Falesia to be the least busy beach nearby as it's less compact, and Olhos da Agua was a lovely area for something to eat, and little shops. Both within 10 minutes drive. Overall a lovely relaxing holiday, at the height of the summer season. Just what was needed. Next time we're in Portugal, we would definitely go back.

Room Tip: We stayed in Block A, on the upper floor. And while it's closer to the entrance gate, we never f...
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Terri C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2013

We had no expectations from this place, we booked a last minute cheap week away & knew that we hadn't booked 5* luxury. We weren't disappointed! The apartments are very basic, the furniture is a little old fashioned but it had everything we needed. The kitchen is small but had everything you could want & more. When we arrived there was a welcome basket with staples such as tea, coffee, milk etc which was a lovely touch. We had an apartment that over looked the car park and in fact we were right next to the automatic gate which other reviewers found intrusive, we didn't have a problem with it at all, the gate is quite quiet and we barely noticed it. Obviously we would rather have had a pool view but that's the luck of the draw! The whole complex is very clean, particularly the pool area. We travelled with our 2yr old son and he absolutely loved the children's pool. The majority of the time when we went to the pool we were the only people there so there was never a problem getting sun beds etc & no getting up a 5am to put your towel out!! ;)
Overall I would highly recommend this place as long as you have realistic expectations it is perfect!!! I visited Flor da Laranja 15years ago and won't be waiting so long to go back next time!

Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
4  Thank sarahford31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 October 2012

My wife and I stayed here at the end of september. We found we were booked into a room overlooking the carpark and automatic gate. The whole week felt like we were staying in an underground carpark as we were treated to cars constantly going to and fro (remember most guests have cars with this location). I did ask if there were any other rooms available but was told the place was full. Couldn't really argue with that but it was rather ironic that this would probably have been my last choice had I been given all the rooms to choose from! Place itself was OK and the pool area was'nt bad. All in all not what we expected, less quaint more euro campsite.

Room Tip: Choose a room facing pool or high up.
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank stutopian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 October 2012

We have recently returned from Flor da Laranja after a fortnight there at the end of September. It is one of the best self-catering apartments we have ever stayed in. The kitchen was very well equipped i.e. a cooker with an over, large fridge, microwave, toaster etc. Our apartment was overlooking the pool and was very spacious, had a large patio and was cleaned regularly. All of the staff can't do enough for you and are very friendly. The pool area and the grounds generally are immaculate and there was always plenty of room around the pool (no need for people to reserve sunbeds!).

We did look for somewhere in a peaceful location and this is what we got. The nearest restaurant is a 5-10 min walk away with the nearest supermarket about 20 mins brisk walk away (essentials are sold in the hotel reception though at a good price). Unless you have a car I would only recommend the apartments to those who are quite fit or are prepared to walk to get to the nearest amenities. The road is a quiet country road but has no pavement, so at times you can feel a bit like you are taking your life in your hands with the way some drive on it.

We visited a number of restaurants with a few I'd recommend. The Flor da Mar in the square on the way to Falesia beach is very good value and make excellent home made desserts, in particular the Alfarobbo cake (made from the Carob bean which they use as a chocolate substitute), also their take away peri peri chicken is only 6 euros and order the cataplana earlier in the day or the day before for a traditional portugese meal (30 euros for two but serves about 4.

Walk to Olhos D'Agua (45 mins approx or 5-10 min drive). Head towards the beach and Tamarillo restauarant/bar is near the front. Caprinhas are only 3 euro - a bargain! Excellent lunch, order the cooked shrimps get an average of 12 for 4.50 and a glass of wine for 2 euros. Staff are great, very helpful and knowledgable of the local area. Pizza are good in Fratellis.

Villamoura worth a visit to the marina but more pricey than local e.g. average espresso is 50 cents but in Villamoura it is more like 2 euros. Taxi back to Flor da Laranja is approx 12 euros. The owner does regular offer to take you to local places for only 5 euros though so would only need to get a taxi on the way back.

All in all a great, well presented apartment with friendly, caring staff in a good location. I would recommend car hire though, especially if you are not a walker!

Room Tip: Rooms overlooking the pool are quieter and appear to have the best views
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Thea C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 September 2012

I Stayed at the Flor Da Laranja with my girlfriend for a week from the 17/9/12.

The Weather was perfect 28-30 degrees everyday and it hadn't rained since October 2011.

We stayed in the apartment adjacent to the owners House & were pleasantly suprised by the size of the apartment.

We Had a medium sized bedroom, Large kitchen, Large Living room & a Medium sized Bathroom with shower.

The kitchen has everything you could need (Blender,coffee making machine,Bottle openers,Microwave, Fridge, Cooker etc . .)

There are also 4 bbqs on-site which can be used free of charge with free charcoal.

They even had satelite tv with around 10 English channels ( Sports & Movies & News )

The hotel is quite a distance from anything ( Beach, Strip in albufera , Restaurants ) You 100% need to have a car to get around easily . . . The owner (Gentille) however was very helpful as we didn't have a car and drove us where we wanted to go everyday ( we Gave her a small tip each time for petrol )

The grounds the hotel are set on are very neat & tidy & spotlessly clean. More of a tropical feel to the place than mediteranian as there are bannana trees, pomengranite trees, olive trees, Lemon trees & Scorching weather .. .. ..

They have 2 small pools & 1 kids pool which are very clean but quite cold . . . Always plenty of beds To lay on & also Theres a pool table , playing cards & fusball tables.

The owners also have 2 dogs which live onsite Blancy & charlie both are very friendly & good fun.

There is a place called villamora which is a posh area on the marina which is nice if you want to go for a nice meal & champagne or cocktails ( Fairly quiet - 15 Mins drive from Hotel )

There is also another place called The Albufera strip which is alot more lively if you want to go out & Have a dance to some loud music @ a cheaper price. There are also a few restaurants along this strip & some places to shop.
These are really the only two places to go in the evening with a bit of atmosphere.

The local beach i think is called olus d'agua ( 10 Mins Drive ) You can walk from this beach and climb through the cliffs ( Quite safely ) all the way down to villamora beach.

The owners are two of the nicest people you will ever Meet & are probably the reason why people have been going back there for over 20 years!!!

I would definatley return to this hotel & I am already looking at next years Prices


: )

Room Tip: Ask for one of the rooms near the main pool as they are away from the main road which can get quite...
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Yorkzman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 September 2012

The "Flor da Laranja" is a beautiful place. You can discover many things in the garden (exotic trees like banana, pepper, fig fruit, pomegranate and and and...) or just relax at one of the two clean pools.

The whole area was very clean and neat. In the appartments you have everything you need for cooking. Also several well equipped BBQ-areas are available.

We enjoyed our stay and want to send greetings from Germany to the fantastic owners Sr. Barreto and his lovely wife and of course to their nice dogs Charlie and Blanky :-)

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Pouyamo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Albufeira hotels
5.0 mi away
Rainha D Leonor Apartamentos
Rainha D Leonor Apartamentos
#96 of 154 in Albufeira
118 reviews
0.6 mi away
Vale de Carros
Vale de Carros
#48 of 154 in Albufeira
596 reviews
4.6 mi away
Cerro Malpique Aparthotel
Cerro Malpique Aparthotel
#52 of 154 in Albufeira
396 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
Natura Algarve Club
Natura Algarve Club
#33 of 154 in Albufeira
766 reviews
7.1 mi away
Torre Velha Hotel
Torre Velha Hotel
#88 of 154 in Albufeira
267 reviews
2.9 mi away
Choromar Apartments
Choromar Apartments
#63 of 154 in Albufeira
725 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Flor da Laranja? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Flor da Laranja

Address: Pata de Baixo, Vale de Carros, Albufeira 8200, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Albufeira
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #72 of 154 Hotels in Albufeira
Price Range: £30 - £154 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Flor da Laranja 3*
Number of rooms: 13
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Flor da Laranja reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Flor Da Laranja Hotel Albufeira
Flor Da Laranja Albufeira, Algarve, Portugal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing