We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent -who dare say otherwise!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Muthu Oura Praia Hotel
Ranked #80 of 154 Hotels in Albufeira
Reviewed 11 October 2013

My wife and I just returned from one week break and there is nothing to fault. I just wonder where some of these people who moan have been! Superb luxury rooms, spotless, quiet and comfortable beds. Staff were nothing other than professional. Everyone friendly and offer personal service. Ok-there are two roads outside but no traffic noise within. Whilst there we must recommend the coffee shop opposite, also the Happy Hour Chinese restaurant. As it was so hot the free air conditioning was most welcomed. Hoping to return next year with elderly,disabled parent. We know she will love it. Thank you all staff for a great week.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Satisfied571
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Petchey L, Manager at Muthu Oura Praia Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 October 2013

Dear guest,
Many thanks for your enthusiastic review. Your comments are most appreciated and forwarded to our staff, once they encourage them giving the best service and experience to our guests We look forward to welcoming you back to our resort soon.
Kind Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (712)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

461 - 467 of 712 reviews

Reviewed 7 October 2013

This was our 2nd holiday this year at this hotel and as usual the staff were nice and friendly. The location is great. we got a room overlooking the pool as asked for. Entertainment in the evening was good. Food at the pool bar was very good also. Only cons were, our 2nd week rained every day until the day we left and the footpaths are dangerous! (not the hotel's responsibility) and not suitable for high heels, i have never seen as many people slipping and falling. If it was the UK they would be inandated with claims lol. overall we had a great holiday and look forward to our next one.

Room Tip: rooms overlooking pool area have good views
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank mina r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Petchey L, Manager at Muthu Oura Praia Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 October 2013

Dear Guest, we are pleased you enjoyed your stay with us and that we provided great customer service. Your comments are most appreciated and we have passed on your remarks to our staff and Management Team. Thank you for your positive feedback and hope to see you again soon in Oura Praia Hotel.
King Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 October 2013

Well located , big apartments with air condtioning . We stayed in The Clube praia da oura one year and it was too hot as there is no a/c.. We relocated to here . Its the sister hotel.
These apartments are nothing special but they are clean , well maintained and funcional for a two week holiday stay.
We dont get a shuttle transfer any more as we used to , we find its cheaper to get us all in a private (4 of us) . We started to use yellow fishtransfers com as it seems to be the most popular around Albufera and they are Very good and easy to spot at the AIrport and for the pick up ( the big yellow puffa fish gives them away ) .
Oura praia is near the beach and all the shops and bars .

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank emma j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Petchey L, Manager at Muthu Oura Praia Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 October 2013

Dear Guest,
Thank you for your positive remarks. We are happy you enjoyed your stay with us and that you were satisfied with the customer service you received at Oura Praia Hotel. We hope to see you again soon.
Kind Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 September 2013

Another fab stay at this very friendly apart hotel. Not the best furnishings in the world and are now a little dated but that can be overlooked by the cleanliness and friendliness of all the staff.
Pool area lovely, clean and plenty of sunbeds available.
Nice reasonably cheap restaurant in the hotel with good nightly entertainment. Plenty of other restaurants and bars in the locality.

Room Tip: Ask for room overlooking pool area, those facing Main Street can be a little noisy
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bacardispice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Petchey L, Manager at Muthu Oura Praia Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 October 2013

Dear Guest,
Many thanks you for your positive remarks. We are happy you enjoyed your stay with us and were satisfied with our customer service. We hope to see you again on your next visit to Albufeira!
Bets Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 September 2013

I spent 3 weeks at this hotel with my family.

Pros:

Nice mix of people stay here (lots of Irish and English if thats your thing)
Fine Pool
Nice Staff
5 mins walk from decent beach
grocery store next door

Cons

Location - Right next to the really tacky strip (the hotel is about 5 miles from old town (which completely threw me)
Internet service in common area and rooms is HORRIBLE (I had to work every day and it sucked so much it was painful)
Place is more run down than pictures illustrate (but acceptable if you have simple needs)
TV sucks
Laundry machines are 10 mins walk in another sister hotel (which is nicer)..a long walk

If drinking, beach, pool, kinda cheesy entertainment with lots of drunk kids, Irish and English folk is your thing...along with great weather and value for money....you'll be fine here.

Room Tip: You can ask for a room away from the pool as its quieter BUT make sure they don't put you facing...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jason E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Petchey L, Manager at Muthu Oura Praia Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 October 2013

Dear customer,
Thanks for your time for this review. Your opinion is important to us and we appreciate your comments. As you had the opportunity to noted, Oura Praia Hotel its very well located, so our guest have close access to all that Albufeira have to offer and to provide them with maximum facilities and resources, which sometimes can cause some inconvenience. We can suggest you on your next visit, to contact our customer support and inform us of your preference as to the location of the apartment.
This resort is situated 5 minutes from Oura Beach and the old town of Albufeira is only within 1.55 miles.
We have been making improvements in key areas, and updating the rooms is planned for the near future. We look forward to welcome you again at Hotel OuraPraia.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 September 2013

Travelled with wife and kids and throughly enjoyed it.

Excellent (but very deep) pool, although you had to be up early to get a sun-bed. Asked for a sea view and got one. Nice apartment - fairly basic but large, bathroom spacious and a good shower unit.

Tennis court on site which we used a few times, although a little bit pricey.

Location is good, take a right from the hotel and it's about 5-10 minutes walk to the strip where there are lots of nice restaurants and shops to buy souvenirs. Yes it's a bit tacky and does get busy later on, but it's mainly just young adults out for a good time. There are plenty of restuarants and bars right on your doorstep though even if you don't want to go to the Old Town or the Strip.

If you don't turn off to the strip you can walk on to the Old Town. Takes a further 20 minutes walking at a good pace - there are steep hills but we found it ok. The Old Town is very nice and less tacky, Lovely beach there and plenty of bars, shops and restaurants There's also a little train you can get but we didn't bother. A taxi back from the Old Town only cost 5 euro.

There is an excellent supermarket right next door to the hotel (main doors come out and literally ten yards on the left). Excellent choice and selection of fresh bread, meat, cheeses, fruit and veg etc.

Can use the facilities at the two other sister hotels but we didn't really. Handy for taking a short cut through if going to the beach though.

Excellent trip and hotel - would I book again - not sure - but only because I may want to stay nearer the Old Town if I went again.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Broadsword-Dannyboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Petchey L, Manager at Muthu Oura Praia Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 25 September 2013

Dear Guest, thank you for your positive feedback we are pleased you enjoyed your stay with us and that we provided great customer service. We thank you for your comments which will help us improve further for all our Guest. We have forward your remarks to our Resort Manager.
We look forward to seeing you again here in Albufeira! Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 September 2013 via mobile

We stayed here 7/9/13 to 21/9/13,with a large wedding Party ,hotel in general great,staff very friendly ,rooms clean and modern everything u needed for self catering, location for us was good 5 minutes from the main strip and beach ,area quiet at night if u have young children,would highly recommend ,and i will be visiting again.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Emcelroy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Petchey L, Manager at Muthu Oura Praia Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 23 September 2013

Dear Guest,
Thank you for your positive comment about Oura Praia Hotel. Customer satisfaction is very important to us. We look forward to seeing you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Albufeira hotels
0.2 mi away
Muthu Clube Praia da Oura
Muthu Clube Praia da Oura
#81 of 154 in Albufeira
3,425 reviews
0.1 mi away
Muthu Forte da Oura
Muthu Forte da Oura
#89 of 154 in Albufeira
671 reviews
0.1 mi away
Quinta Pedra dos Bicos
Quinta Pedra dos Bicos
#35 of 154 in Albufeira
808 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Aqua Pedra dos Bicos Design Beach Hotel
0.8 mi away
Luna Clube Oceano
Luna Clube Oceano
#26 of 154 in Albufeira
484 reviews
0.2 mi away
Ouratlantico Apartamento Turisticos
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Muthu Oura Praia Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Muthu Oura Praia Hotel

Address: Estrada de Santa Eulalia | Areias de Sao Joao, Albufeira 8200-269, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Albufeira
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#43 Luxury Hotel in Albufeira
Price Range: £22 - £174 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Muthu Oura Praia Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 182
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated 300 meters from Praia da Oura beach, Santa Eulália beach and the main entertainment area of Albufeira, this resort features self-catering apartments with furnished balconies. The air-conditioned apartments have a fully equipped kitchenette, en suite bathroom and a seating and dining area to relax with satellite tv.Apart from the outdoor swimming pools and tennis court, Oura Praia Hotel has a gym, a sauna and a Golf Desk where all golf courses in the Algarve can be booked. Guests can also enjoy a massage in our massage room. For a change of scenery, guests can take a 5-minute walk to the sandy Algarve coastline or the main entertainment area of Albufeira.The atrium-style lobby with its glass roof, tropical plants and fountains offer a variety of seating areas to relax.In addition, it houses the modern Café Latte bar decorated in red and white, and the Trevi à la Carte Restaurant.Guests can enjoy a variety of different dining options at our restaurants in our sister resorts, a 5 minutes’ walk away.The bustling streets of the old town center of Albufeira are located 2 km away. Bikes and cars can be rented at the 24-hour reception, and shuttle services to Faro Airport are available upon request. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TravelUp, Jet2Holidays , Alpha Holidays Limited, LoveHolidays, Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelsClick and getaroom.com so you can book your Muthu Oura Praia Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Oura Praia Albufeira
Muthu Oura Praia Hotel Albufeira, Algarve, Portugal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing