We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Ignore the bad reviews” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Torre Velha Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Torre Velha Hotel
Ranked #72 of 162 Hotels in Albufeira
Aylesbury
Level Contributor
51 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Ignore the bad reviews”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 October 2013

The hotel is quite and the staff are very friendly. Rooms are basic but clean. It is not 5*, so do not expect it. As a budget hotel it is very good. To the person that thought the staff were rude, all I can say is you get what you give. Everyone else thought they were great and most were on first name terms and it does state that it is continental breakfast. What is disgusting about fresh bread with cheese and ham.? If you are used to army food, you must have been in a regiment that was pampered.
To the person that said "no kettle", try reading your booking form. All you have to do is ask and you will get kettle and cups.
I am disabled and found that the staff would go out of their way to accommodate my needs. The hotel is adapted to people with mobility problems but I would think carefully about the area due to the hills.
If you want a quite, friendly hotel to chill by the pool or laze on the beach, then this is ideal. Lots of good restaurants in the area. If you want night life, then you are in the wrong area.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Magic-IanRoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

243 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    72
    97
    38
    26
    10
See reviews for
23
133
20
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Blackburn, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 September 2013

Just returned from a weeks stay at the torre velha. It is quite a small hotel about 10 minutes drive from the centre but don't let that put you off! We went with our 20 month old baby and even though there's nothing much for kids to do he loved it! The staff were very willing to help you out especially bella on reception she was great always arranging trips for us! Also Marta who worked in the bar area was great they always made an effort to make sure our toddler was happy and smiling! The hotel is exceptionally clean and tidy although a bit dated. There is a few lovely beaches about 5 minutes walk from the hotel but be prepared for a bit of a walk uphill to get back! A lot of people moan about this but we did it fine with a toddler and pushchair so it can't be that bad!! I would also advise to go room only as the breakfast is a bit boring- cheese, ham and toast can be quite boring after a while but thank god for scoobies up the road!! They do a great English breakfast! Don't listen to the bad reviews you get what you pay for if people wanted more they should of put there hand in there pocket instead of writing a bad review. Excellent value for money and we will return again!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Haworth2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dover, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 September 2013

I will start by saying if you want a good holiday for god sake do not book this hotel.
We have just returned from our holiday after having to spend 2 weeks in this place.
To put it in a nutshell this place almost ruined our holiday.
The staff are rude and spend more time outside smoking and drinking than getting on with the job they are meant to be doing.
The breakfast is disgusting and this is being said by someone who has eaten army food!!.
The rooms are not very clean and we even had to ask for a bath plug.
All in all dont bother, dont waste your money,
The other reviews must have been written by the owner or by people with very low expectations.
If it was not for a lovely little cafe just down the road called JK's i think we would have gone mad.
You have been warned!!!!!

Room Tip: Check out the area on google earth to get a feel if you have not been there before
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank moylie1964
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Burton upon Trent, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 September 2013

Lets start by not calling the Torre Velha a hotel but more of a friendly bar restaurant that has a swimming pool and rooms making for a nice friendly atmosphere. Its is well supported by genuinely friendly and helpful staff in a quiet location with just a few other bars and cafe's close by. The rooms are quite small having a fridge and TV but they are adequate and well maintained. We were on B&B the breakfast being quite basic but found the food served at lunchtime and in the evening very good and excellent value. All in all we enjoyed our stay and would recommend it less for families with small children and more to couples and groups of older people who want a quiet relaxing good value break.

Room Tip: We were given a room with a sea view although we didn't specifically request one. The room got t...
See more room tips
Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Boomboomshaketheroom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 September 2013 via mobile

Great place for holiday very quiet close to the beautiful beach. Staff very nice and friendly. Only 15 min drive to the centre of albufeira . There is lots of restaurants around the hotel and the food is great! The car is a must there it's quite far to walk to the shops. Taxi to the city is cheap cost about 10 euros if you want to go out. Overall great holiday!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Justyna T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 August 2013

The room was small but clean. It would have been useful if there was a kettle and cutlery especially, if you wanted to make a hot drink or eat something. No impressed with what was on offer for breakfast - I had cheese and a roll every morning (boring).The staff were friendly and helpful. I loved the area, the distance, peace and tranquility and far from the madding crowd. It was nice to go to the old town, but bus service was terrible and we done a lot of walking from the hotel to the the old town and we also walked back (1 hour). Safe in room, but you will need to leave a deposit at the front desk, same case if you wanted to use the iron.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sunra28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 August 2013

We have stayed at this hotel twice and have enjoyed it each time. Staff are really friendly, foods great, the hotel is basic but does provide you with kettle, tv, small fridge etc. there are lovely little coves within walking distance although they do get busy at the height of the season. There's a bus that goes into the centre but isn't very regular, a taxi will cost about 8 euros.
The only downside is no air con in the room just a ceiling fan and it can get hot in summer.
Would definitely go back

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Oldham737
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Albufeira hotels
2.4 mi away
Vila Branca
Vila Branca
#76 of 162 in Albufeira
4.0 of 5 bubbles 90 reviews
3.5 mi away
Mar a Vista
Mar a Vista
#133 of 162 in Albufeira
3.0 of 5 bubbles 173 reviews
7.0 mi away
Vale de Carros
Vale de Carros
#42 of 162 in Albufeira
4.0 of 5 bubbles 562 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Hotel Frentomar
Hotel Frentomar
#60 of 162 in Albufeira
4.5 of 5 bubbles 69 reviews
1.5 mi away
Bayside Salgados
Bayside Salgados
#51 of 162 in Albufeira
3.5 of 5 bubbles 410 reviews
4.6 mi away
Balaia-Sol Holiday Club
Balaia-Sol Holiday Club
#63 of 162 in Albufeira
4.0 of 5 bubbles 407 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Torre Velha Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Torre Velha Hotel

Property: Torre Velha Hotel
Address: Praia do Castello, Albufeira 8200-388, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Albufeira
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Best Value Hotel in Albufeira
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Torre Velha Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 36
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, LoveHolidays, Travel Republic (UK) and TravelUp so you can book your Torre Velha Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Torre Velha Albufeira
Hotel Torre Velha
Torre Velha Hotel Albufeira, Algarve, Portugal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing