We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Would not stay again.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Muthu Oura Praia Hotel
Ranked #77 of 154 Hotels in Albufeira
Reviewed 12 September 2013

Went last May with my sister and over 80 year old Mum. Any pictures did not show 2 very busy roads around hotel. We where given a room overlooking a busy roundabout,I would not except it . There was only one other room left, it also looked over busy road but was one floor up. We found out most of the apartments where owned and as it was early season it felt like we where the only ones in hotel. No entertainment at night sorry two nights of bingo, hardly anyone there. Do not take anyone that is old or has difficulty walking steps everywhere to get to beach. Pool was nice but by a busy road. Apartment clean but beds not comfortable. Staff nice to your face but pulled faces behind peoples backs, not nice. Nearly forgot , had to take our cases to our room when I asked for help I was told no one to help.???we travelled May 2012.

Room Tip: Just do not go to that hotel.
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Christine1232013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Petchey L, General Manager at Muthu Oura Praia Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 13 September 2013

Dear guest, thank you for letting us know your opinion about your stay. We are disappointed we did not fulfill all your expectations. Oura Praia Hotel its very well located, so our guest have close access to all that Albufeira have to offer. As part of our continuing efforts to improve the service to our guests, your comments will be relayed to our Entertainment manager. Since your last visit we have made some changes and we look forward to welcoming you back to our resort in the near future and to do our best to provide you great holidays

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (699)
There are newer reviews for Muthu Oura Praia Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

461 - 467 of 699 reviews

Reviewed 6 September 2013

We stayed here for the last week of August and thoroughly enjoyed our trip. This is an excellent hotel in a great location - their are lots of bars, restaurants and shops in the area and it is only a five minute walk from the 'Strip' with all of it's bars, restaurants and nightclubs. The Old Town part of Albufeira is a €5 taxi ride away and the beach is a 5-10 minute walk. The food at the poolside bar is a little bit pricey but there is plenty of choice around the vicinity of the hotel. We would definitely return to Oura Praia and would recommend it to anyone.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank adc88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Petchey L, Manager at Muthu Oura Praia Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 September 2013

Dear Guest,
Thank you for your positive comments about Oura Praia Hotel Customer satisfaction is very important to us. We look forward to seeing you again .

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 September 2013

4 of us stayed in a one bedroom apartment, which was huge! We had a separate bedroom and living room, a small kitchen, large bathroom and a balcony. The pool is stunning, and gets very deep so seemed to have less kids around than when we tried a pool at one of the sister hotels. Deck chairs were full in the afternoon around 4pm when the DJ and pool entertainment came out. Hotel is close by to one of the beaches and around a €5 cab ride to the old town. Amazing price for such a lovely hotel, just wish we'd had a few more days! Wifi was free in reception or you could pay for it in your room.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kez_from_oz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Petchey L, Manager at Muthu Oura Praia Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 September 2013

Dear Guest,
Thank you for your positive comments. We are happy you enjoyed your stay with us and look forward to seeing you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 August 2013

Lovely hotel, we stayed 2 weeks in august with 2 teenagers. Made good use of spa facilities at Oura View (this cost 14 euro for 2 wks unlimited use). Be aware that wifi costs 15 euro for 2 weeks and the safe costs 36 euro for 2 wks.
Lovely pool - we never had a problem getting a sunbed. Food and drink is pricey in the hotel but there are plenty of places cheaper nearby: Eddy's Bar underneath does amazing cocktails and O'Manjar in the old town is lovely for authentic Portuguese food (about 5 euro in a taxi).
We liked the pool parties which were everyday at 4pm.
Went to Slide and Splash, slides were OK, big queues in august and v v hot!
We would definitely stay again - very clean, great room, helpful staff, good location - 5 mins walk to strip.
Minor problem with open plan pool - we witnessed customers from Pedra dos Bicos (and elsewhere) regularly using pool (they didn't have Oura Praia wristbands and had clearly not paid anywhere near as much as we had) - which to be honest was insulting. Reported to reception 3 times but was met with indifference. Shame, the management didn't have the guts/ respect for their guests to kick them out.
Overall a fab holiday, I would recommend.

Room Tip: We requested a pool view but didnt get it. Light sleepers might find the road sides noisy. The hotel...
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank R O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Petchey L, Manager at Muthu Oura Praia Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 September 2013

Dear Guest,
Thank you for your enthusiastic review about Oura Praia Hotel. Customer satisfaction is very important to us. We will be addressing your comments about the Swimming Pool Area, looking forward for your next visit to Albufeira.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2013

We stayed in this hotel in March 2013 as a last minute booking to get away. It was very cheap to stay in the hotel so I was expecting the worst before I got there. When we arrived at the hotel it was a shock, it was so clean and the staff were all very friendly. It is only 5minutes walk to the main strip and a 5 minute walk downhill to the beach. Not to mention there was a supermarche right next to the hotel (joined in the same complex), which was fantastic because we stayed self catering for the week and anything we needed was a minute walk!! Apartment itself was very clean and spacious for the two of us, and the kitchen came equipped with everything we needed. We had a balcony with a sea view which was lovely!! Only downside was the rain in March, but that didn't take away from our stay. Well worth a visit if you are thinking of going to albufeira, and is child friendly too as you have access to all the oura hotels and leisure centre which are located a 3 minute walk from the complex!!!

Room Tip: If you have the option to request a room you would like, go for sea view or pool view and you will h...
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Mairead M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Petchey L, Manager at Muthu Oura Praia Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 September 2013

Dear Guest,
Thank you for your positive comments. We are happy you enjoyed your stay with us and look forward to seeing you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2013

The hotel wasn't refurbished since the 80s probably so it looked really old and also not really clean. The bathroom was smelling and had dirt spots on the walls.
The biggest disappointment was that we booked an am partner for 4 people but getting there we realized that it was maximum for 3 and they asked us to do the 4 bed ourselves (more of a mattress on the floor really...). Also, there is no free Internet I the rooms like its misleadingly stated in the hotel descriptions and even if you get wifi at the reception it's going to be really slow.
Last, the room was facing a busy roundabout so it was exceptionally noisy even with the windows closed.
Overall I would definitely not recommend.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Corinall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Petchey L, General Manager at Muthu Oura Praia Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 31 July 2013

Dear Guest
Your comments have been duly noted, and transmitted to our staff. Your experience does not correspond to the normal service given to our guests; housekeeping service is always a priority for us.
Facilities of the hotel are duly advertised, and rooms are prepared accordingly to reservations requests. We expect to have the opportunity to receive you again in one of our resorts, so we can revert your opinion about us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2013

It was amazing hotel with great location. 5 minutes to Oura beach and 5 Minutes to the strip street. clean hotel and great pool.

supermarket and bus station and taxi stop its just beside hotel and lots of restaurant around.
definitely ill come back again

Room Tip: we chose the Pool view and it was perfect choice.
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank BaherJaberi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Petchey L, General Manager at Muthu Oura Praia Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 31 July 2013

Dear Guest,
Thank you for commenting. We are glad the issue with your room was quickly and satisfactorily resolved by a member of our staff.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Albufeira hotels
0.2 mi away
Muthu Clube Praia da Oura
Muthu Clube Praia da Oura
#80 of 154 in Albufeira
3,350 reviews
0.1 mi away
Muthu Forte da Oura
Muthu Forte da Oura
#86 of 154 in Albufeira
663 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Topazio
Hotel Topazio
#49 of 154 in Albufeira
787 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Ouratlantico Apartamento Turisticos
0.8 mi away
Luna Clube Oceano
Luna Clube Oceano
#23 of 154 in Albufeira
470 reviews
3.8 mi away
Baia Grande
Baia Grande
#2 of 3 in Sesmarias
1,026 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Muthu Oura Praia Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Muthu Oura Praia Hotel

Address: Estrada de Santa Eulalia | Areias de Sao Joao, Albufeira 8200-269, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Albufeira
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#42 Luxury Hotel in Albufeira
Price Range: £25 - £163 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Muthu Oura Praia Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 182
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated 300 meters from Praia da Oura beach, Santa Eulália beach and the main entertainment area of Albufeira, this resort features self-catering apartments with furnished balconies. The air-conditioned apartments have a fully equipped kitchenette, en suite bathroom and a seating and dining area to relax with satellite tv.Apart from the outdoor swimming pools and tennis court, Oura Praia Hotel has a gym, a sauna and a Golf Desk where all golf courses in the Algarve can be booked. Guests can also enjoy a massage in our massage room. For a change of scenery, guests can take a 5-minute walk to the sandy Algarve coastline or the main entertainment area of Albufeira.The atrium-style lobby with its glass roof, tropical plants and fountains offer a variety of seating areas to relax.In addition, it houses the modern Café Latte bar decorated in red and white, and the Trevi à la Carte Restaurant.Guests can enjoy a variety of different dining options at our restaurants in our sister resorts, a 5 minutes’ walk away.The bustling streets of the old town center of Albufeira are located 2 km away. Bikes and cars can be rented at the 24-hour reception, and shuttle services to Faro Airport are available upon request. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Odigeo, TravelUp, LoveHolidays, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Muthu Oura Praia Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Oura Praia Albufeira
Muthu Oura Praia Hotel Albufeira, Algarve, Portugal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing