We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pay for everything”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Janelas do Mar Apartments
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Pay for everything”
Reviewed 28 July 2014 via mobile

Really annoying, you have to Pay for EVERYTHING!!! You need a taxi? 50cents... You want to play tennis? They only have 2 rackets 1 for a Child 1 for adults. The staff is not so happy. Sometimes Nice and sometimes very annoying. The rooms are oke. Wifi is not working good you have to logg in all the time. If i can book again i woudnt book here anymore!

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
4 Thank Michael G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

533 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    97
    183
    145
    59
    49
See reviews for
160
197
13
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (109)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 July 2014

Just back on the 23rd of july had to pay for anything you wanted air conditioning 20 euro this should be all ready in apartment, tennis rackets sauna remote control for tv had to pay for all off these things staff dont have a clue were the nearest church was or bus stop too zoomarine very rude and unhelpful only staff that were helpful were the cleaning staff one wee girl who worked in the coffee shop in door pool freezing stair lighting was bad had to find the swich lifts one working, very disappointed manners cost nothing .

Room Tip: Do go thats my tip
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Margaret M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Albufeira hotels

Leamington Spa, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 July 2014

Stayed here for a week with my boyfriend from 8th - 15th July. Booked with loveholidays.com and the paperwork said check in was at 2pm. We arrived at 10am and the receptionist was nice enough, gave us the key for the luggage room and told us to come back at 1.30pm as our room would be ready. I noticed on the sign behind her though that check in was at 3pm. Low and behold, we went back at 1.30pm and were given the key to our room, lugged our cases out of the luggage room (which is in the next block along) only to find that the cleaning stuff had been left in our room and it wasn't ready. So back downstairs we went, luggage back in the luggage room and back to the pub over the road!!! It wouldn't have been so bad but we'd been to the supermarket at the bottom of the hill and bought bags of ice and some fresh meat! Went back at 3pm, still not ready so had to wait a further 30 mins. The staff were apologetic but then wanted an extra 70 euros for air con for the week along with 35 euros for the safe, but you got 20 of that back on check out. As a good will gesture you think they might have given us the air con half price! We didn't need it anyway as there is a lovely breeze at night.

The room itself was huge, a large bedroom with 2 single beds which we just pushed together, a large hall and big enough sized bathroom and a lounge/kitchen/diner leading onto a balcony and we had a sea view. A little tired and worn but clean and comfortable. The towels got changed 3 times and the sheets once. Had a beer in the pool bar and it was 3.50 for a pint of Super Bock but the Irish bar over the road, Milly O'Naires also has a pool and you can get a pint of San Miguel for 2.50. They also do food and can advise on where's good to go and stuff, really friendly and helpful bunch.

The apartments are a 7-10 minute walk to the strip where there are pubs, bars, restaurants etc but opposite the hotel is a bus stop and for 1.40 you can take a bus 10 minutes down the road to the old town which is much nicer and has much more variety with a lovely beach and main square so this is what we did most days. Water sports are expensive though. We did parasailing for 75 euros and paid a further 15 for the photos but they take around 20 and put it on a memory stick for you. Jet skis though were 40 euros for 15 mins which I thought was extortionate!!!

Lots of German, Dutch and Portuguese locals so a nice variety of people and the staff in the bars and restaurants all speak fantastic English, although I still attempted a few phrases to be polite! The hotel is the same with regards to the mix of guests, some couples, some families, some groups of lads and stag dos but we slept ok apart from on the last night because of a barking dog!!! On check out the grumpy man on reception didn't say one word to us and just gave us the 20 euro deposit back from the safe and that was that!

Try Jonny Hoopers Jazz Bar just off the new strip. He plays saxophone whilst you eat, it was lovely! Also, Bravo in the new town did an amazing sea food linguine! The entertainment for a few all inclusive families looked pretty dire so I'd recommend against that option but the rooms come with a microwave, cooker and fridge and lots of crockery, pots and pans etc although we ate out most nights anyway. Overall a good stay but if you're expecting the Ritz then you'll be disappointed! A little updating would work wonders but it is clean and comfortable and you spend so little time in the room so it suited us. The TV didn't work but we didn't plan on watching it anyway!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank HanMo1982
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 July 2014

I've just read Jo's review and agree with everything said. We stayed for two weeks, myself, my husband and our sixteen year old daughter. On the face of it these apartments look really nice and while it wasn't a complete dead loss, it wasn't far off.
WHAT WAS GOOD - The Algarve itself and the weather - beautiful. The apartment we had was on the first floor of block 3 and was spotlessly clean and the cleaners came in at least four times each week. We had plenty of toilet rolls (the lack of had been mentioned on an ealier review) and the apartment was big and comfortable. The pool areas had plenty of sun beds and in our experience the pools were clean and we found the staff members we spoke to were polite and pleasant. As mentioned, the bus service was regular and available until 2300. The Irish bar at the back of the apartments (Milly O'Nares) was much cheaper for drinks and provided good basic meals at very reasonable prices.
WHAT WAS BAD - As mentioned there were to many hen and stag parties. They were noisy during the day dominating the pool areas and extremely noisy at night shouting and screaming ans slamming doors. Also, large groups of younger people, late teens early twenties who had Boom boxes playing loudly with no consideration for others. We booked through Thomson and I was very disappointed with them as they described this as a relaxing family orientated accommodation. They're a trusted name but I'd think twice in future.
Also bad - the cost of things within the hotel from drinks and food (including the on site supermarket) to the mini golf (which hardly anybody used), table tennis and the tennis courts. My husband and daughter love playing tennis and it cost 10 Euro's to use a court which was in a terrible state because it's also used for football and basket ball. Use of the computers also exceeded the cost of using an internet cafe in town. Poorly lit corridors and stairwells - timer switches were in use which left you in constant darkness. Having to find the light switches on the stairwells was dangerous, especially if there had been an emergency. The remote location was a deception in the brochure. Jo is right - it was at least a twenty five minute walk into town- a lot of it uphill and depending on which bus route you were on, it could take between ten and twenty minutes to get back to the apartments from town. The bus costs €1.40 which doesn't sound a lot, but for three there and back for fourteen days, thats almost €40 out of our spends. We walked most of the time.
I don't always appreciate negative reviews and like to make my own mind up about places, but this left a sour taste because like most people, we save for our two weeks away in the sun and if the holiday doesn't meet expectations, it's at least twelve months before we can go again. We were also very fortunate to be able to go at the end of June, start of July this year as our daughter has just completed her GCSE's so left school early. We thought we were getting a good deal, but the clientelle of these apartments left us disappointed. That's not their fault as they booked what they wanted, but the owners and the travel companies need to be honest with people. I may be fortunate enough to return to the Algarve one day in the future, but it certainly won't be to Janelas do Mar.

Room Tip: We had a corner room which was quite large. Not sure how it matched up to others though
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jayne B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicestershire, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 July 2014

If you enjoyed the inbetweeners movie you'll love this hotel! We honestly thought we'd be finding the dead dog somewhere on the terrace or around the pool!
The main cliental seemed to be stag doos and it also appeared to be a popular destination for 18 year old males from Holland!
Anyway, here's what we found which others may find helpful;
1. There are no umbrellas by either of the pools so shade is hard to come by (plenty of sun beds tho, which is a plus). We didn't stay by the pool as i would describe it as a 'concrete jungle' - the beach was just so much nicer!
2. We opted for bed and breakfast....DO NOT BOTHER!! It's not a buffet breakfast and the 'continental' breakfast you are entitled to is €5 - which consists of a slice of toast, a bread roll and a small croissant. So it works out cheaper to actually just buy it there. If you want any thing hot you have to pay for it anyway. The breakfast really was very poor.
3. The bus stop is right outside the hotel and there is a bus every 30 mins to the strip/old town and beach. We were told the beach was only a 15/20 min walk as it was 1.8 miles away....I'm sure it was but that was as the crow flies and it actually turned out to be about 25 minutes on the bus.
4. The room had the potential to be really nice- large open planned kitchen/dining/living, with two balconies and a decent size bedroom and bathroom but the cleanliness let it down. The entire hotel was quite ran down and would benefit from a complete refurbishment.
5. We unfortunately had no hot water all week on an evening for showers, not sure if that's due to the fact we were on the eighth floor or just the sheer amount of people who must have been showering at the same time.
The hotel is apparently 3* but I'd barely rate it as 2*.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jo E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Woking
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 July 2014

The hotel has a pool, a pool bar, simple check in/out and a luggage room. It also has late checkouts for those with later flights and in need of silent recovery from a hectic weekend.

The rooms are a decent size although the beds are actually single bed/sofas that you just throw the cushions off later in the evening. There is a door that won’t open in most apartments so you would not be misplaced thinking that this was the bedroom; it is not. The shower stays hot and the pressure is good. Didn’t watch the TV but each room had one, along with a kitchenette (Fridge Cooker/Microwave and cutlery/crockery).

We were on a stag do meaning the basics of the hotel met our requirements. There were plenty of families here who seemed relatively happy, but with all the stag/hen parties, I wouldn’t recommend it. The hotel was minutes from old and new town at a rate of €4 on average for a taxi. The beer in the hotel was OK; the cider was lovely.

Milly 'O' Naires Irish Bar over the road does a superb breakfast each day and it also does a Sunday roast. This place has a small pool too if you get too hot whilst enjoying the food and drinks on offer.

In short, for a cheap holiday with mates it is good hotel in a great location.

Room Tip: As in most hotels, the closer you are to the top floor the better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RockyWoking
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2014

have stayed here before but didnt have the problems that we had this time.no complaints about the hotel itself but other holiday makers ( meaning stag parties ) especially at the weekends from early evening right through to 6 oclock in the morning constant banging and slamming of doors,shouting in the corridoors,couldnt get any sleep at all im all for people enjoying themselves but have some consideration for other holiday makers.did tell the reception and they did try to have a word with them but to no avail,the next weekend it was dogs around the swimming pool and
barking after midnight for at least two hours.i`m not usually a complainer and live and let live but it was just too much to take.
WILL NOT BE RETURNING TO THIS HOTEL AGAIN

Room Tip: its a little way out from the hub of albufeira but there is a local bus stop directly opposite the h...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank travelier999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Albufeira hotels
1.0 mi away
Balaia-Sol Holiday Club
Balaia-Sol Holiday Club
#67 of 154 in Albufeira
430 reviews
0.6 mi away
Novochoro Apartamentos Turisticos
3.4 mi away
Vale de Carros
Vale de Carros
#54 of 154 in Albufeira
589 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Cheerfulway Vila Alba
Cheerfulway Vila Alba
#149 of 154 in Albufeira
167 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Mirachoro Albufeira
Hotel Mirachoro Albufeira
#95 of 154 in Albufeira
199 reviews
0.7 mi away
Silchoro Apartments
Silchoro Apartments
#93 of 154 in Albufeira
465 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Janelas do Mar Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Janelas do Mar Apartments

Property: Janelas do Mar Apartments
Address: Rua da Correeira 215 | Urbanização de Montechoro, Albufeira 8200-112, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Albufeira
Amenities:
Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #31 of 130 Speciality Lodging in Albufeira
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Janelas do Mar Apartments 3*
Number of rooms: 187
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Janelas do Mar Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Janelas Do Mar Apartments Hotel Albufeira
Janelas Mar Albufeira
Janelas Do Mar Apartments Albufeira, Algarve, Portugal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing