We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic hotel, you couldnt get a better service...!!”
Review of Torre Velha Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Torre Velha Hotel
Ranked #75 of 162 Hotels in Albufeira
St Helens, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Fantastic hotel, you couldnt get a better service...!!”
Reviewed 5 October 2010

We stayed her for 10 nights recently and had read the reviews and it seemed just what we wanted....but it was a lot better than we expected....room was basic with fridge and balcony and tv but just as expected....the bar was the best locally with pints of lager at 2euros and the wine at 1.50euros....had all sky channels for sports etc, pool was small and clean and never a problem getting a sunbed plus you get to meet people and have a laugh! lovely restaurant and well priced with outdoor seating area! a few local restaurants are a 2 minute walk away and the beach is just as close with lovely cliffs and a lovelly cove....But what makes this hotel so good is the service...both Kevin and Marta couldnt do enough and looked after us and nothing was too much trouble, not even the night Kevin gave me enough shots to sedate an elephant....didnt want to leave and look forward to going back!!

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank hockenbones
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

247 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    74
    98
    39
    26
    10
See reviews for
23
137
20
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Oswaldtwistle
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 October 2010

Lovely hotel. Kevin, Marta and the rest of the staff were fantastic and treated us like friends. Room was basic but spotlessly clean. The pool was lovely and peaceful. Food was reasonably priced and good.
Was the perfect holiday in a lovely location - couldn't fault anything.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank KarenH_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Romford
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 3 October 2010

Stayed for 7 days b&b, a small hotel but with all that is needed. As mentioned by others Kevin and Martha are a great asset to the hotel and cannot do enough for guests. Pool area very quiet with more than enough sun beds. Hotel restaurant has restricted menu, but all the food is very well cooked and presented offering excellent value for money i.e. T bone steak 12 Euros. Other bars and restaurants within short walking distance, as are 2 beaches. Albuferia either a short taxi or bus ride away.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank fosbery
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 September 2010

I booked the holiday having seen the recent reviews, I agree that Kevin, Marta and the kitchen staff work very hard and pool and social area is good. However, the room we had was very small and basic. You can hear every noise including someone using the toilet in the other rooms nearby. But, the biggest let down was the bathroom, I was prepared for basic but the previous reviews stated the rooms were clean I can only assume then that this was an exception to the rules. I had to buy bleach to try and clean the toilet it was really dirty and I mean DIRTY!!!! the hotel was fully booked up we could not change rooms.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Madge187069
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
County Tyrone Northern Ireland
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 September 2010

I stayed for 3 days and it was bliss. exactly what wanted .. peace and quiet . no noise and sunshine. not much to do if u want action.. residental area wth beach close by but expensive to hire sunbeds for the day £10.00 /£15 .00 for a couple.
i was half board and although the menu was limted it was fine for the few days .. steak was excellent as was the shrimp cocktail
staff very friendly , rooms basic but spotlessly clean . pool area a delight and very clean. i spent my time reading.listening to music and enjoing the sunshine. . any longer than 3 days and i would have taken advantage of the local bus to albufeira but relaxation was the priority for me !!
a great get away to re charge the batteries.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank buddha99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
47 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 August 2010

Everything about this extremely affordable hotel, with many pristine beaches within walking distance, was perfect - from the friendly reception to the crystal-clear pool with sun loungers and a lovely shaded green area for when the sun gets a bit too much, to the simple yet spacious room complete with terrace, to the friendly and very helpful staff, to the location by beautiful neighbourhoods, amazing coastal walks and great restaurants - I would highly recommend Torre Velha for your Algarve visit!

Stayed August 2010, travelled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank KatG11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 August 2010

I came across this place by accident and am so glad I did. The staff were friendly and the service was excellent. Breakfast was basic but adequate. The food for the evening meals was of a very good standard. The best feature of Torre Velha is the pool and pool area. You get the sun all day. We were getting down by the pool at about 9am and the sun was still there at 7/8pm. Superb. The town of Albufeira is a 10 minute taxi drive away and the staff at the hotel were very helpful in ordering us a taxi. Overall, I would recommend this hotel to anyone. P.S. about 10/15 minutes walk from the hotel is the best curry house I have EVER been to.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jimmyboy1725
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Albufeira hotels
2.2 mi away
Vila Branca
Vila Branca
#71 of 162 in Albufeira
4.0 of 5 bubbles 96 reviews
2.1 mi away
Mar a Vista
Mar a Vista
#131 of 162 in Albufeira
3.0 of 5 bubbles 179 reviews
4.4 mi away
Balaia-Sol Holiday Club
Balaia-Sol Holiday Club
#62 of 162 in Albufeira
4.0 of 5 bubbles 416 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.8 mi away
Vale de Carros
Vale de Carros
#47 of 162 in Albufeira
4.0 of 5 bubbles 571 reviews
1.4 mi away
Bayside Salgados
Bayside Salgados
#49 of 162 in Albufeira
3.5 of 5 bubbles 438 reviews
1.0 mi away
Jardins Vale de Parra
Jardins Vale de Parra
#78 of 162 in Albufeira
4.0 of 5 bubbles 134 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Torre Velha Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Torre Velha Hotel

Property: Torre Velha Hotel
Address: Praia do Castello, Albufeira 8200-388, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Albufeira
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Best Value Hotel in Albufeira
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Torre Velha Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 36
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Onthebeach, Ebookers, LoveHolidays, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Priceline, TravelUp, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and Hotel.de so you can book your Torre Velha Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Torre Velha Albufeira
Hotel Torre Velha
Torre Velha Hotel Albufeira, Algarve, Portugal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing