We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Hotels.com
Travelocity
Priceline
US$55
View deal
Booking.comUS$69
Expedia.comUS$69
StayForLongUS$72
View all 14 deals
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (899)
Filter reviews
899 results
Traveller rating
246
318
166
83
86
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
246
318
166
83
86
Show reviews that mention
All reviews the hangover self catering old town every other day lovely hotel bed apartment reception area bit dated supermarket strip oura entertainment sunbeds
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
490 - 495 of 899 reviews
Reviewed 10 March 2015

My wife and Ihave just checked out and are waiting in the lounge for our airport transfer pick up. We have been here for a week on the occasion of my wife's 75th birthday which was last Friday 6th of March.
This is our second stay at the Oura Praia and once again everything was just perfect including the weather!!!.....we had a studio apartment on the 1st floor....room 101...and this had a terrace that overlooked the swimming pool. The hotel staff are very helpful and friendly and the standard of housekeping and cleanliness would put many an hotel in the UK to shame!!!
There are a good selection of resteraunts and bars within easy walking distance and there is free tourist bus service that will take you to the "old town" and the "fishermans beach"....so what is not to love!!!!......

Room tip: I have a slight walking problem.....so we had a ground floor apartment
Date of stay: March 2015
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
2  Thank Alistair W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MGM_Muthu_Hotels, General Manager at Muthu Oura Praia Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 March 2015

Dear Guest,

Many thanks for your positive comments.

Your kind words on the services received will definitely be passed on to our team members.

We are pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and look forward to welcoming you to Oura Praia Hotel.

Kind regards,
Ashish Gosain

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 March 2015 via mobile

As i write this in the foyer of Oura praia. I find the staff smart friendly and very helpful .the only downside is not very much is open at the hotel but i think this may be as it is due for a refurb soon as all the sister hotels have been updated so all i can say about it . clean well kept .has a small gym a tad dated but adequate. Plenty of amenities close by as in bars resturants and a small supermarket.close to the strip not that it looks that good in daylight hours so have gave the strip a miss at night and eaten close to hotel
Give it a try as it is a great apartmento hotel even with it downside i would think it will be even better soon going by the clube praia dora that was refurbished 2year ago and looks good lets hope the Oura praia hotel apartmento gets same treatment

Date of stay: March 2015
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
3  Thank Hindy2352
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MGM_Muthu_Hotels, General Manager at Muthu Oura Praia Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 March 2015

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback on Trip advisor.

We are glad that you enjoyed your stay and we shall continue to focus on exceeding the expectations of valuable guests such as yourself.

Our team thank you for the gracious comments on the hospitality shown by them .

Your comments regarding the refurbishment of the hotel have been taken on board as part of our continuing efforts to improve the service to our guests.

With one of the best locations in the city our hotel enjoys a sea view, pool, tennis court and entertainment services, it really becomes a great value proposition for all our guests.

We hope we have an opportunity to serve you again.


Best Regards,
Ashish Gosain

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 February 2015 via mobile

We arrived within a party of 20 people in the evening. Hotel front desk staff very polite and lovely wellcoming smiles. Room was spotless and very nice bright and plenty of space .
Hotel is in a good location, beach and strip short walk away. I read on other reviews about a/i board and not being pleased. I think it must be the tour companys fault not telling the guests whats offered at this hotel. Anyway i loved it, i liked the staff , my room, the location.
I WILL BE BACK.

Date of stay: January 2015
Trip type: Travelled with friends
4  Thank Veronica H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MGM_Muthu_Hotels, General Manager at Muthu Oura Praia Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 23 February 2015

Dear Guest,

Thank you for the wonderful review.

It’s pleasing that you remarked the perfect location of our hotel and that you noticed our friendly and helpful staff. We have passed this on to our employees.

We can assure you that your comments will not only motivate the team but also encourage them to maintain and improve on the service to all our future guests.

We look forward to your return visit.

Kind regards,
Ashish Gosain

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 February 2015

My family and I have just returned from the Oura Praia hotel, My mum had stayed there previously before the MGM group owned it. She said it was nice then but better now.
First impressions, was how clean it was and how much thought had gone into providing everything a guest could want, especially in the kitchen area. Good quality crockery and cutlery which didn't bend when you tried to eat. Everything you would need if you decided to do self-catering.
Twin beds or one bed the size of twins and quite comfy if not a bit hard. But I had no trouble sleeping. Maid service every other day, sheets changed after three days.
Mum needed a mobility scooter so we hired one from Algarve mobility who were excellent and would recommend.
Albufeira isn't really good for wheelchairs etc as a lot of the pavements don't slope and mum was weary of going on the road, which she had to do quite a lot. But she got around and that was good. The hotel even provided her with a large end room so there was adequate space for the scooter to go up to the room.
The location is excellent, a short walk (be in downhill so you have to come back up) to the beach. You can go across the road to the Praia de Oura complex (sister hotel) and go through to the beach, You have to go down in the lift to the 5th floor and then follow the paths but it is quicker and easier, just ask the hotel staff how to get there. The supermarket is next door and I found very reasonable. Restaurants is a different matter found it hard to find somewhere really good. Tried the braia across the road, we came out and ordered a pizza from the hotel an hour later. We were also recommended the Bombay Palace :( think we should have gone the Clay Oven). We found the breakfast in the hotel for 4 euros excellent value, albeit 50 cents more than the other restaurants serving english breaky. We did have a lovely breakfast in The Cottage on the Strip for 2.95 euro that was very nice. But in my opinion, the two best if your looking for "english food" in the hotels location was Lara's plaice (a chippy) and Neto which were next door either way. Good value for money, large portions and friendly staff.
Wifi is free in the reception area but you have to pay to have it in your room at 7 euros a day or 21 for the week. The closer you are to reception the more signal you get.
The resort is very quite at this time of the year, but I'm one of the older members so enjoy it like that.
Only a couple of little problems but it's probably me being picky. There is no hanger in the bathroom, the iron isn't steam so if your particular take your own and the phone call you get off a guest relations man called Steve. He invites you for breakfast in the Praia de Oura complex and there gives you to another person who really just tries to sell you a timeshare with the MGM group. So if your not interested just say no. Other guests have said it takes about 2 hrs to go through all the spiel. Steve says an hour at the most. Other than that I can't praise this hotel enough.The staff were brilliant, so friendly and helpful. It had everything we needed.

Date of stay: January 2015
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
5  Thank cags28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MGM_Muthu_Hotels, General Manager at Muthu Oura Praia Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 February 2015

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review on TripAdvisor regarding your stay in Oura Praia Hotel.

It’s pleasing that you remarked the perfect location of our hotel and that you noticed our friendly and helpful staff. Certainly we have passed this on to our employees.

We look forward to welcoming you back again soon in the near future.

Kind regards,
Ashish Gosain

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 January 2015

My husband and I visited here Nov 2014.
The location of this hotel was great for us. It wasn't in amongst all the hustle and bustle of the nightlife, but there were convenient bars, and restaurants only a few metres away. Saying this, we were only a 10 min walk from the nightlife (albeit, most of it was closed down at this time of year, but it did mean that the bars that were open, were selling their large beers for as little as a euro.
The hotel oura was selling their beers for 4 euros, which seemed a bit ridiculous when you could go two bars down and get it for so little.
The beach is only a 5min walk away, and its down hill, but coming back would be a struggle if someone was bad on their legs.
The hotel was clean, and all staff friendly, the décor was slightly dated in the rooms, however, everything was clean, and the kitchen utensils were immaculate.
We had a top floor corner room, giving us a large balcony that overlooked the pool and the street.
We did find that some local restaurants offered tourist menu, which made eating out very cheap (although the restaurants on occasions did try and talk us out of these cheap deals), but we found the food to be great regardless of what menu it came from.
There is a great little place to the right of the side entrance (cant remember the name, almost under the side of the pool), that was the best food I had whilst visiting here, and there is a Chinese all you can eat buffet across from the hotel, again great for price and plenty to choose from (just get there as soon as it opens, as it fills up very very quickly.
The only negative, was that the middle of the hotel opens up, and all noise from the bar at night echos up and can be quite noisy, so be aware of this if you have one of these rooms that backs on to this area.
We never ate at the hotel, as we went self catering, which I would recommend, esp as there is a cheap supermarket right underneath the hotel.
One more thing, there are some massage chairs in the lobby near the spa entrance, they cost 1 euro for about 10-15mins, if you can endure the first go, you will treat yourself a few times, my husband and I definitely recommend.
Another tip, if you wish to go on an afternoon excursion, the excursion shop next to the hotel, reduces the price on the morning of the trips if it isn't full, something to keep an eye on.
Overall, a nice relaxing place with a nice beach bar overlooking over the sea, however there are nicer parts of the Algarve, and I have a feeling that in Summer this particular part of Portugal will be filled with lots of rowdy shouting, drunks.

Date of stay: November 2014
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
5  Thank Marie E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MGM_Muthu_Hotels, General Manager at Muthu Oura Praia Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 January 2015

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback on Trip advisor.

We are glad that you enjoyed your stay and we shall continue to focus on exceeding expectations of valuable guests such as yourself.

With the one of the best location in the city our hotel enjoys a 5 minutes walk to the beach, beautiful gardens, pool and the entertainment services offered, it really becomes a great value proposition for all our guests.

We hope we have an opportunity to serve you again.


Kind regards,
Ashish Gosain

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews