We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Holiday Ever!!”
Review of Torre Velha Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Torre Velha Hotel
Ranked #88 of 154 Hotels in Albufeira
Reviewed 3 August 2010

My partner and I stayed here for just under a week and we had the most amazingly blissful holiday. We were looking for a week of just pure relaxation, somewhere we could enjoy the sun, sea and good food, where we could really re-charge our batteries - We most definitely got it at Torre Velha!

This is a real gem of a find and we couldn't have asked for better value for our money..the hotel is set in a gorgeous quite secluded environment, just what we preferred to the busy, crowded Albufeira..it's not what you would call modern but I don't think we would have loved the place half as much if it didn't have it's own character and charm....yes the rooms are basic but have everything you really need: bed,air con,bathroom! with it's lovely location you will hardly spend any time in your room anyway! The pool area is quite small but is exactly what we both prefer from a holiday so no complaints there, and the restaurant offers a limited but tasty menu with either indoor seating or outside beside the pool..I don't think we ate inside once!

though the hotel itself is brilliant, what really made our stay special was the amazing service and friendship we received during our stay - particularly from Kevin and Marta, who whilst we were there were the faces of Torre Velha and couldn't have made us feel more welcome.

If you're looking a nice, quiet, relaxing break then this is for you, particularly if you're a couple wanting to add a touch of romance to that list! It is a gorgeous area with a few beaches to choose from, depending how much walking you want to do..and there is quite a varitey of restaurants dotted around, pick up a free map from the hotel or one of the shops and it tells you where all of the eateries are or try WWW.FREEMAPS.NET - we were so glad to find a free map as it really helped us get the know our way around - lots of really good food to be found - our fave little place was O Amigos, just round the corner from the hotel, a lovely family run place offering quite a varied menu and the only place to offer great veggie food as I'm Vegetarian and there's not always a lot of choice when on holiday...TRY IT!!!

I could jabber on for ages about this place! but to keep it short - This is the perfect place for you if you want to relax and enjoy the sun and surroundings of a beautiful, peaceful environment with lots of lovely people and good food and drink!!

WE WILL BE BACK XX

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Katiejo81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (270)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

182 - 188 of 270 reviews

Reviewed 21 July 2010

Had a wonderful 7 days here - as the reviews before have said, the staff are overwhelmingly friendly and helpful, the hotel is basic and quite dated but spotlessly clean and well kept. Food is good and reasonable, my only criticism is that the menu isn't very varied so you will want to try some of the other half-dozen or so restaurants in the area too. 10 minute walk to the beach (20 minutes back, uphill!), and about 8 euros cab to Albufeira old or new town. But Torre Velha is such a relaxing, peaceful haven, Albufeira will be a bit of a shock to the system in comparison! Not any nightlife (the hotel bar shuts at 1am) but if you're looking for a fantastic value, battery-recharge, foodie break, with friendly people (staff as well as guests) this is the place to go. Places to try nearby are Scoobys, a lovely, fun, family run pool, bar/cafe/crazy golf/scuba lesson venue serving all day breakfast for 3.5 euros and Evaristo, an amazing fish restaurant on the beach rumoured to be frequented by David Beckham (with prices to match). Minor gripe with the hotel is the supplement charge for double bed, but regardless, will definitely be back.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 30NotOut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2010

The place was so paceful and relaxing.
the staff in the hotel couldnt have been more helpful and friendly.
the pool was clean food was very good and a bit cheaper than other places around the area.
10 minutes from the gorgeous small beach or cove.
5 minutes from supermarket and the bus stop which takes you into the town.
the rooms were basic, but very clean with a small fridge, bath and shower.
the hotel very clean. with lovely bar and restraunt area, televisions, and internet.
thursdays karioke night, very good laugh.
the staff were the best ever especially Kevin, Marta, and Mario so friendly and really made us welcome.
would definatly go back again.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cherrybee13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2010

i spent a week staying at this hotel with a friend.we both thought it was a real gem of a place.the staff amazing especially kevin n marta.food good value and always served with a smile.the pool area was a dream.the hotel is very very clean and comfortable.the perfect place for a relaxing holiday in the sun.cant recommend this lovely place enough.the most relaxing holiday i have ever had. hope to return soon.
keep up the brill service..you are all so lovely.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jo_parsons1812
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2010

Basic Rooms but a fantastic hotel Great chill out place. Quiet but old town only 5 kms away. Martyr and Kevin are the star players. Miss the place already, looking for flights to go back in Sept

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tracie2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 May 2010

Stayed for 11 days wish I had stayed longer, staff were brilliant including room maid, food was priced competively soup and a huge steak and trimmings for 10euros. the Most amazing thing was the owners whiskey collection over 2000 bottles and not one to drink!

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ronc1601
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 April 2010

We stayed here during the volcano problem and the staff were brilliant. We first asked to have a sea view and they only charged an extra 10 euro's (4 nights stay). My husband hurt his knee whilst there and they were great giving ice and encouragement. They told me how to get to a chemist and even gave us a tube of anti-inflammatory cream for the knee.
A quiet location with several restaurants nearby and a good supermarket Happimag down the road. Picnic beach bar/restaurant good food and location. Care is needed on costal path kids would need supervising. Would not recommend resort for teenagers as not enough to do. Book taxi from UK a lot cheaper.

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CarolynBlackpool
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Albufeira hotels
1 mi away
Jardins Vale de Parra
Jardins Vale de Parra
#79 of 154 in Albufeira
142 reviews
2.3 mi away
Colina do Mar Hotel
Colina do Mar Hotel
#90 of 154 in Albufeira
331 reviews
2.1 mi away
Mar a Vista
Mar a Vista
#130 of 154 in Albufeira
208 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.1 mi away
Flor da Laranja
Flor da Laranja
#70 of 154 in Albufeira
87 reviews
3.9 mi away
Hotel Mirachoro Albufeira
Hotel Mirachoro Albufeira
#96 of 154 in Albufeira
210 reviews
2.3 mi away
Apartamentos Turisticos Regina
Apartamentos Turisticos Regina
#136 of 154 in Albufeira
176 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Torre Velha Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Torre Velha Hotel

Address: Praia do Castello, Albufeira 8200-388, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Albufeira
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #88 of 154 Hotels in Albufeira
Price Range: £20 - £68 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Torre Velha Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 36
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Alpha Holidays Limited, Booking.com, TravelUp, LoveHolidays, Expedia, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Cancelon, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Torre Velha Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Torre Velha Albufeira
Hotel Torre Velha
Torre Velha Hotel Albufeira, Algarve, Portugal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing