We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“great stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Muthu Oura Praia Hotel
Ranked #76 of 154 Hotels in Albufeira
Darwen, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“great stay”
Reviewed 2 March 2014

just returned back on the 3rd of march 2014 after a 1 week stay at the apartment hotel,we was booked into a studio but when arrived was given a 1 bed apartmant on the 6th floor,very nice of them to do that and what a suprise when we saw the room,very spacious and nicely furnished and decorated,nice large balcony with sea view.it had everything you needed like home from home.hotel was spotless and well kept,we really enjoyed our stay and would def return again.if you get the chance go i think you will be quite surprised at the standard.hope this helps

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Darren L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Petchey L, Manager at Muthu Oura Praia Hotel, responded to this review, 17 March 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your comments about the hotel and we greatly appreciate that you took the time to write them, as our guests’ satisfaction is our main priority.

We strive every day to ensure that our guests have a wonderful service during their stay. We can assure that your comments will not only motivate the team but also encourage our staff to maintain and improve on the service to all our future guests

It was a pleasure to have you as our guest and we look forward to serving you again in the near future.

Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

669 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    185
    258
    118
    49
    59
See reviews for
191
314
11
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (218)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
144 reviews
97 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 258 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 February 2014

We spent a week at the Oura Praia in February as a part of a last-minute very cheap "get away from the rain" package. Not really knowing what to expect beforehand I must say that we had a very pleasant stay and would have no hesitation whatsoever in visiting this hotel again.

We were received in the small hours of the morning with charm, politeness and efficiency and directed to our room which was a very spacious and comfortable one bedroomed apartment. The double bed was extremely comfortable with as many (or as few) pillows, blankets etc as we could wish, and storage was plentiful for our needs. The room safe had to be paid for, but we knew this in advance. WiFi in the room also had to be paid for but was free and perfectly adequate in the public areas - in fact the sight of dozens of pensioners huddled over their screens in the lounges was a bit spooky!

The bathroom was very good with ample hot water whenever we needed it and loads of clean towels, changed regularly. The sitting room was nice and spacious together with a small kitchen area including a fridge-freezer. Plenty of crockery etc was available and a small bottle of washing up liquid was provided, which was a nice touch. There was also a good TV with reasonable channels available if your idea of a holiday is watching TV. The whole was complimented by a lovely large balcony that we would have used more had it not rained so frequently during our week. the lounge and bedroom had separate air-con/heating.

One drawback of the room could be said to be the fact that all of the windows are only single-glazed meaning that there was a fair degree of street noise if you are a light sleeper, and this might be a problem during the busier part of the year.

For the first four days of our stay the breakfasts were excellent as, due to the property only having a few guests, these were made fresh on demand. Pretty well anything that we could have wanted was available and served, as with everything else in then hotel, with a pleasant smile and genuine friendliness. later in the week more guests arrived and the breakfasts reverted to the buffets that we had expected. these were perfectly good and, as we are early risers, we got everything that we wanted fresh and hot.

Our stay also included dinners and, considering the price that we had paid, we didn't really expect very much, but we were wrong. The food was very good indeed with plenty to choose from and served in the usual friendly manner throughout. On a couple of nights however there was a clear impression of the staff struggling to cope, which I believe was due to under-staffing, and the service was very slow on those nights; the food was still good, however.

All of the staff in the hotel were very friendly and genuinely helpful in what must be challenging times for people in the hotels business. We enjoyed our stay and would happily return.

Room Tip: Pool views are probably quieter. One bedroom apts are better than studios.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Alf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Petchey L, Manager at Muthu Oura Praia Hotel, responded to this review, 21 March 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking your time to comment on your recent stay and your honest feedback.
It is our aim to offer our guests an entirely satisfactory service at Oura Praia Hotel. We apologize for the inconvenience you had due the street noise.

We hope that you will visit us soon and give us the opportunity once again to serve you in the near future.

Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 February 2014

We were due to stay at the Clube Praia da Oura for a few days, but were transferred to the nearby OuraPraia Hotel, also part of the Petchy Leisure Group. This was because, by chance, I noted from Tripadvisor comments that renovation/building work was taking place and had emailed to ask for a quiet room. On arrival, a less than welcoming receptionist at Clube informed us that there were no rooms free from noise because of the work taking place throughout the complex, hence our transfer. BROADWAY TRAVEL with whom we had booked had failed to inform us about the noise from the renovation work.

Our apartment was huge and spotlessly clean, with a large, wholly separate bedroom and a living area which was well and attractively furnished with a cane bed-settee, matching padded armchairs, a dining table with 6 chairs, loads of storage place and even local pottery ornaments on shelves! The kitchenette was also very well equipped with a large fridge freezer, a 2-ring hob, a microwave, ample crockery/cutlery/glasses and cooking implements; even a tea towel and a scourer. Guests often stay for 4 weeks and one can easily see that this could be a home from home location with a well stocked supermarket right under the hotel at street level.

The bathroom was spacious with a bidet and a rather rudimentary shower attachment over the bath. Towels were sparkling white, of decent quality and changed frequently. PLEASE NOTE that apart from two tiny bars of soap and a shower cap, there were no complimentary toiletries supplied. This is a 4* hotel; even B&Bs supply such these days.

There were relatively few staying half board, as we were, and as a result at dinner one selected from a varied and sizeable a la carte menu and the food was cooked to order and served by professional, polite and efficient waiters. After this, breakfast was a real disappointment. The selection of cereals was very limited and an odd range of juices with just one type of cheese (tasteless), one variety of cold meat and one type of yoghurt. These were the same on all three mornings. The selection of fruit was meagre and seemed a token effort. On the plus side there was a fantastic range of teas and infusions on offer. On two of three days the hot breakfast was cooked to order; on the third it was self service from a hotplate. The single member of staff on duty (a female for the first two days and then a male) was very polite and friendly but both of them suffered from a chronic lack of observation so that food or plates were not replaced. One was constantly having to ask for something that should have been there but wasn’t: milk, fruit juice, cups, saucers, hot water, bread. These were brought quickly and with a smile, but surely both these members of staff should have been trained to keep an eye on what was really a small selection of items, everything being accommodated on a table about 10 to 12 feet long.

That (and the lack of toiletries) apart it was difficult to fault much at this hotel and we would happily return. The staff (breakfast waiters apart) were mostly efficient courteous, friendly and polite. I would single out Bob on reception to whom I reported that I had foolishly picked up the wrong case from the transfer bus from the airport. The owner’s name and home address were on the case, but where was mine? I always include my name and where we stay (Clube Praia da Oura) inside the case, which was unlocked, however we were not at Clube and the booking was in my wife’s name which is not my surname! Bob told me he would sort it and he did in; about an hour. He even came across the street to the bar where we were having a drink to say that my suitcase had arrived. This was service of the highest order and way beyond the call of duty. Thank you and well done, Bob.

BROADWAY TRAVEL had sold us (or rather, conned us into buying) transfers to/from the airport (on Greenbus) on the basis that it was a 40 minute journey. Well, BEWARE, you can get there in 40 minutes - IF you go non-stop and directly; however Greenbus did not go directly, as Broadway Travel either knew or ought to have known, but stopped at about 10 hotels before ours, so 40 minutes turned into an hour and a half and that did not count the hour we were on the coach waiting for it to fill up. AVOID GREENBUS. Our return flight departed at 16.25 but Greenbus were going to collect us from the hotel at 11.10 – for what was, according to Broadway Travel, a 40 minute journey! Patricia at reception arranged for us to be picked up at 14.00 by MGM, a private transfer minibus and we got to the airport by 14.40. (Prebooked the cost from/to Faro airport is only €20 per passenger. That’s return) She also cancelled the Greenbus transfer for us and did so with a smile and good humouredly – thank you Patricia.

It was ironic that having been transferred from Clube to this hotel to escape noise, we were woken at 8.15 on the first morning by hammering which sounded like someone chipping plaster off a wall. After 20 minutes I went to reception where Bob was mystified telling me that no work was scheduled and where work was scheduled it would not start until 10.00. He sent the porter/bellhop up to investigate but by then the noise had ceased. That night at 19.30 a small JCB digger began to excavate a trench right below our balcony and returned to continue the work at 8.30 the following morning. At reception we were met with a baffled look and indeed a degree of disbelief – until my wife offered to show him a photograph of the JCB. The male receptionist tried to suggest it was the supermarket which had commissioned the work, when it was in the hotel’s own carpark. If the hotel has a “no noise before 10 am” policy, then it should adhere to it.

Room Tip: Hotel faces a main street so side rooms are quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LYNNAER
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Petchey L, Manager at Muthu Oura Praia Hotel, responded to this review, 21 March 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for taking out your valuable time to write a comment regarding your stay with us.

It is our aim to offer our guests an entirely satisfactory service and we truly apologize if we did not meet with your expectations in some issues.

We hope that you will visit us soon and give us the opportunity once again to serve you in the near future.

Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 23 February 2014 via mobile

Oura Praia is a lovely hotel. Rooms spacious and clean, staff friendly good food (hb) and a great atmosphere. Oura Praia area is lively but we always felt safe, I was with my 12 year old daughter! Very close to shops, restaurants and bars. Stunning Beach is about 5 minute walk away with further places to drink and eat. There is a free bus that takes you to the old town and there is a local bus stop just around the corner from the hotel which is very reasonable and is reliable, clean and cheap!! The hotel puts on nightly entertainment which was fun!! Especially enjoyed the saxophonist and quiz night as we were only there for 4 days. Highly recommend Oura Praia Hotel, and Oura Praia area. If you like to eat a great lunch with a view try Flavours on the balcony in the old town! Highly recommended, great staff, great food, great view!

Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank FA12345
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Petchey L, Manager at Muthu Oura Praia Hotel, responded to this review, 19 March 2014
Dear guest,

Many thanks for your positive comments.

Your kind words on the services received will definitely be passed on to our team members.

We are pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and look forward to welcoming you at Oura Praia Hotel .

Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Banstead, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 February 2014

We had a week in Albufeira to get away from the weather and, although it wasn't as bad as the UK, it was very wet. Anyway, the hotel. We had a self-catering flat which was very roomy. It had everything we needed and you could live there at a pinch. We overlooked the main road which was a little noisy but not intrusively so, but the windows were shut - it would be different in the summer when it is busy. There is a very good supermarket right next door which is handy. The hotel put on entertainment but it lacked atmosphere because there weren't many people there. Only four of us at the karaoke! We didn't eat there but it all looked OK. You can use the other three places owned by the company in the resort, and the Club Praia Ora (CPO) was probably the liveliest. The furnishings and fittings are a bit tired and really need updating, but overall it was fine. We had a really cheap marketing deal (they try and sell you a timeshare) which made it even better, and there was no real hard sell. There is really no point buying a time share and paying almost £500 pa maintenance charges when you can get rooms there for under £200 a week through LateRooms and Booking.com. All in all a very good week and recommended. The pillows are awful!!

Room Tip: Not overlooking the main roads
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bob93v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Petchey L, Manager at Muthu Oura Praia Hotel, responded to this review, 20 February 2014
Dear Bob,

Warmest greetings from Oura Praia Hotel and thank you for taking the time to share your opinion with us.
We hope that your experience will bring you back to Albufeira, once we are looking forward to have the oportunity to welcoming you again with sunny weather, so you can enjoy the most of all that Algrave have to offer to our visitors.

Best Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
england
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 February 2014 via mobile

Checked in this hotel 6th Feb.booked a studio pool view,was given a 1 bed apartment roadside,got told we had been upgraded, in my opinion that is not upgrade.complained got told because we had it in black and white pool view they offered us a 2 bedroom apartment pool view and blamed mix up on our agent sunmaster,said ty very much good result we thought.
In actual fact it wasn't our agent we found out they let our room to people from cpo their sister h hotel because lots work going on at cpo hotel. Our 2. Bedroom room very spacious but cold,reported to reception our heating not working 3 hours ago no result as yet.
Hey ho going in shower again having 3 a day just to be warm lol.

Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
6 Thank cattyEngland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Petchey L, Manager at Muthu Oura Praia Hotel, responded to this review, 18 February 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you for your review on tripadvisor.
Indeed we are improving apartments in CPO, and to some of our guests have been offered the option to move to our sister resorts such as Oura Praia, nevertheless I assure you that this is not affecting the allocation of those who reserved their holidays with us, such as yourself.
As always our aim is to have happy guests with us and always do our very best to fulfill their requests, so we have done our utmost to allocate you in a very good apartment in a quite area of the hotel with sea view. This way our Hotel have offered you a double upgrade from a T0 to a T2 as compensations for the fact that at the time you made your check in we couldn´t satisfy your request All our staff looks forward to receive again on your next visit to Albufeira.

Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rayleigh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 February 2014

We had originally booked The Clube Praia da Oura - sister aparthotel - for our 3 week holiday. Prior to our departure we had an e-mail advising us of the building work that was taking place at CPO' and if we were not happy we could be allocated to one of the sister hotels upon arrival.This we did and chose the Oura Praia.We were offered the choice of several rooms and finally settled in on 5th floor facing south.The rooms are very clean,comfortable and spacious.Unfortunately this hotel is situated on a roundabout, therefore 2 sides have a main road outside and is very noisy, and exhaust fumes when using the balcony.Also the hotel has bars and restaurants below giving a lot of late night noise.A free open top bus is for the use of clients and will transport to the sister hotels within the resort. The reception team in both hotels were extremely polite and helpful, nothing was too much trouble for them. Magnum Global are the new holders of 4 hotel complexes in the Algarve and are making sweeping changes to CPO' we were glad we chose not to stay there.However we do intend to visit CPO once completion of refurbishment is complete, as this is a firm favourite of ours which we have stayed in for the past 25 years. We chose room 520 but this had the restaurant kitchen extractor fan running up alongside from the ground floor, which was started at 7.30am until 10.30pm.Most rooms do not have a very good view.

Room Tip: Quietest rooms are pool view facing south.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank happynomads2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Petchey L, Gerente at Muthu Oura Praia Hotel, responded to this review, 12 February 2014
Dear Costumer,

Thank you for your feedback regarding your stay with us. Your opinion is very important in assisting us in improving all days to achieve our goal, your satisfaction.
We are sad to notice that you were not satisfied with the room that you were located.
As you had the opportunity to noted, Oura Praia Hotel its very well located, so our guest have close access to all that Albufeira have to offer and to provide them with maximum facilities and resources, which sometimes can cause some inconvenience. This resort is situated 5 minutes from Oura Beach and the old town of Albufeira is only within 1.55 miles.
Your compliments to our staff members were conveyed and highly appreciated. Thank you for your kind gesture.
We sincerely hope to have the chance of welcoming you again in one of our hotels so you can re-evaluate our improvements.

Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Albufeira hotels
0.2 mi away
Muthu Clube Praia da Oura
Muthu Clube Praia da Oura
#66 of 154 in Albufeira
3.5 of 5 bubbles 3,105 reviews
0.1 mi away
Muthu Forte da Oura
Muthu Forte da Oura
#90 of 154 in Albufeira
3.5 of 5 bubbles 608 reviews
0.2 mi away
Natura Algarve Club
Natura Algarve Club
#27 of 154 in Albufeira
4.0 of 5 bubbles 728 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Ouratlantico Apartamento Turisticos
0.5 mi away
Hotel Topazio
Hotel Topazio
#39 of 154 in Albufeira
4.0 of 5 bubbles 740 reviews
0.8 mi away
Luna Clube Oceano
Luna Clube Oceano
#9 of 154 in Albufeira
4.0 of 5 bubbles 429 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Muthu Oura Praia Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Muthu Oura Praia Hotel

Property: Muthu Oura Praia Hotel
Address: Estrada de Santa Eulalia | Areias de Sao Joao, Albufeira 8200-269, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Albufeira
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#44 Luxury Hotel in Albufeira
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Muthu Oura Praia Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 182
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated 300 meters from Praia da Oura beach, Santa Eulália beach and the main entertainment area of Albufeira, this resort features self-catering apartments with furnished balconies. The air-conditioned apartments have a fully equipped kitchenette, en suite bathroom and a seating and dining area to relax with satellite tv.Apart from the outdoor swimming pools and tennis court, Oura Praia Hotel has a gym, a sauna and a Golf Desk where all golf courses in the Algarve can be booked. Guests can also enjoy a massage in our massage room. For a change of scenery, guests can take a 5-minute walk to the sandy Algarve coastline or the main entertainment area of Albufeira.The atrium-style lobby with its glass roof, tropical plants and fountains offer a variety of seating areas to relax.In addition, it houses the modern Café Latte bar decorated in red and white, and the Trevi à la Carte Restaurant.Guests can enjoy a variety of different dining options at our restaurants in our sister resorts, a 5 minutes’ walk away.The bustling streets of the old town center of Albufeira are located 2 km away. Bikes and cars can be rented at the 24-hour reception, and shuttle services to Faro Airport are available upon request. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Jet2Holidays , Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, LoveHolidays, Odigeo, TravelUp, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your Muthu Oura Praia Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Oura Praia Albufeira
Muthu Oura Praia Hotel Albufeira, Algarve, Portugal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing