We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“'Hell is other people'”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Silchoro Apartments
Ranked #86 of 154 Hotels in Albufeira
Stirling, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
29 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“'Hell is other people'”
Reviewed 19 November 2013

To be fair, the staff and the service were excellent. The food in the cafe was reasonably priced and well prepared and presented. The apartment was spotless and spacious.
On the downside, the beds were pretty uncomfortable so my friend's daughter both found ourselves sleeping on the sofas in the sitting room. The traffic outside was unrelenting but the worst aspect were the crowds of twenty something lads who were quite thoughtless and inconsiderate when it came to hogging the pool and hurling tennis balls across the pool. There was also a large group of women talking loudly into the small hours on a couple of evenings and an endlessly yapping dog across the street.
I wasn't expecting monasterial tranquility at the price paid and the situation of the apartments but it became something of a test of endurance! I highly recommend going to the beach and turning left away from the town centre for a little space of sanity!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank TumbleWeed_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

461 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    81
    176
    111
    48
    45
See reviews for
119
155
7
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (96)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
Reviewed 3 November 2013 via mobile

Stsyed here on the 10th October 2013 for a week the beds in this place are terrible, if you don't have a sore back on arrival you could well do by the time you depart. They were so uncomfortable never got a decent nights sleep. Didnt have to pay any deposit so that was a good point but the breakfast fry mainly consisted of bread.... the beans were not nice and the bacon was so thin you would think it was cut with a razor blade. Better food was available both on the strip and the old town and at a better price. Had lovely sunshine the whole week so we were well pleased with that but I would not stay here again even if it was economical. Next time I would prefer to pay a bit extra and get a comfortable bed. You only get what you pay for so I am not complaining but a comfortable bed should be the norm in any establishment.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Max M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 November 2013

me and my husband have just returned back after a week 22nd -29th october.the weather was a bit hit and miss,3 days of rain and 4 days of lovely sunshine but it did not spoil our holiday.although the hotel needs badly updating,the staff including the cleaners were excellant.bar staff cannot do enough for you and especially the reception staff.our room was huge,it was it bit noisy at night,dogs barking.young ones coming in a bit rowdy,but after a few bevvies who cares.had some lovely meals in the old town and near the strip,very cheap.found a very cheap supermarket at the back of the hotel which was really cheap.cant complain about anything.had a really good time.

Room Tip: rooms at the back of t5he hotel are a lot quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank linda p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 October 2013

I stayed here from 23 - 27 October. Had such a good time. Rooms are basic but they're all you need. Who goes on holiday to spend their days in the apartment? Staff were extremely amazing especially Bruno and Marco from the bar and Marg from reception. Amazing pool area and decent walk to the strip and beach.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank SarahDee90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Morpeth, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 October 2013

Me and 2 friends came here from 5th - 12th of October of this year. After reading the varied reviews we didn't expect much and were pleasantly surprised when the hotel was fab and the location was excellent. As 3 18 year olds we wanted to be near the nightlife and were not disappointed. Was my 2nd time here and will defo be coming back to albuferia next year! We totally loved it, so don't think much of the bad reviews if you want a quiet, near the nighlife, shops and places to eat, this is the place for you!

Room Tip: We were on the top floor, room 810 and was no noise at all. very nice
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Paige O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belfast
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 October 2013

I was at the hotel for a week from 16-10-13 with my girlfriend and I though the hotel was fine.
Other people have mentioned the two separate sofa-beds they have in the rooms, but we just pulled them together, so that wasn't a problem.
They had a couple of pillows and blankets available for use, but I didn't really need a blanket since it was warm enough to sleep without one at night.
The only two things that I'd like from a hotel that this doesn't have would be wi-fi access (the internet room they had seemed pretty useless as the computers/connection were very slow) and probably a couple of English t.v channels as my girlfriend and I are the type that retire to the hotel room quite early as we aren't drinkers.

The hotel had a safe that could be rented for 23 Euro for the week (with 8 Euro being given back to you at checkout as the deposit) which was very useful.
There was also a free shuttle service 3 times taking people to and from the Old town which was very handy - we used it most days!

The reception staff at the hotel were lovely and friendly, Louis probably being the most noteworthy!
Considering the price we paid though, the hotel was great value.

Room Tip: Get a room over looking the pool for the best view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DeejMak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 October 2013

I can't really understand the bad reviews for this place? It's absolutely ridiculous! It's cheap and excellent! People saying the staff are bad etc, a load of bull, they couldn't have been nicer! Any help we needed they helped best they could! Even when the weather was bad and we asked the staff about indoors and they were only happy to tell is what was on offer! The apartments were great! Couldn't be happier

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Darrylmcphedran
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Albufeira hotels
0.4 mi away
Balaia-Sol Holiday Club
Balaia-Sol Holiday Club
#65 of 154 in Albufeira
426 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Mirachoro Albufeira
Hotel Mirachoro Albufeira
#95 of 154 in Albufeira
194 reviews
2.7 mi away
Vale de Carros
Vale de Carros
#49 of 154 in Albufeira
583 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Novochoro Apartamentos Turisticos
4.1 mi away
Torre Velha Hotel
Torre Velha Hotel
#92 of 154 in Albufeira
256 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel Topazio
Hotel Topazio
#43 of 154 in Albufeira
763 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Silchoro Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Silchoro Apartments

Property: Silchoro Apartments
Address: Praceta Jaime Cortesao, Albufeira 8200-342, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Albufeira
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #86 of 154 Hotels in Albufeira
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Silchoro Apartments 3*
Number of rooms: 135
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Odigeo, Jet2Holidays , LoveHolidays, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, Agoda and Cancelon so you can book your Silchoro Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Silchoro Apartments Albufeira, Algarve, Portugal
Silchoro Apartments Hotel Albufeira

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing