We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“perfect relaxing holiday”
Review of Torre Velha Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Torre Velha Hotel
Ranked #87 of 154 Hotels in Albufeira
Reviewed 12 June 2014 via mobile

stayed here for a week (room only) and couldn't have asked for a more lovely little place. hotel was basic but you get what you pay for. Place was spotless and rooms were cleaned, bedding changed and clean towels daily. Staff couldn't have been more friendly and helpful, always smiling and had good banter :) food and cocktails were also lovely and at a reasonable price.
If you're after a lively holiday this place won't be for you and I'd advise booking closer to albufeira strip but as we were looking for a quiet relaxing holiday this was perfect for us! The area is absolutely beautiful! Lots of private type sandy beaches all within walking distance with gorgeous views. The marina was 20min walking distance and the old town another 20min or about 7€ in a taxi.
Was our first time in Portugal and loved it. Would definitely recommend this place and would definitely stay in hotel Torre Velha again! :)

Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
4  Thank Lauren A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (270)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

113 - 119 of 270 reviews

Reviewed 3 June 2014

We used the restaurant of this hotel on various occasions. The serve was excellent, the food good for the price one pays, the wine included.
Moreocer there was lost to do, a great bar, a museum with over 3000 bottles of whikey, lots of small vintage car models..a.s.o.
We enloyed going there

Room Tip: we just ate in the restaurant
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank mountainst
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 April 2014

Just returned from a week break following a last minute deal. The hotel is clean and pool area is good. As per other reviews, we found the staff very friendly and helpful. Rooms are dark but spacious. The mattresses however were not particularly comfortable and could do with updating. The restaurant provides well priced and very good food (eg soup and T bone steak 12 E). Breakfast is basic and option of fruit and yogurt would be nice as the three cereals and rolls / toast become boring after a few days. The location is good. Several small beaches in close vicinity .We didn't hire a car on this occasion and walked into old town which is a 45 min walk. Taxi home costs about 10 E. Several restaurants in close vicinity and new pizzeria opening opposite hotel. In summary,I can see why people return to this hotel regularly. With a little more investment / imagination however, our experience would have been excellent.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Mikey-J1966
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 April 2014

This was a hotel that a friend and I booked very last minute due to it being the best deal. We did not opt for the 'breakfast' as previous reviews did not recommend it..and they were correct. Very little option. We went Lidl (woo hoo!) and brought breakfast there to eat next morning etc.

Customer Service was Brilliant - Bella (main receptionist) and Martha were very pleasant. Bella helped us organise a few excursions which was great and she'll do the same for anyone else.

Room was very basic, tiled floors, fan, electric heater(it did get cold at night). Beds were okay, nothing special but didn't bother us as we were only there for 4 nights.

Location
We had a rental car which made things much simpler. There are bus stops (never seen a bus!) and taxis (rip off). Therefore if you can, rent a car. Closest 'entertainment' area was 10mins drive away and was known as 'the strip'. Bars, restaurants, fast food etc.

Overall, if you don't have a car then you'll find it very difficult doing much staying here. There is a beach 5 mins walk away, however it is veryyyy small compared to the other beaches you can get to via car. Great customer service from staff but cleanliness and comfort of rooms let it down.

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank DudeMeister10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 April 2014

I have been staying at The Torre Velha for 20 years on and off, have been with family, friends and on my own,it ticks all the boxes. You couldn't possibly wish for friendlier staff or a more ideal location, (5 mins walk to the beach,10 mins in a taxi to town) Prices for rooms, food and drink are very reasonable. Rooms are clean, food is good and there are several other bars and restaurants in walking distance to try. Thank you Torre Velha, heres to the next 20 years!

Stayed: April 2014, travelled solo
3  Thank Robbdj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 March 2014

stayed here July 13. it was a last minute deal & was very impressed with the hotel. when arriving we were told our room wasnt ready yet & would we mind waiting by the pool. (i hate it when hotels do this, they know what time the flight is, so the room should be ready). anyway after waiting for only 20 mins or so we went to our room & it was a basic room. nice & clean with two singles pushed together. the pool area was nice & had a nice shaded part with palm trees when it got too hot. food was always nice, if a little limited, but there are 6 or so restaurants within a 5 minute walk, that we only ate here during the afternoon. there are at least 4 alcoves within walking distance if you dont want to stay by the pool & these were never crowded, however the sea could be a little rough, so not much snorkeling done. overall a very nice hotel, in a really quiet location, perfect for relaxing & unwinding.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank stekeane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 November 2013

The hotel is in a very quiet location away from the nightlife and bars.Obviously you need a car or taxi to move around, or to go to a different beach than the one that is near the hotel. There is always parking space outside.The rooms are good value for money and clean.We met various personnel at the reception:Some were very helpful and other(actually one) rather unfriendly.The balconies with a view at sea are a good plus. The free wifi at the reception is convenient, but it would be better if there was throughout the hotel.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank General_traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Albufeira hotels
1 mi away
Jardins Vale de Parra
Jardins Vale de Parra
#77 of 154 in Albufeira
142 reviews
2.3 mi away
Colina do Mar Hotel
Colina do Mar Hotel
#91 of 154 in Albufeira
330 reviews
2.1 mi away
Mar a Vista
Mar a Vista
#130 of 154 in Albufeira
207 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.1 mi away
Flor da Laranja
Flor da Laranja
#70 of 154 in Albufeira
87 reviews
3.9 mi away
Hotel Mirachoro Albufeira
Hotel Mirachoro Albufeira
#96 of 154 in Albufeira
210 reviews
2.3 mi away
Apartamentos Turisticos Regina
Apartamentos Turisticos Regina
#136 of 154 in Albufeira
176 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Torre Velha Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Torre Velha Hotel

Address: Praia do Castello, Albufeira 8200-388, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Albufeira
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #87 of 154 Hotels in Albufeira
Price Range: £20 - £68 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Torre Velha Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 36
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Alpha Holidays Limited, TravelUp, Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Expedia, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Cancelon, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Torre Velha Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Torre Velha Albufeira
Hotel Torre Velha
Torre Velha Hotel Albufeira, Algarve, Portugal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing