We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good Location but not up to Timeshare standards” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Oura Praia Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Oura Praia Hotel
Ranked #81 of 162 Hotels in Albufeira
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
236 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 260 helpful votes
“Good Location but not up to Timeshare standards”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 March 2013

A well established, well run hotel with efficient, friendly and knowledgeable staff, everywhere was spotlessly clean. Unfortunately too cold and wet to use the pool area which looked pleasant enough, the hotel itself did arrange various activities but we did not use these as we were out all day. Good facilities including a gym, location was excellent with a supermarket adjacent and plenty of restaurants in the immediate area. The beach is a good 5 minutes walk (quickest access is through the Quinta Pedra Dos Bicos apartments directly opposite the hotel, stay left into a lane and down the steps).
As we were on a timeshare exchange with RCI I was a little disappointed with the apartment itself, it would have been fine as straightforward holiday apartment but I do expect top-quality fittings and furnishings on an exchange. The pillows were the lumpiest I have ever seen and I had an incontinence sheet on my bed, the rustling disturbing me every time I turned over! Our main moan was the poor level of lighting everywhere except the bathroom. The cooking facilities consisted of a microwave and 2 ring hob, no oven. I don't care if it had no washing machine and coffee maker etc, I am on holiday, I eat out and take my washing home but the facilities are usually there if I want them. Having said that, I would definitely recommend this hotel because of the location and facilities, the apartment was cleaned and sheets changed regularly, the bathroom was bright and spacious with bath as well as shower and there was a large veranda overlooking the road (I had specifically asked not to), parking is limited but was not a problem when we stayed.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank scousemouse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Petchey L, Manager at Oura Praia Hotel, responded to this review, 9 April 2013
Thank you for your feedback and have sent your comments about the timeshare to our Management team. Our Reception staff are always happy to help you and offer alternatives eg. the pillows, the view of the road, if you ask. We are happy you enjoyed the location of our hotel and its facilities.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

638 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    174
    249
    111
    48
    56
See reviews for
181
304
6
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (212)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Wallasey, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 March 2013

We decided that rather than stay in our own snow-forsaken Isle which would have cost us far more for a week break, to head for Albufeira. Total price around £180 each inc flights etc but we are out of season, for a week in the Oura Praia Hotel, near Albufeira but not in it. This hotel is not to be confused with the "Clube" or the "Beach" alternatives in the "Petchey" range close by.

We only booked a studio but were surprised to be lodged in a one bedroom, spacious apartment overlooking a car park and tennis court. The reception was well staffed and helpful when needed. The room , 402, only had a microwave oven, not a standard oven, and a 2 ring hob.

As with a lot of 4 star hotels it was more 3 plus. The main pool was small but it wasnt really warm enough for us to take a dip at the hotel. You can however freely use the facilities in the other nearby hotels in the Petchey group but we didnt bother.

Wifi was free if you had your own device but we travel light. The reception area had two computers that you could use but they were around a euro for 10 mins. Being cheapskates we shared a Euro worth on occasion.

Cleaners were readily available and friendly and never bothersome or noisy.

For the real sunshine locally, we found a bus to the old town of Albufeira at 1.40 euros each was a boon. Not bustling in March but enough places open to suit the middle-aged :) . We found that the sun seemed to open up down there even if it was cloudy back at the hotel.

Having done a full tour we settled for a daily visit to Tunes Bar (free WiFi with a device) ..not far further uphill for the Tourist Information. Run by Michael and Catherine it did indeed serve a fine Pork pie, made on Wed and sold on Thurs. All the sport is televised there, music constantly on the go, with a pleasant seated area outside which seemed to pull the sun in and was frequented in the main by English in the daytime. And they do Speckled Hen in tins which was a godsend as I found all the draught lagers in Portugal tasteless and gassy, even the San Miguel.

For Chinese we went to the Big Shanghai just off the end of the Montechero Strip which was excellent value and for an Indian we went to the Clay Oven where we had great fun and er, an Indian.

As for the Portuguese people they are a pleasant bunch and the touts are far less aggressive that the Turkish that we had to deal with on our last holiday.

I would go again but it's not my style to go to the same place twice. Not yet anyway. We may however attend another Algarve area and take a day to revisit Albufeira and my favourite haunt, the old town. (inc Tunes).

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank davidglass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Petchey L, Manager at Oura Praia Hotel, responded to this review, 9 April 2013
Thanks for the comments on your stay with us in Albufeira. We are happy that you liked our hotel and our customer service. We hope you come and stay again perhaps in one of our other hotels.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 March 2013

We have stayed in all the Petchey hotels and we like them all for different reasons.. The Oura PRaia has the gym and Tennis courts .
It is situated a little further back from the beach than the other 2 hotels , saying that its only a 5 minute walk so its not bad .
There is a great restaurant under the hotel called Netto it's great traditional food at great prices.
There is also a really nice bar called THe Rock LIne gets very busy at times.
This hotel as the others gets repeat clients all year round it's very popular.
We travel to the hotel using yellow fish transfer :com , we used to get the hotel to book it for us but then we had to wait for other people at the Airport not ages to be honest but its nice just to get there , so we book it with yellow. fish directly on line now and we travel alone and leave the airport straight away , there is very little difference in the price and it compenses for the convenience , they give you a loyalty point for every trip and so eventually you get a free trip so it balances out eventually..
Oura Praia has lovely staff as do the other two hotels , to be honest we don't mind which of the 3 we stay at they all have their own qualities . The thing is you can use the facilities at all of them anyway so makes no difference ,
What I would comment is that the studios at Oura are some of the best size I have ever stayed in and definatly better than the ones at (cpo) clubs Praia da Oura...

Room Tip: Ask for not over the supermarket loading bay
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank tracey w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Petchey L, Manager at Oura Praia Hotel, responded to this review, 18 March 2013
Dear guest, many thanks for your review. We are pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and look forward to welcoming you back to Oura Praia Hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
uk
Level Contributor
40 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 March 2013

Stayed here for all of february in a 1 bed apartment overlooking the pool, hotel foyer with fountain is impressive, and the check in staff polite and helpfull, our apartment on the 5th floor was clean and adequate but in need of refurbishment, the cleaning staff only attend twice a week we were informed that this was due to cutbacks this year, it is a good posisition to enjoy the main areas around and convenient for shops and restaurants, we were informed that rates are to increase by 40% next year i can only presume that this is to keep in line with the points system they are attempting to sell at £1600 for 2 years, however we were approached with this offer on our first week at £1500 and later found out it had now increased ?, all in all i dont think as many people will book next year as better places are to be had at the increased price.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank grapam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Petchey L, Manager at Oura Praia Hotel, responded to this review, 11 March 2013
Many thanks for your informative review. Your comments have been taken onboard and sent to our Management team. It encourages us to improve and strive for the best service to all our guests. We look forward to welcoming you back to Oura Praia Hotel in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beja, Portugal
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 March 2013

First time at club praia da oura last january and i just loved, great resort for family´s , lovely staff and entertainment in amanda´s bar,.
paid a visit to twin hotel "ourapraia" and i was very disapointed , staff very arrogant at the bar,waited long time to be served and very unfriendly barman eduardo at the cafe latte, lovely hotel shame about the rude barman.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mario b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Petchey L, Manager at Oura Praia Hotel, responded to this review, 11 March 2013
Dear guest, thank you for your review, your comments are most appreciated. We have forwarded them to our management team. We look forward to welcoming you back to our resort soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 February 2013

I booked this hotel for a short break after reading the positive reviews on this site. We arrived at noon and were surprised that our room was immediately available. The room was clean and well-equipped and nicely positioned overlooking the swimming pool. We were impressed at the general location and visited several good and reasonably priced restaurants in the area. But why was the hotel restaurant closed? Many guests were retired and had long stays which they repeated annually, sadly work does not permit us to do that YET! We spent several days sunbathing whilst home dealt with snow storms! We are planning a return to the resort and the hotel at the same time next year which is unusual for us as we prefer to try somewhere different. A good experience and a great holiday.

Room Tip: We had a corner suite overlooking the pool which was a sun trap
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Paul H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Petchey L, Manager at Oura Praia Hotel, responded to this review, 4 March 2013
Dear guest, thank you for your review, your comments are most appreciated. We look forward to welcoming you back to Oura Praia Hotel soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool
Level Contributor
102 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 February 2013

This is our 6th stay at Oura Praia we spent six weeks from the 14th December until the 24th Of January in room 524 we had a lovely studio on the fifth floor we had a double balcony with a wonderful view of the Atlantic. Our beds were separated from our living area by a wooden trellis which was covered with white canvas blinds giving the impression it was a separate bedroom. We had all the necessary equipment for self catering with a fridge freezer that was very quite(we asked for a quite freezer) as these can be quite noisey and sometimes they are right next to the bed in certain studios. There were meals of the day on offer for 6.50 euros and of an evening you could have a meal desert and drink for 7.50 euros. We had a few of these meals and they were excellent every day there was a choice of three meals Wonderful hotel

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank mariaalgarve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Petchey L, Manager at Oura Praia Hotel, responded to this review, 18 February 2013
Dear guest, many thanks for your review, your comments are most appreciated. We look forward to welcoming you back to Oura Praia Hotel soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Albufeira hotels
0.2 mi away
Clube Praia da Oura
Clube Praia da Oura
#64 of 162 in Albufeira
3.5 of 5 bubbles 2,729 reviews
0.8 mi away
MGM Muthu Forte Da Oura
MGM Muthu Forte Da Oura
#98 of 162 in Albufeira
3.5 of 5 bubbles 575 reviews
0.2 mi away
Ouratlantico Apartamento Turisticos
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Quinta Pedra dos Bicos
Quinta Pedra dos Bicos
#37 of 162 in Albufeira
4.0 of 5 bubbles 712 reviews
0.2 mi away
Natura Algarve Club
Natura Algarve Club
#25 of 162 in Albufeira
4.0 of 5 bubbles 700 reviews
0.1 mi away
Aqua Pedra dos Bicos Design Beach Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Oura Praia Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oura Praia Hotel

Property: Oura Praia Hotel
Address: Estrada de Santa Eulalia | Areias de Sao Joao, Albufeira 8200-269, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Albufeira
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#44 Luxury Hotel in Albufeira
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Oura Praia Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 182
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated 300 meters from Praia da Oura beach, Santa Eulália beach and the main entertainment area of Albufeira, this resort features self-catering apartments with furnished balconies. The air-conditioned apartments have a fully equipped kitchenette, en suite bathroom and a seating and dining area to relax with satellite tv.Apart from the outdoor swimming pools and tennis court, Oura Praia Hotel has a gym, a sauna and a Golf Desk where all golf courses in the Algarve can be booked. Guests can also enjoy a massage in our massage room. For a change of scenery, guests can take a 5-minute walk to the sandy Algarve coastline or the main entertainment area of Albufeira.The atrium-style lobby with its glass roof, tropical plants and fountains offer a variety of seating areas to relax.In addition, it houses the modern Café Latte bar decorated in red and white, and the Trevi à la Carte Restaurant.Guests can enjoy a variety of different dining options at our restaurants in our sister resorts, a 5 minutes’ walk away.The bustling streets of the old town center of Albufeira are located 2 km away. Bikes and cars can be rented at the 24-hour reception, and shuttle services to Faro Airport are available upon request. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Jet2Holidays , Agoda, TravelUp, Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com and LoveHolidays so you can book your Oura Praia Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Oura Praia Albufeira
Oura Praia Hotel Albufeira, Algarve, Portugal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing