We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Idyllic!”
Review of Flor da Laranja

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Flor da Laranja
Ranked #66 of 162 Hotels in Albufeira
Certificate of Excellence
Province of Valencia, Spain
Level Contributor
20 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Idyllic!”
Reviewed 23 October 2013

We chose to spend our few days' autumn break here solely because of price and didn't expect the earth, but it was so much better than we could imagine. The apartments are between Albufeira and Vilamoura so ideally you need a car (plenty of secure parking on-site), but they are on a 'bus route and you can walk to the beach in about half an hour. Our 'studio' was huge; big bedroom/sitting room with TV and air conditioning, Well equipped kitchen/breakfast room and full bathroom, plus an inner hall with chair/bed. Our covered ground floor terrace was very big too, with table, chairs and another sofa. First floor balconies appear a little smaller but still generous. The pool (with children's area) was excellent, with sun loungers, a BBQ area and free use of the laundry room, but the icing on the cake for us was the delightful garden setting - we can't wait to return in the spring when the adjacent orange grove is in bloom. The scent will be fantastic.

Room Tip: Apartments facing the pool have the best view, if available.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nanna2milo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

80 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    38
    33
    7
    0
    2
See reviews for
30
42
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Rotherham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 September 2013

What a fantastic place we had never been to Portugal before we was open minded on arriving at the apartments but what a lovely reception we was greeted by Gentile and her two dogs Charlie and Blanki ,which was lovely because we was over 1·45 mins late due to the bad service from the transfer company Greenbus
WOW the room was fantastic really to big for my wife and me clean .spacious . Everything what you would need for a self catering holiday
Thank you to the great people we meet it was quite obvious that they had been coming a long time and give me and Dawn some good tips
You do need a vehicle of some sorts or taxi if you don't drive the beach is about 10 mins drive but once you have got lost a few times lol the places are easy to find
Loved every minute wish I could stay there for months it was like going to family

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chris8706
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 August 2013

Stayed for a week here and from minute 1 you were made to feel part of the family by the owner Gentile and her hubby even running you short distances to save you taxis. All they ask is respect for others and their property. The whole place exudes peace and quiet with beautiful grounds and 2 well kept pools with free BBQ facilities, sunbeds, parasols and washing facilities. If you are looking for an Ibiza experience then this place isnt for you although the nearest clubs are 10 mins away in a taxi for a reasonable 7 euros. If however you are looking for an idylic, peaceful spot to recharge the batteries then you wont find a better place or nicer owners 5/5 from us.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DelightedfromAyrshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coventry, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 August 2013

Have just returned from a two week stay at Flor da Laranja. What a lovely family run place. I'd say that if you need everything laid out for you, with people on tap to cater to you? Then no. It's not for you. But as a Self catering apartment, in a convenient location if you're willing to drive, then it's just ideal. We found our apartment to be spacious, and clean. And the communal areas ( including barbecues, two pools, pool table and games area) were well kept. Even in the height of summer there was something to choose from. We found Falesia to be the least busy beach nearby as it's less compact, and Olhos da Agua was a lovely area for something to eat, and little shops. Both within 10 minutes drive. Overall a lovely relaxing holiday, at the height of the summer season. Just what was needed. Next time we're in Portugal, we would definitely go back.

Room Tip: We stayed in Block A, on the upper floor. And while it's closer to the entrance gate, we never f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Terri C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Worthing, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 July 2013 via mobile

We had no expectations from this place, we booked a last minute cheap week away & knew that we hadn't booked 5* luxury. We weren't disappointed! The apartments are very basic, the furniture is a little old fashioned but it had everything we needed. The kitchen is small but had everything you could want & more. When we arrived there was a welcome basket with staples such as tea, coffee, milk etc which was a lovely touch. We had an apartment that over looked the car park and in fact we were right next to the automatic gate which other reviewers found intrusive, we didn't have a problem with it at all, the gate is quite quiet and we barely noticed it. Obviously we would rather have had a pool view but that's the luck of the draw! The whole complex is very clean, particularly the pool area. We travelled with our 2yr old son and he absolutely loved the children's pool. The majority of the time when we went to the pool we were the only people there so there was never a problem getting sun beds etc & no getting up a 5am to put your towel out!! ;)
Overall I would highly recommend this place as long as you have realistic expectations it is perfect!!! I visited Flor da Laranja 15years ago and won't be waiting so long to go back next time!

Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
4 Thank sarahford31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
north east
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 October 2012

My wife and I stayed here at the end of september. We found we were booked into a room overlooking the carpark and automatic gate. The whole week felt like we were staying in an underground carpark as we were treated to cars constantly going to and fro (remember most guests have cars with this location). I did ask if there were any other rooms available but was told the place was full. Couldn't really argue with that but it was rather ironic that this would probably have been my last choice had I been given all the rooms to choose from! Place itself was OK and the pool area was'nt bad. All in all not what we expected, less quaint more euro campsite.

Room Tip: Choose a room facing pool or high up.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank stutopian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 October 2012

We have recently returned from Flor da Laranja after a fortnight there at the end of September. It is one of the best self-catering apartments we have ever stayed in. The kitchen was very well equipped i.e. a cooker with an over, large fridge, microwave, toaster etc. Our apartment was overlooking the pool and was very spacious, had a large patio and was cleaned regularly. All of the staff can't do enough for you and are very friendly. The pool area and the grounds generally are immaculate and there was always plenty of room around the pool (no need for people to reserve sunbeds!).

We did look for somewhere in a peaceful location and this is what we got. The nearest restaurant is a 5-10 min walk away with the nearest supermarket about 20 mins brisk walk away (essentials are sold in the hotel reception though at a good price). Unless you have a car I would only recommend the apartments to those who are quite fit or are prepared to walk to get to the nearest amenities. The road is a quiet country road but has no pavement, so at times you can feel a bit like you are taking your life in your hands with the way some drive on it.

We visited a number of restaurants with a few I'd recommend. The Flor da Mar in the square on the way to Falesia beach is very good value and make excellent home made desserts, in particular the Alfarobbo cake (made from the Carob bean which they use as a chocolate substitute), also their take away peri peri chicken is only 6 euros and order the cataplana earlier in the day or the day before for a traditional portugese meal (30 euros for two but serves about 4.

Walk to Olhos D'Agua (45 mins approx or 5-10 min drive). Head towards the beach and Tamarillo restauarant/bar is near the front. Caprinhas are only 3 euro - a bargain! Excellent lunch, order the cooked shrimps get an average of 12 for 4.50 and a glass of wine for 2 euros. Staff are great, very helpful and knowledgable of the local area. Pizza are good in Fratellis.

Villamoura worth a visit to the marina but more pricey than local e.g. average espresso is 50 cents but in Villamoura it is more like 2 euros. Taxi back to Flor da Laranja is approx 12 euros. The owner does regular offer to take you to local places for only 5 euros though so would only need to get a taxi on the way back.

All in all a great, well presented apartment with friendly, caring staff in a good location. I would recommend car hire though, especially if you are not a walker!

Room Tip: Rooms overlooking the pool are quieter and appear to have the best views
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Thea C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Albufeira hotels
0.6 mi away
Vale de Carros
Vale de Carros
#47 of 162 in Albufeira
4.0 of 5 bubbles 571 reviews
2.7 mi away
Balaia-Sol Holiday Club
Balaia-Sol Holiday Club
#62 of 162 in Albufeira
4.0 of 5 bubbles 416 reviews
7.7 mi away
Jardins Vale de Parra
Jardins Vale de Parra
#78 of 162 in Albufeira
4.0 of 5 bubbles 134 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.4 mi away
Parque Monte Verde Apartments
Parque Monte Verde Apartments
#65 of 162 in Albufeira
4.5 of 5 bubbles 76 reviews
3.6 mi away
Hotel Topazio
Hotel Topazio
#39 of 162 in Albufeira
4.0 of 5 bubbles 740 reviews
3.0 mi away
Natura Algarve Club
Natura Algarve Club
#28 of 162 in Albufeira
4.0 of 5 bubbles 726 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Flor da Laranja? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Flor da Laranja

Property: Flor da Laranja
Address: Pata de Baixo, Vale de Carros, Albufeira 8200, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Albufeira
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in Albufeira
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Flor da Laranja 3*
Number of rooms: 13
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your Flor da Laranja reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Flor Da Laranja Hotel Albufeira
Flor Da Laranja Albufeira, Algarve, Portugal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing