We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Pleasantly surprised”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Janelas do Mar Apartments
Stoke-on-Trent, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Pleasantly surprised”
Reviewed 5 May 2014 via mobile

Booked this at a bargain price to use as a base for a 4 night break with my young son.Arrived a couple of hours before check in time but room was ready and check in quick! We were rather dubious about our room at first (just because the corridors seemed a bit dull and the decor a bit tired)but the longer we were there the more it grew on us. All the facilities you need are in the three block complex with a bus stop outside and a 20 minute walk to beaches. For the price this place charges you couldn't really expect any more than the 2 outside and 1 indoor pool, gym, tennis courts,2 shops, bar and coffee shop all on site and the clean well equipped rooms were adequate with everything you'd need.staff were friendly, especially the young girl in the bar and who served in the breakfast coffee shop.overall we really enjoyed our stay here and will stay again.

Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
3 Thank Carli M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

503 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    88
    175
    134
    57
    49
See reviews for
149
188
13
7
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (103)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Walsall
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 5 May 2014 via mobile

We have stayed at janelas do mar twice and would defiantly stay again , on both occasions we have been greeted by friendly , polite staff, our room was spotless and was cleaned several times during our stay . The last time we stayed which was September 2013 they had free wifi in the bar areas , which was a bonus as we had to pay for wifi the year before , the facilities are good and the hotel is not that far from old town or the strip once you find the short cuts , I love Albuferia and hopefully will be returning this year and will have no doubts about staying at this hotel again .

Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Michelle C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
limerick ireland
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 May 2014

The apartments are very old, kitchens and bathrooms need to be replaced. The reception staff are not friendly. On our first day someone came In to the apartment and searched through our wardrobe and opened our locked cases and moved our stuff about. I have photographic evidence of this before and after it happened. When I told reception they didn't want to know and told me the manager was not on duty for 3 days , I later found out later they were lying to me. I also met another guest who had a new linen trousers taken from her apartment. The apartments are out of town .so it's buses and taxis if you want to go anywhere. Would not go back would prefer to pay a bit more for a little bit of comfort

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank EVALIMERICK95
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Albufeira hotels

4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 May 2014

I arrived early on my first day at noon. Check in time is not until 15:00 however there is a secure luggage room and changing facilities available so waiting wasn't an issue. Was allowed to check in a little after 14:00 in the end.

Was pleasantly surprised with the studio apartment which was clean and spacious. Cooking facilities were fine with four hobs, microwave, toaster and kettle. Water pressure was great, even up on the 8th floor and no problems with running out of hot water (was only myself in the apartment though).

View from the 8th floor was fab and all aspects other than the North facing ones get a reasonable amount of sunshine at various times of the day (mine was facing west).

Wifi is free but only available in the bar/reception areas and although the speed was reasonable it slowed right down as more people connected. Fine for emails and web browsing but streaming video off youtube etc was a non starter and skype got a little choppy at times.

Two pleasant outdoor pool areas, the upper one was a bit windy so tended to use the lower one more. The lower one also gets more sun throughout the day. Indoor pool and jacuzzi area were quite popular and both were pretty much in use all the time.

Staff very pleasant and helpfull overall, had no problems other than the lock on the apartment door getting jammed, which was fixed quickly. Regular cleaning service provided.

About a 15 minute walk to the nearest supermarket Pingo Doce (10 minutes if you do a bit of cross country!). About 25 minutes to walk to the old town or nearest beach. Loads of parking available at the apartments if you have a car.

Didn't use the gym in the end but had a look through the window and it seemed ok. Reasonable selection of free weights, dumbbells/barbells/benches as well as some cardio machines.

Sofa bed was quite comfy and slept reasonably well (losing an entire nights sleep on the outward journey probably helped!). The location of the apartments is also in a quiet area well away from bars and clubs and so environmental noise was very low during the night (other guests notwithstanding!).

For the money it was great value and i'd have no hesitation in going back for another visit.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank corumuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Redcar, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 April 2014

brilliant stay sunshine all week great views from balcony clean tidy self catering short walk to local super market just like asda at home cheap local shop at hotel but only open times of the year but only short walk to shop bars cafes ect cant wait to go back next year

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank madcchappy19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sidcup, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 April 2014

After reading such dreadful reviews we were very pleasantly surprised with this 3 star hotel. Vania was very helpful on reception when we arrived, the appartments were clean, nice bathroom, towels changed 3 times in the week and sheets changed once, two superb outside swimming pools and a heated one with a jacuzzi. Lovely breakfast served in the coffee bar at the swimming pool by Jorge and Sariaia who were so helpful,the fittings in the appartments were tired but they did all work, fridge, hob, oven hot water heater which never ran out, table, 4 chairs and 2 settees which would have made 2 more beds. Bus stop to Old Town straight outside (€1.40) each way, if there were 4 of you it was cheaper to get a cab as we did. The hotel consisted of 3 blocks ( we were in block 1 room 508 with a terrific view) which were set in lovely grounds . For what we paid this was an absolute bargain but you do need a car if you intend to travel around.

Room Tip: Ask for an apartment as high as possible and get superb views
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank 62james
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oswaldtwistle,
Level Contributor
37 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 April 2014 via mobile

We stayed here 2 nights after the apartment we originally booked had move us due to our original apt, raining in, everything didn't work properly, the bathroom was filthy, the bath had a tiny patch showing the original colour of the suite, the cleanliness was really bad, The staff couldn't be faulted, they were friendly & efficient, the location was dreadful, think again if your booking the new town, it's grubby, dated & very tacky, there is very little around here, 1 bar Milly O'Nairs which is ok but grubby, the staff were friendly enough,

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dawn27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Albufeira hotels
0.7 mi away
Silchoro Apartments
Silchoro Apartments
#83 of 154 in Albufeira
3.5 of 5 bubbles 450 reviews
0.8 mi away
Ouratlantico Apartamento Turisticos
1.0 mi away
Balaia-Sol Holiday Club
Balaia-Sol Holiday Club
#62 of 154 in Albufeira
4.0 of 5 bubbles 417 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Novochoro Apartamentos Turisticos
0.4 mi away
Cheerfulway Vila Alba
Cheerfulway Vila Alba
#146 of 154 in Albufeira
3.0 of 5 bubbles 155 reviews
4.6 mi away
Bayside Salgados
Bayside Salgados
#51 of 154 in Albufeira
3.5 of 5 bubbles 438 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Janelas do Mar Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Janelas do Mar Apartments

Property: Janelas do Mar Apartments
Address: Rua da Correeira 215 | Urbanização de Montechoro, Albufeira 8200-112, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Albufeira
Amenities:
Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #38 of 124 Speciality Lodging in Albufeira
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Janelas do Mar Apartments 3*
Number of rooms: 187
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Onthebeach, Expedia, LoveHolidays, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, TravelUp, Travel Republic (UK), Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Janelas do Mar Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Janelas Do Mar Apartments Hotel Albufeira
Janelas Mar Albufeira
Janelas Do Mar Apartments Albufeira, Algarve, Portugal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing