We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great base- realism time needed.”
Review of Hotel Vila Recife

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Vila Recife
Ranked #95 of 162 Hotels in Albufeira
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great base- realism time needed.”
Reviewed 31 August 2014 via mobile

Just returned from a week in Villa Recife with my boyfriend. All in all this is a decent hotel and base to stay and a good budget accommodation. Don't expect Hilton style luxury because in life you get what you pay for.
Pros:
Great location- central and convenient for the old town. Those complaining about noise confuses me- we were in room 501 and never heard any drunken people coming back late. I thought it was quiet at night.
Very clean- the maids work hard and are polite.
If you want privacy then this is a good hotel- you are free to come and go as you please with no pressure to buy food/drink on site.
Price- delivers good value for money.
Free wifi is good along with the fridge in the room.
Those complaining about the shower- I was actually really impressed with it. Every shower we had was hot and powerful.
The roof terraces deliver a great view of the area.
Cons-
The sun beds are dirty and tired- umbrellas would help a lot.
We didn't have the breakfast but saw that it didn't look the best- top tip: go to Eddie's across the road for a fabulous full English for 4.75 euros.
Pool was small and no sun past 3pm.
Overall:
A good hotel- we don't use a hotel as a constant base and love getting out exploring the local area- if you are like this then this is the perfect hotel for you. If you spend a lot of time in a hotel and enjoy lots of pool days and like a lively hotel bar at night then this is not the place for you. Our top tip would be to get a cheap bottle of wine and some snacks and watch the sun set on the roof terrace. We did this one evening and it was amazing- so private and peaceful- way better than paying 12 euros for sitting in some of the commercial bars in the old town!
As for Albuferia, it is a fabulous resort- some lovely restaurants and glorious beaches. We hired a scooter for 3 days for a good price of 67 euros from Almotos in the new town and got off the tourist trail a bit- highly recommended for quieter picturesque beaches that the Algarve has in abundance!

Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank Charlotte E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

659 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    110
    287
    166
    55
    41
See reviews for
68
379
28
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (202)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Limerick, Ireland
Level Contributor
27 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 August 2014 via mobile

Stayed here for a week in August 2014. Vila Recife is in an excellent location, only 5 mins walk to the main square in the old town and also near the lift to beach. Don't be expecting much luxury, this is real cheap and cheerful accommodation but rooms kept very clean. Wifi is only available in the bar area which is bit of a let down. Staff at reception not the friendliest, charged 1 euro by 1 receptionist to have her ring for a taxi. The pool is pretty small with approx 20 loungers which you needed to be down early in the morning to grab as people tended to come down and leave their towels on them but not show up till later in the day. The sun disappeared from one side of the pool by about 3 o'clock which is when the roof terraces on floor 4 and 5 came in handy. The water in the showers had a tendency to vary in temperature so sometimes you had no choice but to have an ice cold shower. The TVs in the room had a number of English speaking channels. Balcony off room very small, just about room for one chair. Air con in all rooms, great relief after a day in the sun. All in all, a nice place to stay if you don't mind very basic accommodation.

Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
5 Thank MariaBermuda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 August 2014 via mobile

We stayed just one night after 10 days camping, camping was better! We had no hot wather in the evening. No WIFI in the room. The breakfast was a waste of time, would of been better to stay in bed. We also have a hotel in the swiss mountains, 3 star, it's not that expensive and mutch nicer.

Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank egosamtweich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Albufeira hotels

4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
Bettystown, Ireland
Level Contributor
41 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 August 2014

location is very central to the main square so much so that it is extremely noisy up until approximately 4am so do not plan on a relaxing holiday, we had to catch up on our sleep at the beach or in the room during the day, the rooms are old and tired, but they are cleaned daily with new towels every second day, the breakfast is not worth paying for, go to a nearby cafe for a much better breakfast at approximately the same price, the pool is quite small and the sun loungers are very old also there is no parasols available, the bar only opens from 2pm to 10pm and closes all day thursdays, wifi is only available in the bar area and the signal can be quite weak, the staff do not interact with guests and you feel like you are inconvenienceing them by being there, also because of it s location and cheap price it does attract partygoers some who are extremely loud and inconsiderate to other guests [room 411]. i would not reccomend this hotel to anybody and i would definetly not visit it again

Room Tip: stay somewhere else
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Novelty9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belgrade, Serbia
Level Contributor
95 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 August 2014

Hotel is located in the historical center, few minutes walking from the main square and beaches too. It is quiet around the hotel, no big restaurants and pubs, so there is no noise from night life. But there are seagulls to wake you up every morning:) There is a super market 2 minutes from the hotel. Rooms are not very big, but enough for summer holiday. Balcony in the room is small. Breakfast is poor for my taste, but OK. There should be something more for people to have choice. There is a WiFi at the reception, breakfast room and garden only. It is free. Staff is friendly and helpful. There are a lot of helpful leaflets for outdoor activities of any kind. It is great value for money! Don't expect some luxury, it is very basic, but quiet, clean, on an excellent location and what else do you need:)

Room Tip: As for upper floor rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Amarys79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 August 2014

Excellent value for money, especially since our stay was in the school holidays 24th july - 3rd august. Rooms are basic but come with a fridge which comes in handy to store drinks, snacks etc. Also comes with a kettle. We stayed on the 4th floor think it was room 402. We overlooked the pool and most of the old town which was nice. The only downside to this central location was the noise from the old town square of a night. Having never been to albufeira i hadn't realised the old town was quite so lively! It isn't stupidly loud especially with the aircon slightly humming away. We didn't mind as we were out fairly late most nights. The pool is small and a few people sat out during the day, we arn't pool people so we only went down once or twice of an evening (it closes at 6pm but we never hung around to see if this was so). Our floor also had a roof terrace which was nice to sit and have a drink on, also a main terrace on the top floor. Hotel currently has resident seagul family with some babies that squarked alot haha and they joined us in the pool for a swim, but you are by the sea afterall. Hotel has a bar which was nice with a lovely outside seating area, could sit with your own drinks which most people seemed to do as the bar opening seemed to be a bit hit and miss. Apart from the music of a night the hotel area is fairly quite with merlins bar over the road and a takeaway which wasn't the cheepest! If you hire a car there is a free (which most parking seemed to be) large carpark off the main road as you come in. The company should tell you were this is. The bluebell bar just around the corner is worth a visit at €2 for a pint of superbock and happy hour from 5-9 i think it was! Went here for a nightcap a few times before heading back to the hotel and upstairs is usually empty to sit out if you push the doors. Anyway, the breakfast at the hotel was very simple and got a bit samey after a couple of days. You get cereal, ham, cheese, bread, buns, and fruit juice. So we ate out for breakfast a few times with a full english from only €4 in a few places, you could even get a double of everything breakfast for just over €5. The whole town itself isn't flat and the hotel does sit up a little walk up away from the center, i found the floor very slippy in sandles so had to take my time walking down and im only 26! Back up was only hard after too much food and superbock! Overall drinks are cheep with local beer ranging from €2- €4 depending on were you go, drinks tend to be more expensive in resaurants than bars. Cocktails are more expensive at €4 - €7 but they do go over-board on the decorations in some places which was fun. Shalom bar, not in the main square but up in the other square by were the sand statue is does cocktails for €4. Would also recommend their bigger resturant for its burgers! If you go to any restaurant you MUST MUST got to casa de fonte, best restaurant in the place especially for its fresh seafood, the fish kebab is excellent i had it twice. It isn't far from the hotel either if you arn't feeling like venturing too far. It has a boat outside acting as a fridge and all the staff are lovely and dont push you, also the lovely lady outside didn't harras us to go in which is one reason we went in in the first place!. We found food quality in general to be very nice in the town. We went to one place that was rated top on trip advisor but it was awful very basic menu down a side street so just goes to show everyone is different (can't remember its name!). Sun loungers on most of the different beaches we went to were €15 for a whole day and went down to €10 after 3pm. It is worth getting a car just to go and find some of the quieter beaches! They are always marked with a brown sign and fairly easy to follow. If you rn't a lounge person you could pick up a parasol for around €8 and could sit anywhere in the designated parasol areas on the beach, they get a bit shirty if you sit infront of loungers and you get asked to move on every beach.
Anyway overall lovely stay, staff very nice, room cleaned every day, nice clean hotel if not a little dated, lots of tv channels for flopping down in the afternoon before heading out again. Overall wonderful stay hope this helps people, i've rambled a bit!

Room Tip: our room 402 on the pool side was generally quite cool despite it being july-aug didnt have the sun...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank bromline87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 August 2014

My husband & I stayed in this hotel from the 7th-14th August,as stated as the heading excellant location, you could not ask for more central, less than 5 min walk to the Square & to the beach.
We asked for a double bed but got two single, but it was ok we just pushed them together. We also asked a room with a view, & we got it... Room 410 overlooking the pool & also clear view to square,it was fab also just outside our room was an open roof balcony with sun loungers for those who did not want to lie by the pool.
The pool was small enough, quit deep, maybe not so suitable for younger children, has about 20 sun loungers, sun only got it in the morning & early afternoon, but for those who like to chill in the shade, the pool area was lovely in the afternoon.
Breakfast was very basic, but filled a hole!!!
The hotel over all was prefect for what we were looking for & it was clean, if your looking for 5 star then this is not your hotel, also if you do not like to hear music from the square once your in bed then I would not ask for a room over the pool.
Bit of downfall no Wifi in rooms you can get it in reception area..
Staff were friendly & especially the lovely night poter who arranged a Taxi for us last minute as our prebooked tranfer slept in!!

Room Tip: If you want a room with a View we were in 410 it was fab, but at night you can hear the music from t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Helena E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Albufeira hotels
0.1 mi away
Colina do Mar Hotel
Colina do Mar Hotel
#83 of 162 in Albufeira
3.5 of 5 bubbles 300 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Frentomar
Hotel Frentomar
#64 of 162 in Albufeira
4.5 of 5 bubbles 74 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Baltum
Hotel Baltum
#42 of 162 in Albufeira
4.0 of 5 bubbles 343 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hotel Almar
Hotel Almar
#68 of 162 in Albufeira
4.0 of 5 bubbles 232 reviews
0.1 mi away
Vila Branca
Vila Branca
#73 of 162 in Albufeira
4.0 of 5 bubbles 96 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Sol e Mar
Hotel Sol e Mar
#36 of 162 in Albufeira
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,222 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Vila Recife? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Vila Recife

Property: Hotel Vila Recife
Address: Rua Miguel Bombarda 12, Albufeira 8200-158, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Albufeira
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #95 of 162 Hotels in Albufeira
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Vila Recife 2*
Number of rooms: 92
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Jet2Holidays , Onthebeach, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, Odigeo, LoveHolidays, Priceline, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Hotel Vila Recife reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residencial Vila Recife Albufeira
Residencial Vila Recife Hotel Albufeira
Hotel Vila Recife Albufeira, Algarve, Portugal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing