We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Tropical Sol Apartments
Certificate of Excellence
Nottinghamshire, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Excellent”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 July 2014

I have just spent a long wkend with a bunch of ladies at the tropical Sol Albufeira Portugal and recently returned back 30.06.14 and what a beautiful apartment this is. Staff amazing too. The bar/resturant near the pool side is fantastic, vry promt and lovely cooked/hot food always. The aprtments are very clean and very spacious. The staff are always happy to help & very friendly too. Wonderful swimming pool and so clean. I cannot rate this place enough we would defo go back. The place is lovley and would give this a 20 out of 20 vry highly recommended.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jennifer M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

835 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    508
    254
    49
    12
    12
See reviews for
260
336
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (213)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Wales
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 June 2014 via mobile

Well after turning up to hotel 10 hours later than suppose to because of striking on easy jet they were every quick sending us to our room and very polite..
Rooms are very clean and fully equipped we never ate out for beakfast we make it our selves in the room there is spar 2 minutes down the road really reasonable priced.. pool area is nice and big and clean the pool snack bar is very reasonable and really friendly people who run it.. only problem we had was the bed were really uncomfortable and they were to single beds instead of a double.. but other than that I would recommend this hotel to friends

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank Kayleigh-marie900
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wakefield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 June 2014

Was given room as soon as arrived which was great as it was only 11:50am. Polite, professional and friendly staff. The rooms were large and had good facilities. We booked B&B and ate out each night so didnt use the kitchen except for drinks. The breakfast was fresh but somewhat limited compared with other hotels. The pool area was large & clean. The sunbeds were set daily in a semicircle so had to be moved just to fit on them. There were 2 large groups of "hens" most of the week which made it difficult to get a bed unless yuo were there 1st thing. This made the poolside very loud and quite annoying when they decided to play their own music very loud. We just wanted to relax/read with feeling like you were at a disco. Peace was restored after 4 days when they all went home.
The room cleaning was somewhat half hearted though done daily.
The location was ok. Too far to the Old Town to walk with bad knees, but its only 5 Euros in a taxi. The strip was ok early on but full of drunk people the later it got. Spent most evening in the Old Town which was great.
Not sure if I would return.

Room Tip: 2nd floor (209) corner only has partial sun for about an hour.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Joanna H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montrose, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 June 2014

stayed here in may for a week with my mother, very clean and nice place with fantastic staff.lots nice places to eat close by and close to the strip but still in quiet aria.only downside i found while staying here was that the pillows were realy lumpy as was like there filled with lots on cut up foam and we never got any sun on the balcony at all through the day but the lovely large room more than made up for that. would recommend this place and would be happy to stay again.

Room Tip: ask for one that gets the sun as a few do on the side of the pool bar
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank gordonbchef
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin
Level Contributor
17 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 June 2014

Stayed here for a week in June, really nice apartment's. Spotless clean, great facilities. Could not fault them. The pool bar is very reasonable for drinks and snacks, lovely pool area, again spotless clean. The family running the pool bar are very friendly and welcoming. The only complaint I have about theses apartments is I requested a balcony with sunshine when booking and asked the receptionist on arrival also for a balcony with sunshine and unfortunately there
was no sunshine at all. If I was to book her again I would book a studio on the bottom floor as they get plenty of sunshine on there balcony. We used Yellow Fish Transfers from and to the airport, excellent service, very reasonable and the drivers are really friendly and answered any questions we asked on the area. I would definitely stay here again but as I said I would be booking a studio next time.

Room Tip: If you want a balcony with sunshine book a studio on the bottom floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank SineadAK2008Dublin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 June 2014 via mobile

I can not fault this place! Went here at the beginning of June for my hen! When we arrived we were greeted at reception & our rooms were quickly & efficiently given out, there was no waiting around! On entering our rooms we could not believe how big & spacious they were! All rooms are poolside view & the pool was always clean! The staff at the snack bar were absolutely amazing, really friendly & after a few rounds knew what you were drinking! The strip of pubs & clubs was literally a 5 minute walk away. I would highly reccommend tropical sol hotel! Great place, great price, great area & amazing staff!

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Sammyjayne6980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rainy England
Level Contributor
29 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 June 2014

I was recommended this Hotel by a friend who has visited the Hotel several times over a period of 15 years. My husband and I decided to stay here for a short break at the end of March/beginning of April this year.

We booked a studio room on a self catering basis, however, when we arrived at the Hotel we were offered an upgrade to a one bedroomed apartment. The room was clean and spacious, with everything you need. A lounge area with a large flatscreen TV, large sofa and two chairs. A dining table, a small kitchen area with a double halogen hob, a fridge, toaster, plenty of cookware and utensils, however, we only made breakfast in the room. The bedroom has twin beds pushed close together and another large flatscreen TV mounted on the wall. There is plenty of wardrobe space for two. The bathroom was clean and the shower nice and hot. All rooms are pool facing.

Unfortunately, the weather was not kind during our stay, so we did not spend much time out on the balcony or by the pool, but we visited the pool snack bar daily for lunch. The snack bar has been run by a lovely Portuguese family for 26 years. Nathalia, the mother, served us, and her husband did the cooking, occasionally their grown up children helped out with serving etc. Meals were reasonably priced and cooked fresh.

The Hotel is in a good location, close to, but far enough away from The Strip to not be disturbed by the evening revelers. There is a large supermarket, Pingo Doce, a few hundred yards from the Hotel, just across the dual carriageway, and a small bakery a few hundred yards around the corner from the Hotel where you can get fresh bread and cakes every morning. The Hotel is about 30 minutes walk from the Old Town, or around 5 euros in a taxi if you prefer.

We checked out of the Hotel on a Thursday and couldn't help but notice the arrival of several parties of stag's and hen's. I don't blame the Hotel for filling otherwise empty rooms out of season but drunken men and women staggering around the Hotel in the Summer season is bound to put families off.

My first visit was at the beginning of April, and I have just returned from a second visit in June with a good friend. My friend has visited the Hotel many times with her family but this was her first visit in 5 years.

We specifically wanted a studio this time as the holiday was a special celebration and these were the rooms my friend used to stay in when she visited with her family. They are located on pool level, right next to the snack bar and pool, with their own small veranda. They have all the amenities of the one bedroomed apartment concentrated into a smaller area and the only access is through the front patio doors that lead out onto the veranda. At the time of booking, a studio room was £80 more expensive for the week and I was concerned that we might be offered an "upgrade" to a one bedroomed apartment on this occasion, so I emailed the Hotel a couple of weeks before our date of departure and requested a studio. On arrival we were pleased that the Hotel had honoured our request and we were allocated room 0011 (not to be confused with ground level room 011).

Fortunately, this visit the weather was much kinder, so went spent most of our time out by the pool, (although not in it too often, as the water was freezing!) or having Nathalia's lovely cocktails or sangria on our own veranda. We had lunch at the snackbar every day.

Noticeably on Thursday was the arrival of several same sex parties, this time the Hotel was occupied by several families. This is a family Hotel and I hope that this does not spoil, what is otherwise a lovely Hotel. They parties left on Sunday and peace was resumed.

This is a great Hotel, in an ideal location and I do intend to visit again.

Room Tip: All rooms are pool facing. Studios are on pool level and get the sunof the veranda most of the day.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank tharweb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Albufeira hotels
0.5 mi away
Golden Beach
Golden Beach
#1 of 163 in Albufeira
5.0 of 5 bubbles 139 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Apartamento Brisa Sol
Hotel Apartamento Brisa Sol
#16 of 163 in Albufeira
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,653 reviews
0.5 mi away
Luna Clube Oceano
Luna Clube Oceano
#9 of 163 in Albufeira
4.0 of 5 bubbles 419 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Aqua Pedra dos Bicos Design Beach Hotel
0.4 mi away
Paladim Aparthotel
Paladim Aparthotel
#18 of 163 in Albufeira
4.0 of 5 bubbles 605 reviews
3.6 mi away
EPIC SANA Algarve Hotel
EPIC SANA Algarve Hotel
#2 of 163 in Albufeira
4.5 of 5 bubbles 955 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tropical Sol Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tropical Sol Apartments

Property: Tropical Sol Apartments
Address: Rua Natalia Correia 11, Albufeira 8200-285, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Albufeira
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 122 Speciality Lodging in Albufeira
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Tropical Sol Apartments 4*
Number of rooms: 75
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, Ebookers, LoveHolidays, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Tropical Sol Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tropical Sol Apartments Hotel Albufeira
Tropical Sol Albufeira
Tropical Sol Apartments Albufeira, Algarve, Portugal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing