We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Enjoy the location of the property”
Review of Hotel Vila Recife

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Vila Recife
Ranked #114 of 154 Hotels in Albufeira
Reviewed 24 August 2014

Hotel is located in the historical center, few minutes walking from the main square and beaches too. It is quiet around the hotel, no big restaurants and pubs, so there is no noise from night life. But there are seagulls to wake you up every morning:) There is a super market 2 minutes from the hotel. Rooms are not very big, but enough for summer holiday. Balcony in the room is small. Breakfast is poor for my taste, but OK. There should be something more for people to have choice. There is a WiFi at the reception, breakfast room and garden only. It is free. Staff is friendly and helpful. There are a lot of helpful leaflets for outdoor activities of any kind. It is great value for money! Don't expect some luxury, it is very basic, but quiet, clean, on an excellent location and what else do you need:)

Room Tip: As for upper floor rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
5  Thank Amarys79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (726)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

292 - 298 of 726 reviews

Reviewed 21 August 2014

Excellent value for money, especially since our stay was in the school holidays 24th july - 3rd august. Rooms are basic but come with a fridge which comes in handy to store drinks, snacks etc. Also comes with a kettle. We stayed on the 4th floor think it was room 402. We overlooked the pool and most of the old town which was nice. The only downside to this central location was the noise from the old town square of a night. Having never been to albufeira i hadn't realised the old town was quite so lively! It isn't stupidly loud especially with the aircon slightly humming away. We didn't mind as we were out fairly late most nights. The pool is small and a few people sat out during the day, we arn't pool people so we only went down once or twice of an evening (it closes at 6pm but we never hung around to see if this was so). Our floor also had a roof terrace which was nice to sit and have a drink on, also a main terrace on the top floor. Hotel currently has resident seagul family with some babies that squarked alot haha and they joined us in the pool for a swim, but you are by the sea afterall. Hotel has a bar which was nice with a lovely outside seating area, could sit with your own drinks which most people seemed to do as the bar opening seemed to be a bit hit and miss. Apart from the music of a night the hotel area is fairly quite with merlins bar over the road and a takeaway which wasn't the cheepest! If you hire a car there is a free (which most parking seemed to be) large carpark off the main road as you come in. The company should tell you were this is. The bluebell bar just around the corner is worth a visit at €2 for a pint of superbock and happy hour from 5-9 i think it was! Went here for a nightcap a few times before heading back to the hotel and upstairs is usually empty to sit out if you push the doors. Anyway, the breakfast at the hotel was very simple and got a bit samey after a couple of days. You get cereal, ham, cheese, bread, buns, and fruit juice. So we ate out for breakfast a few times with a full english from only €4 in a few places, you could even get a double of everything breakfast for just over €5. The whole town itself isn't flat and the hotel does sit up a little walk up away from the center, i found the floor very slippy in sandles so had to take my time walking down and im only 26! Back up was only hard after too much food and superbock! Overall drinks are cheep with local beer ranging from €2- €4 depending on were you go, drinks tend to be more expensive in resaurants than bars. Cocktails are more expensive at €4 - €7 but they do go over-board on the decorations in some places which was fun. Shalom bar, not in the main square but up in the other square by were the sand statue is does cocktails for €4. Would also recommend their bigger resturant for its burgers! If you go to any restaurant you MUST MUST got to casa de fonte, best restaurant in the place especially for its fresh seafood, the fish kebab is excellent i had it twice. It isn't far from the hotel either if you arn't feeling like venturing too far. It has a boat outside acting as a fridge and all the staff are lovely and dont push you, also the lovely lady outside didn't harras us to go in which is one reason we went in in the first place!. We found food quality in general to be very nice in the town. We went to one place that was rated top on trip advisor but it was awful very basic menu down a side street so just goes to show everyone is different (can't remember its name!). Sun loungers on most of the different beaches we went to were €15 for a whole day and went down to €10 after 3pm. It is worth getting a car just to go and find some of the quieter beaches! They are always marked with a brown sign and fairly easy to follow. If you rn't a lounge person you could pick up a parasol for around €8 and could sit anywhere in the designated parasol areas on the beach, they get a bit shirty if you sit infront of loungers and you get asked to move on every beach.
Anyway overall lovely stay, staff very nice, room cleaned every day, nice clean hotel if not a little dated, lots of tv channels for flopping down in the afternoon before heading out again. Overall wonderful stay hope this helps people, i've rambled a bit!

Room Tip: our room 402 on the pool side was generally quite cool despite it being july-aug didnt have the sun...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
7  Thank bromline87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2014

My husband & I stayed in this hotel from the 7th-14th August,as stated as the heading excellant location, you could not ask for more central, less than 5 min walk to the Square & to the beach.
We asked for a double bed but got two single, but it was ok we just pushed them together. We also asked a room with a view, & we got it... Room 410 overlooking the pool & also clear view to square,it was fab also just outside our room was an open roof balcony with sun loungers for those who did not want to lie by the pool.
The pool was small enough, quit deep, maybe not so suitable for younger children, has about 20 sun loungers, sun only got it in the morning & early afternoon, but for those who like to chill in the shade, the pool area was lovely in the afternoon.
Breakfast was very basic, but filled a hole!!!
The hotel over all was prefect for what we were looking for & it was clean, if your looking for 5 star then this is not your hotel, also if you do not like to hear music from the square once your in bed then I would not ask for a room over the pool.
Bit of downfall no Wifi in rooms you can get it in reception area..
Staff were friendly & especially the lovely night poter who arranged a Taxi for us last minute as our prebooked tranfer slept in!!

Room Tip: If you want a room with a View we were in 410 it was fab, but at night you can hear the music from t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
3  Thank Helena E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2014

We did ask for a double room, being a couple, but received a twin. This resulted in us pushing the beds together which I'm sure was much harder work for the housekeeping staff. However we did have a balcony as our room was right above the hotel entrance. This proved very handy for drying our swimwear and towels. The room was very basic but practical. There was a safe in our room, the use of the safe cost 30 euro with a refund of 15 euro on returning the key and the end of you stay. The bathroom as well was basic but was large for just two people.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank So_Sa2918
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2014

Booked this at last minute for a four night break. "You get what you pay for" sums it up really. Rooms adequate but very basic. Breakfast most minimal "continental" I've ever seen!! We were in Room 104 which overlooked the pool. Very noisy outside until early hours of the morning. Obviously as you expect in the middle of August room very hot but the air con unit made a dreadful racket so between that and the noise outside didn't really get a good night's sleep. The plus side is the location. 5 minutes to the beach and bars and restaurants. Be warned though that there is a steep walk back up the hill to the hotel. All in all, four nights was enough, loved the old town area but wouldn't go back to this hotel :(

Room Tip: Go room only, breakfast very basic and numerous places to eat within walking distance and a supermar...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ruth T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2014

Stayed here for 3 nights and wanted to stay longer. Hotel and rooms are basic but very clean, air conditioning, kettle and fridge in rooms. Location is amazing, quiet but in a 2 minute walk to the old town for the numerous shops, bars and restaurants and beach. If you are looking for a quiet get away then this is the hotel for you. The pool is small but there are two roof terraces and we had one to ourselves one afternoon, perfect. Due to the pool being small we spent days on the beach were you can hire two loungers and parasol for 15 euros, bargain. There are toilets, and bars on the beach and people that sell fresh fruit throughout the day which is delicious. I would definitely recommend this hotel for couples and friends to go too. Looking forward to returning. Wifi is available at the front of the hotel but not in the rooms - this did not bother us as when on holiday the internet is not a priority

Room Tip: Ask for rooms on 4 or 5 floor, as close to roof terraces
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank LadyP73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2014

We stayed in this hotel for 8 nights in July 2014. The hotel was spotless and was cleaned morning, noon and night. The location is superb and staff are friendly. The hotel is excellent value and I would highly recommend. The pool is fine and the views over the old town are beautiful. If you are looking for a budget holiday in Albufeira, then this is the place for you.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
6  Thank Arklesfinest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Albufeira hotels
0.1 mi away
Colina do Mar Hotel
Colina do Mar Hotel
#90 of 154 in Albufeira
330 reviews
0.1 mi away
Rocamar Exclusive Hotel & Spa
0.2 mi away
Hotel Frentomar
Hotel Frentomar
#63 of 154 in Albufeira
90 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Baltum
Hotel Baltum
#46 of 154 in Albufeira
412 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Sol e Mar
Hotel Sol e Mar
#39 of 154 in Albufeira
1,331 reviews
0.1 mi away
Apartamentos Turisticos Regina
Apartamentos Turisticos Regina
#136 of 154 in Albufeira
176 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Vila Recife? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Vila Recife

Address: Rua Miguel Bombarda 12, Albufeira 8200-158, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Albufeira
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #114 of 154 Hotels in Albufeira
Price Range: £20 - £106 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Vila Recife 2*
Number of rooms: 92
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Alpha Holidays Limited, Hotels.com, LoveHolidays, Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel Vila Recife reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residencial Vila Recife Albufeira
Residencial Vila Recife Hotel Albufeira
Hotel Vila Recife Albufeira, Algarve, Portugal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing