We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great for a stag weekend”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Janelas do Mar Apartments
Reviewed 10 July 2014

The hotel has a pool, a pool bar, simple check in/out and a luggage room. It also has late checkouts for those with later flights and in need of silent recovery from a hectic weekend.

The rooms are a decent size although the beds are actually single bed/sofas that you just throw the cushions off later in the evening. There is a door that won’t open in most apartments so you would not be misplaced thinking that this was the bedroom; it is not. The shower stays hot and the pressure is good. Didn’t watch the TV but each room had one, along with a kitchenette (Fridge Cooker/Microwave and cutlery/crockery).

We were on a stag do meaning the basics of the hotel met our requirements. There were plenty of families here who seemed relatively happy, but with all the stag/hen parties, I wouldn’t recommend it. The hotel was minutes from old and new town at a rate of €4 on average for a taxi. The beer in the hotel was OK; the cider was lovely.

Milly 'O' Naires Irish Bar over the road does a superb breakfast each day and it also does a Sunday roast. This place has a small pool too if you get too hot whilst enjoying the food and drinks on offer.

In short, for a cheap holiday with mates it is good hotel in a great location.

Room Tip: As in most hotels, the closer you are to the top floor the better.
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank RockyWoking
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (540)
There are newer reviews for Janelas do Mar Apartments
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

197 - 203 of 540 reviews

Reviewed 8 July 2014

have stayed here before but didnt have the problems that we had this time.no complaints about the hotel itself but other holiday makers ( meaning stag parties ) especially at the weekends from early evening right through to 6 oclock in the morning constant banging and slamming of doors,shouting in the corridoors,couldnt get any sleep at all im all for people enjoying themselves but have some consideration for other holiday makers.did tell the reception and they did try to have a word with them but to no avail,the next weekend it was dogs around the swimming pool and
barking after midnight for at least two hours.i`m not usually a complainer and live and let live but it was just too much to take.
WILL NOT BE RETURNING TO THIS HOTEL AGAIN

Room Tip: its a little way out from the hub of albufeira but there is a local bus stop directly opposite the h...
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank travelier999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2014

Went with a group of lads as this was cheap for the week read the reviews thinking what we done but on arrival found the place clean tidy and quiet, yea the room could do with updating but u only sleep in it, great views from both balconies 20min walk to town where u will get a good meal and drink the bar across the road milly o naires a good laugh prices at the hotel exactly the same as in town, would go again!!

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Vanquish1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2014

The hotel has 3 different blocks situated 10-15 minute walk from the strip (has plenty to offer) and a 30-40 minute walk to the beach (via 'cardiac hill'). The beaches were amazing with plenty of water sports to do! Our room was only cleaned once during the weeks stay; with only 2 toilet papers given. We booked for a double room but the beds were both singles and had to push them together (unpractical) We had a lovely view of the resort and the beach from afar. Irish bar next door doesn't look like much but the staff are lovely and friendly and the food is all home made and delicious! Full English breakfast for 3.50 euros; couldn't cook one better if i tried! Potluck with the staff on reception at the hotel; some are willing to help whereas some see you as an inconvenience to their day! The hotel has 3 pools (1 indoor and jacuzzi) and there are plenty of sun loungers to chose from. Would go back to the resort again as we both absolutely loved it but would definitely go to a different hotel closer to the beach as during the heat it was a struggle.The hotel does not have any air conditioning which makes it uncomfortable during hot nights. Would not advise for the elderly either as both the walk to the beach and strip is via a hill; however there is a bus stop outside the hotel that takes to the strip/beach if you can figure the times out.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Katie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2014

Had a brilliant time at the janelas do mar. The apartment was clean and very spacious and the views were amazing from both verandas. Our room was cleaned every day with fresh towels and beds made. The continental breakfast in the morning was lovely and fresh and my partner payed an extra 1.50 euro for a cooked breakfast each morning. The pool area was great and there was plenty of loungers. The vodka slushes were luvly at the pool bar too :) It was 5 euro in a taxi to get to the strip or the old town. Would definetely go back.

Room Tip: We were on the 6th floor in the 3rd block which had amazing views.
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Stephanie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2014

I stayed here in may for a week just as a last minute getaway. I was pleasantly suprised with the hotel . It has everything you need. The staff are friendly and for the price I think its a bargain. The room are basic but clean. The hotel is situated on the top of a hill but the bus stop is directly outside and only costs €1.40. The room was cleaned every other day and the cleaners were very friendly. There is 3 pools (1 indoor), table tennis, a park, tennis court gym everything you need . The only tiny complaint I have is that there are no double beds only singles, but it was fine we just pushed the beds together.
Would definitely stay here again..

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank 123-bella85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2014

When we booked this at short notice we wanted a cheap self-catering holiday to coincide with my parents stay in the same resort.
I had a budget and this fitted the bill so I went for it and everything was fine, I would recommend this to anyone on a similar holiday as my only two gripes were the beer: €3.50 in the hotel for a pint which was the most disgusting thing I have ever tasted, I had one sip and left it, Super Bock was off and the hotels location (quite a distance from everything) though quiet enough.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank NickJacko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Albufeira hotels
0.6 mi away
Novochoro Apartamentos Turisticos
1.0 mi away
Balaia-Sol Holiday Club
Balaia-Sol Holiday Club
#68 of 154 in Albufeira
441 reviews
0.8 mi away
Solar de Sao Joao
Solar de Sao Joao
#100 of 154 in Albufeira
258 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Ouratlantico Apartamento Turisticos
0.5 mi away
Hotel Mirachoro Albufeira
Hotel Mirachoro Albufeira
#99 of 154 in Albufeira
206 reviews
0.4 mi away
Cheerfulway Vila Alba
Cheerfulway Vila Alba
#147 of 154 in Albufeira
171 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Janelas do Mar Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Janelas do Mar Apartments

Address: Rua da Correeira 215 | Urbanização de Montechoro, Albufeira 8200-112, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Albufeira
Amenities:
Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #27 of 133 Speciality Lodging in Albufeira
Price Range: £23 - £108 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Janelas do Mar Apartments 3*
Number of rooms: 187
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), LoveHolidays, Expedia, Cancelon, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Janelas do Mar Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Janelas Do Mar Apartments Hotel Albufeira
Janelas Mar Albufeira
Janelas Do Mar Apartments Albufeira, Algarve, Portugal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing