We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Can't fault”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Janelas do Mar Apartments
Reviewed 2 April 2014

Great hotel apartment complex. Maybe a little dated if your are extremely picky, but it has everything you need and more besides. Great staff, friendly service and nothing is too much trouble. I'd definitely come back

Room Tip: Floor 7 on any block gives a great sea view
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank mephoto1971
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (541)
There are newer reviews for Janelas do Mar Apartments
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

221 - 227 of 541 reviews

Reviewed 1 April 2014

Here to starts got transferred from a different hotel due to water problems, we was in the room for 5 minutes before having to complain! Heating tripped all the electricity! Room freezing cold!! Ants everywhere! Reception staff(Vanya) was such a rude unapproachable person! After 5 minutes of getting the key I was straight on the phone to Low Cost Holiday/EasyJet Holidays, the staff back in the UK were amazing! Called reservations and got us an apartment back in Patio within 2 minutes of ending the call including transfers! back to the apartment(705) the beds were hard, sofa beds were a mattress, the curtains were moving when the door wasn't open, plugs were coming off the walls!! When 'checking-out' we mentioned all the problems to reception of which the reply was 'We shall get someone to look onto this. Are you staying?' This is after EasyJet Holidays spoke to her!! To sum up, I wouldn't recommend this place to an enemy!!

Room Tip: DON'T GO!! Save your money!
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank EastendJamie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 March 2014

We'll it was one of those last minute deals and had to fly from Newcastle Airport and living in Glasgow it was only 3 hours and we used Easy jet .
We'll accommodation was clean comfortable and had all the kitchen appliances we needed.
Maid service was good for the time of year.
Not much was open apart from Milly Onairs Irish car and what can I say its a must we had great food and they looked after me and Anne impeccable
Even got food to take away to the Room.
Weather was a bit hit and miss for end of March.
But we will return.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Robert F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 March 2014

Just returned from this wonderful hotel for the price paid it was brilliant,The staff were very pleasant and helpful, the rooms were basic but clean The bus to the Old Town was in front of the Hotel and was cheap,will definetly go back

Room Tip: we were on the 8th floor and the views were great
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank crisstastic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 January 2014

This hotel was the cheapest on offer when I booked a last minute package holiday. You do indeed get what you pay for. Everything you needed was there so it is a good 'base', if you plan to travel out everyday.

Okay important things first: Bring your own hairdryer! And shampoo! And conditioner! And bodywash!

Secondly, there is no wi-fi in the rooms. This is fine mostly as we were on HOLIDAY so didn't want to be glued to our laptops (like I am now!) But nevertheless, to combat this we bought a payg data-only sim card from Vodafone in Continente (the LARGE supermarket/mall down the road). This also doubled up then as our GPS. If you don't want to do this (it's 17 euros or so and you can only use it whilst you're in Portugal) then you can relax in the hotel lounge and use the wifi there - though it's not exactly private.

If you decide to stay in all day like we did one day, there is a small TV broadcasting in English, Portugese and Dutch. There are plentiful blankets to keep warm as the only heating comes in the form of an oil radiator! Shouldn't be a problem if you're there in spring/summer, but was fairly cool in January.

The oil radiator can be plugged in in the bathroom (good ol' Europe :D) so you can get a toasty sauna going in there.

There is a safe in the room for rent but we didn't use it - were completely fine & safe with just the double locks on our door.

The bed sheets were changed twice during the week I think. That's fine by me - more than I do at home for myself. To make a double bed, take the two sofas apart and put them together.

Twenty euro deposit for remote control. Fully refunded upon departure.

Friendly staff who spoke English well. One lady there even phoned the car company for us and arranged a hire-car in Portugese.

Self-catering appartment only comes with a microwave. This does not magically turn into an oven, like another reviewer seemed to suggest! The mini-mercado is expensive (as per Portugal and England in general) but closed during the winter. The resto is also shut as one receptionist said, 'There's no-one here'.

So it's very peaceful, just full of couples and retirees - makes for a lot friendlier atmosphere.

There are plentiful kitchen utensils. Do bring your own tupperware if you like venturing out for all day excursions. But remember to bring (or buy whilst there) your own washing up liquid!

Mini fridge with even mini-er freezer compartment in it. To buy food: Continente is about 25 min walk away, with a Lidl and Aldi even further along.

It's an easy walk to the town and then the strip but I would imagine the hotel would be quiet even during the peak season.

There is only a certain amount of hot water per day, like a tank. So I had to alternate the days I had a bath with my other half! It's a shower over a bath, btw.

A fantastic view - overlooking a stadium, a school, hills, palm trees, a pool, a golf course, and of course the sea to the left! As for getting to the beach, it is a 30 min walk away, but there is a bus stop right outside the hotel! The hotel is also linked with a good, cheap car hire company (pay 3 days, drive 5).

The indoor pool + jacuzzi were completely our own in winter. They were nice and warm, open 9-6. There were also two outdoor pools and outdoor mini golf.

Finally, if booking through a travel agent, do not stand for a £9 booking fee with Monarch Airlines. They do NOT charge for using your debit card. Flat out refuse if the gob****es try and charge you this.

Enjoy!

Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
16  Thank gemnomnom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 January 2014

Stayed over christmas at this hotel. Our apartment was clean, spacious and had everything we needed. The indoor pool and jacuzzi were great. Irish bar across the road had good quality meals and drinks. Only downside was .. supermarket was down the hill, so walking back up with shopping could be difficult for some.. but.. bus stops outside the hotel to go into town!
Roman on reception, was very helpful..

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank linmal50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 January 2014

I stayed at the Janelas on the 04/01/14- 11/01/14. I got a cheap week through the net and my apartment was clean and had everything I required. The staff were very pleasant especially the young lady in the mini market. I would return as there is a very good Irish pub opposite.

Room Tip: At wintertime it is difficult to say which apartments get the best of the sun.
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Alan R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Albufeira hotels
0.6 mi away
Novochoro Apartamentos Turisticos
0.8 mi away
Solar de Sao Joao
Solar de Sao Joao
#100 of 154 in Albufeira
258 reviews
1.0 mi away
Balaia-Sol Holiday Club
Balaia-Sol Holiday Club
#69 of 154 in Albufeira
443 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hotel Mirachoro Albufeira
Hotel Mirachoro Albufeira
#99 of 154 in Albufeira
206 reviews
0.8 mi away
Ouratlantico Apartamento Turisticos
0.4 mi away
Cheerfulway Vila Alba
Cheerfulway Vila Alba
#147 of 154 in Albufeira
173 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Janelas do Mar Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Janelas do Mar Apartments

Address: Rua da Correeira 215 | Urbanização de Montechoro, Albufeira 8200-112, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Albufeira
Amenities:
Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #27 of 133 Speciality Lodging in Albufeira
Price Range: £23 - £103 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Janelas do Mar Apartments 3*
Number of rooms: 187
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), LoveHolidays, Expedia, Cancelon, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Janelas do Mar Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Janelas Do Mar Apartments Hotel Albufeira
Janelas Mar Albufeira
Janelas Do Mar Apartments Albufeira, Algarve, Portugal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing