We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Another Memorable Stay At The Paladim Hotel:)”
Review of Paladim Aparthotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Paladim Aparthotel
Ranked #26 of 154 Hotels in Albufeira
Certificate of Excellence
Sunderland, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Another Memorable Stay At The Paladim Hotel:)”
Reviewed 7 November 2011

I am beginning to run out of wonderful things to say about this lovely Hotel and the friendliest, most caring staff one could hope for!!

My daughter Lisa and I went there in September 2011 as we have done for the past 4 years and once again had a beautiful time. This Hotel is so relaxing and the location is perfect for the Old Town and The Strip, whatever your taste! Eugenia, Victor, Tina and all the rest of the staff THANK YOU so much for always remembering us and making us feel like family not guests :) The weather was amazing, wall to wall sunshine every day perfect for spending lazy days by the pool!!

It is so special to us it makes it so difficlult to choose another destination!!

Room Tip: Request a room overlooking the pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank marianne008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

646 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    255
    276
    70
    22
    23
See reviews for
187
293
7
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (234)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cheshire
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 October 2011

The Hotel Paladim is rated as 4*, not all aspects of the hotel live up to this rating, HOWEVER, it is a lovely little hotel and did not disappoint.
We arrived at Faro airport and jumped in to a taxi (cost just under 50 euros) and took around 30 minutes to arrive.
Reception staff were polite and quick to give us our room key, the rooms are large and have more than enough storage space and a full length mirror inside the wardrobe aswell as a dressing table and chair with a mirror in the bedroom. The bathroom is slightly on the small side, but has everything in it you need (bath, shower, shower mat, wash basin, large mirror, towels, toilet and bidet!)
Some parts of the rooms could do with an update, but all the cupboards had doors and handles, the fridge was cold ready for food going straight in. Each room has a tv which pulls in some uk channels, (bbc1, itv1, chn5, e4) ask at reception for a remote as they are not left in the rooms.
Previous reviewers have mentioned the rooms looked grubby but ours looked like it had just had a fresh coat of paint, and to be honest, marks on the wall don't bother me. So long as there are no exposed wires or hazards waiting to happen, then i'm happy!
The cooking facilities consist of 2 electric rings, and a microwave. Rooms are well stocked with kitchen utensils and have plenty of pots/pans/cutlery/glasses etc, we also had a toaster and kettle, all got used, everything worked.... no problems to report. Rooms are cleaned every day bar sunday, and despite as already mentioned, some aspects not being 4*, i loved my time here and would not hesitate to book again or to recommend to anyone who goes.
There is a little snack bar which sells alcohol and hot foods downstairs and has sky sports on the tv there too... the pool is just past the snack bar and is decent enough given the size of the hotel. There were plenty of sun loungers and the pool area was cleaned every morning.
To the left of the hotel is a huge supermarket, everything you need will be found there, food downstairs, toiletries upstairs, more or less the same prices as at home so not too bad. The bus stop is situated right outside the supermarket and you can get the train a little further down there too and this takes you to either the strip or the old town, around 2 euros per person and has plenty of stops, if in doubt, ask the driver, everyone speaks fantastic english.
For the football fans, on the road opposite the hotel, on the left is a place called the bella vista sports cafe. This place was ace, cheap beer, nice food, a pc for the kids to go on their facebook for a catch up (3 euros an hour) and a games machine with playstation pads complete with fifa 12, pes 12 and other games to play on.
If you turn right out the hotel and walk up the main road towards the worms roundabout you come past a chinese restaurant named the big shangai ( go there, its cheap and the food is spot on)... take care not to walk up the road directly opposite the restaurant or you take a huge diversion! Stay on the main road and carry on walking, you will hit a strip with a few indian restaurants (try the clay oven)... looks left as you walk past these restaurants and you will spot a small square.... looks out for the England flag and you will spot 2 english pubs, one named the travellers rest, the other the yorkshire tavern. The travellers rest has a pool table, sky sports, snacks for the kids and lovely welcoming staff... the yorkshire tavern do english food for those with fussy kids or mising some home comforts.
The strip (walk right out of the hotel) is busy as expected and prices vary for drinks and food but one thing that instantly hits home is that no-one hassles you, if you turn down an offer to dine or drink then it is accepted and you carry on walking. The beach is lovely and there are plenty of sunbeds with parasols to hire for the day. There are nice little restaurants and shops by the beach to purchase refreshments from too.
One thing to bare in mind about Albuferia though is the uneven cobbled floors and the steeps hills to the strip and beach area.... not ideal for those with mobility problems.
The old town (left out of the hotel) was were we spent the majority of the holiday, and for novelty has escalators taking you down to the beach (something the strip could do with!!!)
There are plenty of places there to eat and drink and again, the train stops at the top of the escalators incase little legs get tired!
There are waterparks not too far away and plenty to do as a family whilst there, likewise there are plenty of opportunities for couples to do something on their own. The weather wasn't the best during our holiday but we made the most of it and it soon brightened up, don't forget it's their winter when its our winter... albeit a warmer winter!
Given what we paid for the holiday, we definately got our moneys worth, and i would book again if considering going back to Portugal, the roof was taken off the airport 2 days before we came home... we booked in in the car park and the tarmac was our security checks/ departure lounge.... really couldn't do enough to make sure everyone got on the correct plane... lovely people .... i very much doubt anyone will be let down holidaying at the Paladim, or in Albueria, so book it and enjoy.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Leanne79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 October 2011

This was our first trip to Portugal and being October we were not expecting alot as it was the end of season. We stayed in the Paladim aparthotel. The accomodation was very large consisting of a large bedroom with twin beds plenty of wardrobe space and great air conditioning, A very spacious living room also with air conditioning and with a couch and pull out bed a coffee table and TV. A kitchen with a dining table, kettle dishes, microwave, fridge, toaster and two ring hob, and a bathroom with toilet, bidet, bath and shower and sink. The apartment also benefitted from a balcony that could be accessed from the living room and bedroom and overlooked the pool area. It was very clean and was attended to daily (except Sunday). There were a few minor things needed attention, one of the draw fronts was loose and the wiring for the light over the dining table was hanging down. The staff at the hotel were very friendly and helpful. The pool was large and had plenty of sun loungers it was also kept very clean and had a small pool for children. The Paladim is situated 1 minute away from a very large supermarket. 10-15 minutes walk from the strip where the night life is fantastic with lots of bars and resturants, and 15 minutes walk to the old town with a beautiful beach and lots of shopping and night life. For those not wanting to walk there is a small train that stops 2 minutes walk away for access to both the old town and the strip. The area has quite a lot of nice places to eat The big Shanghi is 2 minutes walk away and does exceptional chinese food but it is best to book as it does get packed. In the old town A resturant called Shalom 2 does wonderful eat as much as you like ribs and there is also a chinese resturant called Alibabas in the old town that has great food good prices and very friendly service. One to steer clear of is a resturant called Central Planet situated in the old town, My omlette was so overcooked it was difficult to get a knife through it and the people at the table behind us had steak they couldn't eat, when this was mentioned the staff were quite unfriendly and unhelpful.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank al0222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 October 2011

Just came back from the hotel for the second time, I was there last two years ago. When I was there in 2009, it was such a lovely hotel that I decided to go back with my fiancee. However, I am so so disappointed to have to come back and leave such a poor review, because before I went I was almost sure that it was going to be a good review. First off I'll say, the staff on reception are lovely, some not as helpful as others, but they are very friendly. When we first arrived on the 28th September, it was quite late at night when we got there. There was no faff on with checking in, and we went straight up to our room. When we got there, we had a twin room, which was a great size, plenty of room. Room has a microwave, two ring electric hob, small fridge and enough pans, plates and cutlery you need. The majority of the room was clean, however on both beds and pillows there were white stains. We left this and brused it aside. Then on our first full day in, I noticed ants on the bathroom floor. (We were on the third floor) I had squashed about 30 in there alone as I spotted them then, but then left the bathroom and noticed them all crawling around the kitchen area, and they were coming from the fridge (and when we pulled this out, there seemed to be a nest or something in the corner then were coming from). Reception unfortunately couldnt give us another room as they were full, but gave us insect killer. We were asking for a new room for the next 3 days, and still no luck. On the forth day, I noticed one crawling on the bathroom counter, and when I looked closer, there was about 20 crawling on there, and crawling all over the clothes that had been placed on there. My fiancee then looked down and noticed that they riddled the bath mat that we'd been using to stand on. This time, when we complained, and a lot more firmly this time, they gave us a new room, the one next to us. In the first room, we also had a dead fly in the fridge. The second room was cleanish, however the bath had a lot of rot and mould around it, and also had a light cover on the balcony missing (something I also noticed a photo of on another review). Unfortunately, the whole time I was in this hotel, I didnt feel relaxed at all. I know you get what you pay for, but the condition that it was, I felt cleaner outside. I wish I didnt have to leave a bad review, however, I wanted to let everyone else know that this hotel is far from a 4*.
As far as everything else, location wise, its a handy ten minutes away from the strip and old town, left out the hotel for the old town, right for the strip. However, in the weather they're having, be prepared to sweat during your trek!

Room Tip: Rooms at the front of the hotel aren't as noisy as everyone makes out. Me and my fiancee slept f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ajs93
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Llanelli, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 September 2011

Just come back from holiday in the paladim,great ,this hotel is on the top main road,about 20min walk from old town and new so good spot if you want to visit both.took my grandson with me,no entertainment or anything in the evenings,only bar and small games room.lovely apartments good size we had one overlooking the pool great,if you have one overlooking road be noisy but great for noseing,across the road you have mcdonalds and kntucky fry,handy if you have children with you,there are two supermarkets one next door one across the way,i would say if you dont mind walking this hotel is great,there is a noddy train that stops just up a little bit from the hotel that will take you down to the old town or the strip,for 4 euro,s you can have a day ticket that you can use allday to jump on and the train.

Room Tip: ask for one overlooking pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank harvey776264
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nottingham
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 September 2011

Stayed here with 2 friends in February 11, at first impressions we were dubious about the look of the hotel, however once inside it was fine, the apartment itself was spacious, clean and suitable for our stay. Also had a balcony. It had everything we required. After we figured out that the freezing air con was also the source of heat we were very comfortable. Room was cleaned and towels changed everyday. Helpful staff. The hotel is located in between the old and new towns, so in a ideal spot. There are plenty of shops, bars, restaurants and other hotels nearby. One hotel a couple of doors down serves drinks until about 12 which was handy.There is also a supermarket opposite, bus stops and the tourist train, whose driver was friendly, also goes past.
Although it was quieter due to being out of season there was still enough to do. Some really nice eating places in the old town, there were fewer places open at night in the new town or the strip but there was a club and a bar (might have been an Irish/English bar) that was open every night.
It's worth a trip to Villamoura which was easy to get to by bus, nice to walk around the pretty marina.
Also check out eating places down the side streets, we came across one that was for locals which was nice, with live music.
Taxi's were also cheap.
All in all, a decent hotel for a good price in an excellent location. Would definately recommend.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nng77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
uk.Wales
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 September 2011

Arrived at the Paladin on Wednesday 7th Sept.4 of us had actually booked to stay at the Alagoamar hotel wich is virtually next door,however they were overbooked and ushered us into reception at this hotel.
The apartments are spread over 3 floors with 2 lifts,these lifts were always available.the apartments were of good size and free air conditioning,satalite tv meant you could keep up with your soaps and news.
Safe deposit boxes were available in your room but there was a 50 euro deposit making your initial outlay 65 euros a tad expensive in my opinion.hair dryers, irons and ironing boards could also be hired from reception.there are no kettles available,water has to be boiled in a saucepan.
My advice to light sleepers would be, ask for a pool view as the hotel is situated on a busy road and if you do happen to have a room on the road side it could get quite noisey but a couple of beers did help,it really isn't that bad.
the pool isn't large but is ideal for a quick dip or to cool off,there is also a small childs pool.sun loungers & parasoles are available all around.
The pool bar which is indoors serves a good selection of snacks and meals which are quite tasty,a large lager will cost you 2.5 euros or a large bottle of magners 4.5 euros .can of coke with ice 1.5 euros.these can be taken outside onto a large patio which overlooks the pool.
The hotel was clean,towels changed daily and bed linen twice weekly.staff were polite and helpful.
This hotel is a good base.there is a large supermarket directly opposite,come out of the hotel and turn left,within 50 yards there was a taxi rank 3.2 euros for the first mile,and within 150 yards a layby where the train pulled in.this train would cost 2.5 euros p.p.and would stop 4 times.the srip,the square (beach), mcdonalds and 1 other.
If you wished to walk, come out of the hotel and turn left,20 mins will take you to the beach and square, turn right out of the hotel and a 20 minute walk with take you to the strip.
We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at the Paladim.

Room Tip: Choose a pool view as they are quieter at night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank WORSTONEYET
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Albufeira hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Apartamento Brisa Sol
Hotel Apartamento Brisa Sol
#15 of 154 in Albufeira
1,717 reviews
0.4 mi away
Luna Clube Oceano
Luna Clube Oceano
#12 of 154 in Albufeira
445 reviews
0.2 mi away
Vila Gale Cerro Alagoa
Vila Gale Cerro Alagoa
#28 of 154 in Albufeira
1,555 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Ondamar Aparthotel
Ondamar Aparthotel
#43 of 154 in Albufeira
462 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Almar
Hotel Almar
#72 of 154 in Albufeira
241 reviews
1.1 mi away
Natura Algarve Club
Natura Algarve Club
#29 of 154 in Albufeira
749 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Paladim Aparthotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Paladim Aparthotel

Property: Paladim Aparthotel
Address: Rua do Municipio, Albufeira 8200-161, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Albufeira
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Best Value Hotel in Albufeira
#21 Luxury Hotel in Albufeira
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Paladim Aparthotel 4*
Number of rooms: 63
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , LoveHolidays, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Paladim Aparthotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Paladim Aparthotel Albufeira, Algarve, Portugal
Paladim Aparthotel Hotel Albufeira
Paladim Albufeira

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing