We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not bad”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Mirachoro Albufeira
Ranked #96 of 154 Hotels in Albufeira
Reviewed 7 June 2012

Just returned from mirachoro 1 apts, rooms very big, cleaned 4 days out of 7 we were there, towels changed every time, beds made all times don't think the bedding was changed, towels were, pool area average size, but when it was windy lots of bits off trees in pool making it look dirty, it was cleaned every morning, but sometimes was a waste of time, apartments top of strip, plenty of good eating places, english kitchen for breakfast, good traditional english food, o poeta lovely piri piri chicken, plenty of nice places to eat never had a bad meal while we were there, We had a couple of nights out along the old town, good night out, We were very satisfied with our holiday and would go back straight away.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank bryali2304
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (210)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

136 - 142 of 210 reviews

Reviewed 9 September 2011

Hotel rooms basic but clean and large. Courtesy bus very handy. Hotel close to top of strip. Father Ed's which was across the road was shut. Would recommend eating at Blue Sky which was just off the strip and English Kitchen for breakfast. Dont know if would stay at hotel again but for what we paid it was good value. Bedding wasnt changed in our 5 night stayb but towels changed regularly.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Paul R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2011

stayed for 5 days, with 7 friends aged 35 to 56, found hotel clean, spacious and very helpfull staff. pool area quite small but no problems getting a sunbed even mid-afternoon, rooms basic, but clean very large rooms, kettle, toaster, microwave brand new. heard stories about muggers alley, but never seen any trouble, road quite busy up till 2am, but would recommend paying 3euro in a taxi to get back from "strip" after this time. great hotel bar to start the night and found all british guests got on very well.

Room Tip: we stayed in room 301, 302 and 303 right next to pool, spot on
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank simonwhite_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2011

This hotel is a self catering hotel and our room had a lovely big living area, with a kitchen, dining table and two sofa beds. There was also a bedroom for two people. There is no aircon in the rooms but they were quite cool at night because the temperature seemed to drop at night in Portugal.
The cleanliness of the hotel left a little to be desired, there was broken glass left on a passageway of the hotel for quite a few days and in the draws of our kitchen were little bugs! But overall it was certainly liveable and wasnt disgusting.
The plug sockets in the room were pathetic, plugs didn't fit in them properly and sometimes made alarming noises.
The maid service was quite good, they came in everyday and made our beds and gave us fresh towels when we put them in the bath.
The hotel doesn't have wifi but should u need the Internet they have a computer that's a euro for ten minutes.
The pool area was not very good, it was small and not that clean. It claims to have a kids pool but it doesn't!! There is a bar round the pool that does snacks but we never went to it.
I would say the hotel wasn't that child friendly so is much better suited to groups of people rather than families.
Should you want to go to a pool area the hotel montechoro had it's own separate pool area that we used which was beautiful and only two minutes away. But u weren't allowed to take your own drinks.
The location of the hotel from the main strip was quite far, takes a good 15 mins to get to the best bars at night. The beach is at least half an hour away as it's at the very end of the main strip. But the hotel does have a bus that takes you there and also to the old town which is about a 45 minute walk but well worth it.
Overall we had an excellent holiday, Portugal is a beautiful place. Food is very reasonably priced too! If u see a place called the English kitchen at the start of the strip go there for breakfast, it was €2.99 for an English breakfast! I would recommend the area of albufiera to friends but I'm not sure if I would recommend the hotel.

  • Stayed: July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lisatxox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2011

Before you get fooled by the low price please read the warnings on here. I have stayed in hotels and hostels in many countries. Genuinely as long as its got a roof and I can get a couple hours of sleep I'm happy. This hotel was hell on earth.

The room was filthy when we checked in. We done a basic clean up ourselves and moved on. We went to the pool the next day which is also filthy, just dirt everywhere and broken tiles in it. Again we weren't fussy so we let that go as well but should have known it was going to get worse.

The staff are awful rude, the most basic request is turned into a big deal. So when we did mention the dirty pool and rooms, we were basically told thats the way it is. They were more interested in watching the TV in reception to pay attention to the problem. Imagine a couple of homer simpsons at work and your nearly there.

Then on Friday evening the trouble really began. A stag do with about 20 lads arrived and basically took over. You weren't able to go near the pool, it was taken over by lads getting sick, urinating, and smashing glasses. They were shouting all day and night, racial abusing people from their balcony. At one point they even started on another stag do that had arrived. They were four stag groups in the the hotel in our first weekend. The hotel knowingly allows them stay and take over. The hotel has a reputation we were not aware of before we booked. On the first Saturday night of our stay fire alarms were set off for over 2 hours by the stag do. At no point were the police called or did the manager try and calm them down. It turned out after setting off the alarms for a couple of hours, they had actually started a fire. They were all on the first floor and the rest of the guest were on the 5th and 6th floor. If that fire had spread it would have been a disaster. People began to ignore the alarm because it had been going off for so long, it the fire had spread, it would have led to deaths.

There are plenty of hotels in the area and are as cheap as this one. If your paying for a holiday on a budget I would urge you to stretch a little further to avoid this hotel. It is not worth ruining your holiday over. Lack of sleep, anger and frustration at everything that goes on there is not worth dealing with. Just book elsewhere and enjoy the lovely weather, generally friendly people of Portugal. We made the best of our first 2 week holiday and the hotel was the only bad point. This is my first review of a place in a negative way, If I can stop one other person booking here I'd feel as if I'd done them a favour. Save yourself the stress and book elsewhere

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
16  Thank Cwhyte
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2011

stayed here from 3rd July till the 10th, (just home this morning) Actual apartments were clean and spacious, very small balcony, for a 4 bedded apt. tho only 2 of us staying here at this time.Arrived on Sunday afternoon to find the same mob of drunks same as previous person reviewing, the stag party were fortunately leaving that evening, according to the staff booking us in, they were still serving them drinks even though the entire party were already obviously very drunk and noisy and climbing over fences into other gardens, and one lad was lying flat out in the reception area. Not a great advert for us and several other people booking in. We were also told that this crowd were not as bad as the previous stag party which had left earlier in the week. If this was the case God help the guests who stayed the previous week. The area was as previously described, abandoned cars, what they never told us was, from Friday evening till Sunday morning at 3.30am we were treated to the most awful racket and screaming from the bar over the rd. Father Eds with blaring music, visible prostitution and drug dealing, clearly visible from our balcony. Apparently everyone we spoke to knew of this, but the staff turned a blind eye. All in All this is not a recommended area to enjoy a family or couples holiday. Cheap but nasty!

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank shaw9949
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2011

we stayed at the hotel from 30th june till 7th july. arrived and was pleasantly surprised by the size of rooms and had a pleasant afternoon by the pool. the next day a stag party arrived and my holiday turned into hell! the animals on the stag party were loud ,offensive and rude, within minutes there was glasses smashed all around the pool and the drunken men were jumping into the pool with no clothes on and then pretended to have sex on my grandsons lilo. then they were throwing the sun loungers and umbrellas into the pool. we could not use the pool for the next three days. complaining to the manager was useless as he said there was nothing he could do and staff told me he refuses to buy plastic glasses.. there were three stag parties booked into our hotel that weekend which kept us awake all night and had to keep vacating our apartment everytime they smashed a fire alarm. at one point a man was passed out on the floor in reception. do not go to this hotel if you have children.. you will regret it.

Room Tip: go to the silchoro
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank jhirrell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Albufeira hotels
3.9 mi away
Torre Velha Hotel
Torre Velha Hotel
#88 of 154 in Albufeira
270 reviews
0.8 mi away
Natura Algarve Club
Natura Algarve Club
#28 of 154 in Albufeira
812 reviews
0.3 mi away
Choromar Apartments
Choromar Apartments
#67 of 154 in Albufeira
744 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Belavista Avenida
Belavista Avenida
#101 of 154 in Albufeira
76 reviews
0.2 mi away
Silchoro Apartments
Silchoro Apartments
#94 of 154 in Albufeira
488 reviews
0.6 mi away
Luna Hotel da Oura
Luna Hotel da Oura
#44 of 154 in Albufeira
159 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Mirachoro Albufeira? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Mirachoro Albufeira

Address: Lote 124 Rua Jose Afonso | Montechoro, Albufeira 8200-351, Portugal (Formerly Mirachoro Apartments)
Region: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Albufeira
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #96 of 154 Hotels in Albufeira
Price Range: £23 - £109 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Mirachoro Albufeira 3*
Number of rooms: 58
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Alpha Holidays Limited, LoveHolidays, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel Mirachoro Albufeira reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mirachoro Apartments
Mirachoro i Apartments Albufeira
Mirachoro i Apartments Hotel Albufeira
Mirachoro Albufeira
Hotel Mirachoro Albufeira Algarve, Portugal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing