We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Exceeded expectations!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Muthu Oura Praia Hotel
Ranked #78 of 154 Hotels in Albufeira
Gateshead, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Exceeded expectations!”
Reviewed 6 July 2014

Staff were very very helpful - especially Luiz!!! The rooms were great, it was SUPER clean, the location of it was perfect.... 5 mins away from the beach, 5 mins away from the strip and the supermarket right next door. Would DEFINITELY recommend this hotel!

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank LaurenJairath
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MGM_Muthu_Hotels, General Manager at Muthu Oura Praia Hotel, responded to this review, 16 March 2015
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for taking the time to write a feedback after your stay at our Hotel.

We are so glad you found us to be above average and recommendation worthy.

We can assure you that your comments will not only motivate the team but also encourage them to maintain and improve on the service to all our future guests.

Kind regards,
Ashish Gosain
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

686 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    189
    265
    121
    49
    62
See reviews for
198
321
11
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (220)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 July 2014

Traveled 26th June for 8 nts,2 adults 2 teenagers (17),this was to be an upgrade as low cost could not give us the hotel we originally booked....which was nearer the old town.but the hotel reception looked impressive 4*, the rooms were very clean and had every thing you needed but were more 3*, unless you get a pool view the rest are either road side or car park views...not really great. The noise is an issue we were on the 3 rd floor, over head there must have been a large family rearranging the furniture every morning, I wake early so it didn't really bother me too much but if u like to sleep in get top floor. Similar comments from other guests while we were there..they were road side and over the karaoke bar it ended at 3am, great bar if ur in it... not if your sleeping over it. A supermarket outside the door very handy. 2 mins walk to the strip ( this is loud and full of teenagers mine loved it )some lovely restaurants, and 5 mins to beach.Everything on the beach food, water sports, toilets you can hire beds for €7.50 each, or just lay on ur towel which a lot of people did. The location of the hotel was perfect. The hotel staff were nondescript , not very pleasant or friendly just barely acknowledged we were there, no info on buses or amenities,just give you your key and that's it....the bar staff were nice and in the restaurant itself ( expensive but great food ) .in the hotel be aware of infinity staff similar to time share but not quite... The clientele were predominantly older people 65+. A few family's mostly UK which was fine I have a lot of relatives in the UK,and quite like the UK,unfortunately some of their comments were not nice towards others, and on departing two families had some pool rings ect and said to each other only give them to British kids or bin them !! nice, thankfully I think these are far removed from regular UK holiday makers. Plenty of sun loungers at the pool and well maintained by the very pleasant pool man. I love Portugal and if I return I think I would consider staying here again if only for the location our teenagers loved it, if we go as a couple I would much prefer the old town €5 in a taxi from the strip. On the strip Wild & Co good food and entertainment, bunas seara restaurant about five doors away great food reasonable prices. ( older waiters) on the beach the last two restaurants near the blue beds with the orange umbrellas also great food and good prices, they give discount cards also 20% for next time. over all we enjoyed our stay and would return.

Room Tip: request a pool view and a high floor , we did but we did not get this. it will make your stay more...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Brendacatherine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MGM_Muthu_Hotels, General Manager at Muthu Oura Praia Hotel, responded to this review, 16 March 2015
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your comments about the hotel and e greatly appreciate that you took the time to write them as our guests’ satisfaction is our main priority.

We strive every day to ensure that our guests have a wonderful service during their stay, from check in, entertainment and the meals in our restaurants.

We hope that you will visit us soon and give us the opportunity once again to serve you in the near future.

Kind regards,
Ashish Gosain
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
47 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 July 2014

Lovely hotel.
Pros:
Large apartment with access to balcony from both the bedroom and the lounge-diner. Microwave, large fridge, freezer, crockery, cutlery, cooking and eating utensils, proper glasses, even washing-up liquid, sponge, teatowels and hand-towel supplied, also ironing board and iron. Aircon independently controlled in bedroom and lounge-diner but apparently turned off overnight by the management, which meant that the bedroom became quite humid and reached 24C a lot of the time. The bathroom extractor fan was also turned off overnight. Flat screen TV and DVD player provided. Large Intermarche supermarket right next door with lots of English products for those who can't be abroad without them, freshly baked bread and rolls, meat counter, wines, spirits, beers and soft drinks. Apartment 305 overlooks a car park and is very peaceful. The balcony gets the late afternoon sun and you can see the sea from the balcony. White plastic table, three chairs and a parasol provided. There is even a smallish clothes drier attached to one wall of the balcony.
The restaurant is waiter-service, which makes a lovely change. There is a small library at the rear of Reception with lots of English-language novels, plus jigsaw puzzles. No mozzies - but that may be because it was too windy.

Cons:
We stayed half-board and had to produce a credit-card type card each time we visited the restaurant to prove our entitlement. I do feel that we were treated as second-class citizens (very subtly, of course) as we had a choice of only two starters and two mains for dinner, plus fruit salad or something from the dessert menu. However, the reality is that you are offered only the fruit salad, which is so obviously that morning's breakfast's fresh fruit recycled. A very small bottle of water is charged at €2.20 when a large beer can be bought in local cafe/bars for €1.50. Wine is quite reasonable, at €11 for the house wine, and we signed a docket and charged it to the room. Breakfast was very good, with eggs freshly fried, poached, boiled or scrambled to order, plus bacon, sausages and baked beans, or whatever you want. Make your own toast in a super-efficient toaster. We put the chilled butter pats on top of the rotary toaster while making our toast, so that it was easier to spread. There was also fresh fruit, cheese and ham plus different fruit juices plus coffee etc. Actually the food is better than the menu descriptions. The portions of food were very generous and well-presented.
However, I told the waiter that if he offered me fruit salad for the eighth evening in a row, I would scream. So he got me tiramisu instead. The menu is on a weekly loop, with the same dishes on the same night each week - not much fun if you are staying longer than a week. I was still offered fruit salad on the tenth evening or 'almond cake' or cheesecake, but I couldn't face yet another fruit salad and the "cheesecake" was nothing like cheesecake so I declined a pudding.
The swimming pool is nice, with plenty of access points including steps at one end, but the sunbeds are all crammed in next to each other and when you sit on them the back of the bed flies upright. Although there is a sign forbidding reserving of sunbeds, many people ignore this. However, there are more sunbeds than people so it isn't a huge problem. There are parasols only every four sunbeds and they are rather small, so we were always fighting to get some shade.

Wi-fi is now (apparently) available for free in each apartment, but this is not so, and even when we could get wi-fi in a public area it was so slow as to be virtually unuseable - I gave up trying to download a video clip on Facebook after about five minutes of waiting. We could have had wi-fi in our room if we paid €7 a day. We were charged €2.60 per day for the in-room safe, which is large enough to take our two iPads, phones, Kindle, wallets etc with space to spare.

Would we go again? No - the area is not good enough to persuade us back. Too many "English Breakfasts" and "Fish & Chips" so if we wanted a change from the hotel food, there was nowhere we fancied eating.

Room Tip: Apartment 305 is at the back of the hotel and gets the sun from around 2pm on. It overlooks a small...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Janet S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MGM_Muthu_Hotels, General Manager at Muthu Oura Praia Hotel, responded to this review, 16 March 2015
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking your time to comment on your recent stay and your honest feedback.

It is our aim to offer our guests an entirely satisfactory service at Oura Praia Hotel. We apologize if we did not meet with your expectations in some issues.

We hope that you will visit us soon and give us the opportunity once again to serve you in the near future.

Kind regards,
Ashish Gosain
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Longford, Ireland
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 June 2014

just back from my family holiday stayed at the oura praia one of the best hotels i have stayed in room spacious well furnished good balcony very clean staff on reception very helpful and friendly the main strip only a five minute walk away will go back to oura praia hotel again

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
6 Thank eammobevkristin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MGM_Muthu_Hotels, General Manager at Muthu Oura Praia Hotel, responded to this review, 16 March 2015
Dear Guest,

We are delighted you enjoyed your stay with us and thank you for our feedback on TirpAdvisor.

We can assure that your comments will not only motivate the team but also encourage them to maintain and improve on the service to all our guests.

We look forward to your return visit.

Kind regards,
Ashish Gosain
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Plymouth, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 June 2014

Read a few bad things the day before we left, so was a bit apprehensive. However, very pleased to say that everything was excellent, the room big and very clean, the pool is great, the beach just minutes away was also clean (come on Britain get your sand as clean as this). Then there is the Strip, we hit this during world cup week, very friendly rival banter and the staff at the bars couldn't be better. Finally the staff at the hotel were fantastic, I have very bad hearing and they went out of their way to ensure I understood every thing, 10 out of 10. Think I may be going back in September! By the way the sun shone all the time, it helps.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Margaret K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MGM_Muthu_Hotels, General Manager at Muthu Oura Praia Hotel, responded to this review, 16 March 2015
Dear Guest,

Thank you for spending our time to give us a kind feedback on your recent stay.

It’s pleasing that you mention that everything was excellent and we could exceed your expectations.

We are looking forward to your return visit.

Kind regards,
Ashish Gosain
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 June 2014 via mobile

Just back from our stay at the OuraPraia. Stayed from the 16th-25th June. Was our first time in Portugal and the place was fantastic and clean. Although the ourapraia was a lovely hotel and very clean and had a great pool , our room was not the best don't get me wrong it was very spacious as we had a 1bedroom apartment and it was cleaned every other day, but as we had a roadside room it was quite noisy at bedtime .

I would like to put a special mention however to Pedro the head waiter (smiler ) and the team at the trevi restaurant in the hotel who looked after us so well each night we had great laughs and banter with the staff nothing was too much trouble, and even on our last night Pedro sat with us at our table and had a conversation. They were amazing people and made our stay so much more enjoyable.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LpoolGirl86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MGM_Muthu_Hotels, General Manager at Muthu Oura Praia Hotel, responded to this review, 16 March 2015
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing Oura Praia for your recent stay in Algarve. We are delighted to hear you had an enjoyable time at our hotel.

We can assure you that your comments will not only motivate the team but also encourage them to maintain and improve on the service to all our future guests.

It’s our aim to offer our guests an entirely satisfactory service at Oura Praia Hotel. We apologize for the inconvenience you had due to the noise from the street at bedtime.

We look forward to welcoming you again in the near future.

Kind regards,
Ashish Gosain
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 June 2014

We stayed here as a part of a group and was very impressed, the hotel was mainly full of couples and family's and is week suited to this. I thought it represented great value and the self catering accommodation was immaculate and clean. The swimming pool is excellent and has a separate paddling pool for children to use it's a five minute walk to the beautiful Oura beach and I believe has sister hotels nearby you can use. Would use again without a doubt.

Room Tip: Ask for a pool view which has a limited sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank EnglishLen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MGM_Muthu_Hotels, General Manager at Muthu Oura Praia Hotel, responded to this review, 16 March 2015
Dear Guest,

We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay at our hotel Oura Praia.

We can assure you that your comments will not only motivate the team but also encourage them to maintain and improve on the service to all our future guests.

We look forward to your return visit.

Kind Regards
Ashish Gosain
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Albufeira hotels
0.2 mi away
Muthu Clube Praia da Oura
Muthu Clube Praia da Oura
#73 of 154 in Albufeira
3,230 reviews
0.1 mi away
Muthu Forte da Oura
Muthu Forte da Oura
#91 of 154 in Albufeira
631 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Topazio
Hotel Topazio
#44 of 154 in Albufeira
763 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Luna Hotel da Oura
Luna Hotel da Oura
#39 of 154 in Albufeira
117 reviews
0.8 mi away
Luna Clube Oceano
Luna Clube Oceano
#12 of 154 in Albufeira
449 reviews
0.2 mi away
Ouratlantico Apartamento Turisticos
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Muthu Oura Praia Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Muthu Oura Praia Hotel

Property: Muthu Oura Praia Hotel
Address: Estrada de Santa Eulalia | Areias de Sao Joao, Albufeira 8200-269, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Albufeira
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#45 Luxury Hotel in Albufeira
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Muthu Oura Praia Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 182
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated 300 meters from Praia da Oura beach, Santa Eulália beach and the main entertainment area of Albufeira, this resort features self-catering apartments with furnished balconies. The air-conditioned apartments have a fully equipped kitchenette, en suite bathroom and a seating and dining area to relax with satellite tv.Apart from the outdoor swimming pools and tennis court, Oura Praia Hotel has a gym, a sauna and a Golf Desk where all golf courses in the Algarve can be booked. Guests can also enjoy a massage in our massage room. For a change of scenery, guests can take a 5-minute walk to the sandy Algarve coastline or the main entertainment area of Albufeira.The atrium-style lobby with its glass roof, tropical plants and fountains offer a variety of seating areas to relax.In addition, it houses the modern Café Latte bar decorated in red and white, and the Trevi à la Carte Restaurant.Guests can enjoy a variety of different dining options at our restaurants in our sister resorts, a 5 minutes’ walk away.The bustling streets of the old town center of Albufeira are located 2 km away. Bikes and cars can be rented at the 24-hour reception, and shuttle services to Faro Airport are available upon request. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Expedia, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, LoveHolidays, TravelUp, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Muthu Oura Praia Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Oura Praia Albufeira
Muthu Oura Praia Hotel Albufeira, Algarve, Portugal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing